DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings with 16 Sheets of Figs. 1A-8C received on 12/01/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, US 2018/0011224 A1 (hereinafter referred to Takahashi; of record), and further in view of Tsai et al., US 2021/0165136 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Tsai).
As to claim 1, Takahashi teaches (Figs. 1-13) a low-reflection thin film (3A, antireflection film 3A, para [0040], Fig. 5) disposed on a part of surfaces of the assembling element (2, substrate 2, para [0040], Fig. 5), comprising:
a nanostructure layer (10, surface layer has an uneven structure with a period of apexes and a thickness of 100 nm to 140 nm or 200 nm to 250 nm, paras [0040]-[0041], Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of ridged protrusions (10, surface layer has an uneven structure with a period of apexes, para [0040], Fig. 5), wherein the ridged protrusions are arranged irregularly (10, Fig. 6 shows the irregular arrangement of the surface layer 10, para [0042], Fig. 6); and
a nanostructure matching layer disposed between the assembling element and the nanostructure layer (5, multilayer film 5 disposed between the surface layer 10 and the substrate 2, Example 5, Table 5, para [0040], Fig. 5), comprising:
at least two optically rarer medium layers (5, the multilayer film has nitride oxide silicon low refractive index layers, first layer 100 nm SiO2-x:H, fourth layer 76 nm SiO2-x:H, sixth layer SiO2-x:H 48 nm, para [0069], Table 5, Fig. 5); and
at least one optically denser medium layer stacked between the at least two optically rarer medium layers (5, the multilayer film has tantalum pentoxide high refractive index layers, third layer 7 nm Ta2O5, fifth layer 14 nm Ta2O5, para [0069], Table 5, Fig. 5);
wherein a thickness of each of the at least two optically rarer medium layers is larger than 40 nm and less than 100 nm (fourth layer 76 nm SiO2-x:H, sixth layer SiO2-x:H 48 nm, Table 5),
a thickness of the at least one optically denser medium layer is larger than 1 nm and less than 33 nm (fifth layer 14 nm Ta2O5, Table 5), and
a height of each of the ridged protrusions is larger than 80 nm and less than 300 nm (10, surface layer has a thickness of 100 nm to 140 nm, most preferably 200 nm to 250 nm, para [0041], Fig. 5).
Takahashi does not teach an imaging lens assembly module, having an optical axis, comprising:
an optical element, the optical axis passing through the optical element;
an assembling element configured to be assembled with the optical element.
Takahashi and Tsai are related as low-reflection layer comprising nano-microstructures for optical elements.
However, Tsai teaches (Figs. 1A-1G) an imaging lens assembly module (imaging lens assembly, para [0047], Fig. 1A), having an optical axis (X, optical axis X, para [0049], Fig. 1A), comprising:
an optical element, the optical axis passing through the optical element (151, 152, optical lens elements 151, 152, para [0049], Fig. 1A);
an assembling element configured to be assembled with the optical element (110, 130, the second optical element 130 and the first optical element 110 are assembled to each other and accommodate optical lens elements 151, 152, para [0049], Fig. 1A); and
a low-reflection thin film (120, low-reflection layer 120, para [0047], Fig. 1A) disposed on a part of surfaces of the assembling element (112, the low-reflection layer 120 is located on the first surface 112 of the first optical element 110, para [0047], Fig. 1A) comprising: a nanostructure layer (122, a nano-microstructure 122 layer, para [0047], Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low-reflective thin film of Takahashi with the imaging lens assembly module of Tsai, because a reflection intensity of the stray light is weakened by the extremely low reflectivity of the low-reflection layer to further enhance the image quality (para [0033]).
As to claim 2, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1, wherein the thickness of each of the at least two optically rarer medium layers is larger than 45 nm and less than 95 nm (fourth layer 76 nm SiO2-x:H, sixth layer SiO2-x:H 48 nm, Table 5).
As to claim 3, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 2, wherein the thickness of each of the at least two optically rarer medium layers is larger than 48 nm and less than 85 nm (fourth layer 76 nm SiO2-x:H, sixth layer SiO2-x:H 48 nm, Table 5).
Takahashi does not teach wherein the thickness of each of the at least two optically rarer medium layers is larger than 48 nm.
Takahashi teaches a value of 48 nm which is close to the claimed range of “larger than 48 nm”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the thickness of the optically rarer sixth layer such that the thickness is larger than 48 nm since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP §2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Takahashi to have the thickness of each of the at least two optically rarer medium layers to be larger than 48nm for the purposes of maintaining antireflection performance, prevent reflection and improve absorption performance (paras [0053]-[0054]).
As to claim 4, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the at least one optically denser medium layer is larger than 3 nm and less than 28 nm (fifth layer 14 nm Ta2O5, Table 5).
As to claim 5, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 4, wherein the thickness of the at least one optically denser medium layer is larger than 3 nm and less than 25 nm (fifth layer 14 nm Ta2O5, Table 5).
As to claim 6, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Takahashi does not teach the imaging lens assembly module, wherein the optical element is assembled on the assembling element, and the optical element is directly contacted with the assembling element.
Takahashi and Tsai are related as low-reflection layer comprising nano-microstructures for optical elements.
However, Tsai teaches a imaging lens assembly module (imaging lens assembly, para [0047], Fig. 1A), having an optical axis (X, optical axis X, para [0049], Fig. 1A), wherein the optical element is assembled on the assembling element (110, 130, 151, 152, the second optical element 130 and the first optical element 110 are assemble to each other and imaging lens assembly includes optical lens elements 151, 152, that are accommodated in the second optical element 130, para [0049], Fig. 1A), and the optical element is directly contacted with the assembling element (110, 130, 151, 152, the lens elements 151, 152 are in direct contact with the second optical element 130 as shown in Fig. 1A, para [0049], Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low-reflective thin film of Takahashi with the optical element assembled on and in direct contact with the assembling element of Tsai, because a reflection intensity of the stray light is weakened by the extremely low reflectivity of the low-reflection layer to further enhance the image quality (para [0033]).
As to claim 7, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Takahashi does not teach the imaging lens assembly, wherein the assembling element is made of an opaque plastic material to absorb a light incident into the assembling element.
Takahashi and Tsai are related as low-reflection layer comprising nano-microstructures for optical elements.
However, Tsai teaches a imaging lens assembly module (imaging lens assembly, para [0047], Fig. 1A), wherein the assembling element is made of an opaque plastic material to absorb a light incident into the assembling element (110, 130, the second optical element 130 and the first optical element 110 are assemble to each other, the first optical element can be a plastic product such as a light blocking element, paras [0031] and [0049], Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low-reflective thin film of Takahashi with the assembling element is made of an opaque plastic material to absorb a light incident into the assembling element of Tsai, because a reflection intensity of the stray light is weakened by the extremely low reflectivity of the low-reflection layer to further enhance the image quality (para [0033]).
As to claim 8, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1, wherein the at least two optically rarer medium layers comprise a silicon oxide material (nitride oxide silicon low refractive index layers, first layer 100 nm SiO2-x:H, fourth layer 76 nm SiO2-x:H, sixth layer SiO2-x:H 48 nm, SiO2 is a silicon oxide material, para [0069], Table 5, Fig. 5).
As to claim 9, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Takahashi’s Example 5 does not teach the imaging lens assembly, wherein the at least one optically denser medium layer comprises a titanium oxide material.
Takahashi’s Example 5 and Example 3 are related as antireflection multilayer films with alternating layers of high refractive index layers and low refractive index layers.
However, Takahashi’s Example 3 teaches a nanostructure layer (5, multilayer film 5 disposed between the surface layer 10 and the substrate 2, Example 5, Table 5, para [0040], Fig. 5), wherein at least one optically denser medium layer comprises a titanium oxide material (5, a multilayer film in which layers of titanium oxide as a high refractive index layer, first layer TiO2 6 nm, third layer TiO2 9.18 nm, para [0063], Table 3, Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nanostructure layer of Takahashi Example 5 with the at least one optically denser medium layer comprises a titanium oxide material of Takahashi Example 3, because it provides an antireflection film capable of suppressing scattered light (para [0013]).
As to claim 10, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1, wherein the ridged protrusions comprise an aluminum oxide material (10, the surface layer 10 is formed using alumina as the main component, alumina is an aluminum oxide material, paras [0040] and [0050], Fig. 5).
As to claim 12, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1, wherein an optical reflectance of the low-reflection thin film in a visible light wavelength range is R, and the following condition is satisfied:
0.0% ≤ R ≤ 0.6% (the wavelength dependence of the reflectivity of the antireflection film using the multilayer film of example 5 is shown in Fig. 12, the reflectivity is less than 0.3% in the visible wavelength range, para [0071], Fig. 12).
As to claim 13, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 12, wherein an optical reflectance of the low-reflection thin film in a visible light wavelength range is R, and the following condition is satisfied:
0.0% ≤ R ≤ 0.4% (the wavelength dependence of the reflectivity of the antireflection film using the multilayer film of example 5 is shown in Fig. 12, the reflectivity is less than 0.3% in the visible wavelength range, para [0071], Fig. 12).
As to claim 14, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Takahashi further teaches the imaging lens assembly module of claim 13, wherein an optical reflectance of the low-reflection thin film in a visible light wavelength range is R, and the following condition is satisfied:
0.0% ≤ R ≤ 0.3% (the wavelength dependence of the reflectivity of the antireflection film using the multilayer film of example 5 is shown in Fig. 12, the reflectivity is less than 0.3% in the visible wavelength range, para [0071], Fig. 12).
As to claim 16, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Takahashi does not teach a camera module, comprising: the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1; and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the imaging lens assembly module.
Takahashi and Tsai are related as low-reflection layer comprising nano-microstructures for optical elements.
However, Tsai teaches a camera module (51, camera module 51, paras [0046] and [0086], Figs. 1A and 5B), comprising: the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1 (51, camera module 51 includes an imaging lens assembly 51a and the imaging lens assembly 51a is the imaging lens assembly of example 1, paras [0047] and [0086], Figs. 1A and 5B); and an image sensor (52, 140, the image sensor 140/52, paras [0046] and [0086]-[0087], Figs. 1A and 5B) disposed on an image surface of the imaging lens assembly module (140, 141, the image sensor 140 is disposed on an image surface 141 of the camera module, para [0046], Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low-reflective thin film of Takahashi with the camera module and image sensor of Tsai, because doing so allows users to capture images (para [0089]).
As to claim 17, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16.
Takahashi does not teach an electronic device, comprising: the camera module of claim 16.
Takahashi and Tsai are related as low-reflection layer comprising nano-microstructures for optical elements.
However, Tsai teaches an electronic device (10, 50, electronic device 10/50, paras [0046] and [0086], Figs. 1A and 5B), comprising: the camera module of claim 16 (50, 51, the electronic device 50 includes the camera module 51, para [0086], Fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low-reflective thin film of Takahashi with the electronic device of Tsai, because doing so allows users to capture images (para [0089]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, US 2018/0011224 A1 (hereinafter referred to Takahashi; of record), in view of Tsai et al., US 2021/0165136 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Tsai), and further in view of Inaba et al., US 2022/0146777 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Inaba).
As to claim 11, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Takahashi does not teach the imaging lens assembly module, further comprising:
an adhering component disposed on the assembling element to assembly the imaging lens assembly module, wherein the adhering component is not directly contacted with the low-reflection thin film.
Takahashi and Inaba are related as imaging lens assembly modules and assembling elements.
However, Inaba teaches an imaging lens assembly module (12, lens barrel 12, para [0213], Fig. 34), comprising:
an adhering component (40, adhesion medium 40, para [0213], Fig. 34) disposed on the assembling element to assembly the imaging lens assembly module (13, 14, the first lens 13 and the second lens 14 to which the adhesion medium 40 has been applied are incorporated into the lens barrel 12 in a state combined into an integral lens unit associated with the adhesion medium, para [0213], Fig. 34), wherein the adhering component is not directly contacted with the low-reflection thin film (40, the adhesion medium is applied to the outer surface of the first lens 13 and the outer surface of the second lens 14 and the inner surface of the lens barrel 12, thus not directly contacting the front outer surface of the barrel where the low-reflection thin film is located as taught by Tsai, para [0213], Fig. 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low-reflective thin film of Takahashi with the adhering component disposed on the assembling element to assembly the imaging lens assembly module, wherein the adhering component is not directly contacted with the low-reflection thin film of Inaba, because doing so secures the airtightness of the lens unit and suppresses the invasion of water vapor into the inter-lens space (para [0008]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, US 2018/0011224 A1 (hereinafter referred to Takahashi; of record), in view of Tsai et al., US 2021/0165136 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Tsai), and further in view of Lai et al., US 2020/0132986 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Lai).
As to claim 15, Takahashi in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16.
Takahashi does not teach the imaging lens assembly module of claim 1, wherein the assembling element is disposed on a surface of the low-reflection thin film; wherein a value of CIELAB color space of the surface is L*a*b*, L* is a lightness, a* is a degree of red and green, b* is a degree of yellow and blue, and the following conditions are satisfied:
0.2 < L* < 2.7; -1.5 <a*< 2.0; and -4.0 < b* < 2.5.
Takahashi and Lai are related as anti-reflection films on a substrate.
However, Lai teaches (Figs. 1-5) an imaging lens assembly module (optical lens module, para [0003], Fig. 1), wherein the assembling element is disposed on a surface of the low-reflection thin film (10, 11, the light extinction film 11 comprises an anti-reflection film 112 and a light absorption film 111 disposed on a metal substrate 10, para [0035], Fig. 1); wherein a value of CIELAB color space of the surface is L*a*b*, L* is a lightness, a* is a degree of red and green, b* is a degree of yellow and blue, and the following conditions are satisfied:
0.2 < L* < 2.7 (light extinction film 11 chromaticity coordinate L*=0.577, para [0039], Fig. 3);
-1.5 <a*< 2.0 (light extinction film 11 chromaticity coordinate a*=-0.12, para [0039], Fig. 3); and
-4.0 < b* < 2.5 (light extinction film 11 chromaticity coordinate b*=-0.69, para [0039], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low-reflective thin film of Takahashi with the assembling element is disposed on a surface of the low-reflection thin film; wherein a value of CIELAB color space of the surface is L*a*b*, L* is a lightness, a* is a degree of red and green, b* is a degree of yellow and blue, and the following conditions are satisfied: 0.2 < L* < 2.7; -1.5 <a*< 2.0; and -4.0 < b* < 2.5 of Lai, because the light absorption is increased, the reflective index is reduced, and the problem of light shielding sheets not effectively shielding ambient stray light is solved (para [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakayama, US 20100247863 A1, teaches an optical member comprising anti-reflective film having a textured structure and multilayered film containing aluminum oxide, SiO2 and TiO2.
Kakegawa, US 20120212827 A1, teaches an optical member comprising anti-reflective film having a textured structure and multilayered film containing aluminum oxide, SiO2 and TiO2.
Chu et al., US 2015/0177419 A1, teaches an optical lens including a lens barrel with an anti-reflection film comprising of alternating layers of SiO2 and TiO2.
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
07/29/2026