DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama (US 2021/0306318).
(1) regarding claims 1 and 8:
Yokoyama ‘318 discloses an image forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 11 in Fig. 11) comprising:
a communicator that communicates with an external terminal device via a network (communication device 22 in Fig. 1 and paragraph [0021], able to communicate with network devices (external)), and
one or more controllers (paragraph [0018], system controller 21), wherein
the one or more controllers receive, via the communicator, setting information of an authentication method pertaining to a use of resources on an external service (paragraph [0047]-[0048], where authorization is received for the use of the external service), which is accepted via a web page screen displayed on a display of the external terminal device (paragraph [0058]-[0059], where a screen displayed on a browser is used for accepting setting information).
(2) regarding claim 2:
Yokoyama ‘318 further discloses wherein the one or more controllers receive, via the communicator, selection information pertaining to the external service which is selected via the web page screen (paragraph [0047]-[0048], where authorization is received for the use of the external service, paragraph [0058]-[0059], where a screen displayed on a browser is used for accepting setting information).
(3) regarding claim 4:
Yokoyama ‘318 further discloses wherein the one or more controllers acquire a token from the external service based on the setting information of the authentication method which is accepted via the web page screen (paragraph [0047]-[0048]).
(4) regarding claim 5:
Yokoyama ‘318 further discloses wherein the one or more controllers display an acquired information pertaining to the token on a display of the image forming device (paragraph [0047]-[0048] and [0052]-[0053]).
(5) regarding claim 6:
Yokoyama ‘318 further discloses wherein the authentication method is OAuth 2.0 (paragraph [0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A. Claim 3 discloses the unique and distinct limitations of “wherein the one or more controllers receive, via the communicator, setting information related to encryption communication which is accepted via the web page screen”, either alone or in combination, the applied prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter.
B. Claim 7 discloses the unique and distinct limitations of “wherein the one or more controllers execute a job pertaining to sending e-mail by using the resources after an authentication process for the external service is performed”, either alone or in combination, the applied prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
/LENNIN R RODRIGUEZGONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683