DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 53 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 53 recites the limitation “the mouth is located”, which should be rewritten as “ ---wherein --- the mouth is located”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 67 recites the limitation "the aqueous solution" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51 – 58, 60 & 68 – 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hejazi (US 20210052014) in view of Nettenstrom (US 20190099561).
Regarding claim 51, Hejazi discloses;
An electronic device for producing an aerosol (Fig. 1, 100) for inhalation by a person, comprising:
(a) a cartridge (Fig. 2, 104) comprising a cartridge body (Fig. 2, 103) and a mouthpiece (Fig. 5, 362); and
(b) an elongate base housing (Fig. 2, 101) having proximal and distal longitudinal ends (see annotated Fig. 2 below depicting the proximal and distal longitudinal ends) and defining a recess (Fig. 2, 125) at the distal longitudinal end configured to longitudinally receive therein the cartridge body ([0029]), the cartridge (Fig. 2, 104) being longitudinally received therein and magnetically mounted ([0027]) to the base housing (Fig. 2, 101), with the mouthpiece (Fig. 2, 362) secured to the cartridge body in covering relation to a top of the cartridge body and extending away from the distal longitudinal end of the base housing to define a distal end of the electronic device from which an aerosol may be inhaled by a person through an exterior opening of the mouthpiece (Fig. 2 depicts the mouthpiece extending away from the housing to define a distal end from which an aerosol may be inhaled);
(c) wherein the cartridge body (Fig. 2, 103) comprises:
(i) a liquid reservoir (Fig. 2, 144) with a mouth of the liquid reservoir being covered by the mouthpiece (see annotated Fig. 5 below), and
(ii) a mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) comprising a mesh material (Fig. 5, 319) and a piezoelectric material (Fig. 5, 317; [0064]), the mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) being located in sealing engagement with the mouth of the liquid reservoir on an exterior side of the cartridge body ([0065]),
(iii) wherein the mesh material is configured to vibrate when the piezoelectric material is actuated whereby the aerosol is produced when the mesh material contacts a liquid of the liquid reservoir such that the aerosol may be inhaled from the exterior opening (Fig. 2, 128) of the mouthpiece secured in covering relation to the top of the cartridge body ([0054}; he atomization assembly may comprise a vibrating mesh assembly, which may comprise a piezoelectric material (e.g., a piezoelectric ceramic material) affixed to and substantially surrounding a mesh plate, (e.g., a perforated plate such as a micro-perforated mesh plate) that is vibrated within the liquid composition or proximate the surface of the liquid composition to generate an aerosol) and
(d) wherein the base housing (Fig. 2, 101) comprises circuitry (Fig. 2, 106) and a power supply (Fig. 2, 110) that is electrically connected to the mesh assembly when the cartridge is magnetically mounted ([0027]) to the base housing within the recess for actuating the piezoelectric material of the mesh assembly ([0042]; the atomization assembly is connected to the base of the cartridge, which, when assembled to the control unit, provides an electrical connection to the control component and/or the battery. In such a manner, the atomization assembly of the depicted implementation may be energized by the battery and/or control component).
Hejazi does not explicitly disclose;
a liquid reservoir comprising a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body, with a mouth of the liquid reservoir being located adjacent the wall on an exterior of the cartridge body and covered by the mouthpiece.
However, Nettenstrom teaches;
a liquid reservoir (Fig. 1, 21) comprising a component (Fig. 1, 18) extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 1 below), with a mouth of the liquid reservoir (Fig. 1, 19) being located adjacent the wall on an exterior of the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 1 below) and covered by the mouthpiece (Fig. 1, 250).
The advantage of having a liquid reservoir with a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body is to provide an easy path for the aerosolized liquid to flow out of. Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Nettenstrom, with the invention of Hejazi, to provide a device with a liquid reservoir with a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body.
Regarding claim 52, in addition to the limitations in claim 51, Hejazi discloses;
wherein the liquid reservoir (Fig. 2, 144) comprises a bladder or liquid container ([0041]).
Regarding claim 53, in addition to the limitations in claim 51, Hejazi discloses;
the mouth is located within a recess in the wall defining the top of the cartridge body, the recess comprising the opening (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 54, in addition to the limitations in claim 51, Hejazi discloses;
wherein both the mouth of the liquid reservoir and the mesh assembly are located within a recess in the wall defining the top of the cartridge body, the recess comprising the opening (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 55, in addition to the limitations in claim 51, Hejazi discloses;
wherein a flange of the mouth of the liquid reservoir forms a seal with an underside of the mesh assembly such that the liquid does not leak from the engagement between the mouth of the liquid reservoir and the underside of the mesh assembly (see annotated Fig. 5 below; [0065]).
Regarding claim 56, in addition to the limitations in claim 51, Hejazi discloses;
wherein the mouthpiece (Fig. 5, 362) comprises an interior wall (Fig. 5 depicts the mouthpiece 362 having an interior wall) defining a passageway between the mesh material (Fig. 5, 319) of the mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) and the exterior opening (Fig. 2, 128), an end of the interior wall of the mouthpiece abutting and pressuring the mesh assembly into sealing engagement with the mouth of the liquid reservoir in securing the mouthpiece to the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 57, in addition to the limitations in claim 56, Hejazi discloses;
wherein the end of the interior wall comprises a C-shaped area that abuts the mesh assembly (Fig. 5 depicts a C-shaped cross-section that abuts mesh assembly 315; see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 58, in addition to the limitations in claim 56, Hejazi discloses;
wherein the end of the interior wall abuts an outer peripheral area of the mesh (Fig. 5 depicts the inner wall of mouthpiece 362 abutting the outer peripheral area of the mesh).
Regarding claim 60, in addition to the limitations in claim 58, Hejazi discloses;
wherein the end of the interior wall that abuts the outer peripheral area of the mesh assembly defines an opening for airflow to the mesh material and out of the exterior opening of the mouthpiece (Fig. 5 depicts an end of the interior wall abutting the outer peripheral area of the mesh assembly 315 and defining an opening 128 for airflow 366).
Regarding claim 68, Hejazi discloses;
An electronic device for producing an aerosol (Fig. 1, 100) for inhalation by a person, comprising:
(a) a cartridge (Fig. 2, 104) comprising a cartridge body (Fig. 2, 103) and a mouthpiece (Fig. 5, 362); and
(b) an elongate base housing (Fig. 2, 101) having proximal and distal longitudinal ends (see annotated Fig. 2 below depicting the proximal and distal longitudinal ends) and defining a recess (Fig. 2, 125) at the distal longitudinal end configured to longitudinally receive therein the cartridge body ([0029]), the cartridge (Fig. 2, 104) being longitudinally received therein and magnetically mounted ([0027]) to the base housing (Fig. 2, 101), with the mouthpiece (Fig. 2, 362) secured to the cartridge body in covering relation to a top of the cartridge body and extending away from the distal longitudinal end of the base housing to define a distal end of the electronic device from which an aerosol may be inhaled by a person through an exterior opening of the mouthpiece (Fig. 2 depicts the mouthpiece extending away from the housing to define a distal end from which an aerosol may be inhaled);
(c) wherein the cartridge body (Fig. 2, 103) comprises:
(i) a liquid reservoir (Fig. 2, 144) with a mouth of the liquid reservoir being covered by the mouthpiece (see annotated Fig. 5 below),
(ii) a mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) comprising a mesh material (Fig. 5, 319) and a piezoelectric material (Fig. 5, 317; [0064]), the mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) being located in sealing engagement with the mouth of the liquid reservoir on an exterior side of the cartridge body ([0065]),
(iii) wherein the mesh material is configured to vibrate when the piezoelectric material is actuated whereby the aerosol is produced when the mesh material contacts a liquid of the liquid reservoir such that the aerosol may be inhaled from the exterior opening (Fig. 2, 128) of the mouthpiece secured in covering relation to the top of the cartridge body ([0054}; he atomization assembly may comprise a vibrating mesh assembly, which may comprise a piezoelectric material (e.g., a piezoelectric ceramic material) affixed to and substantially surrounding a mesh plate, (e.g., a perforated plate such as a micro-perforated mesh plate) that is vibrated within the liquid composition or proximate the surface of the liquid composition to generate an aerosol)
(d) wherein the base housing (Fig. 2, 101) comprises circuitry (Fig. 2, 106) and a power supply (Fig. 2, 110) that is electrically connected to the mesh assembly when the cartridge is magnetically mounted to the base housing within the recess for actuating the piezoelectric material of the mesh assembly ([0042]; the atomization assembly is connected to the base of the cartridge, which, when assembled to the control unit, provides an electrical connection to the control component and/or the battery. In such a manner, the atomization assembly of the depicted implementation may be energized by the battery and/or control component).
(e) wherein a flange of the mouth of the liquid reservoir forms a seal with an underside of the mesh assembly such that the liquid does not leak from the engagement between the mouth of the liquid reservoir and the underside of the mesh assembly (see annotated Fig. 5 below; [0065]).
(f) wherein the mouthpiece (Fig. 5, 362) comprises an interior wall (Fig. 5 depicts the mouthpiece 362 having an interior wall) defining a passageway between the mesh material (Fig. 5, 319) of the mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) and the exterior opening (Fig. 2, 128), an end of the interior wall of the mouthpiece abutting and pressuring the mesh assembly into sealing engagement with the mouth of the liquid reservoir in securing the mouthpiece to the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Hejazi does not explicitly disclose;
a liquid reservoir comprising a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body, with a mouth of the liquid reservoir being located adjacent the wall on an exterior of the cartridge body and covered by the mouthpiece.
However, Nettenstrom teaches;
a liquid reservoir (Fig. 1, 21) comprising a component (Fig. 1, 18) extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 1 below), with a mouth of the liquid reservoir (Fig. 1, 19) being located adjacent the wall on an exterior of the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 1 below) and covered by the mouthpiece (Fig. 1, 250).
The advantage of having a liquid reservoir with a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body is to provide an easy path for the aerosolized liquid to flow out of. Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Nettenstrom, with the invention of Hejazi, to provide a device with a liquid reservoir with a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body.
Regarding claim 69, Hejazi discloses;
An electronic device for producing an aerosol (Fig. 1, 100) for inhalation by a person, comprising:
(a) a cartridge (Fig. 2, 104) comprising a cartridge body (Fig. 2, 103) and a mouthpiece (Fig. 5, 362); and
(b) an elongate base housing (Fig. 2, 101) having proximal and distal longitudinal ends (see annotated Fig. 2 below depicting the proximal and distal longitudinal ends) and defining a recess (Fig. 2, 125) at the distal longitudinal end configured to longitudinally receive therein the cartridge body ([0029]), the cartridge (Fig. 2, 104) being longitudinally received therein and magnetically mounted ([0027]) to the base housing (Fig. 2, 101), with the mouthpiece (Fig. 2, 362) secured to the cartridge body in covering relation to a top of the cartridge body and extending away from the distal longitudinal end of the base housing to define a distal end of the electronic device from which an aerosol may be inhaled by a person through an exterior opening of the mouthpiece (Fig. 2 depicts the mouthpiece extending away from the housing to define a distal end from which an aerosol may be inhaled);
(c) wherein the cartridge body (Fig. 2, 103) comprises:
(i) a liquid reservoir (Fig. 2, 144) with a mouth of the liquid reservoir being covered by the mouthpiece (see annotated Fig. 5 below),
(ii) a mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) comprising a mesh material (Fig. 5, 319) and a piezoelectric material (Fig. 5, 317; [0064]), the mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) being located in sealing engagement with the mouth of the liquid reservoir on an exterior side of the cartridge body ([0065]),
(iii) wherein the mesh material is configured to vibrate when the piezoelectric material is actuated whereby the aerosol is produced when the mesh material contacts a liquid of the liquid reservoir such that the aerosol may be inhaled from the exterior opening (Fig. 2, 128) of the mouthpiece secured in covering relation to the top of the cartridge body ([0054}; he atomization assembly may comprise a vibrating mesh assembly, which may comprise a piezoelectric material (e.g., a piezoelectric ceramic material) affixed to and substantially surrounding a mesh plate, (e.g., a perforated plate such as a micro-perforated mesh plate) that is vibrated within the liquid composition or proximate the surface of the liquid composition to generate an aerosol)
wherein the mouthpiece (Fig. 5, 362) comprises an interior wall (Fig. 5 depicts the mouthpiece 362 having an interior wall) defining a passageway between the mesh material (Fig. 5, 319) of the mesh assembly (Fig. 5, 315) and the exterior opening (Fig. 2, 128), an end of the interior wall of the mouthpiece abutting in direct contact an outer peripheral area of the mesh assembly and defining an opening for airflow to the mesh material and out of the exterior opening of the mouthpiece (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
(d) wherein the base housing (Fig. 2, 101) comprises circuitry (Fig. 2, 106) and a power supply (Fig. 2, 110) that is electrically connected to the mesh assembly when the cartridge is magnetically mounted to the base housing within the recess for actuating the piezoelectric material of the mesh assembly ([0042]; the atomization assembly is connected to the base of the cartridge, which, when assembled to the control unit, provides an electrical connection to the control component and/or the battery. In such a manner, the atomization assembly of the depicted implementation may be energized by the battery and/or control component).
Hejazi does not explicitly disclose;
a liquid reservoir comprising a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body, with a mouth of the liquid reservoir being located adjacent the wall on an exterior of the cartridge body and covered by the mouthpiece.
However, Nettenstrom teaches;
a liquid reservoir (Fig. 1, 21) comprising a component (Fig. 1, 18) extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 1 below), with a mouth of the liquid reservoir (Fig. 1, 19) being located adjacent the wall on an exterior of the cartridge body (see annotated Fig. 1 below) and covered by the mouthpiece (Fig. 1, 250).
The advantage of having a liquid reservoir with a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body is to provide an easy path for the aerosolized liquid to flow out of. Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Nettenstrom, with the invention of Hejazi, to provide a device with a liquid reservoir with a component extending through an opening in a wall of the top of the cartridge body.
Claims 61 – 62 & 65 – 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hejazi (US 20210052014) in view of Nettenstrom (US 20190099561) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Shahaf et al (US 20180344951).
Regarding claim 61, in addition to the limitations in claim 51, Hejazi does not explicitly disclose;
a liquid of the liquid reservoir comprises a nanoemulsion, each of a plurality of nanoparticles of the nanoemulsion comprising an encapsulation of the substance to be delivered into the body through respiration.
Instead, Hejazi discloses that the liquid to be aerosolized can be flavors, pharmaceutical active ingredients, and/or smoke-juice ([0023-0024]).
However, Shahaf teaches;
a liquid comprising a nanoemulsion ([0604]), each of the plurality of nanoparticles of the nanoemulsion comprising an encapsulation of the substance to be delivered into the body through respiration ([0604]).
The advantage of having a liquid comprising a nanoemulsion, and the nanoparticles of the nanoemulsion comprising an encapsulation, as stated by Shahaf in Paragraph 0604 of the Specification, is to allow better permeation and absorption, and better stability of the encapsulated drug/active ingredient. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of a liquid comprising encapsulated nanoemulsions from Shahaf with the invention of Hejazi to provide a liquid of the liquid reservoir comprising a nanoemulsion, each of a plurality of nanoparticles of the nanoemulsion comprising an encapsulation of the substance to be delivered into the body through respiration.
Regarding claim 62, in addition to the limitations in claim 61, Hejazi as modified by Shahaf discloses;
wherein the liquid is an oil-in-water nanoemulsion ([0604]).
Regarding claim 65, in addition to the limitations in claim 61, Hejazi as modified by Shahaf discloses;
wherein the substance is encapsulated by a polymer ([0594-0595]; Shahaf states that an enhancer that can be utilized is Hyaluronic acid, which is known to be a polymer).
Regarding claim 66, in addition to the limitations in claim 61, Hejazi as modified by Shahaf discloses;
wherein the substance is encapsulated by a surfactant ([0602 - 0603]; Shahaf states that an enhancer that can be utilized is a surfactant).
Claims 63 – 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hejazi (US 20210052014) in view of Nettenstrom (US 20190099561) and Shahaf et al (US 20180344951) as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Heller et al (US 20170172961).
Regarding claim 63, in addition to the limitations in claim 61, Hejazi as modified by Shahaf discloses;
a nanoemulsion ([0604]) comprising nanoparticles ([0377]).
Hejazi as modified by Shahaf does not explicitly disclose;
wherein each nanoparticle is a micelle.
However, Heller teaches;
wherein the emulsions can be micelles ([0112]).
The advantage of having the emulsions being micelle is to improve how well a substance can be absorbed by the body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of emulsions being a micelle from Heller with, with the invention of Hejazi, to provide a liquid in which the emulsions are micelles.
Regarding claim 64, in addition to the limitations in claim 61, Hejazi as modified by Shahaf discloses;
a nanoemulsion [(0604]) comprising nanoparticles ([0377]).
Hejazi as modified by Shahaf does not explicitly disclose;
wherein each nanoparticle is a liposome.
However, Heller teaches;
wherein the emulsions can be micelles ([0112]).
The advantage of having the emulsions being liposome is to improve how well a substance can be absorbed by the body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of emulsions being a micelle from Heller with, with the invention of Hejazi, to provide a liquid in which the emulsions are micelles.
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hejazi (US 20210052014) in view of Nettenstrom (US 20190099561) and Shahaf et al (US 20180344951) as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of, and further in view of Sears et al (US 20150335070).
Regarding claim 67, in addition to the limitations in claim 61, Hejazi does not disclose;
wherein the aqueous solution comprises a saline.
However, Sears teaches;
wherein the aqueous solution comprises a saline ([0037]).
The advantage of having the aqueous solution comprise a saline, as stated by Sears in the Specification, is to provide more aerosol forming materials to yield more generated aerosol for inhalation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of a saline aqueous solution from Sears, with the invention of Hejazi, to provide an aqueous solution comprising a saline.
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hejazi (US 20210052014) in view of Nettenstrom (US 20190099561) as applied to claim 69 above, and in further view of Hejazi (US 20190289909).
Regarding claim 70, Hejazi’014 does not disclose;
a tubular member longitudinally extending within the liquid reservoir for wicking and causing the liquid to contact the mesh material.
However, Hejazi’909 teaches;
a tubular member (Fig. 6, 570) longitudinally extending within the liquid reservoir (Fig. 6, 560) for wicking ([0073]) and causing the liquid to contact the mesh material (the tubular member 570 is capable of transporting the liquid to a mesh material).
The advantage of having a tubular member longitudinally extending within the liquid reservoir, as stated by Hejazi’909 in the specification, is to transport the liquid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of a tubular member longitudinally extending within the liquid reservoir from Hejazi’909, with the invention of Hejazi 014, to provide a device with a tubular member longitudinally extending within the liquid reservoir.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 59 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s
disclosure. US Patent 20190261689 A1 is directed to the state of the art of vaporizers.
/B.K.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754