Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera et al. 6,071,253, in view of Nelson et al. 2020/0246214, and further in view of Taylor et al. 2018/0078446
Regarding claim 1, Rivera teaches an apparatus for facilitating a myofascial therapy to a user (Figures 5-8), the apparatus comprising;
a flexible membrane (Column 3 line 64: Thin layer 54 made of rubber foam, figure 1) configured to be securely wrapped around at least one portion of an object (Wrapped around cylindrical plastic pipe),
wherein the flexible membrane is elastic and stretchable (foam rubber will stretch/deform when pressed, and return to its original shape when not),
wherein the flexible membrane is expanded (membrane 54 is expanded as it has a width that matches the width of the cylindrical plastic pipe) for applying the flexible membrane over the at least one portion of the object (Layer 54 is applied over the cylindrical plastic pipe).
A first surface of a flexible membrane, wherein the first surface is an outer surface of the flexible membrane (outer surface of thin layer 54).
A second surface being an inner surface (inner surface of thin layer 54).
wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user (Column 4 line 1 states " Preferably the protective covering is smooth and non-porous, so that it does provide a significant frictional resistance to the lateral), wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped (member 56), in a longitudinal direction (Figure 9, 17). The material is anisotropic because even though some lateral movement is allowed based on figure 10, the overall device does not want the body to shift substantially laterally as the material does provide significant frictional resistance in the lateral direction.
Rivera fails to teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface comprises anisotropic frictional material, wherein the second surface is an inner surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a longitudinal direction, at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence. wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence.
Nelson does teach an analogous massage system wherein the second surface is an inner surface (Surface element 59 of figures 12b and 12c both have an implicit inner and outer surface), wherein the second surface opposing the first surface contains an anisotropic frictional material (paragraph 31 states that patterned surface 59 can contain anisotropic material, these segments cover the entire surface of the roller, including the inside.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner layer of 54 of Rivera that abuts element 56 with the teachings of Nelson and include wherein the second surface is an inner surface that opposes the first surface and contains an anisotropic frictional material as this would cause the entire surface of thin layer 54 to exhibit anisotropic properties.
Once this modification is made, the inner/second surface of Rivera would now teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface comprises anisotropic frictional material, wherein the second surface is an inner surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a longitudinal direction, as the entirety of thin layer 54 has now been modified to contain anisotropic materials, therefore the same properties exhibited by the outer layer, can now also apply to the inner layer.
The combination still fails to teach at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence, wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence.
Taylor discloses an analogous massage roller that does teach and at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane (plurality of nubs 124 on base layer 122, Figure 2),
wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements (0010 states “Preferably, each nub is made of relatively dense synthetic foam, such as ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA)”),
wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane (Figures 2 and 3 depict the individual affixation of the foam elements),
wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart (Figure 2 depicts a spacing of nubs 124) for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object (The membrane 122 would expand when wrapped around the bottle as the base layer can be made of natural or synthetic rubber (0031).)
wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand (The foam elements would expand as they are tightly wrapped around a surface, as opposed to when they are not stretched).
wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable (Figure 1 depicts a variable space between the elements in a horizontal direction and the elements in a vertical direction).
wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane (Since the membrane 122 is made of natural or synthetic rubber and the nubs are made of foam, there is an ability to wiggle and move around the nubs once the flexible membrane is wrapped)
wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user (0010 states “Each nub is a massage element, and the plurality of nubs forms a textured surface for myofascial release of certain muscles of the user”).
wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence (Figure 2 depicts the nubs placed in a pattern) wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements (Figure 2 shows gaps between nubs 124), wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence (The gaps seen in figure 2 are varying in a predetermined sequence).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rivera in view of Taylor and teach at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence, wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence as this setup of using individual protrusions allows for myofascial flexibility and muscle tension release for the user (0039).
Regarding claim 2, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one protrusion further comprises a plurality of soft tiles (Figure 2 of Taylor depicts multiple tile structures within the overall nub).
Regarding claim 8, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is characterized by a first shape, wherein the first shape comprises one or more of a cuboidal shape (figure 7 of Taylor depicts an embodiment where the protrusions are in a cuboidal shape) and a hexagonal shape configured to provide the myofascial release (abstract), wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is of a uniform shape and a uniform size (Figure 7 of Taylor depicts each of the foam elements in a uniform shape and size).
Regarding claim 9, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the object comprises of a cylindrical object (Rivera is wrapped around a cylindrical pipe).
Regarding claim 12, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pattern is characterized by one or more of a distance between each of the plurality of foam elements, and a position of each of the plurality of foam elements (Figure 2 of Taylor depicts this pattern as a distance is shown between the plurality of foam elements at specific positions).
Regarding claim 14, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the flexible membrane is configured to be in a tubular shape (Figure 1 of Rivera), wherein the tubular shape comprises an open end, wherein the object is configured to be wrapped inside the tubular shape using the open end, (the open end of thin layer 54 is wrapped around the plastic pipe as depicted in figure 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Lin et al. 2017/0143583
Regarding claim 3, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface is further characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object. However, Lin discloses an analogous myofascial release device with a flexible membrane (fig. 2, membrane 12) that does teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface (fig. 4A, inner surface opposite outer surface with protrusions) is characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object (see paragraph 22 “the properties of the soft elastic material permit the outer enveloping member 12 to tightly press against an inner periphery of the massaging roller 2,” this prevents movement between the roller layer 2 and the cylinder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the second surface of the flexible membrane of modified Rivera to be made of a material with a high friction coefficient, as taught by Lin, so the wrap does not move in relation to the bottle when it has been placed around the bottle.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Smith et al. 2021/0169732
Regarding claim 4, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a shape memory polymer, wherein the shape memory polymer comprises at least one of Polynorbornene-based Shape Memory Polymer. Polycaprolactone (PCL) Shape Memory Polymers, and Polysiloxane Shape Memory Polymers. Smith teaches an analogous device for myofascial therapy (abstract and fig. 8, the device is placed along the back to alleviate back muscle pain) wherein the contacting foam comprises shape memory polymer (see paragraph 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the at least one protrusion of modified Rivera to comprise shape memory polymer, as taught by Smith, for the purpose of using a known material that can provide specific firmness or harness areas (0037).
Since smith teaches a shape memory polymer, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the shape memory polymer comprises at least one of Polynorbornene-based Shape Memory Polymer. Polycaprolactone (PCL) Shape Memory Polymers, and Polysiloxane Shape Memory Polymers since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use or purpose.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Olaya et al. 2015/0080774
Regarding claim 5, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface further comprises an adhesive agent configured to adhere to the at least one portion of the object. wherein the adhesive agent comprises a reusable adhesive, wherein the reusable adhesive is pressure sensitive, wherein a bonding state of the reusable adhesive depends on a pressure applied on the flexible membrane. Olaya teaches an analogous massage roller that does teach wherein the second surface of the flexible membrane (interior of surface 200) opposing the first surface further comprises an adhesive agent (adhesive layer 200) configured to adhere to the at least one portion of the object (Shown in figure 1), wherein the adhesive agent comprises a reusable adhesive, wherein the reusable adhesive is pressure sensitive (0022 states “The adhesive layer may consist of a liquid adhesive, a double sided adhesive tape, a pressure sensitive adhesive”), wherein a bonding state of the reusable adhesive depends on a pressure applied on the flexible membrane (If more pressure is applied onto the membrane the adhesive connection will be tighter by virtue of the pressure that is being applied to it.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Rivera with the teachings of Olaya and include wherein the second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface further comprises an adhesive agent configured to adhere to the at least one portion of the object. wherein the adhesive agent comprises a reusable adhesive, wherein the reusable adhesive is pressure sensitive, wherein a bonding state of the reusable adhesive depends on a pressure applied on the flexible membrane for securely adhering the membrane to the object it is being attached to (0022).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Langley et al. 2004/0116022
Regarding claim 6, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first surface of the flexible membrane is coated with a protective substance, wherein the protective substance is configured to prevent degradation of the first surface. wherein the protective substance comprises each of a hydrophobic substance. an oleophobic substance. an anti-static substance. and an anti-microbial substance.
However, Langley teaches a durable, waterproof fabric composite that has an outer shell treated with a protective substance on the upper surface (paragraph 25 and fig. 3, outer, upper surface of the shell fabric is treated with surface treatments) wherein the protective substance is configured to prevent degradation of the first surface (These type of surface treatments are able to prevent degradation of the surface) and comprises each of a hydrophobic substance, an oleophobic substance, an anti-static substance, and an anti-microbial substance (see paragraph 25 “These additives, surface treatments and/or finishes can include, but are not limited to oleophobic, hydrophobic, and/or hydrophilic compositions anti-microbials, flame resistant compositions, anti-static compositions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Rivera’s flexible membrane’s first surface to be coated with a protective substance coating comprising each of a hydrophobic substance, an oleophobic substance, an anti-static substance, and an anti-microbial substance because Langley teaches that this type of surface treatment can be imparted on outer surfaces to impart desirable performance characteristics (0025).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Brown et al. 2019/0053973
Regarding claim 7, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach a fastening mechanism disposed on the flexible membrane, wherein the fastening mechanism is configured to facilitate secure wrapping of the flexible membrane around the object. Brown teaches an analogous foam roller that does teach a fastening mechanism (male fastener 162) disposed on the flexible membrane (Figure 3), wherein the fastening mechanism is configured to facilitate secure wrapping of the flexible membrane around the object (Figure 3). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Rivera and include a fastening mechanism disposed on the flexible membrane as this creates a secured cylindrical profile of the membrane (0021).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Litman et al. 2024/0307251
Regarding claim 10, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach an EMG sensor configured to generate an EMG data based on the muscle activity of a muscle of the user proximal to the EMG sensor; a processing device communicatively coupled with the EMG sensor, wherein the processing device is configured to: analyze the EMG data; generate a muscle activity data based on the analyzing, wherein the muscle activity data indicates a muscle condition after the myofascial therapy. Litman discloses an analogous massage device (abstract and fig. 1) that does teach wherein the device comprises an EMG sensor configured to generate an EMG data based on the muscle activity of a muscle of the user proximal to the EMG sensor (see paragraph 300, EMG sensors are used to detect electrical impulses of nerves associated with muscle activity); a processing device communicatively coupled with the EMG sensor (see fig. 13 and paragraphs 299-301, a microcontroller 1308 is coupled with the sensors 1312), wherein the processing device is configured to: analyze the EMG data; generate a muscle activity data based on the analyzing, wherein the muscle activity data indicates a muscle condition after the myofascial therapy (see paragraphs 290 and 297-300 EMG data is collected as muscle data and to “quantify the impacts of a massage”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of modified Rivera to have EMGs to collect muscle activity data that indicates a muscle condition, as taught by Litman, for the purpose of quantifying the impacts of the massage (290) to determine how effective the massage was.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Rocklin et al. 2017/0020774
Regarding claim 11, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the at least one protrusion comprises of a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy, wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user.
Rocklin discloses an analogous myofascial therapy massage device (abstract and fig. 1) that does teach wherein the at least one protrusion comprises of a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy (fig. 3, layer 332 protrudes from layer 32; see paragraph 61, layer “the roller body may be covered by a thin textile or polymer cosmetic comfort layer 332 that may allow for easy conductive heat transfer to the user”), wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user (see mpep 2112, this is an inherent property of providing heated massage to the user; see also paragraph 53, the heated roller provides numerous therapeutic effects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the at least one protrusion of modified Rivera to comprise a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy, as taught by Rocklin, for the purpose of providing enhanced therapeutic effects (paragraphs 39-53).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera in view of Nelson, Taylor, and Langley
Regarding claim 15, Rivera teaches an apparatus for facilitating a myofascial therapy to a user (Figures 5-8), the apparatus comprising;
a flexible membrane (Column 3 line 64: Thin layer 54 made of rubber foam, figure 1) configured to be securely wrapped around at least one portion of an object (Wrapped around cylindrical plastic pipe),
wherein the flexible membrane is elastic and stretchable (foam rubber will stretch/deform when pressed, and return to its original shape when not),
wherein the flexible membrane is expanded (membrane 54 is expanded as it has a width that matches the width of the cylindrical plastic pipe) for applying the flexible membrane over the at least one portion of the object (Layer 54 is applied over the cylindrical plastic pipe).
A first surface of a flexible membrane, wherein the first surface is an outer surface of the flexible membrane (outer surface of thin layer 54).
A second surface being an inner surface (inner surface of thin layer 54).
wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user (Column 4 line 1 states " Preferably the protective covering is smooth and non-porous, so that it does provide a significant frictional resistance to the lateral), wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped (member 56), in a longitudinal direction (Figure 9, 17). The material is anisotropic because even though some lateral movement is allowed based on figure 10, the overall device does not want the body to shift substantially laterally as the material does provide significant frictional resistance in the lateral direction.
Rivera fails to teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface comprises anisotropic frictional material, wherein the second surface is an inner surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a longitudinal direction, at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable, wherein the plurality of foam elements is coated with a protective substance on at least an upper surface of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the protective substance comprises each of a hydrophobic substance, an oleophobic substance, an anti-static substance, and an anti-microbial substance, wherein the at least one protrusion further comprises a plurality of soft tiles, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence, wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence.
Nelson does teach an analogous massage system wherein the second surface is an inner surface (Surface element 59 of figures 12b and 12c both have an implicit inner and outer surface), wherein the second surface opposing the first surface contains an anisotropic frictional material (paragraph 31 states that patterned surface 59 can contain anisotropic material, these segments cover the entire surface of the roller, including the inside.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner layer of 54 of Rivera that abuts element 56 with the teachings of Nelson and include wherein the second surface is an inner surface that opposes the first surface and contains an anisotropic frictional material as this would cause the entire surface of thin layer 54 to exhibit anisotropic properties.
Once this modification is made, the inner/second surface of Rivera would now teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface comprises anisotropic frictional material, wherein the second surface is an inner surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a longitudinal direction, as the entirety of thin layer 54 has now been modified to contain anisotropic materials, therefore the same properties exhibited by the outer layer, can now also apply to the inner layer.
The combination still fails to teach at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable, wherein the plurality of foam elements is coated with a protective substance on at least an upper surface of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the protective substance comprises each of a hydrophobic substance, an oleophobic substance, an anti-static substance, and an anti-microbial substance, wherein the at least one protrusion further comprises a plurality of soft tiles, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence, wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence.
Taylor does teach at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane (plurality of nubs 124 on base layer 122, Figure 2),
wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements (0010 states “Preferably, each nub is made of relatively dense synthetic foam, such as ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA)”),
wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane (Figures 2 and 3 depict the individual affixation of the foam elements),
wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart (Figure 2 depicts a spacing of nubs 124) for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object (The membrane 122 would expand when wrapped around the bottle as the base layer can be made of natural or synthetic rubber (0031).),
wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane (Since the membrane 122 is made of natural or synthetic rubber and the nubs are made of foam, there is an ability to wiggle and move around the nubs once the flexible membrane is wrapped)
wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user (0010 states “Each nub is a massage element, and the plurality of nubs forms a textured surface for myofascial release of certain muscles of the user”),
wherein the at least one protrusion further comprises a plurality of soft tiles (Figure 2 of Taylor depicts multiple tile structures within the overall nub), wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence (Figure 2 depicts the nubs placed in a pattern) wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements (Figure 2 shows gaps between nubs 124), wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence (The gaps seen in figure 2 are varying in a predetermined sequence).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rivera in view of Taylor and teach at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence, wherein the at least one protrusion further comprises a plurality of soft tiles, wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence as this setup of using individual protrusions allows for myofascial flexibility and muscle tension release for the user (0039).
The combination still fails to teach wherein the plurality of foam elements is coated with a protective substance on at least an upper surface of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the protective substance comprises each of a hydrophobic substance, an oleophobic substance, an anti-static substance, and an anti-microbial substance.
Langley does teach a durable, waterproof fabric composite that has an outer shell treated with a protective substance on the upper surface (paragraph 25 and fig. 3, outer, upper surface of the shell fabric is treated with surface treatments) wherein the protective substance comprises each of a hydrophobic substance, an oleophobic substance, an anti-static substance, and an anti-microbial substance (see paragraph 25 “These additives, surface treatments and/or finishes can include, but are not limited to oleophobic, hydrophobic, and/or hydrophilic compositions anti-microbials, flame resistant compositions, anti-static compositions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the upper surface of the plurality of foam elements of the combination to have a protective substance coating comprising each of a hydrophobic substance, an oleophobic substance, an anti-static substance, and an anti-microbial substance because Langley teaches that this type of surface treatment can be imparted on outer surfaces to impart desirable performance characteristics (see paragraph 25 of Langley).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Lin
Regarding claim 16, modified Rivera teaches, the apparatus of claim 15, but fails to teach a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface is characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object.
Lin does teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface (fig. 4A, inner surface opposite outer surface with protrusions) is characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object (see paragraph 22 “the properties of the soft elastic material permit the outer enveloping member 12 to tightly press against an inner periphery of the massaging roller 2,” this prevents movement between the roller layer 2 and the cylinder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the second surface of the flexible membrane of modified Rivera to be made of a material with a high friction coefficient, as taught by Lin, so the wrap does not move in relation to the bottle when it has been placed around the bottle.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Rivera, in view of Brown
Regarding claim 17, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 15, but fails to teach a fastening mechanism disposed on the flexible membrane, wherein the fastening mechanism is configured to facilitate secure wrapping of the flexible membrane around the object. Brown does teach a fastening mechanism (male fastener 162) disposed on the flexible membrane (Figure 3), wherein the fastening mechanism is configured to facilitate secure wrapping of the flexible membrane around the object (Figure 3). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Rivera and include a fastening mechanism disposed on the flexible membrane as this creates a secured cylindrical profile of the membrane (0021).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera, in view of Nelson, Taylor, Lin, and Rocklin
Regarding claim 18, Rivera teaches an apparatus for facilitating a myofascial therapy to a user (Figures 5-8), the apparatus comprising;
a flexible membrane (Column 3 line 64: Thin layer 54 made of rubber foam, figure 1) configured to be securely wrapped around at least one portion of an object (Wrapped around cylindrical plastic pipe),
wherein the flexible membrane is elastic and stretchable (foam rubber will stretch/deform when pressed, and return to its original shape when not),
wherein the flexible membrane is expanded (membrane 54 is expanded as it has a width that matches the width of the cylindrical plastic pipe) for applying the flexible membrane over the at least one portion of the object (Layer 54 is applied over the cylindrical plastic pipe).
A first surface of a flexible membrane, wherein the first surface is an outer surface of the flexible membrane (outer surface of thin layer 54).
A second surface being an inner surface (inner surface of thin layer 54).
wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user (Column 4 line 1 states " Preferably the protective covering is smooth and non-porous, so that it does provide a significant frictional resistance to the lateral), wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped (member 56), in a longitudinal direction (Figure 9, 17). The material is anisotropic because even though some lateral movement is allowed based on figure 10, the overall device does not want the body to shift substantially laterally as the material does provide significant frictional resistance in the lateral direction.
Rivera fails to teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface comprises anisotropic frictional material, wherein the second surface is an inner surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a longitudinal direction, at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user, wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface is characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object, wherein the object comprises a water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises of a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be warmed by filling hot water in the water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be cooled by filling cold water in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is released based on the hot water filled in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is absorbed based on the cold water filled in the water bottle, wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence. wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence.
Nelson does teach an analogous massage system wherein the second surface is an inner surface (Surface element 59 of figures 12b and 12c both have an implicit inner and outer surface), wherein the second surface opposing the first surface contains an anisotropic frictional material (paragraph 31 states that patterned surface 59 can contain anisotropic material, these segments cover the entire surface of the roller, including the inside.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner layer of 54 of Rivera that abuts element 56 with the teachings of Nelson and include wherein the second surface is an inner surface that opposes the first surface and contains an anisotropic frictional material as this would cause the entire surface of thin layer 54 to exhibit anisotropic properties.
Once this modification is made, the inner/second surface of Rivera would now teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface comprises anisotropic frictional material, wherein the second surface is an inner surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to resist a first relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a lateral direction upon the rolling of the at least one portion of the object against the body part of the user, wherein the anisotropic frictional material is configured to allow a second relative movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the object around which the flexible membrane is wrapped, in a longitudinal direction, as the entirety of thin layer 54 has now been modified to contain anisotropic materials, therefore the same properties exhibited by the outer layer, can now also apply to the inner layer.
The combination still fails to teach at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user, wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface is characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object, wherein the object comprises a water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises of a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be warmed by filling hot water in the water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be cooled by filling cold water in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is released based on the hot water filled in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is absorbed based on the cold water filled in the water bottle, wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence. wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence.
Taylor discloses an analogous massage roller that does teach and at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane (plurality of nubs 124 on base layer 122, Figure 2),
wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements (0010 states “Preferably, each nub is made of relatively dense synthetic foam, such as ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA)”),
wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane (Figures 2 and 3 depict the individual affixation of the foam elements),
wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart (Figure 2 depicts a spacing of nubs 124) for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object (The membrane 122 would expand when wrapped around the bottle as the base layer can be made of natural or synthetic rubber (0031).)
wherein the flexible membrane stretches and conforms around the object to cause a space between the plurality of foam elements to expand (The foam elements would expand as they are tightly wrapped around a surface, as opposed to when they are not stretched).
wherein the space between the plurality of foam elements is variable (Figure 1 depicts a variable space between the elements in a horizontal direction and the elements in a vertical direction).
wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane (Since the membrane 122 is made of natural or synthetic rubber and the nubs are made of foam, there is an ability to wiggle and move around the nubs once the flexible membrane is wrapped)
wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user (0010 states “Each nub is a massage element, and the plurality of nubs forms a textured surface for myofascial release of certain muscles of the user”).
wherein the object comprises a water bottle (bottle 102), wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence (Figure 2 depicts the nubs placed in a pattern) wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements (Figure 2 shows gaps between nubs 124), wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence (The gaps seen in figure 2 are varying in a predetermined sequence).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rivera in view of Taylor and teach at least one protrusion affixed on a first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of foam elements, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is individually affixed to the first surface of the flexible membrane, wherein the plurality of foam elements are spaced apart for allowing the expanding of the flexible membrane for the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object, wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is independently movable after the securely wrapping of the flexible membrane around the at least one portion of the object based on the affixing of the plurality of foam elements to the flexible membrane, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to provide a myofascial release to a user upon rolling the at least one portion of the object against a body part of the user wherein each of the plurality of foam elements is affixed to the first surface at a spaced apart interval with a pattern indicating a predetermined sequence. wherein the spaced apart interval defines a gap between adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements, wherein the gap between the adjacent foam elements of the plurality of foam elements varies in the predetermined sequence as this setup of using individual protrusions allows for myofascial flexibility and muscle tension release for the user (0039).
The combination still fails to teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface is characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object, wherein the object comprises a water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises of a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be warmed by filling hot water in the water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be cooled by filling cold water in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is released based on the hot water filled in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is absorbed based on the cold water filled in the water bottle, wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user.
Lin does teach wherein a second surface of the flexible membrane opposing the first surface (fig. 4A, inner surface opposite outer surface with protrusions) is characterized by a high friction coefficient, wherein the high friction coefficient resists a movement of the flexible membrane in relation to the at least one portion of the object (see paragraph 22 “the properties of the soft elastic material permit the outer enveloping member 12 to tightly press against an inner periphery of the massaging roller 2,” this prevents movement between the roller layer 2 and the cylinder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the second surface of the flexible membrane of modified Rivera to be made of a material with a high friction coefficient, as taught by Lin, so the wrap does not move in relation to the bottle when it has been placed around the bottle. The combination still fails to teach, wherein the object comprises a water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises of a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be warmed by filling hot water in the water bottle, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be cooled by filling cold water in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is released based on the hot water filled in the water bottle, wherein the heat energy is absorbed based on the cold water filled in the water bottle, wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user.
Rocklin does teach wherein the at least one protrusion comprises of a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy (fig. 3, layer 332 protrudes from layer 32; see paragraph 61, layer “the roller body may be covered by a thin textile or polymer cosmetic comfort layer 332 that may allow for easy conductive heat transfer to the user”), wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user (see mpep 2112, this is an inherent property of providing heated massage to the user; see also paragraph 53, the heated roller provides numerous therapeutic effects). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the at least one protrusion of Taylor to comprise a thermally conductive material configured to one or more of release or absorb a heat energy, as taught by Rocklin, for the purpose of providing enhanced therapeutic effects (39-53 of Rocklin).
Modified Rivera, as modified by Rocklin, further teaches wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be warmed by filling hot water in the water bottle (when warm water is placed in the bottle, the thermally conductive protrusions would heat up), wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be cooled by filling cold water in the water bottle (when cold water is placed into the bottle, the thermally concoctive protrusions would cool), wherein the heat energy is released based on the hot water filled in the water bottle (this is a function of filling the bottle with hot water), wherein the heat energy is absorbed based on the cold water filled in the water bottle (this is a function of filling the bottle with cold water), wherein the one or more of releasing and absorption of the heat energy provides a therapeutic effect to the user (intended use, the user would find therapeutic effects from heat or cooling).
Regarding claim 19, modified Rivera teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of soft tiles (Figure 2 of Taylor depicts multiple tile structures within the overall nub).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Taylor, in view of Brown
Regarding claim 20, modified Rivera the apparatus of claim 18, but fails to teach a fastening mechanism disposed on the flexible membrane, wherein the fastening mechanism is configured to facilitate secure wrapping of the flexible membrane around the object. Brown does teach a fastening mechanism (male fastener 162) disposed on the flexible membrane (Figure 3), wherein the fastening mechanism is configured to facilitate secure wrapping of the flexible membrane around the object (Figure 3). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Rivera and include a fastening mechanism disposed on the flexible membrane as this creates a secured cylindrical profile of the membrane (0021).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROHAN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785