DETAILED ACTION
Priority as a CON of PCT/CN2022/122815 filed 9/29/2022 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 as filed 12/2/2024 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/2/2024 and 9/1/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Use of abbreviations for terms such as DTX, DRX, NES, MIB, WUS, PUSCH, SR, PUCCH, CG, SRS, MAC CE, UCI should be placed in parentheses for clarity. Additionally, all abbreviated terms should be spelled out in full before being abbreviated, i.e. SSB, MIB/SSB/SIB, RACH in claims 3, 6, and 12.
The use of “/” in terms “cell/base station” and the use of “first” should be clarified.
Further, in claims 1, 4, 17, and 20, instances of the term “hand over” with a space between the words should be “handover” to be consistent throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the alternative language presented in independent claims 1 and 4 only requires the performing of “one or more” of the claimed disparate operations of “determining whether to perform cell selection/reselection” OR “performing transmission based on DTX/DRX state” OR “receiving handover configuration”. Independent claim 17 is directed to only one of those operations, the exchange/transmission of handover configuration from network device to terminal device, and does not require or mention the other listed operations.
Similar analysis of alternative language under BRI also applies to dependent claims 3, 6-16, and 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Latheef et al. (US20200351735A1), hereafter Latheef.
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 14,
Latheef discloses a method and apparatus for handing handover in wireless communication system (Title) including a terminal device (Fig. 1, UE 100; Fig. 7, UE 700) comprising a memory (Fig. 1, memory 130; Fig. 7, memory 730) configured to store a program (i.e. memory stores instructions; paragraphs 52-53, 285-292) and a processor (Fig. 1, 7; controller/processor 110, 710) configured to invoke the program in the memory (paragraphs 52-53, 285-292; instructions executed by the controller/processor) to cause the terminal device to perform a method comprising one or more of the following operations: determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection based on information about a first cell, or whether to consider information about a first cell in a cell selection or cell reselection process, performing transmission based on a DTX/DRX state of a first cell/first base station, or receiving a first handover configuration for at least one of a plurality of cells transmitted by a first cell/first base station used to handover processing, or handover from the first cell to a target cell (Abstract; Fig. 2B; steps 202b-208b; paragraphs 11-14, 40, 62, 74; receive handover configuration from a source cell comprising handover execution conditions associated with at least one candidate target cell and then execute the handover to the target cell when the execution condition is fulfilled).
Regarding claims 17 and 18,
Latheef discloses a method and apparatus for handing handover in wireless communication system (Title) including a network device that is a first cell/first base station (Fig. 3B, Source gNB 300; Fig. 8, base station 800) comprises a memory (Fig. 8, memory 830) configured to store a program, and a processor (Fig. 8, controller/processor 810) configured to invoke the program in the memory (paragraphs 295-305) to cause the network device to perform transmitting a first handover configuration to a terminal device (Fig. 3B, s316b; CHO configuration sent from SgNB 300 to UE 100), wherein the first handover configuration comprises handover configuration information for at least one cell of a plurality of cells, and the first handover configuration is used by the terminal device to perform handover processing or handover from the first cell to a target cell (Abstract; Fig. 2B; steps 202b-208b; paragraphs 11-14, 40, 62, 74; transmit handover configuration from a source cell to the UE comprising handover execution conditions associated with a plurality of candidate target cells and then execute the handover to one of the candidate target cells when the execution condition is fulfilled).
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19, and 20,
Latheef discloses the handover is performed/triggered in a case that first signaling is received/used for instructing the terminal device to perform the handover processing from the first cell to the target cell (Fig. 3B, step 320b; paragraph 91; CHO event triggered for TgNB-1 based on received CHO configuration signaling step 316b and evaluation step 318b).
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US20200337110A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, and 5,
Kim discloses a method and apparatus for low power consumption operation of a terminal in mobile communication system (Title) comprising a terminal device (Fig. 1, UE 130) comprising a memory (Fig. 2, memory 220) configured to store a program (paragraph 49) and a processor (Fig. 2, processor 210) is configured to invoke the program in the memory (paragraph 49, 254-255) to cause the terminal device to perform a method comprising one or more of the following operations: determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection based on information about energy saving of a first cell (Fig. 3; paragraph 62; terminal in idle state performs measurement according to DRX cycle configured for low power consumption so as to perform a cell selection/reselection to camp on an optimal base station or cell), or whether to consider information about a first cell in a cell selection or cell reselection process, performing transmission based on a DTX/DRX state of a first cell/first base station (paragraph 103; control messages transmitted/received according to operational functions such as DRX/DTX), or receiving a first handover configuration for a plurality of cells transmitted by a first cell/first base station used to handover processing, or handover from the first cell to a target cell (paragraph 63, 87, 95, 100, 115, 220; reception signal beam triggering handover execution to another base station).
Regarding claims 3 and 6,
Kim discloses the information about energy saving of the first cell comprises one or more of following information: status information of the first cell; whether the first cell belongs to a cell that supports network energy saving or a cell that supports an energy saving base station (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle); whether the first cell supports a first status, or is about to enter a first status, or is in a first status, wherein the first status comprises one or more of following states: a state of abnormal transmission for a cell/base station, a state of non-transmission of partial information for a cell/base station, an off state of a cell/base station (Fig. 3; inactive/idle state operations), an energy saving/NES state of a cell/base station (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle), a low-load state of a cell/base station, a DRX state of a cell/base station (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle), a DTX state of a cell/base station (paragraph 103; control messages transmitted/received according to operational functions such as DRX/DTX), or an on-off switching state of a cell/base station; whether part or all of first information of the first cell is carried in a second cell and used by the terminal device to access the first cell or to camp on the first cell (Fig. 3; paragraph 62; terminal in idle state performs measurement according to DRX cycle configured for low power consumption so as to perform a cell selection/reselection to camp on an optimal base station or cell) or is used by the terminal device to discover/detect/measure the first cell (paragraph 25-26, 62-63), or is used by the terminal device to receive paging information of the first cell (paragraph 62-64, 103); whether the first cell is a non-anchor cell; whether the first cell transmits or is capable of transmitting a first synchronization signal or a synchronization sequence (paragraph 90, 113-116); or whether the first cell transmits or is capable of transmitting a simplified SSB.
Regarding claim 8,
Kim discloses in a case that the terminal device is a terminal device that supports network energy saving, the determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection based on information about a first cell, or whether to consider information about a first cell in a cell selection or cell reselection process comprises performing cell selection or cell reselection based on the information about energy saving of the first cell or determining that the information about energy saving of the first cell is considered in the cell selection or cell reselection process (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 9,
Kim discloses determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection based on information about a first cell, or whether to consider information about a first cell in a cell selection or cell reselection process is performed when the first cell is in a first case
comprising one or more of following cases: the first cell is a cell that supports energy saving, the first cell is a cell that has an energy saving capability, the first cell is an energy saving cell or a cell for an energy saving base station, the first cell supports or enters or is about to enter a first status (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle), first information of the first cell is carried in a second cell, or the first cell is a non-anchor cell; and the first status comprises one or more of following states: a state of abnormal transmission for a cell/base station, a state of non-transmission of partial information for a cell/base station, an off state of a cell/base station, an energy saving/NES state of a cell/base station (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle), a low-load state of a cell/base station, a DRX/DTX state of a cell/base station (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle; paragraph 103; control messages transmitted/received according to operational functions such as DRX/DTX) or an on-off switching state of a cell/base station.
Regarding claim 11 and 12,
Kim discloses performing transmission based on a DTX/DRX state of a first cell/first base station comprises transmitting a specific signal or channel or data based on the DTX/DRX state of the first cell/first base station, or transmitting first downlink information and/or first uplink information, or determining whether to transmit a specific signal or channel or data, or determining whether to receive first downlink information or transmit first uplink information, wherein the specific signal or channel or data comprises one or more of following: PDCCH (paragraph 12+), PDSCH (paragraph 15, 23, 250), SPS (paragraph 129, 147, 166), RS (paragraph 15, 23, 67+), SSB (paragraph 90, 113-116), SIB (paragraph 72), paging message (paragraph 62-64, 103), MIB, WUS (Abstract; paragraphs 9-14, 26, 122-138), PUSCH, SR (paragraph 21, 111), PUCCH (paragraph 27, 72, 82, 104, 111), CG (paragraph 63; uplink grant), SRS (paragraph 78, 113), measurement report (paragraph 24, 25, 63), RACH (paragraph 72), MAC CE (paragraph 136+), UCI (paragraph 107), or an on-demand MIB/SSB/SIB and a type of the first downlink information comprises one or more of following: PDCCH, PDSCH, SPS, RS, SSB, SIB, paging message, MIB, or WUS; and a type of the first uplink information comprises one or more of following: PUSCH, SR, PUCCH, CG, SRS, measurement report, RACH, MAC CE, UCI, on-demand MIB/SSB/SIB, or WUS (see above).
Regarding claim 13,
Kim discloses DTX/DRX state of the first cell/first base station is configured/indicated by a network (paragraph 62-63; configured by the serving cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Comsa et al. (US20120015657A1), hereafter Comsa.
Regarding claim 7,
Kim discloses determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection based on information about a first cell, or whether to consider information about a first cell in a cell selection or cell reselection process comprises performing cell selection or cell reselection not based on the information about energy saving of the first cell or determining that the information about energy saving of the first cell is not considered in the cell selection or cell reselection process (Fig. 3; paragraph 62; terminal in idle state performs measurement according to DRX cycle configured for low power consumption so as to perform a cell selection/reselection to camp on an optimal base station or cell; Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle) but does not expressly disclose a case that the terminal device is a legacy terminal device or a terminal device that does not support network energy saving.
Comsa disclose analogous art for managing power consumption in base station and remote access points (Title) including a case that the terminal device is a legacy terminal device or a terminal device that does not support network energy saving (paragraph 75-77; cell reselection for legacy WTRU that does not support energy saving cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim in a case that the terminal device is a legacy terminal device or a terminal device that does not support network energy saving, as shown by Comsa, thereby ensuring compatibility across different generation terminals.
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Abedini et al. (US20230354192A1), hereafter Abedini.
Regarding claim 10,
Kim discloses performing transmission based on a DTX/DRX state of a first cell/first base station comprises performing transmission following the DTX/DRX state of the first cell/first base station; or performing transmission following the DTX/DRX state of the terminal device; or performing transmission according to a first rule; or transmitting a specific signal or channel or data; or transmitting no information other than a specific signal or channel or data (Fig. 4, paragraph 119-121; DRX operation for low power consumption according to DRX cycle; paragraph 103; control messages transmitted/received according to operational functions such as DRX/DTX) but does not expressly disclose a case that the DTX/DRX state of the first cell/first base station conflicts with a DTX/DRX state of the terminal device.
Abedini disclose analogous art of techniques for DRX configurations for network energy savings (Title) including a case that the DTX/DRX state of the first cell/first base station conflicts with a DTX/DRX state of the terminal device (paragraph 138; conflicting DRX configurations resolved by cell selection overriding the DRX configuration selected by another cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim a case that the DTX/DRX state of the first cell/first base station conflicts with a DTX/DRX state of the terminal device, as shown by Abedini, thereby resolving DRX configuration conflicts between a terminal and base station.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babaei (US20230389120A1); Network Energy Saving (Title); see also paragraphs 169-176.
Krishnamoorthy et al. (US20150141017A1); Collision Elimination through Forced Reselection of Cells in Multi-SIM Devices (Title). See also paragraphs 25, 46.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477