DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, with the exception of foreign patent documents Nos. 3 and 4 (i.e., EP1234716B1 and KR101934750B1). While original copies of foreign patent documents Nos. 3 and 4 have been filed, English language translations of the written descriptions and/or abstracts have not been provided. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner, with the exception of foreign patent documents Nos. 3 and 4.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “based on of a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit” should be “based on
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “wherein adapting the lighting zone includes providing a mechanical degree of actuation of the lighting element based on a movement of the lighting element by an actuator;” However, antecedent basis already exists in claim 1 for “a mechanical degree of actuation”. Therefore, it is unclear whether these mechanical degrees of actuation are the same. For the purposes of this examination, the mechanical degrees of actuation are being interpreted as the same. The claim further recites “and wherein adapting the lighting zone includes providing a virtual degree of actuation of the lighting element based on…” However, antecedent basis already exists in claim 1 for “a virtual degree of actuation”. Therefore, it is unclear whether these virtual degrees of actuation are the same. For the purposes of this examination, the virtual degrees of actuation are being interpreted as the same. Even further, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “the supply circuit”. For the purposes of this examination, “the supply circuit” is being interpreted as “a supply circuit”.
Claims 2-9 are dependent upon claim 1 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 2-9 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “a desired illumination zone depends at least on the roadway trajectory.” However, antecedent basis for “a desired illumination zone” already exists in claim 1, upon which claim 4 depends. For the purposes of this examination, “a desired illumination zone” of claim 4 is being interpreted as “the desired illumination zone”.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “a movement of the lighting element brought about by the actuator…” However, antecedent basis for “a movement of the lighting element by an actuator” already exists in claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends. For the purposes of this examination, “a movement of the lighting element” of claim 6 is being interpreted as “the movement of the lighting element”.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “a virtual degree of actuation of the lighting element based on of a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element. …” However, antecedent basis for “a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element” and “a virtual degree of actuation” already exists in claim 1, upon which claim 7 depends. Further, the claim recites “the supply circuits”. However, as discussed above with respect to claim 1, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “the supply circuits”.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm considers at least…” However, antecedent basis for “a control algorithm” already exists in claim 1, upon which claim 8 depends. For the purposes of this examination, “a control algorithm” of claim 8 is being interpreted as “the control algorithm”.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “a control algorithm takes into account at least one of: …” However, antecedent basis for “a control algorithm” already exists in claim 1, upon which claim 9 depends. For the purposes of this examination, “a control algorithm” of claim 9 is being interpreted as “the control algorithm”.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “wherein the control device is configured to adapt the lighting zone produced by the lighting element based on a mechanical degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm and/or a virtual degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm;” However, the use of “and/or” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear whether the features preceding and following “and/or” are required by the claim. For the purposes of this examination, “and/or” is being interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as “or”.
Claims 11-15 are dependent upon claim 10 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 11-15 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “and wherein a desired illumination zone depends at least on the roadway trajectory.” However, antecedent basis for “a desired illumination zone” already exists in claim 10, upon which claim 12 depends. For the purposes of this examination, “a desired illumination zone” of claim 12 is being interpreted as “the desired illumination zone”.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuits for the at least one segment of the lighting element.” However, antecedent basis for “a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element” already exists in claim 10, upon which claim 13 depends. It is unclear whether “a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element” of claim 10 is included in/is the same as “a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuits for the at least one segment of the lighting element.”
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm takes into account at least a relative speed of the detected object…” However, antecedent basis for “at least one control algorithm” already exists in claim 10, upon which claim 14 depends. It is unclear whether “a control algorithm” of claim 14 is included in the “at least one control algorithm” of claim 10, or if the control algorithm of claim 14 belongs to a different group of control algorithms entirely.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “a control algorithm takes into account at least one of…” However, antecedent basis for “at least one control algorithm” already exists in claim 10, upon which claim 15 depends. It is unclear whether “a control algorithm” of claim 15 is included in the “at least one control algorithm” of claim 10, or if the control algorithm of claim 15 belongs to a different group of control algorithms entirely.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “wherein the control device is configured to adapt the lighting zone produced by the lighting element based on a mechanical degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm and/or a virtual degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm;” However, the use of “and/or” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear whether the features preceding and following “and/or” are required by the claim. For the purposes of this examination, “and/or” is being interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as “or”.
Claims 17-18 are dependent upon claim 16 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 17-18 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “and wherein a desired illumination zone depends at least on the roadway trajectory.” However, antecedent basis for “a desired illumination zone” already exists in claim 16, upon which claim 17 depends. For the purposes of this examination, “a desired illumination zone” of claim 16 is being interpreted as “the desired illumination zone”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Naik et al. (US 2013/0113935 A1), hereinafter Naik.
Regarding claim 1, Naik discloses a method for operating a lighting device for a vehicle, comprising:
adapting a lighting zone produced by a lighting element on the basis of a control algorithm of a control device in such a way that a lighting zone produced by the lighting element coincides with a desired illumination zone;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18." Naik further discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene.
wherein the control device adapts the lighting zone produced by the lighting element on the basis of a mechanical degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm and a virtual degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18." Naik further discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene.
wherein adapting the lighting zone includes providing a mechanical degree of actuation of the lighting element based on a movement of the lighting element by an actuator;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18. "
and wherein adapting the lighting zone includes providing a virtual degree of actuation of the lighting element based on of a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." The Examiner has interpreted low duty cycle switching of the LED light array of a headlamp as a duty cycle of a supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element (wherein the at least one segment(s) of the lighting element correspond to individual LEDs of the LED light array). Naik even further discloses ([0016]): "Utilizing the selected operating mode, the headlamp control unit 14 will identify the duty cycle as to when the illumination will be will re-directed to the secondary region associated with the selected operating mode. The duty cycle is determined by the selected operating mode in addition to other factors including but not limited to, vehicle speed, time of day, and sensed lighting conditions of the road."
Regarding claim 3, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Naik further discloses:
adapting the lighting zone further comprises: determining a roadway trajectory, which is detected by at least one sensor operatively coupled to the control device.
Naik discloses ([0018]): "The active vision system 10 may further include a body control module 28 and a wireless radio unit 30. The wireless radio unit 28 is configured to obtain navigation information relating to the road of travel. The body control module 28 is coupled to the headlamp control unit 14, preferably through the communication bus 26, and the wireless radio unit 30 for providing geographical information to the headlamp control unit 14. The geographical information relating to the road of travel provides the type of area that the vehicle is traveling along (e.g., urban, rural)... The headlamp control unit 14 utilizes the geographical information for determining when to actuate the image capture device and re-direct the headlamp beams. That is, the geographical information may be used to provide advance notice to the active vision system of an upcoming geographical obstacle (e.g., intersection) so that the active vision system may actuate the image camera device 12 and re-direct the headlamps 16 and 18 at the appropriate time."
Regarding claim 4, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 3. Naik further discloses:
a desired illumination zone depends at least on the roadway trajectory.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle." Naik further discloses ([0018]): "The active vision system 10 may further include a body control module 28 and a wireless radio unit 30. The wireless radio unit 28 is configured to obtain navigation information relating to the road of travel. The body control module 28 is coupled to the headlamp control unit 14, preferably through the communication bus 26, and the wireless radio unit 30 for providing geographical information to the headlamp control unit 14. The geographical information relating to the road of travel provides the type of area that the vehicle is traveling along (e.g., urban, rural)... The headlamp control unit 14 utilizes the geographical information for determining when to actuate the image capture device and re-direct the headlamp beams. That is, the geographical information may be used to provide advance notice to the active vision system of an upcoming geographical obstacle (e.g., intersection) so that the active vision system may actuate the image camera device 12 and re-direct the headlamps 16 and 18 at the appropriate time."
Regarding claim 5, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Naik further discloses:
detecting an object within the desired illumination zone using a sensor coupled to the control device;
Naik discloses ([0009]): "FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an active vision system 10 for selectively illuminating regions exterior of a vehicle and capturing images of the illuminated regions. The active vision system 10 includes a vision capture device 12 for capturing images of regions exterior of a vehicle. The image capture device 12 may include a camera, a video camera, or any other imaging device in which an image may be extracted. The image capture device 12 is used to detect objects along a traveled route including road markings (e.g., curbs, lane markings, dividers, pavement changes) for determining road geometry, road signs for road sign recognition, pedestrians, animals, buildings, sidewalks, trees, shrubs, and other objects." Naik further discloses ([0011]): " The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle... The primary region is the road of travel of the vehicle whereas the secondary region is a region other than the primary region that may contain objects or matters of interest."
and adapting a light emission of at least one segment of the lighting element based on the control algorithm of the control device in dependence on at least the detected object.
Naik discloses ([0012]): "The duty cycle provides timing details that identifies at what rate the frames from the capture image device are processed and when the illumination from the headlamps will be directed on the secondary region. The duty cycle is determined by the AFL controller 22 based on a respective system operating mode that identifies the type of scanning mode that the image capture device will be operating under. For example, the active lighting system may be operating in modes that utilize an azimuth glance operating mode, an elevation operating mode, or a scanning operating mode." Naik further discloses ([0013]): "The azimuth glance operating mode includes redirecting the one or both headlamps 16 and 18 in a horizontal direction for capturing details of the environment along or on the sides of the road. For example, the azimuth glance operating mode includes a road geometry determination mode, a road-side sign recognition mode, a pedestrian detection mode, a deer detection mode, or road-side object definition mode. The road geometry determination mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images in the road of travel and the sides of the traveled road for identifying a geometry of the road. The road-side sign recognition mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images to the sides of the traveled road for identifying locations where road signs are potentially located. The pedestrian recognition mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images to the sides of the traveled road for identifying locations where pedestrians are potentially located." Naik even further discloses ([0014]): "The elevation glance mode includes redirecting the one or both headlamps 16 and 18 in a vertical direction to provide illumination in those regions so the image capture device may capture details of the objects elevated above the road. Such objects may include overhead signs and other overhead objects." Naik still further discloses ([0017]): "The viewing angle as captured by the image capture device 12 is often adequate to capture the entire road and surrounding regions; however, not all objects captured within viewing angle may have adequate light directed on them for machine recognition analysis of the object. Therefore, it is pertinent to have the targeted region of the viewing angle illuminated. The vehicle's AFL system is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps from the primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes the illuminated secondary region."
Regarding claim 6, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Naik further discloses:
a movement of the lighting element brought about by the actuator is considered by the control algorithm in the adaptation of the light emission.
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18. "
Regarding claim 7, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Naik further discloses:
a light emission of at least one segment of the lighting element is adapted based on a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuits for the at least one segment of the lighting element.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." The Examiner has interpreted low duty cycle switching of the LED light array of a headlamp as a duty cycle of a supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element (wherein the at least one segment(s) of the lighting element correspond to individual LEDs of the LED light array). Naik even further discloses ([0016]): "Utilizing the selected operating mode, the headlamp control unit 14 will identify the duty cycle as to when the illumination will be will re-directed to the secondary region associated with the selected operating mode. The duty cycle is determined by the selected operating mode in addition to other factors including but not limited to, vehicle speed, time of day, and sensed lighting conditions of the road."
Regarding claim 9, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Naik further discloses:
a control algorithm takes into account at least one of: traffic density, vehicle speed, or the steering behavior of a driver of the vehicle.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." Naik even further discloses ([0016]): "Utilizing the selected operating mode, the headlamp control unit 14 will identify the duty cycle as to when the illumination will be will re-directed to the secondary region associated with the selected operating mode. The duty cycle is determined by the selected operating mode in addition to other factors including but not limited to, vehicle speed, time of day, and sensed lighting conditions of the road."
Regarding claim 10, Naik discloses a lighting system for a vehicle, comprising:
a lighting element, wherein the lighting element has a plurality of controllable segments with associated supply circuits;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." The Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the disclosed LED light array as amounting to a lighting element having a plurality of controllable segments (i.e., the LEDs of the array). One of ordinary skill in the art would similarly recognize that the LEDs (i.e., light emitting diodes) of the LED light array each amount to a controllable segment with an associated supply circuit.
an actuator;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18."
and at least one control device, wherein the control device is coupled to the lighting element and the actuator;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps."
wherein the control device has at least one control algorithm that is configured to adapt a lighting zone produced by the lighting element on the basis of the control algorithm of the control device in such a way that the lighting zone produced by the lighting element coincides with a desired illumination zone;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18." Naik further discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene.”
wherein the control device is configured to adapt the lighting zone produced by the lighting element based on a mechanical degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm and/or a virtual degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18." Naik further discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene.”
wherein the mechanical degree of actuation indicates that the lighting zone produced by the lighting element is being adapted on the basis of a movement of the lighting element brought about by the actuator;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18. "
and wherein the virtual degree of actuation indicates that the lighting zone produced by the lighting element is being adapted on the basis of a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." The Examiner has interpreted low duty cycle switching of the LED light array of a headlamp as a duty cycle of a supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element (wherein the at least one segment(s) of the lighting element correspond to individual LEDs of the LED light array). Naik even further discloses ([0016]): "Utilizing the selected operating mode, the headlamp control unit 14 will identify the duty cycle as to when the illumination will be will re-directed to the secondary region associated with the selected operating mode. The duty cycle is determined by the selected operating mode in addition to other factors including but not limited to, vehicle speed, time of day, and sensed lighting conditions of the road."
Regarding claim 11, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Naik further discloses:
the lighting system additionally has a sensor, which is coupled to the control device and is configured to detect an object within the desired illumination zone,
Naik discloses ([0009]): "FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an active vision system 10 for selectively illuminating regions exterior of a vehicle and capturing images of the illuminated regions. The active vision system 10 includes a vision capture device 12 for capturing images of regions exterior of a vehicle. The image capture device 12 may include a camera, a video camera, or any other imaging device in which an image may be extracted. The image capture device 12 is used to detect objects along a traveled route including road markings (e.g., curbs, lane markings, dividers, pavement changes) for determining road geometry, road signs for road sign recognition, pedestrians, animals, buildings, sidewalks, trees, shrubs, and other objects." Naik further discloses ([0011]): " The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle... The primary region is the road of travel of the vehicle whereas the secondary region is a region other than the primary region that may contain objects or matters of interest."
and wherein the control device is configured to adapt a light emission of at least one segment of the lighting element based on the control algorithm of the control device in dependence on at least the detected object.
Naik discloses ([0012]): "The duty cycle provides timing details that identifies at what rate the frames from the capture image device are processed and when the illumination from the headlamps will be directed on the secondary region. The duty cycle is determined by the AFL controller 22 based on a respective system operating mode that identifies the type of scanning mode that the image capture device will be operating under. For example, the active lighting system may be operating in modes that utilize an azimuth glance operating mode, an elevation operating mode, or a scanning operating mode." Naik further discloses ([0013]): "The azimuth glance operating mode includes redirecting the one or both headlamps 16 and 18 in a horizontal direction for capturing details of the environment along or on the sides of the road. For example, the azimuth glance operating mode includes a road geometry determination mode, a road-side sign recognition mode, a pedestrian detection mode, a deer detection mode, or road-side object definition mode. The road geometry determination mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images in the road of travel and the sides of the traveled road for identifying a geometry of the road. The road-side sign recognition mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images to the sides of the traveled road for identifying locations where road signs are potentially located. The pedestrian recognition mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images to the sides of the traveled road for identifying locations where pedestrians are potentially located." Naik even further discloses ([0014]): "The elevation glance mode includes redirecting the one or both headlamps 16 and 18 in a vertical direction to provide illumination in those regions so the image capture device may capture details of the objects elevated above the road. Such objects may include overhead signs and other overhead objects." Naik still further discloses ([0017]): "The viewing angle as captured by the image capture device 12 is often adequate to capture the entire road and surrounding regions; however, not all objects captured within viewing angle may have adequate light directed on them for machine recognition analysis of the object. Therefore, it is pertinent to have the targeted region of the viewing angle illuminated. The vehicle's AFL system is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps from the primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes the illuminated secondary region."
Regarding claim 12, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Naik further discloses:
the control device is configured to determine a roadway trajectory,
Naik discloses ([0018]): "The active vision system 10 may further include a body control module 28 and a wireless radio unit 30. The wireless radio unit 28 is configured to obtain navigation information relating to the road of travel. The body control module 28 is coupled to the headlamp control unit 14, preferably through the communication bus 26, and the wireless radio unit 30 for providing geographical information to the headlamp control unit 14. The geographical information relating to the road of travel provides the type of area that the vehicle is traveling along (e.g., urban, rural)... The headlamp control unit 14 utilizes the geographical information for determining when to actuate the image capture device and re-direct the headlamp beams. That is, the geographical information may be used to provide advance notice to the active vision system of an upcoming geographical obstacle (e.g., intersection) so that the active vision system may actuate the image camera device 12 and re-direct the headlamps 16 and 18 at the appropriate time."
and wherein a desired illumination zone depends at least on the roadway trajectory.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle." Naik further discloses ([0018]): "The active vision system 10 may further include a body control module 28 and a wireless radio unit 30. The wireless radio unit 28 is configured to obtain navigation information relating to the road of travel. The body control module 28 is coupled to the headlamp control unit 14, preferably through the communication bus 26, and the wireless radio unit 30 for providing geographical information to the headlamp control unit 14. The geographical information relating to the road of travel provides the type of area that the vehicle is traveling along (e.g., urban, rural)... The headlamp control unit 14 utilizes the geographical information for determining when to actuate the image capture device and re-direct the headlamp beams. That is, the geographical information may be used to provide advance notice to the active vision system of an upcoming geographical obstacle (e.g., intersection) so that the active vision system may actuate the image camera device 12 and re-direct the headlamps 16 and 18 at the appropriate time."
Regarding claim 13, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Naik further discloses:
a light emission of at least one segment of the lighting element is adapted based on a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuits for the at least one segment of the lighting element.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." The Examiner has interpreted low duty cycle switching of the LED light array of a headlamp as a duty cycle of a supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element (wherein the at least one segment(s) of the lighting element correspond to individual LEDs of the LED light array). Naik even further discloses ([0016]): "Utilizing the selected operating mode, the headlamp control unit 14 will identify the duty cycle as to when the illumination will be will re-directed to the secondary region associated with the selected operating mode. The duty cycle is determined by the selected operating mode in addition to other factors including but not limited to, vehicle speed, time of day, and sensed lighting conditions of the road."
Regarding claim 15, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Naik further discloses:
a control algorithm takes into account at least one of a traffic density, a vehicle speed and a steering behavior of a driver of the vehicle.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." Naik even further discloses ([0016]): "Utilizing the selected operating mode, the headlamp control unit 14 will identify the duty cycle as to when the illumination will be will re-directed to the secondary region associated with the selected operating mode. The duty cycle is determined by the selected operating mode in addition to other factors including but not limited to, vehicle speed, time of day, and sensed lighting conditions of the road."
Regarding claim 16, Naik discloses a vehicle having a lighting system, comprising:
a lighting element, wherein the lighting element has a plurality of controllable segments with associated supply circuits;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." The Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the disclosed LED light array as amounting to a lighting element having a plurality of controllable segments (i.e., the LEDs of the array). One of ordinary skill in the art would similarly recognize that the LEDs (i.e., light emitting diodes) of the LED light array each amount to a controllable segment with an associated supply circuit.
an actuator;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18."
and at least one control device, wherein the control device is coupled to the lighting element and the actuator;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps."
wherein the control device has at least one control algorithm that is configured to adapt a lighting zone produced by the lighting element on the basis of the control algorithm of the control device in such a way that the lighting zone produced by the lighting element coincides with a desired illumination zone;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18." Naik further discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene.”
wherein the control device is configured to adapt the lighting zone produced by the lighting element based on a mechanical degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm and/or a virtual degree of actuation determined by the control algorithm;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18." Naik further discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene.”
wherein the mechanical degree of actuation indicates that the lighting zone produced by the lighting element is being adapted based on a movement of the lighting element brought about by the actuator;
Naik discloses ([0010]): "The active vision system 10 includes a headlamp control unit 14. The headlamp control unit 14 includes at least two headlamps 16 and 18 and an adaptive front lighting (AFL) module 20. The headlamps 16 and 18 provide the source of illumination for generating a beam of light for illuminating the road of travel. The AFL module 20 re-directs the headlamps 16 and 18 from a first direction to a second direction by either electronic steering of the headlamps or mechanical steering of the headlamps... The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)... The AFL controller 22 determines the angle that the ALF module 20 needs to rotate the headlamps 16 and 18. "
and wherein the virtual degree of actuation indicates that the lighting zone produced by the lighting element is being adapted based on a variation of a duty cycle of the supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle. In the embodiments described herein, the active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 from a primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes an image of the illuminated scene." Naik further discloses ([0012]): "The headlamps 16 and 18 include an LED light array with fast electronic control. The LED light array is duty cycled, preferably low duty cycle switching, so that the headlamps may be synchronized with the capture and processing of the image capture device 14." The Examiner has interpreted low duty cycle switching of the LED light array of a headlamp as a duty cycle of a supply circuit for at least one segment of the lighting element (wherein the at least one segment(s) of the lighting element correspond to individual LEDs of the LED light array). Naik even further discloses ([0016]): "Utilizing the selected operating mode, the headlamp control unit 14 will identify the duty cycle as to when the illumination will be will re-directed to the secondary region associated with the selected operating mode. The duty cycle is determined by the selected operating mode in addition to other factors including but not limited to, vehicle speed, time of day, and sensed lighting conditions of the road."
Regarding claim 17, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 16. Naik further discloses:
the control device is configured to determine a roadway trajectory,
Naik discloses ([0018]): "The active vision system 10 may further include a body control module 28 and a wireless radio unit 30. The wireless radio unit 28 is configured to obtain navigation information relating to the road of travel. The body control module 28 is coupled to the headlamp control unit 14, preferably through the communication bus 26, and the wireless radio unit 30 for providing geographical information to the headlamp control unit 14. The geographical information relating to the road of travel provides the type of area that the vehicle is traveling along (e.g., urban, rural)... The headlamp control unit 14 utilizes the geographical information for determining when to actuate the image capture device and re-direct the headlamp beams. That is, the geographical information may be used to provide advance notice to the active vision system of an upcoming geographical obstacle (e.g., intersection) so that the active vision system may actuate the image camera device 12 and re-direct the headlamps 16 and 18 at the appropriate time."
and wherein a desired illumination zone depends at least on the roadway trajectory.
Naik discloses ([0011]): "The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle." Naik further discloses ([0018]): "The active vision system 10 may further include a body control module 28 and a wireless radio unit 30. The wireless radio unit 28 is configured to obtain navigation information relating to the road of travel. The body control module 28 is coupled to the headlamp control unit 14, preferably through the communication bus 26, and the wireless radio unit 30 for providing geographical information to the headlamp control unit 14. The geographical information relating to the road of travel provides the type of area that the vehicle is traveling along (e.g., urban, rural)... The headlamp control unit 14 utilizes the geographical information for determining when to actuate the image capture device and re-direct the headlamp beams. That is, the geographical information may be used to provide advance notice to the active vision system of an upcoming geographical obstacle (e.g., intersection) so that the active vision system may actuate the image camera device 12 and re-direct the headlamps 16 and 18 at the appropriate time."
Regarding claim 18, Naik discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 16. Naik further discloses:
the lighting system additionally has a sensor, which is coupled to the control device and is configured to detect an object within the desired illumination zone,
Naik discloses ([0009]): "FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an active vision system 10 for selectively illuminating regions exterior of a vehicle and capturing images of the illuminated regions. The active vision system 10 includes a vision capture device 12 for capturing images of regions exterior of a vehicle. The image capture device 12 may include a camera, a video camera, or any other imaging device in which an image may be extracted. The image capture device 12 is used to detect objects along a traveled route including road markings (e.g., curbs, lane markings, dividers, pavement changes) for determining road geometry, road signs for road sign recognition, pedestrians, animals, buildings, sidewalks, trees, shrubs, and other objects." Naik further discloses ([0011]): " The active vision system 10 is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps 16 and 18 so that the headlamp beam uses the headlamp beams to selectively illuminate the path of travel for making the road visible to the driver during a first cycle time and then selectively makes a capture region visible when images are captured by the image capture device during a second duty cycle... The primary region is the road of travel of the vehicle whereas the secondary region is a region other than the primary region that may contain objects or matters of interest."
and wherein the control device is configured to adapt a light emission of at least one segment of the lighting element based on the control algorithm of the control device in dependence on at least the detected object.
Naik discloses ([0012]): "The duty cycle provides timing details that identifies at what rate the frames from the capture image device are processed and when the illumination from the headlamps will be directed on the secondary region. The duty cycle is determined by the AFL controller 22 based on a respective system operating mode that identifies the type of scanning mode that the image capture device will be operating under. For example, the active lighting system may be operating in modes that utilize an azimuth glance operating mode, an elevation operating mode, or a scanning operating mode." Naik further discloses ([0013]): "The azimuth glance operating mode includes redirecting the one or both headlamps 16 and 18 in a horizontal direction for capturing details of the environment along or on the sides of the road. For example, the azimuth glance operating mode includes a road geometry determination mode, a road-side sign recognition mode, a pedestrian detection mode, a deer detection mode, or road-side object definition mode. The road geometry determination mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images in the road of travel and the sides of the traveled road for identifying a geometry of the road. The road-side sign recognition mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images to the sides of the traveled road for identifying locations where road signs are potentially located. The pedestrian recognition mode operates so that the camera is actuated to capture images to the sides of the traveled road for identifying locations where pedestrians are potentially located." Naik even further discloses ([0014]): "The elevation glance mode includes redirecting the one or both headlamps 16 and 18 in a vertical direction to provide illumination in those regions so the image capture device may capture details of the objects elevated above the road. Such objects may include overhead signs and other overhead objects." Naik still further discloses ([0017]): "The viewing angle as captured by the image capture device 12 is often adequate to capture the entire road and surrounding regions; however, not all objects captured within viewing angle may have adequate light directed on them for machine recognition analysis of the object. Therefore, it is pertinent to have the targeted region of the viewing angle illuminated. The vehicle's AFL system is used to selectively and timely redirect the headlamps from the primary region to the secondary region so that the targeted region is illuminated at a time when the captured image device captures and processes the illuminated secondary region."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naik in view of Tatara (US 2009/0279317 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Naik teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Naik further teaches:
applying at least one of a mechanical threshold value for the mechanical degree of actuation or a virtual threshold value for the virtual degree of actuation,
Naik teaches ([0010]): "The headlamps are individually controlled by swiveling each headlamp via controlled steering up to a predetermined number of degrees (e.g., 20 degrees)."
However, Naik does not outright teach that the mechanical degree of actuation is less than the mechanical threshold value, and wherein the virtual degree of actuation is less than the virtual threshold value. Tatara teaches an automotive headlamp apparatus for controlling light distribution patterns, comprising:
wherein the mechanical degree of actuation is less than the mechanical threshold value,
Tatara teaches ([0136]): "FIG. 15 is a diagram showing a relationship between the swivel angle and the maximum correction angle. As shown in FIG. 15, the upper limit of correction angle θr to achieve a shaded upper beam is defined as a maximum correction angle θr-max and also a function is set so that the larger the swivel angle, the smaller the maximum correction angle θr-max becomes. The correction angle θr is set to its optimum value within the range of the maximum correction angle θr-max. In other words, the correction angle θr is set to the minimum correction angle that allows the driver's vehicle to travel with the shaded upper beam." FIG. 15, included blow, demonstrates that the mechanical degree of actuation (i.e. the optimum value within the range of the maximum correction angle) is less than the maximum correction angle.
and wherein the virtual degree of actuation is less than the virtual threshold value.
Tatara teaches ([0146]): "If the automotive headlamp apparatus is comprised of a headlamp unit capable of varying the shape of a shaded region, it is preferable that the headlamp unit controls the shape of a shaded region in such a manner that the vehicle existent area can be contained within the minimum shaded region. As a result, both the enhancement of distant visibility and the reduction of glare as experienced by the drivers of the vehicles-in-front are achieved quite effectively... At the same time, if the automotive headlamp apparatus is comprised of a swivelable headlamp unit, it is preferable that the headlamp unit variably controls the shape of a shaded region in such a manner that the vehicle existent area can be contained in the minimum shaded region within a range of the maximum correction angle of the swivel angle."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Naik to incorporate the teachings of Tatara to provide that the mechanical degree of actuation is less than the mechanical threshold value, and wherein the virtual degree of actuation is less than the virtual threshold value. Naik and Tatara are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of controlling the shape of lighting regions by a vehicle. Further, both Naik and Tatara utilize headlamps with swiveling actuation. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Tatara, as doing so enables selecting an optimum actuation value less than a maximum correction angle, as recognized by Tatara (see at least [0136]). Further, incorporating the virtual threshold value of Tatara advantageously allows for controlling of the lighting zone to reduce glare experienced by drivers of vehicles in front of a host vehicle, as recognized by Tatara (see at least [0146]).
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naik in view of Roehder (US 2013/0211672 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Naik teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Naik does not outright teach that when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm considers at least a relative speed of the detected object, which is determined on the basis of at least one sensor. Roehder teaches a time-of-flight camera for a motor vehicle including an illumination with a light source and an optic for illuminating an illumination area, comprising:
when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm considers at least a relative speed of the detected object, which is determined on the basis of at least one sensor.
Roehder teaches ([0036]): "Of course, further and/or other operating parameters can be taken into account when controlling the actuation device 14 and with this the illumination area 17. For example, an illumination area 17 can be selected depending on which vehicle system 2 or which function is to analyze the data of the Time-Of-Flight camera at a given moment. For recognizing road signs for example, a short-range illumination area 17 with wide opening angle is required, while when observing other road users driving in front, a great range at small opening angle is desired, comparable also to the differences of FIG. 3 to FIG. 4, illumination areas 17a and 17b. Then, two modes of operation of the Time-Of-Flight camera can for example be provided of which one is selected depending on the actually active function. However, the speed of the motor vehicle relative to objects in the environment can also be observed, for example in the case of a pedestrian, where the relative speed between a pedestrian and the motor vehicle 1 is a criteria for adjusting the illumination area. As can be seen, a multitude of possibilities are conceivable to adjust the illumination area to the actual driving situation."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Naik to incorporate the teachings of Roehder to provide that when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm considers at least a relative speed of the detected object, which is determined on the basis of at least one sensor. Naik and Roehder are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of controlling the shape of lighting regions by a vehicle. Further, both Naik and Roehder utilize actuating light sources. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Roehder, as considering the relative speed of the detected object advantageously allows for the adjustment of the illumination area based on the actual driving situation detected by the vehicle, as recognized by Roehder (see at least [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Naik teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. However, Naik does not outright teach that when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm takes into account at least a relative speed of the detected object, which is determined on the basis of at least one sensor. Roehder teaches a time-of-flight camera for a motor vehicle including an illumination with a light source and an optic for illuminating an illumination area, comprising:
when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm takes into account at least a relative speed of the detected object, which is determined on the basis of at least one sensor.
Roehder teaches ([0036]): "Of course, further and/or other operating parameters can be taken into account when controlling the actuation device 14 and with this the illumination area 17. For example, an illumination area 17 can be selected depending on which vehicle system 2 or which function is to analyze the data of the Time-Of-Flight camera at a given moment. For recognizing road signs for example, a short-range illumination area 17 with wide opening angle is required, while when observing other road users driving in front, a great range at small opening angle is desired, comparable also to the differences of FIG. 3 to FIG. 4, illumination areas 17a and 17b. Then, two modes of operation of the Time-Of-Flight camera can for example be provided of which one is selected depending on the actually active function. However, the speed of the motor vehicle relative to objects in the environment can also be observed, for example in the case of a pedestrian, where the relative speed between a pedestrian and the motor vehicle 1 is a criteria for adjusting the illumination area. As can be seen, a multitude of possibilities are conceivable to adjust the illumination area to the actual driving situation."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Naik to incorporate the teachings of Roehder to provide that when adapting the light emission, a control algorithm takes into account at least a relative speed of the detected object, which is determined on the basis of at least one sensor. Naik and Roehder are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of controlling the shape of lighting regions by a vehicle. Further, both Naik and Roehder utilize actuating light sources. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Roehder, as considering the relative speed of the detected object advantageously allows for the adjustment of the illumination area based on the actual driving situation detected by the vehicle, as recognized by Roehder (see at least [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mochizuki et al. (US 2022/0034469 A1) teaches a vehicle headlight, including the use of a light distribution pattern for radiating emitted light in a high luminous intensity region and a low luminous intensity region; the high and low luminous intensity regions are controlled to change at least one of size and position of the regions (see at least [0006]). Yamamura (US 2013/0038736 A1) teaches an optical unit for a vehicle, including adjusting a light distribution pattern if a vehicle-in-front is identified as a self-luminous object experiencing glare due to the light directed at the vehicle-in-front and enacting control for blocking light in a region including the vehicle-in-front (see at least [0177]).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662