DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the driving-motor water pump" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the pump in question is recited in claim 15, Claim 16 depends from claim 10 not claim 15.
Claim16 recites the limitations “the battery loop” and "the battery water pump" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the loop and pump in question are recited in claim 17, Claim 18 depends from claim 10 not claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (CN 114801659 A).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses (Figure 1-10) a vehicle air conditioning system, comprising: an air conditioning loop, comprising a heat exchanger (evaporator heat exchanger 13), a gas supply enthalpy-increasing module (at the branches 14 and 16 which form a coaxial branch heat exchanger), and a condenser (at condenser heat exchanger 20), wherein an output end of the condenser (20) is connected to an input end of the gas supply enthalpy-increasing module (where refrigerant flows from condenser 20 through liquid storage tank 17 to branch 16 per paragraph 0012-0013 of the translation provided with the 12/18/2024 IDS), and an output end of the gas supply enthalpy-increasing module is connected to an input end of the heat exchanger (as seen in figure 1 in the flow line from 16, 14 to evaporator 13); an air conditioning water pump, comprising a cooling water pump (water pump 12)and a heating water pump (water pump 3), wherein the cooling water pump is connected to the heat exchanger (pump 12 is in the line to evaporator 13), a to-be-cooled water flow driven by the cooling water pump (12) when the cooling water pump operates flows through the heat exchanger (per paragraph 0025 of the translation), the heating water pump (3) is connected to the condenser (20), and a to-be-heated water flow driven by the heating water pump (3) when the heating water pump operates flows through the condenser (per paragraph 0022); an air conditioning box, comprising a first core (cabin heat exchanger 15) and a second core (cabin heat exchanger 18), wherein the first core (15) and the second core (18) are each connected to the heating water pump (3) and the cooling water pump (12), and the to-be-cooled water flow or the to-be-heated water flow flows through the first core and the second core (as seen in the flow paths of figures 2-10); and a motor loop, comprising a multi-way valve (valve 22) and a driving motor (at motor heat exchanger 9), wherein the driving motor is connected to a port of the multi-way valve (as seen in figures 1-10 at 32 from valve 22), and ports of the multi-way valve are communicated to cause the driving motor to be connected to the air conditioning loop (as seen the different flow configurations of figures 1-10 where the motor heat exchanger 9 can be connected to the evaporator 13 or condenser 20).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Cheng further discloses the air conditioning loop further comprises a first electronic expansion valve (electronic expansion valve 11), and the condenser (20) is connected to the gas supply enthalpy-increasing module via the first electronic expansion valve (as part of the refrigerant loop from the compressor 19, condenser 20 and evaporator 13).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Cheng further discloses the air conditioning box comprises an air conditioning box body, and the first core and the second core are arranged in an inner chamber of the air conditioning box body (within the flow channel from blower 21 to cabin heat exchangers 18 and 15).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Cheng further discloses the motor loop comprises a driving-motor water pump (water pump 8), and one end of the driving-motor water pump is connected to the driving motor (in the motor heat exchanger 9).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 6 above and Cheng further discloses the motor loop comprises a radiator (outdoor heat exchanger 1), one end of the radiator is connected to the driving-motor water pump, and the other end of the radiator is connected to a port of the multi-way valve (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Cheng further discloses the vehicle air conditioning system further comprises a battery loop (for battery heat exchanger 10), the battery loop comprises a battery water pump (water pump 7), and one end of the battery water pump is connected to a port of the multi-way valve (as seen in at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above and Cheng further discloses the battery loop further comprises a vehicle battery pack (at battery heat exchanger 10), one end of the vehicle battery pack is connected to the battery water pump, and the other end of the vehicle battery pack is connected to a port of the multi-way valve (as seen in at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Cheng further discloses a vehicle, comprising the vehicle air conditioning system according to claim 1 (where the air conditioning system is part of a vehicle per paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above and Cheng further discloses the air conditioning loop further comprises a first electronic expansion valve (electronic expansion valve 11), and the condenser (20) is connected to the gas supply enthalpy-increasing module via the first electronic expansion valve (as part of the refrigerant loop from the compressor 19, condenser 20 and evaporator 13).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above and Cheng further discloses the air conditioning box comprises an air conditioning box body, and the first core and the second core are arranged in an inner chamber of the air conditioning box body (within the flow channel from blower 21 to cabin heat exchangers 18 and 15).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above and Cheng further discloses the motor loop comprises a driving-motor water pump (water pump 8), and one end of the driving-motor water pump is connected to the driving motor (in the motor heat exchanger 9).
Regarding claim 16, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above and Cheng further discloses the motor loop comprises a radiator (outdoor heat exchanger 1), one end of the radiator is connected to the driving-motor water pump, and the other end of the radiator is connected to a port of the multi-way valve (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above and Cheng further discloses the vehicle air conditioning system further comprises a battery loop (for battery heat exchanger 10), the battery loop comprises a battery water pump (water pump 7), and one end of the battery water pump is connected to a port of the multi-way valve (as seen in at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above and Cheng further discloses the battery loop further comprises a vehicle battery pack (at battery heat exchanger 10), one end of the vehicle battery pack is connected to the battery water pump, and the other end of the vehicle battery pack is connected to a port of the multi-way valve (as seen in at least figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (CN 114801659 A) in view of Heyl (US 2021/0252940 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above however Cheng does not disclose the air conditioning water pump further comprises a first three-way valve, and the first three-way valve is connected to the heating water pump. As Cheng is silent as to a three way valve.
Heyl teaches a vehicle thermal management system with a three way valve for directing fluid ( at three way valve 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the water circulation system of Cheng to have included a three way valve doing so would allow for flow switching/ redirecting flow between elements within the circuit. Doing so would allow for redirection fluid flow as required as a known means for implementing circuits as recognized by Heyl (per paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above however Cheng does not disclose wherein the air conditioning water pump further comprises a second three-way valve, and the cooling water pump is connected to the second core via the second three-way valve.
Heyl teaches (figure 1-3) a vehicle thermal management system with a three way valve for directing fluid ( at three way valve 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the water circulation system of Cheng to have included a three way valve doing so would allow for flow switching/ redirecting flow between elements within the circuit. Doing so would allow for redirection fluid flow as required as a known means for implementing circuits as recognized by Heyl (per paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above however Cheng does not disclose the air conditioning water pump further comprises a first three-way valve, and the first three-way valve is connected to the heating water pump. As Cheng is silent as to a three way valve.
Heyl teaches a vehicle thermal management system with a three way valve for directing fluid ( at three way valve 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the water circulation system of Cheng to have included a three way valve doing so would allow for flow switching/ redirecting flow between elements within the circuit. Doing so would allow for redirection fluid flow as required as a known means for implementing circuits as recognized by Heyl (per paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 13, Cheng discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above however Cheng does not disclose wherein the air conditioning water pump further comprises a second three-way valve, and the cooling water pump is connected to the second core via the second three-way valve.
Heyl teaches (figure 1-3) a vehicle thermal management system with a three way valve for directing fluid ( at three way valve 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the water circulation system of Cheng to have included a three way valve doing so would allow for flow switching/ redirecting flow between elements within the circuit. Doing so would allow for redirection fluid flow as required as a known means for implementing circuits as recognized by Heyl (per paragraph 0036).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hu et al. (US 20230226877 A1) and Enomoto et al. (US 20160339761 A1) disclose relevant vehicle air conditioning systems where Hu can read on at least claim 1.
/HANS R WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763