Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the quick disconnect connector is detachably connected to the RF coil via a separation quick locking assembly (SQLA) quick plug and socket” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The term “separation quick locking assembly (SQLA)” is not defined in the specification in a way to enable one skilled in the art to make or use the invention. Paragraphs 0097 and 0098 provide the only description of “[0097] In some embodiments, the quick disconnect connector is configured to be detachably connected to the RF coil via a separation quick locking assembly (SQLA) quick plug and socket. [0098] In this embodiment, the detachable connection of the quick disconnect connector to the RF coil is realized by the SQLA quick plug and socket, which may increase the speed of the disassembly and the connection, and the user operation is convenient. And it is possible to make the connection and disassembly of the quick disconnect connector fast, which may reduce the failure due to a poor connection or poor contact, and improve the reliability of the RF coils.“
However, there is no detail on the structure of a SQLA quick plug and socket. How would one of skill in the art make a SQLA quick plug and socket? There are no details about what would constitute a presumable locking structure or what the plug or socket structure would be to facilitate an SQLA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sambandamurthy et al. (US 2014/0167758 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sambandamurthy.
With reference to claim 1, Sambandamurthy teaches A magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, comprising a receiver channel configured to receive radio frequency signals, and a coil interface device configured to connect the MRI system with a radio frequency (RF) coil, wherein the coil interface device comprises: a preamplifier (Fig. 14, 502, 504); a quick disconnect connector, wherein one end of the quick disconnect connector is connected to the preamplifier and another end is configured to be connected to the RF coil (Fig. 14, 442), and the quick disconnect connector is configured to be detachably connected to the RF coil (Fig. 13A, 400); and a receiver channel interface, wherein the receiver channel interface is configured to be connected to the receiver channel (Fig. 13B, Fig. 14, 500).
With reference to claim 2, Sambandamurthy further teaches a transmitter channel configured to transmit radio frequency signals, and the coil interface device further comprising a switching circuit, wherein a first end of the switching circuit is connected to the quick disconnect connector, a second end of the switching circuit is configured to be connected to the transmitter channel, and a third end of the switching circuit is configured to be connected to the receiver channel via the preamplifier (Fig. 14, ¶0118). With reference to claim 3, Sambandamurthy further teaches the coil interface device further comprising a transmitter channel interface, wherein the transmitter channel interface is configured to be connected between the switching circuit and the transmitter channel (Fig. 14, ¶0118).
With reference to claim 4, Sambandamurthy further teaches the transmitter channel interface is configured to be detachably connected to the transmitter channel; and the receiver channel interface is configured to be detachably connected to the receiver channel (Fig. 14, ¶0118). With reference to claim 5, Sambandamurthy further teaches he transmitter channel interface is detachably connected to the transmitter channel through an RF pin and an RF socket; or the receiver channel interface is detachably connected to the receiver channel through an RF pin and an RF socket (Fig. 14, ¶0118).
With reference to claim 12, Sambandamurthy further teaches as best as the examiner can ascertain the quick disconnect connector is detachably connected to the RF coil via a separation quick locking assembly (SQLA) quick plug and socket (Fig. 14). With reference to claim 13, Sambandamurthy further teaches coil interface device further comprising a plurality of quick disconnect connectors, wherein the plurality of quick disconnect connectors are configured to be detachably connected to a plurality of channels of the RF coil (Fig. 14). With reference to claim 14, Sambandamurthy further teaches the quick disconnect connector includes a first quick disconnect connector and a second quick disconnect connector, the first quick disconnect connector is configured to be detachably connected to a channel of a first RF coil, and the second quick disconnect connector is configured to be detachably connected to a channel of a second RF coil, wherein a first spatial range of the first RF coil is different from a second spatial range of the second RF coil, or a first polarized direction of the first RF coil is different from a second polarized direction of the second RF coil; and the first quick disconnect connector is the same as the second quick disconnect connector (Fig. 12, 404 and 402). With reference to claim 15, Sambandamurthy further teaches coil interface device further comprising a first switch and a second switch, wherein the first switch is configured to control connection and disconnection of the first RF coil, and the second switch is configured to control connection and disconnection of the second RF coil (Fig. 14, 532, 534).
With reference to claim 17, Sambandamurthy further teaches the RF coil is an RF receiver coil or an integrated RF transceiver coil (¶0086). With reference to claim 18, Sambandamurthy teaches A coil interface device, comprising: a preamplifier (Fig. 14, 502, 504); and a quick disconnect connector, wherein one end of the quick disconnect connector is connected to the preamplifier and another end of the quick disconnect connector is configured to be connected to an RF coil (Fig. 13B), and the quick disconnect connector is configured to be detachably connected to the RF coil (Fig. 13A, 400). With reference to claim 20, Sambandamurthy further teaches the coil interface device is configured to be connected to the coil tuning device via the quick disconnect connector and a cable, wherein the cable is connected to the coil tuning device and the quick disconnect connector, respectively (Fig. 13B, 438).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambandamurthy as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Stormont et al. (US 2019/0353722 A1), hereinafter referred to as Stormont.
With reference to claim 6, Sambandamurthy teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to a printed circuit board. Stormont teaches electronics being placed on PCBs (¶0075-¶0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PCBs as taught in Stormont with the system of Sambandamurthy so as to miniaturize the electronics (Stormont ¶0075). The combination of Sambandamurthy and Stormont would lead to a printed circuit board, wherein the quick disconnect connector, the preamplifier, the switching circuit, the transmitter channel interface, and the receiver channel interface are integrated on the printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambandamurthy as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Rearick et al. (US 2018/0088193 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rearick. With reference to claim 7, Sambandamurthy teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to a tuning device. Rearick teaches a coil tuning device (Fig. 2, 206). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a coil tuning device of Rearick with the system of Sambandamurthy so as to improve SNR (Rearick, ¶0034). The combination of Sambandamurthy would lead to a coil tuning device , wherein the coil tuning device is configured to be connected between the RF coil and the preamplifier.
With reference to claim 8, Sambandamurthy teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to a tuning device. Rearick teaches a coil tuning device (Fig. 2, 206). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a coil tuning device of Rearick with the system of Sambandamurthy so as to improve SNR (Rearick, ¶0034). The combination of Sambandamurthy would lead to the coil interface device is configured to be connected to a coil tuning device via the quick disconnect connector and a cable, wherein the cable is connected to the coil tuning device and the quick disconnect connector, respectively.
With reference to claim 19, Sambandamurthy teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to a tuning device. Rearick teaches a coil tuning device (Fig. 2, 206). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a coil tuning device of Rearick with the device of Sambandamurthy so as to improve SNR (Rearick, ¶0034). The combination of Sambandamurthy would lead to a coil tuning device , wherein the coil tuning device is configured to be connected between the RF coil and the preamplifier.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2019/0219648 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lin.
With reference to claim 9, Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick teaches all this required as explained above, however is silent with regards to using solder. Lin teaches RF coils connected via a tin soldering connection (¶0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lin with the system of Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick so as to enable better system integrity (Lin, ¶0026).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Stormont. With reference to claim 10, Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to a printed circuit board. Stormont teaches electronics being placed on PCBs (¶0075-¶0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PCBs as taught in Stormont with the system of Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick so as to miniaturize the electronics (Stormont ¶0075). The combination of Sambandamurthy, Rearick and Stormont would lead to a coil interface device further comprising a second printed circuit board, wherein the coil tuning device, the preamplifier, and the receiver channel interface are integrated on the second printed circuit board.
With reference to claim 11, Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to a printed circuit board. Stormont teaches electronics being placed on PCBs (¶0075-¶0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PCBs as taught in Stormont with the system of Sambandamurthy as combined with Rearick so as to miniaturize the electronics (Stormont ¶0075). The combination of Sambandamurthy, Rearick and Stormont would lead to a coil tuning device includes a third printed circuit board, and the coil tuning circuit is provided on the third printed circuit board; and the coil interface device further comprises a fourth printed circuit board, wherein the preamplifier, the quick disconnect connector, and the receiver channel interface are integrated on the fourth printed circuit board.
Conclusion
/GREGORY H CURRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852