DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer received on 06/26/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Radziemski et al (US 2015/0280484).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 12: Radziemski et al discloses a user interface assembly for a gaming device comprising: an antenna (see figure 5; paragraph [0044], showing the receiver module 500 comprises electroacoustic receiver controller 560, graphic user interface 520, regulator/rectifier 550, output power monitor 510, sensor inputs 590, receiver transducer 530 and electromagnetic antenna 505.); a transmitter circuit electronically coupled to the antenna to transmit, through a barrier from an internal portion of the gaming device: an electromagnetic power signal to provide power from a power supply of the gaming device to an external user interface subassembly outside of the gaming device (see figure 5; paragraph [0044], showing the feedback loop of an exemplary receiver module 500 an electroacoustic charging system. Receiver module 500 comprises electroacoustic receiver controller 560, graphic user interface 520, regulator/rectifier 550, output power monitor 510, sensor inputs 590, receiver transducer 530 and electromagnetic antenna 505. Data is collected and stored as parameters which is then transmitted over electromagnetic antenna 505 as an electromagnetic signal 580. The feedback loop is used to maximize acoustic power transmission 540 and monitor the health of the circuit. Power is monitored 510 and displayed at the GUI 520); and a first electromagnetic data signal to provide operational instructions for the external user interface assembly (see figure 5; paragraph [0044], showing the feedback loop of an exemplary receiver module 500 an electroacoustic charging system. Receiver module 500 comprises electroacoustic receiver controller 560, graphic user interface 520, regulator/rectifier 550, output power monitor 510, sensor inputs 590, receiver transducer 530 and electromagnetic antenna 505. Data is collected and stored as parameters which is then transmitted over electromagnetic antenna 505 as an electromagnetic signal 580. The feedback loop is used to maximize acoustic power transmission 540 and monitor the health of the circuit. Power is monitored 510 and displayed at the GUI 520).
Regarding claims 2 and 13: Radziemski et al discloses further comprising a receiver circuit electronically coupled to the antenna to receive, via the antenna, a second electromagnetic data signal transmitted through the barrier by the external user interface subassembly, and to provide the first electromagnetic data signal to a processor circuit of the gaming device (see paragraphs [0044]-[0046], showing transducer array 700 of an electroacoustic charging system with an exaggerated receiver transducer 710 in accordance with the present embodiment. There are two geometrical issues affecting alignment of a transmitter to the receiver in both the electromagnetic and ultrasound methods. The first is lateral translation over the receiver. The second is angular misalignment between the transmitter and receiver).
Regarding claims 3 and 14: Radziemski et al discloses further comprising a transceiver circuit, wherein the transceiver circuit comprises the transmitter circuit and the receiver circuit (see paragraph [0048], showing other methods can be attached to or nearby the transmitter/receiver assembly).
Regarding claim 4: Radziemski et al discloses wherein the first electromagnetic data signal comprises an indication of an input at a user input device coupled to the external user interface subassembly (see paragraph [0036], showing electroacoustic power levels can be set manually by an input command or be placed under the control of a feedback loop which keeps it at the predetermined value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 9, 10, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radziemski et al (US 2015/0280484) in view of Nguyen et al (US 2015/0146879).
Regarding claims 5, 9, 15, and 19: Radziemski et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Radziemski et al did not disclose wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises image data received from an image capture device coupled to the external user interface subassembly.
In an analogous invention, Nguyen et al teaches wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises image data received from an image capture device coupled to the external user interface subassembly (see paragraph [0006], showing the audiovisual control system may include a camera having a field of view including the first user, wherein a television receiver is further configured to: receive one or more images from the camera; and determine, using the one or more images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Radziemski et al’s device charging and power supply as taught by Nguyen et al’s multiuser audiovisual control for the purpose of providing a system with various data options with a receiver and transmitter, wherein the sets of data may take a variety of forms. This yields the expected result of improving the system and thereby increasing the user’s satisfaction in the device.
Regarding claims 6 and 16: Radziemski et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Radziemski et al did not disclose wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises motion sensor data received from a motion sensor device coupled to the external user interface subassembly.
In an analogous invention, Nguyen et al teaches wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises motion sensor data received from a motion sensor device coupled to the external user interface subassembly (see paragraph [0031], showing global positioning systems (GPS); motion sensors; beacons, etc. Such eye, gaze, head and/or motion tracking devices, or applicable components thereof).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Radziemski et al’s device charging and power supply as taught by Nguyen et al’s multiuser audiovisual control for the purpose of providing a system with various data options with a receiver and transmitter, wherein the sets of data may take a variety of forms. This yields the expected result of improving the system and thereby increasing the user’s satisfaction in the device.
Regarding claim 7, 10, 17, and 20: Radziemski et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Radziemski et al did not disclose wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises audio data received from an audio capture device coupled to the external user interface subassembly.
In an analogous invention, Nguyen et al teaches wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises audio data received from an audio capture device coupled to the external user interface subassembly (see paragraph [0028], showing the instructions and sets of data or values are executable by the controller 130. Execution of such causes the controller 130 to perform specific acts to cause the selection, generating and/or transmitting of a first electrical or other electromagnetic signal representing audio associated with the first piece of content 105 and selection, generating and/or transmitting of a second electrical or other electromagnetic signal representing audio associated with the second piece of content 107. Such selection, generating and/or transmitting of additional audio signals may also be performed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Radziemski et al’s device charging and power supply as taught by Nguyen et al’s multiuser audiovisual control for the purpose of providing a system with various data options with a receiver and transmitter, wherein the sets of data may take a variety of forms. This yields the expected result of improving the system and thereby increasing the user’s satisfaction in the device.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radziemski et al (US 2015/0280484) in view of Sharp (US 2016/0012465).
Regarding claims 8 and 18: Radziemski et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Radziemski et al did not disclose wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises payment data received from a payment mechanism device coupled to the external user interface subassembly.
In an analogous invention, Sharp teaches wherein the second electromagnetic data signal comprises payment data received from a payment mechanism device coupled to the external user interface subassembly (see paragraph [0184], showing the system application [147] may be configured to accept a user [91] selection regarding at least one form of payment data [10] to be used in exchange for the at least one redemption option; wherein the system application [147] may be configured to determine a value of the payment data [10] in its native unit value to define an input credit value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Radziemski et al’s device charging and power supply as taught by Sharp’s system and method for distributing, receiving, and using funds for the purpose of providing a way for receiving payment and a system with various data options with a receiver and transmitter, wherein the sets of data may take a variety of forms. This yields the expected result of improving the system and thereby increasing the user’s satisfaction in the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks and Terminal Disclaimer, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under Obviousness Double Patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of newly found prior arts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shen et al discloses method and apparatus for power saving scheme in a location sensor; Link discloses streaming and synchronization of media.
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715