DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because “a plurality of pivot holes” is not identified by reference character in any drawing (assigned reference character 223 in specification para 32, recited in claims 4, 5). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-7318628-B2 to Guile (“Guile”).
Regarding Claim 1, Guile discloses an omni wheel (60 “wheel” [Fig 4, 5,6] comprising 10 “first wheel” [Fig 1] and 50 ”second frame”), comprising: a hub (12), comprising a disk assembly (11 “frame”) and a roller assembly (32 ”first rim with arms 16 and 40 rollers Fig 1, 5, 6), comprising a plurality of rollers (eight 40 “rollers” upon 11, with 41 “roller tire”, in Fig 4, 5, 6); and wherein, the plurality of rollers are disposed on (Fig 6) the disk assembly, the plurality of rollers each comprise a wider portion (having a gradually arced surface, Annotated Fig 4 “AF4”) and a narrower portion (AF4) connected to a side of the wider portion so that a step (formed by a straight groove “AF4”) is formed between the wider portion and the narrower portion.
Regarding Claim 2, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, wherein the roller assembly further comprises a plurality of pivots (16 “roller axle” with 19 cylindrical “bushing”), and the plurality of rollers are rotatably disposed on the disk assembly via the plurality of pivots, respectively (Col 7 lines 64-66, Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 2, wherein the roller assembly comprises a plurality of roller assemblies (31 “rim portion” including 32 “first rim” and 33 “second rim“ each with arms 16 and 40 rollers Fig 5, 6), the disk assembly comprises a plurality of disk assemblies (11 “frame” and 50 “second frame”, Fig 5, 6), the plurality of pivots of the plurality of roller assembly are rotatably disposed on the plurality of disk assemblies, respectively, the wider portions of the plurality of rollers of two adjacent ones of the plurality of roller assemblies are partially overlapped (Col 9, lines 19-29, Fig 6) along a peripheral direction (“circumferentially”) of the plurality of disk assemblies.
Regarding Claim 4, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 2, wherein the disk assembly comprises two mounting plates (outboard and inboard sides of each of 11, 50 each integrally molded around 19 [Col 8 lines 35-41], then 11 and 50 ultrasonically welded together, [Col 10 lines 1-7]), the two mounting plates are fixed to each other (Col 8 lines 35-41, Col 10 lines 1-7, Fig 3a see bisecting weld seam in 19, Fig 3a, 5, 7, 8 ) and together form a plurality of pivot holes (two sets of eight cylindrical holes where 19 “cylindrical bushes” are fitted, Fig 1, 2, 6), and the plurality of pivots of the roller assembly are rotatably disposed (Col 7, lines 64-66, Fig 6) in the plurality of pivot holes, respectively.
Regarding Claim 5, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 4, wherein the two mounting plates each have a plurality of mounting protrusions (14 “radial arms” with 15 “head portion” Fig 4,) radially protruding outwards (Fig 1, 2) therefrom, the plurality of mounting protrusions are arranged along a peripheral direction of the disk assembly, the plurality of mounting protrusions radially taper toward (have 22 “diverging walls” forming taper toward the center of 11/50 in arms Fig 1, 2) the disk assembly, and the plurality of mounting protrusion of one of the two mounting plates forms the plurality of pivot holes together with the plurality of mounting protrusions of another one of the two mounting plate, respectively (Fig 1, 2, 4, 5, 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 5, wherein the narrower portion of each of the plurality of rollers is radially located outside the plurality of mounting protrusions (AF4).
Regarding Claim 7, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 4, further comprising a positioning component (29 “studs” in 11 and 30 “recesses” in 50, Col 8 lines 56-57 continuing into Col 9 lines 1-6, Fig 1, 2, 6) disposed through the two mounting plates (Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a wider peripheral surface (AF4) that is in an arc shape, and the narrower portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a narrower peripheral surface that is in an arc shape (AF4).
Regarding Claim 13, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 12, wherein a circular outline (dashed circles, Annotated Fig4 closeup, “AF4C”) formed by the wider peripheral surface of the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers, wherein the circular outline (centered at +Cw, AF4C) formed by the wider peripheral surface of the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers and a circular outline formed (centered at +Cn, AF4C) by the narrower peripheral surface of the narrower portion of each of the plurality of rollers are not concentric (AF4C).
Regarding Claim 18, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, wherein the narrower portion of each of the plurality of rollers comprises two narrower portions (at ends of each roller, AF4), in each of the plurality of rollers, the two narrower portions are connected to two opposite sides of the wider portion (AF4), respectively, so that two steps (AF4) are formed between the two narrower portions and the wider portion.
Regarding Claim 19, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of rollers are arranged along a peripheral direction (tangent to circumferential direction Fig 4) of the disk assembly.
Regarding Claim 20, Guile discloses a vehicle (Claim 15 an article, movingly supported by wheels), comprising: a vehicle body (article of claim 15 would implicitly have a body and frame to which wheels are attached); and an omni wheel (60 “wheel” [Fig 4, 5,6] comprising 10 “first wheel” [Fig 1] and 50 ”second frame”), comprising: a hub (12), comprising a disk assembly (11 “frame”) and a roller assembly (32 ”first rim with arms 16 and 40 rollers Fig 1, 5, 6), comprising a plurality of rollers (eight 40 “rollers” upon 11, with 41 “roller tire”, in Fig 4, 5, 6); and wherein, the plurality of rollers are disposed on (Fig 6) the disk assembly, the plurality of rollers each comprise a wider portion (having a gradually arced surface, Annotated Fig 4 “AF4”) and a narrower portion (, “AF4”) connected to a side of the wider portion so that a step (formed by a straight groove “AF4”) is formed between the wider portion and the narrower portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guile as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR-20220016877-A to Sutherland (“Sutherland”).
Regarding Claim 8, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a first straight groove, in each of the plurality of rollers, the first straight groove radially recesses inwards, and an extension direction of the first straight groove is parallel to a peripheral direction (“circumferentially”) of the roller.
Sutherland discloses a omni wheel (2) having a roller (30 “rolling wheels”) wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a plurality of grooves (in 102 “suitable traction surface/traction cylinder with tread design”, English translation “ET” Page 7, Para 5 beginning “Additionally, although ultra high…”, Fig 10 shows traction surface tread design including two inclined grooves forming a V shape, having two straight grooves located between the inclined grooves, tread grooves implicitly recess radially inward), in each of the plurality of rollers, the two inclined grooves radially recess inwards, an extension direction of the two inclined grooves is non-parallel to the peripheral direction of the roller, and the first straight groove is located between the two inclined groove.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the omni wheel and the roller having roller with a wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers having a first straight groove, in each of the plurality of rollers, the first straight groove radially recesses inwards, and an extension direction of the first straight groove is parallel to a peripheral direction, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the omni wheel of Guile and the teaching of the roller having a wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers having a traction surface first straight groove, in each of the plurality of rollers, the first straight groove radially recesses inwards, and an extension direction of the first straight groove is parallel to a peripheral direction of Sutherland, to modify the rollers of Guile such that the roller having a wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers having a traction surface (like Sutherland) including a first straight groove (and inclined grooves), in each of the plurality of rollers, the first straight groove radially recesses inwards, and an extension direction of the first straight groove is parallel to a peripheral direction, with the motivation to enhance the traction of the roller ( ET” Page 7, Para 5 beginning “Additionally, although ultra high…”), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Guile and Sutherland disclose the omni wheel according to claim 8, Guile further discloses wherein the narrower portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a second straight groove (forming step, as described in paragraph 6 of this document, (Guile AF4), in each of the plurality of rollers, the second straight groove radially recesses inwards (Guile AF4), and an extension direction of the second straight groove is parallel to (Guile AF4), the peripheral direction (circumferential) of the roller.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Guile and Sutherland discloses the omni wheel according to claim 8, wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has two inclined grooves, in each of the plurality of rollers, the two inclined grooves radially recess inwards, an extension direction of the two inclined grooves is non-parallel to the peripheral direction of the roller, and the first straight groove is located between the two inclined groove (as described in paragraph 21 of this document).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guile as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 12, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 11, wherein a circular outline (Fig 6, AF4C) formed by the wider peripheral surface of the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers, but does not disclose wherein the circular outline formed by the wider peripheral surface of the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers and a circular outline formed by the narrower peripheral surface of the narrower portion of each of the plurality of rollers are concentric.
The shape of the outer peripheral surface of the narrower portion is not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices, made as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a circular shape of the outer peripheral surface of the narrower portion such that the diameter of the circular shape of the narrower portion was smaller than that of the circular diameter the outer peripheral surface of the wider portion, with the motivation to ensure the roller shape fits the frame (Guile Col 7 lines 57-59). This combination/modification being done with a reasonable expectation of success and having equivalent function.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guile as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-8540038-B1 to Ullman (“Ullman”)
Regarding Claim 14, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a wider peripheral surface that is in a flat shape.
Ullman discloses an omnidirectional arrangement (130 “omnidirectional roller arrangement” Col 3 lines 55) including a plurality of rollers (133 “cylindrical rollers”, Col 3, lines 35-44, Fig 2A), each roller having a wider portion (Fig 2A) with a wider peripheral surface (flat portion between ends shown in Fig 2A, having a planar contact path Col 5 lines 23-28) that is in a flat portion (flat portion between ends shown in Fig 2A, “having a planar contact path Col 5 lines 23-28, enabling a surface that is more wear resistant, with a lower profile and more maneuverable, (Ullman Col 1, lines 32-41) .
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the omni wheel and the teaching of the roller arrangement including a plurality of rollers each having a wider portion with a wider peripheral surface that is in a flat shape, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the omni wheel of Guile and the teaching of the roller arrangement including a plurality of rollers each having a wider portion with a wider peripheral surface that is in a flat shape of Ullman, to modify the shape of the roller (of Guile) such that it includes a with a wider peripheral surface that is in a flat shape (like Ullman), with the motivation to have a roller surface that is more wear resistant, with a lower profile and more maneuverable, (Ullman Col 1, lines 32-41), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 15, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, including rollers having a wider portion with a wider peripheral surface having an arced shape (as described in paragraph 6 of this document).
Guile does not disclose wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a wider peripheral surface comprising a flat portion and the two arc portions are connected to two opposite sides of the flat portion, respectively
Ullman discloses an omnidirectional arrangement (130 “omnidirectional roller arrangement” Col 3 lines 55) including a plurality of rollers (133 “cylindrical rollers”, Col 3, lines 35-44, Fig 2A), each roller having a wider portion (Fig 2A) with a wider peripheral surface (flat portion between ends shown in Fig 2A, having a planar contact path Col 5 lines 23-28) comprising a flat portion (flat portion between ends shown in Fig 2A).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the omni wheel and the teaching of the roller arrangement including a plurality of rollers each having a wider portion with a wider peripheral surface comprising a flat portion that is in a flat shape, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the omni wheel of Guile and the teaching of the roller arrangement including a plurality of rollers each having a wider portion with a wider peripheral surface that is in a flat shape of Ullman i, to modify the shape of the central portion of the (arced) wider portion of the roller (of Guile) such that it includes a wider peripheral surface that is in a flat shape (like Ullman) between two arced end portions (of Guile), with the motivation to have a roller surface that is more wear resistant, with a lower profile and more maneuverable, Ullman Col 1, lines 32-41), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guile as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-10899172-B2 to Patrick (“Patrick”).
Regarding Claim 16, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a wider peripheral surface. Guile further discloses a first side surface (left AF4) , a second side surface (right AF4), in each of the plurality of rollers, the first side surface and the second side surface are connected to two opposite sides of the wider peripheral surface (radially outer peripheral surface of Wider portion, AF4), respectively, and the narrower portion protrudes from one of the first side surface and the second side surface (AF4).
Guile does not disclose the rollers including a first protrusion and a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion radially protrude from the wider peripheral surface, the first protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the second protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected.
Patrick discloses a forklift/jack (Col 1 lines 45-61, e.g. Fig 1) with rear wheels (front wheels, Fig 1) including a plurality of rollers (32 “blade wheel assembly”, Figs 3, 7a) including a wider portion (AF7A) wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a wider peripheral surface (AF7A), a first side surface (AF7A), a second side surface (AF7A), a first protrusion (left most 3 “sinusoidal protrusion” of 3 “sinusoidal peripheral surfaces [i.e. having radial protrusion/hills and radial recesses/valleys” AF7A) and a second protrusion (right most 3 “sinusoidal protrusion” of 3 “sinusoidal peripheral surfaces [i.e. having radial protrusion/hills and radial recesses/valleys” Annotated closeup Fig 4 “AF4C”, and Fig 7b, AF7A), in each of the plurality of rollers, the first side surface and the second side surface are connected to (AF7A) two opposite sides of the wider peripheral surface, respectively, the first protrusion and the second protrusion radially protrude from the wider peripheral surface (AF7A), the first protrusion is located on a position (AF7A) where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the second protrusion is located on a position (AF7A) where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the omni wheel and the wheel with rollers including a first protrusion and a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion radially protrude from the wider peripheral surface, the first protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the second protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the omni wheel of Guile and the teaching of the rollers including a first protrusion and a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion radially protrude from the wider peripheral surface, the first protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the second protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected of Patrick, to modify the rollers (of Guile) such that it includes a first protrusion and a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion radially protrude from the wider peripheral surface, the first protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the second protrusion is located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected (like Patrick) with the motivation to improve wear resistance, dissipate heat, increase airflow, reduce shock from uneven surfaces, (Patrick Col 7 line 3, 56-58, Co 8 lines 48-53, 63-67), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 17, Guile discloses the omni wheel according to claim 1, wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a wider peripheral surface, a first side surface, a second side surface, the first side surface and the second side surface are connected to two opposite sides of the wider peripheral surface, respectively, the narrower portion protrudes from one of the first side surface and the second side surface, but does not disclose a plurality of first and a plurality of second recesses, in each of the plurality of rollers, the plurality of first recesses and the plurality of second recesses radially recess inwards) from the wider peripheral surface, the plurality of first recesses are arranged along a peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position) where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the plurality of second recesses are arranged along the peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected.
Patrick discloses an omni wheel (2 “omni-directional wheel), a plurality of rollers (32) including a wider portion (AF7A). wherein the wider portion of each of the plurality of rollers has a wider peripheral surface (AF7A), a first side surface (AF7A), a second side surface (AF7A), a plurality of first recesses (radial recesses/valleys” [i.e. recess radially inward] between 3 radial protrusions/hills of the “sinusoidal peripheral best, AF7A and Annotated Fig 4 closeup “AF4C”) and a plurality of second recesses (on second side surface, AF4C, AF7A), in each of the plurality of rollers, the first side surface and the second side surface are connected to two opposite sides of the wider peripheral surface, the plurality of first recesses and the plurality of second recesses radially recess inwards (AF4C), from the wider peripheral surface, the plurality of first recesses are arranged along (AF4C), a peripheral direction (circumferentially) of the roller, and are located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected (AF4C), and the plurality of second recesses are arranged along the peripheral direction of the roller (AF4C), and are located on a position (AF4C, AF7A) where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the omni wheel and the omni wheel including a plurality of first and a plurality of second recesses, in each of the plurality of rollers, the plurality of first recesses and the plurality of second recesses radially recess inwards from the wider peripheral surface, the plurality of first recesses are arranged along a peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position) where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the plurality of second recesses are arranged along the peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the omni wheel of Guile and the teaching of the omni wheel including a plurality of first and a plurality of second recesses, in each of the plurality of rollers, the plurality of first recesses and the plurality of second recesses radially recess inwards from the wider peripheral surface, the plurality of first recesses are arranged along a peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the plurality of second recesses are arranged along the peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected, of Patrick, to modify the wider peripheral surface such that shape of the side surfaces thereof include a plurality of first and a plurality of second recesses in each of the plurality of rollers, such that the plurality of first recesses and the plurality of second recesses radially recess inwards from the wider peripheral surface, and such that the plurality of first recesses are arranged along a peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the first side surface are connected, and the plurality of second recesses are arranged along the peripheral direction of the roller, and are located on a position where the wider peripheral surface and the second side surface are connected (like Patrick) with the motivation to improve wear resistance, dissipate heat, increase airflow, reduce shock from uneven surfaces (Patrick Col 7 line 3, 56-58, Co 8 lines 48-53, 63-67), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success. to improve the traction between of the wheel having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon (see PTO-892) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as they disclose at least one of: omni-directional wheels, rollers having arced, flat shapes that are pivotably mounted arms of discs of hub including protrusions recesses.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615