DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, in claim 5, the phrase “the equivalent thickness as the distance T.” is unclear because ‘the distance T’ lacks antecedent basis in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Specifically, in claim 9, the phrase “wherein x is equal to or greater than 0.02 and less than 0.34” is unclear because x lacks antecedent basis in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sievenpiper et al. (US 6,552,696).
Regarding claim 1, Sievenpiper discloses a reflecting device (Figs. 5a-5b), comprising: a patch electrode (22; Column 4, Lines 31-54); a common electrode (12; Column 4, Lines 31-54); a liquid crystal layer sandwiched between the patch electrode and the common electrode (20; Column 4, Lines 31-54); and a metal film arranged on the opposite side of the common electrode from the side of the liquid crystal layer (14; Column 4, Lines 55-60), wherein the metal film is spaced apart from the common electrode, and the patch electrode is arranged to overlap the metal film (Figs. 5a & 5b, 12 & 22 & 14).
Regarding claim 4, Sievenpiper further discloses wherein the common electrode is applied with a ground potential, and the metal film is in a floating state (Column 7, Lines 10-35).
Regarding claim 6, Sievenpiper further discloses wherein the liquid crystal layer is sandwiched between the patch electrode and the common electrode (Figs. 5a & 5b, 12 & 22 & 20).
Regarding claim 7, Sievenpiper discloses a reflecting device (Figs. 5a-5b) comprising, a patch electrode (22; Column 4, Lines 31-54); a common electrode (12; Column 4, Lines 31-54); a liquid crystal layer sandwiched between the patch electrode and the common electrode (20; Column 4, Lines 31-54); a first substrate (24; Column 4, Lines 55-67); and a metal film on the first substrate, wherein the metal film is arranged on a side of the common electrode facing the patch electrode, and the patch electrode is arranged to overlap the metal film (14; Column 6, Lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 10, Sievenpiper further discloses wherein the common electrode is applied with a ground potential, and the metal film is in a floating state (Column 7, Lines 10-35).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 8, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, in claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach or disclose the requirement wherein x is the value obtained by multiplying a distance T between the common electrode and the metal film by the wavelength λ of the radio wave irradiated to the patch electrode, and x is equal to or greater than 0.02 and less than or equal to 0.34.
Claim 3 is objected to based on its dependence from claim 2.
Specifically, in claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach or disclose the requirement wherein x is the value obtained by multiplying a distance T between the common electrode and the metal film by the wavelength λ of the radio wave irradiated to the patch electrode, and x is equal to or greater than 0.02 and less than or equal to 0.34.
Claim 11 is objected to based on its dependence from claim 8.
/Anne M Hines/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2879