DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1- 27 are pending.
Claims 1 and 25 are independent.
This office action is Non-Final.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “comprise”, “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: the generic placeholder “a monitoring unit” coupled with the functional language “provide monitoring information for detecting the required power of the at least one load” and the generic placeholder “a controller” coupled with the functional language “control at least one of the second converter and the DC supplying unit based on the monitoring information” in claims 1 – 25, and 26.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the
corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: paragraphs 0009,012,038,0041,0044,0073,0093,0107,0169,0170, 0208.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 20 and 24 -27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0180233 A1, hereinafter “Yamada”), in view of Mondal (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0044370).
As per claim 1, Yamada teaches a power supply apparatus for supplying power to at least one load [0040: “The server rack 50 having the plurality of servers (loading device) 4 stored therein is provided with the uninterruptible power supply apparatus 10 according to the present invention for supplying power to a predetermined number of servers 4 installed in the server rack 50”], comprising:
… a first alternating current (AC) [AC power, 0044];
a first converter configured to convert at least a portion of the first AC into a first direct current (DC) [AC/DC converter 21, DC/DC converter 22, fig.1, 0044: “… power supply unit 20 is also configured by an AC/DC converter 21 for converting the AC power (AC 200 V) to a DC voltage ...”];
an energy storage unit configured to charge energy based on the first AC [battery unit 40c, AC/DC converter 44, Battery 43, fig. 1, 0047, 0049: “…the second battery unit 40c is configured as an AC input-type battery unit for storing power by inputting, for example, the AC power…”];
a second converter configured to convert DC provided from the energy storage unit into a second DC [0048-0049: “…a bidirectional DC/DC converter 42 used for charging/discharging the second battery 41. …, generates the DC voltage (DC 12 V) from the DC power stored in the second battery 41, and supplies the generated DC voltage to the servers 4…The second battery unit 40c further has a DC/DC converter 45 for discharging the third battery 43 in accordance with the load status of the power supply unit 20, generates the DC voltage (DC 12 V) from the DC power stored in the third battery 43, and supplies the generated DC voltage to the servers 4.”];
a DC supplying unit capable of providing a third DC, which includes the first DC and the second DC, to the at least one load [0054, 0061: “…The currents that are output from the three second battery units 40a, 40b and 40c are combined at output ends of the second battery units 40a, 40b and 40c and supplied to the servers (loading devices) 4…” ];
a monitoring unit configured to provide monitoring information for detecting the required power of the at least one load [0064: “… The power supply unit 20 and battery units 30, 40a, 40b, and 40c configuring the uninterruptible power supply apparatus 10 are combined by, for example, serial communication connectors (not shown). In this configuration, the units 20, 30, 40a, 40b, and 40c communicate information with one another, and the operations of the units 20, 30, 40a, 40b, and 40c are controlled in accordance with, for example, the load status of the power supply unit 20, the amount of power required by the servers (loading devices) 4, and the availability of the power of the AC power supply (AC 200 V/AC 400 V).…”]; and
a controller configured to control at least one of the second converter and the DC supplying unit based on the monitoring information [units operate/pause based on load status and required power, 0064; peak-cut control activates/deactivates battery units 40a-40c per detected load 0071-0075 ].
However, Yamada does not teach “…an AC generator configured to generate a first alternating current (AC)…”.
Mondal is cited to teach a modular system for supplying DC power to at least one server. The modular system includes a DC uninterruptible power supply (UPS) which has an AC-DC converter and an energy storage device electrically coupled to the output of the AC-DC converter. The modular system also includes a DC-DC converter directly connected to the output of the AC-DC converter of the DC UPS and configured to supply DC power to the at least one server.
Both Mondal and Yamada are directed toward using a direct current (DC) uninterruptible power supply (UPS) and server power supply with DC input voltage for data centers.
As per claim 1, Mondal further teaches …an AC generator configured to generate a first alternating current (AC) [Generator 15 supplies AC power to the system, 0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mondal with Yamada, as Mondal teaches supplying AC power to the system during a utility disturbance, improving system power reliability.
As per claim 2, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 1, wherein the AC generator generates the first AC by limiting power of the first AC to be equal to or less than a predetermined first threshold [the amount of power received is limited based on agreement 0068].
As per claim 3, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 1, wherein the monitoring unit measures the current of the third DC provided to the at least one load, and the monitoring information includes information about the measured current [maximum currents are disclosed as battery unit capacities 0051-0054].
As per claim 4, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller activates the second converter to generate the second DC when the detected required power is equal to or greater than a predetermined second threshold [peak cut control, 0073; demand shift control, 0079].
As per claim 5, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 4, wherein the AC generator generates the first AC by limiting power of the first AC to be equal to or less than a predetermined first threshold, and the first threshold is greater than the second threshold [multiple power levels A-E, fig.3].
As per claim 6, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DC supplying unit comprises: a first power delivery path connecting the first converter and the at least one load so that the first DC can be delivered to the at least one load; a second power delivery path connecting the output of the second converter to a first junction point being a point included in the first power delivery path where the first DC and the second DC can be combined; and a first switch for opening and closing the second power delivery path [0061,0062: “…The units 20, 30, 40a, 40b, and 40c have the respective DC terminals connected in parallel on the rear surface side of the server rack 50, to construct the uninterruptible power supply apparatus 10…”; paused state, 0071-0072].
As per claim 7, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 6, wherein the controller controls the opening and closing of the first switch based on the monitoring information [load responsive pause/operate , 0064, 0071-0072].
As per claim 8, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 7, wherein the controller controls the first switch to close when the detected required power based on the monitoring information is equal to or greater than the predetermined second threshold [battery units 40a-c are activated when load increases, 0073].
As per claim 9, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 8, wherein, after controlling the first switch to close, the controller controls the first switch to open when the detected required power based on the monitoring information becomes less than the second threshold, and controls the energy storage unit so that the energy storage unit can be charged [0076-0077: “…Using an excess amount of the DC power supplied from the power supply unit 20 to the servers (loading devices) 4, the batteries 31 and 41 of the first battery unit 30 and the second battery units 40a and 40b are charged. …”].
As per claim 20, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 1, wherein the energy storage unit comprises: a third converter configured to convert at least a portion of the first AC into DC; and an energy storage system that charges energy using the DC supplied from the third converter [0049: “…The third set of the second battery unit 40c, on the other hand, has a third battery 43 for storing DC power and an AC/DC converter 44 for converting the AC power into a DC voltage to charge the third battery 43…”].
As per claim 24, Yamada teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one load comprises at least one server system, and the at least one server system includes at least one server [Servers 4, fig. 1].
As pe claim 25, Yamada teaches a data center system1 comprising: at least one subsystem; and at least one server system receiving power from the at least one subsystem, wherein each of the at least one subsystem [UPS 10, 0040] comprises: an AC generator configured to generate a first AC; a first converter configured to convert at least a portion of the first AC into a first DC; an energy storage unit configured to charge energy based on the first AC; a second converter configured to convert DC provided from the energy storage unit into a second DC; and a DC supplying unit capable of providing a third DC, which includes the first DC and the second DC, to the corresponding server system, wherein each of the at least one server system comprises: a power receiving unit capable of receiving the third DC; and at least one server [Servers 4 receive DC 12V via DC power supply lines, 0061, fig.1 and 2].
As per claim 26, Yamada teaches the data center system of claim 25, wherein each of the at least one subsystem further comprises: a monitoring unit configured to provide monitoring information for detecting the required power of the at least one server; and a controller configured to control at least one of the second converter and the DC supplying unit based on the monitoring information [0064].
As per claim 27, Yamada teaches the data center system of claim 25, wherein the power receiving unit comprises a DC bus connected to the at least one server [0061-0062: “… The units 20, 30, 40a, 40b, and 40c have the respective DC terminals connected in parallel on the rear surface side of the server rack 50 …”, fig. 2].
Claims 10-19, 21,and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0180233 A1, hereinafter “Yamada”), in view of Mondal (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0044370), in even further view of Tajima (US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0277294 A1).
As per claim 10, Yamada, in view of Mondal, teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 1. However, Yamada, in view of Mondal, does not teach “…wherein the power supply apparatus shares a power bus with at least one other power supply apparatus, wherein the power supply apparatus further comprises a third power delivery path connecting the output of the second converter and the power bus so that the second DC can be delivered to the power bus; and a fourth power delivery path for providing power from the power bus to the at least one load…”.
Tajima is cited to teach a power supply apparatus including a power storage for storing power supplied through a bus line connected to the power supply apparatus, on which bus line an information signal representing information is superposed over the power. The power supply apparatus also includes a signal blocker for blocking the information signal from the bus line from draining into another apparatus, a power amount detector for detecting a power amount of the power storage, and a switching controller for switching a server mode for supplying the power from the power storage and a client mode for receiving the power from the bus line in dependence upon a detection result from the power amount detector. Both Yamada, in view of Mondal, and Tajima are directed toward supplying DC power efficiently to load devices using battery backed power supplies.
As per claim 10, Tajima further teaches wherein the power supply apparatus shares a power bus with at least one other power supply apparatus, wherein the power supply apparatus further comprises a third power delivery path connecting the output of the second converter and the power bus so that the second DC can be delivered to the power bus; and a fourth power delivery path for providing power from the power bus to the at least one load [shared a battery 140, 0055-0056, 0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tajima with Yamada and Mondal, as Tajima teaches specific known mechanisms for implementing battery sharing functionality between multiple devices.
As per claim 11, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a second switch for opening and closing the third power delivery path, wherein the controller controls the opening and closing of the second switch [0060-0062, 0065: “…If the power supply apparatus 100a operates in the power source server mode, the switch S12 is closed…”].
As per claim 12, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 11, wherein the controller controls the opening and closing of the second switch based on the monitoring information and information received from at least one of the at least one other power supply apparatus [negotiation process 0047-0052, 0063: “… the power supply apparatus 100a outputs, from the modem 130a to the bus line 10, information for negotiation processes in order to get supplied with power by the other power source servers…”].
As per claim 13, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 11, wherein the controller controls the second switch to close when the detected required power based on the monitoring information is less than the predetermined second threshold, required power of the at least one other power supply apparatus is equal to or greater than the second threshold, and charge amount of the energy storage unit of the at least one other power supply apparatus is less than a predetermined third threshold [switching logic 0062-0063, 0069-0074].
As per claim 14, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 13, wherein, after controlling the second switch to close, the controller controls the energy storage unit so that the energy storage unit can be charged when the detected required power based on the monitoring information remains less than the second threshold, the required power of the at least one other power supply apparatus becomes less than the second threshold, and the charge amount of the energy storage unit of the at least one other power supply apparatus becomes equal to or greater than a predetermined fourth threshold [0072-0075].
As per claim 15, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a third switch for opening and closing the fourth power delivery path, wherein the controller controls the opening and closing of the third switch [switch architecture, 0060-0062, fig.2].
As per claim 16, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 15, wherein the controller controls the opening and closing of the third switch based on the monitoring information and charge amount of the energy storage unit [switch architecture, 0060-0062, fig.2].
As per claim 17, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 15, wherein the controller controls the third switch to close when the detected required power based on the monitoring information is equal to or greater than the predetermined second threshold and the charge amount of the energy storage unit is less than a predetermined third threshold [switch architecture, 0060-0062, fig.2].
As per claim 18, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the controller, after controlling the third switch to close, when the required power detected based on the monitoring information is less than the second threshold and the charge amount of the energy storage unit is less than the third threshold, controls the third switch to open, and controls the energy storage unit so that the energy storage unit can be charged [switch architecture, 0060-0062, fig.2].
As per claim 19, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 10, wherein the DC supplying unit further comprises: a first power delivery path connecting the first converter and the at least one load so that the first DC can be delivered to the at least one load; a second power delivery path connecting the output of the second converter to a first junction point being a point included in the first power delivery path where the first DC and the second DC can be combined; and a first switch for opening and closing the second power delivery path, wherein the fourth power delivery path comprises a path connecting the power bus and a second junction point being a point included in the first power delivery path, and wherein the third DC further includes DC provided from the power bus to the second junction point [switch architecture, 0060-0062, fig.2].
As per claim 21, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 20, wherein the energy storage system comprises at least one energy storage cell using a material other than a metal oxide as a cathode active material [0059: “…the battery 140 may be a lithium ion battery, a lithium ion capacitor, an electric double layer capacitor, or any other power storage element…”].
As per claim 22, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 20, wherein the energy storage system comprises at least one energy storage cell that stores energy without using a chemical reaction at the cathode [0059: “…the battery 140 may be a lithium ion battery, a lithium ion capacitor, an electric double layer capacitor, or any other power storage element…”].
As per claim 23, Tajima teaches the power supply apparatus of claim 20, wherein the energy storage system comprises a Lithium Ion Capacitor (LIC) [0059: “…the battery 140 may be a lithium ion battery, a lithium ion capacitor, an electric double layer capacitor, or any other power storage element…”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon; Won Ok. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0274638 A1) “Distributed Shared Power Apparatus In Data Center And Method Thereof” is cited to teach a distributed shared power apparatus of a data center that includes a server monitor configured to monitor two or more rack mount servers that generate power by converting incoming alternating current (AC) power into direct current (DC) power and share the generated power with each other, and to collect an available total DC power of each rack mount server and a peak DC power used by each rack mount server; and a sharing controller configured to calculate surplus DC power possessed by each rack based on the collected available total DC power of each rack mount server and the peak DC power used by each rack mount server, and to control power sharing between the two or more rack mount servers based on the calculated surplus DC power of each rack.
Kanoh; Mitsuyoshi et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0227540 A1) “Direct-Current Power Source Apparatus” is cited to teach a direct-current power source apparatus in which a lithium-ion capacitor unit is used as an electric storage system and which can fully utilize the lithium-ion capacitor unit and maintain the supply of electricity to a load. An electric storage system includes a lithium-ion capacitor unit and a lead-acid battery connected in parallel with a load, and a voltage detecting section that detects the voltage of the lithium-ion capacitor unit. When the voltage detecting section detects that the voltage of the lithium-ion capacitor unit has reached a unit lower-limit voltage, a control circuit outputs a conduction signal for causing a switching circuit to get into a conductive state.
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176
1 The examiner incorporates the detailed individual discussion of the prior art reference as set forth in regards to claim 1 hereinabove to address the limitations of claims 25 – 27 as applicable.