DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2024, 05/17/2025, and 08/13/2025 are being considered by the examiner. A copy of initialed form is attached for Applicant’s record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meynen et al.(EP3771939 A1 of record, hereafter Meynen).
Regarding claim 1, Meynen discloses (the references in parentheses applied in this document) a computer-implemented method of customizing a frame design, the frame design used to manufacture a pair of glasses for a specific customer (in figure 5) and comprising:
(a) receiving, by a computer, one or more lens parameters of a lens, said one or more lens parameters relate to said specific customer (Fig. 5: 502, [0075]: "optical apparatus information 502 may include measurements of one or more of optical article 101, 200, 300,470,480,490 (e.g., optical members, attachment devices, support structures, extension portions, ledges, etc.) or eyewear apparatus 130, 400 (e.g. frame, attachment devices, nose pads, temples, bridges, etc.), that are entered via a user interface 504 coupled to research/design computer 506");
receiving, by a computer, a frame design, said frame to be attached to said lens (Fig.5: 512), said glasses frame to be adhered to a lens [0037]:"The one or more attachment devices 104 are configured to enable optical member 102 (e.g., optical article 101) to be coupled to ... eyewear apparatus 130." [0038]:"... the one or more attachment device 104 may include or correspond to . . . an adhesive ... ").
and adjusting, by a computer, said frame design based on said one or more lens parameters (par.[0100]: "a design for an ... eyewear apparatus 130,400 (e.g. frame, attachment devices, nose pads, temples, bridges, etc.").
Regarding claim 5, Meynen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said pair of glasses is sunglasses, and wherein said one or more lens parameters comprise information about a lens material suitable to be used in said sunglasses (par.[0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Meynen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said one or more lens parameters (Fig. 5: 512) comprises a lens shape and wherein said adjusting comprises adjusting to conform to said lens shape (par.[0100]: "a design for an ... eyewear apparatus 130,400 (e.g. frame, attachment devices, nose pads, temples, bridges, etc.").
Regarding claim 7, Meyen discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein said lens shape comprises a curvature of one or more surfaces of said lens, and wherein said adjusting comprises adjusting to conform to the curvature of said lens (par.[0100]: "a design for an ... eyewear apparatus 130,400 (e.g. frame, attachment devices, nose pads, temples, bridges, etc.").
Regarding claim 8, Meyen discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein said receiving a frame design comprises receiving according to instructions from said specific customer (par.[0100]: "a design for an ... eyewear apparatus 130,400 (e.g. frame, attachment devices, nose pads, temples, bridges, etc.").
Regarding claim 9, Meyen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said frame design comprises one or more of size and shape of said frame; and wherein said adjusting comprises adjusting said size and/or said shape of said frame (par.[0100]: "a design for an ... eyewear apparatus 130,400 (e.g. frame, attachment devices, nose pads, temples, bridges, etc.").
Regarding claim 11, Meyen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said adjusting comprises adjusting without a user input (par.[0100]: "a design for an ... eyewear apparatus 130,400 (e.g. frame, attachment devices, nose pads, temples, bridges, etc.", Meyen does not disclose user input).
Regarding claim 20, Meyen discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising measuring said lens to determine at least one of said one or more lens parameters (par.[0035-0036], [0054], [00750).
4. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meynen et al.(EP3771939 Al of record, hereafter Meynen) as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Yanari (US 20090326693 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Meynen discloses the method according to claim 1. Meynen does not disclose sending said frame design after said adjusting to a manufacturing device; and manufacturing a pair of glasses based on said frame design after said adjusting by the manufacturing device. Yanari teaches wherein sending customer glasses design data to a manufacturing device and then manufacturing a pair of glasses based on said designed frame by the manufacturing device (para.[0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize iterative design process of Yanari to Meynen as a designing method for eyeglass since it allows designers to create and test ideas quickly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4,10 and 13-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: (claim 2) wherein said one or more lens parameters comprises optical properties of said lens and wherein said adjusting comprises adjusting to compensate for visual distortion of a frame material associated with said optical properties; (claim 10) wherein said frame design comprises a frame pattern and wherein said adjusting comprises adjusting said frame pattern.
Conclusion
/TUYEN TRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872