DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, lines 1 – 2 recites the limitation “a steer-by-wire type steering system”, however, the limitation “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite.
Claim 15, line 3 recites the limitation “a steer-by-wire type steering system”, however, the limitation “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (JP 2007030678 A).
For claim 1, Sato discloses a vehicle control device comprising:
an acquisition unit 21 – 25 [configured to acquire traveling environment information representing a traveling environment of a vehicle] (pages 17 – 21, paragraphs [0013] - [0014]) including an electric motor 15 [configured to control an operation of at least one wheel FW1, FW2] (page 15, paragraph [0012]);
a situation determination unit 44 [configured to determine whether or not a predetermined situation where a disturbance (obstacles) acts on the at least one wheel such that the operation is changed has occurred, based on the traveling environment information] (page 25, paragraph [0018]); and
a suppression unit 30 [configured to suppress restriction of protection control of protecting the electric motor by restricting a current supplied to the electric motor] (page 42, paragraph [0027]), [in a case where the predetermined situation has occurred] (pages 32 and 33, paragraph [0022]).
For claim 4, Sato discloses the vehicle control device [wherein the predetermined situation is a situation where an obstacle capable of changing the operation by applying the disturbance to the at least one wheel is present] (page 25, paragraph [0018]).
For claim 6, Sato discloses the vehicle control device [wherein the suppression unit is configured to suppress the restriction by temporarily interrupting execution of the protection control] (page 43, paragraph [0028]).
For claim 8, Sato discloses the vehicle control device [wherein the suppression unit is configured to suppress the restriction such that a lower limit value Imax1 in a case where the current is decreased in the protection control is larger than a lower limit value 0 in a case where the predetermined situation has not occurred] (page 42, paragraph [0027]).
For claim 11, Sato discloses the vehicle control device [wherein the situation determination unit is configured to determine that the predetermined situation has occurred in a case where a magnitude of the current supplied to the electric motor to control the operation is larger than a magnitude of an upper limit value set in advance] (page 42, paragraph [0027]).
For claim 13, Sato discloses the vehicle control device wherein, among a drive system for driving the at least one wheel, a brake system for braking the at least one wheel, and a steering system (fig. 1) [for turning the wheel] (page 15, paragraph [0012]), [the electric motor is provided in at least the steering system] (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP 2007030678 A) in view of Kelly (GB 2541664 A).
For claim 5, Sato does not explicitly disclose the vehicle control device wherein the predetermined situation is a situation where the vehicle travels on an uneven road.
Kelly discloses vehicle sensors 14 may comprise any number of different sensors, such as air suspension sensor(s) (i.e., ride height sensors) (page 10, lines 8 – 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the air suspension sensors of Kelly with the vehicle control device of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved overall monitoring of the vehicle system and road conditions, thus improving overall vehicle safety.
For claim 9, Sato discloses the vehicle control device wherein:
the at least one wheel includes right LW2 and left LW1 wheels of the vehicle; but does not explicitly disclose the situation determination unit is configured to determine that the predetermined situation has occurred in a case where a deviation between vehicle heights of the right and left wheels is larger than a right-and-left wheel deviation threshold value set in advance.
Kelly discloses vehicle sensors 14 may comprise any number of different sensors, such as air suspension sensor(s) (i.e., ride height sensors) (page 10, lines 8 – 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the air suspension sensors of Kelly with the vehicle control device of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved overall monitoring of the vehicle system and road conditions, thus improving overall vehicle safety.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP 2007030678 A) in view of Matsuoka (US 9,676,410 B2).
For claim 14, Sato does not explicitly disclose the vehicle control device wherein the steering system is a steer-by-wire type steering system including:
an operation device including an operation member operated by a driver;
a turning device including the electric motor and configured to turn the at least one wheel; and
a controller configured to control the current supplied to the electric motor to realize turning of the at least one wheel in accordance with an operation of the operation member via the turning device.
Matsuoka discloses a vehicle comprising a joystick 21; [two front left and right wheels 1; two left and right rear wheels 2; the wheels 1, 2, each include a turning device 4 which allows independent turning of the corresponding wheel, the wheels 1, 2 are all driven wheels that are each independently driven to travel by a traveling drive mechanism 5] (col. 4, lines 40 – 46); [the turning device includes a turning drive source 4a including an electric motor or the like, and a transmission mechanism 4b for transmitting the rotation of the turning device source to the traveling drive mechanism; the turning device of this example uses a steer-by-wire system that is not mechanically linked with the joystick serving as steering input portion or input element] (col. 4, lines 66 – 67 and col. 5, lines 1 – 7); and [an ECU 31 is an electronic control unit for performing central control and cooperative control of the entire vehicle, and includes a microcomputer, an electronic circuit, and the like; the ECU is general control unit for controlling the turning devices and the traveling drive mechanisms] (col. 7, lines 58 – 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the steer-by-wire system with independent turning devices and the wheels with traveling drive mechanisms of Matsuoka with the vehicle control device of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a reduction in overall weight of the vehicle, thus improving overall fuel efficiency.
For claim 15, Sato modified as above discloses the vehicle control device wherein:
the at least one wheel includes right FW2 and left FW1 wheels of the vehicle; and
the steering system is a steer-by-wire type steering system (col. 5, lines 4 – 7 of Matsuoka) including:
an operation device 21 including an operation member 21 [operated by a driver] (col. 5, lines 5 – 7);
a pair of turning devices 4 [configured to turn the right and left wheels, respectively] (fig. 1, col. 4, lines 41 – 43 of Matsuoka); and
[a controller configured to control the current supplied to the electric motor provided in each of the turning devices to realize turning of each of the right and left wheels in accordance with an operation of the operation member via each of the turning devices] (col. 7, lines 58 – 62 of Matsuoka).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose:
For claims 2 and 3: a cutoff operation determination unit configured to determine presence or absence of a cutoff operation; a situation change determination unit configured to determine whether or not the predetermined situation is changed to a stable situation; a permission unit configured to permit execution of a cutoff process in accordance with the cutoff operation;
For claim 7: the suppression unit is configured to suppress the restriction such that a decrease amount in a case where the current is decreased in the protection control is smaller than a decrease amount in a case where the predetermined situation has not occurred;
For claim 10: the situation determination unit is configured to determine that the predetermined situation has occurred in a case where a transfer case is set to a LOW range or where a differential gear is set to a differential lock representing a lock;
For claim 12: a restore command unit configured to restore the restriction of the protection control suppressed by the suppression unit in the predetermined situation to the restriction of the protection control before being suppressed, in a case where the predetermined situation is changed to a stable situation, based on the traveling environment.
Conclusion
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611