DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are objected to because it contains/they contain informalities.
With regard to claim 7: In line 2, replace “the following steps” with –steps of--.
With regard to claim 8: In line 1, replace “the steps of” with –steps of--.
With regard to claim 9: In line 1, replace “the step of” with –a step of--.
With regard to claim 10: In line 1, replace “the step of” with –a step of--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen et al. (US 2021/0025328), hereafter referred to as Bowen, Uchiyama (US 20130025200), and Bull et al. (US 2013/0195727), hereafter referred to as Bull.
With regard to claim 1: Bowen teaches a pyrolysis plant (abstract, Figure 1, paragraphs [0033]-[0044]), the plant comprising:
A reactor (gasifier) 110/300 for producing pyrolysis gas from biomass (char) 106/334, wherein the reactor comprises at least one reaction channel, i.e. the interior of gasifier body 302, and at least one heating circuit comprised of at least preheat region 304 and gasification region 306, which is configured to heat the at least one reaction channel to a temperature that gasifies the biomass, wherein the reactor comprises a feed section configured for feeding the biomass into the at least one reaction channel, wherein the reaction channel comprises the heating circuit integrated in the reaction channel, wherein the heating circuit comprises a gas mixture unit (not explicitly described or illustrated, but implicitly present1) and a plurality of input nozzles (sparger tubes) 316 arranged and configured to introduce a mix of only oxygen and CO2 from the gas mixture unit into the reaction channel (Figures 1 and 3, paragraphs [0033]-[0044] and [0068]-[0092]; particular emphasis on paragraphs [0072], [0074], [0076]).
In operation of Bowen, the ratio of CO2 to O2 (and thus the oxygen concentration) in the mix of oxygen and CO2 supplied into the reaction channel is regulated, as is the flow of said mix (paragraphs [0015], [0018]-[0020], [0080], and [0081]). Thus, though a control unit configured to regulate flow and/or oxygen concentration of the mix of oxygen and CO2 into the reaction channel is not explicitly taught, such a control unit is necessarily present.
In the alternative, the fact that the ratio CO2 to O2 (and thus the oxygen concentration) in the mix of oxygen and CO2 and the flow of said mix are to be regulated would at least suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that such a control unit should be present.
In the event that it is not implicitly present in Bowen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bowen by adding a control unit configured to regulate flow and/or oxygen concentration of the mix of oxygen and CO2 into the reaction channel, in order to obtain a system which is capable of regulating the composition and flow of the mix in accordance with the teachings/suggestions of Bowen.
Bowen is silent to one or more temperature sensors, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are arranged and configured to measure a temperature (T) in the reaction channel. Bowen is also silent to the control unit being configured to regulate the flow and/or oxygen concentration of the mix in dependency of the temperature (T) in the reaction channel.
It is understood that the mix of carbon dioxide and oxygen in Bowen functions as the gasifying agent in the gasifier 110. Bowen’s own disclosure teaches that the carbon dioxide to oxygen ratio (and thus the oxygen concentration) of the mix is controlled to prevent overheating (paragraphs [0080]), thereby at least suggesting that it would be suitable to control the oxygen concentration of the mix in response to the temperature in the gasifier. Furthermore, it is understood that controlling the oxygen concentration of the mix in Bowen will necessarily involve controlling the flow of said mix.
Indeed, arrangements which control the flow and oxygen of a gasifying agent based on gasifier temperature are known in the art. For example, Uchiyama teaches a gasification system comprising: a reactor (gasifier) 100/100’ having a reaction channel (gasifier chamber) 15 and a heating circuit comprising a gas mixture unit 120 and a plurality of input nozzles (tubes) 85 and 88 for inputting a mixture of gasifying agents, including an oxygen containing gas (air), from the mixture unit 120 into the reaction channel 15; a plurality of temperature sensors T1 and T2 arranged within the reaction channel and configured to measure a temperature therein; and a controller 300 (Figures 3, 8, 9A, and 10, paragraphs [0033], [0035]-[0037], [0056]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], and [0072]); wherein the controller 300 is arranged and configured to regulate flow of the mixture of gasifying agents and an oxygen concentration in said mixture in dependence on at least the temperature measured by the temperature sensor T2 (Figures 3, 8, 9A, and 10, paragraph [0072]). Uchiyama makes it clear that temperature in the reaction channel 15 can be controlled by controlling the amount of oxygen (air) supplied to said reaction channel (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bowen in view of Uchiyama by: 1) adding at least one temperature sensor that is arranged and configured to measure a temperature of the reaction channel, i.e. the interior of gasifier body 302; and 2) configuring the control unit to (or otherwise adding a control unit configured to) regulate the flow and/or oxygen concentration of the mix in dependency of the temperature in the reaction channel as measured by the temperature sensor; in order to obtain a system which is automatically capable of controlling temperature to prevent overheating, etc., by adjusting the flow and oxygen content of the mix of oxygen and CO2.
Modified Bowen is silent to the at least one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit.
However, as discussed above, Bowen teaches controlling the ratio of CO2 to O2 (and thus the oxygen concentration) in the mix of oxygen and CO2 supplied into the reaction channel (paragraphs [0015], [0018]-[0020], [0080], and [0081]). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include at least one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit, at least in order to verify that the ratio of CO2 to O2 is being controlled as desired, i.e. at the desired level.
It is known in the art to provide gasifiers with one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the gasifier. For example, Bull teaches a gasification system comprising a reactor (gasifier) 200 having a reaction channel (interior of the gasifier) and a heating circuit integrated in the reaction channel and at least one gas sensor (oxygen monitor) 209 configured to arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit (interior of the gasifier) (Figure 2, paragraphs [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bowen in view of Bull by adding at least one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit in order to obtain a system which is capable of verifying that the ratio of CO2 to O2 in the mix is being controlled as desired, i.e. at the desired level.
With regard to claim 2: The control unit of modified Bowen is configured to at least:
a) compare the temperature (T) in the reaction channel with a predefined temperature interval, i.e. a predefined temperature value (Uchiyama: paragraph [0072]); and
b) reduce the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is above the predefined temperature interval (Uchiyama: paragraph [0072]).
Modified Bowen does not explicitly teach increasing the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is below the predefined temperature interval.
However, Uchiyama teaches, or at least suggests, controlling temperature within a reaction channel 15 by adjusting the amount of oxygen (air) supplied thereto (paragraph [0006]). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this teaching, when taken in combination with Uchiyama’s teaching to reducing oxygen supply when temperature reaches a desired level (paragraph [0072]), would suggest that the temperature can be raised by increasing the supply of oxygen should the temperature become too low.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Bowen in view of Uchiyama by configuring the control unit to increase the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is below the predefined temperature interval, in order to obtain system which is capable of automatically correcting temperature, if temperature should fall too low.
With regard to claim 3: The system of modified Bowen further comprises a heating unit (heat exchanger) 146 arranged and configured to heat the mix of oxygen and CO2 before the mix enters the reaction channel (Bowen: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
With regard to claim 4: The system of modified Bowen further comprises an outlet 312 configured to move gas out of the reaction channel (Bowen: Figures 1 and 3, paragraphs [0040] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 5: The system of Bowen further comprises an electrolyzer (electrolysis unit) 109, wherein the electrolyzer is connected to the pyrolysis plant such that oxygen (O2) 138 from the electrolyzer is provided to the pyrolysis plant via an oxygen inlet (Bowen: Figure 1, paragraphs [0033], [0039], [0040]).
With regard to claims 7-9: The system of modified Bowen as described in the rejection of claims 1 and 2 will operate by a method comprising steps of:
Heating the reaction channel by introducing the mix of only oxygen and CO2 into the reaction channel (Bowen: Figures 1 and 3, paragraphs [0033]-[0044] and [0068]-[0092]; particular emphasis on paragraphs [0072], [0074], [0076]).
Detecting the concentration of oxygen (O2) in the heating circuit (see rejection of claim 1 above for details).
Detecting the temperature (T) in the reaction channel (see rejection of claim 1 above for details).
Regulating the flow of the mix of oxygen and CO2 into the reaction channel in dependency of the temperature (T) in the reaction channel (see rejection of claim 1 above for details).
Heating the mix of oxygen and the CO2 using heat exchanger 146 before the mix enters the reaction channel (Bowen: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
a) Comparing the temperature (T) in the reaction channel with a predefined temperature interval (Uchiyama: paragraph [0072]).
b) Reducing the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is above the predefined temperature interval (Uchiyama: paragraph [0072]).
c) Increasing the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is below the predefined temperature interval (See rejection of claim 2 above).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer et al. (US 2020/0017422), hereafter referred to as Kramer, in view of Uchiyama and Bull.
With regard to claims 1, 4, 5: Kramer teaches a reactor (gasifier) 105 for producing pyrolysis gas from a carbonaceous feed, which may be biomass, wherein the reactor comprises at least one reaction channel (the interior of gasifier) and at least one heating circuit, which is configured to heat the at least one reaction channel (i.e. by reacting carbonaceous feed 10 with oxygen-containing gasifier feed 14a) to a temperature that gasifies the biomass, wherein the reactor comprises a feed section configured for feeding the biomass into the at least one reaction channel, wherein the reaction channel comprises the heating circuit integrated in the reaction channel, (Figure 2, paragraphs [0018]-[0019], [0031], [0033]-[0040], especially paragraph [0035]); wherein the heating circuit comprises at least one input means arranged and configured to introduce oxygen-containing gasifier feed 14a into the reaction channel (interior of gasifier) 105, wherein the oxygen-containing gasifier feed 14a may be a mix of only oxygen and CO2 (Figure 2, paragraph [0035]).
Said the oxygen and carbon dioxide in said mix 14a of only oxygen and CO2 may be combined “upstream of the gasifier” (paragraph [0035]. Thus, it is understood that the heating circuit further comprises a gas mixture unit (not shown in Figures) which mixes the oxygen and CO2 prior to them being supplied to the reaction channel via the input means.
The system of Kramer further comprises:
An outlet arranged and configured to move gas (gasifier effluent) 103 out of the reaction channel (Figure 2, paragraph [0038]).
An electrolyzer, wherein the electrolyzer is connected to the pyrolysis plant such that oxygen (O2) from the electrolyzer is provided to the pyrolysis plant via an oxygen inlet (Figure 2, paragraphs [0033] and [0035]).
Kramer is does not explicitly teach a control unit and one or more temperature sensors, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are arranged and configured to measure a temperature (T) in the reaction channel, and wherein the control unit is arranged and configured to regulate flow and/or oxygen concentration of the mix of oxygen and CO2 into the reaction channel in dependency of the temperature (T) in the reaction channel.
However, it is known in the art to provide gasifiers with a plurality of temperature sensors arranged and configured to measure a temperature (T) in the reaction channel, as well as at least one control unit arranged and configured to regulate flow and/or oxygen concentration of a gasifying media supplied into a reaction channel in dependency of the temperature (T) in the reaction channel. For example, Bull teaches a gasifier system comprising a plurality of temperature sensors (thermocouples) arranged and configured to measure a temperature (T) in a reaction channel (interior of biogasifier) (paragraph [0040]), wherein said temperature sensors serve as “control points” to maintain a temperature profile within gasifier (paragraph [0040]). Bull’s system further comprises a control unit (SCADA system) (paragraph [0036]). Though it is not explicitly stated by Bull, it is understood that said control unit is arranged and configured to control the temperature in the reaction channel in response to the temperature measured by the temperature sensors. In the alternative, the disclosures in paragraphs [0036] and [0040] of Bull at least suggest that the control unit is arranged and configured in such a manner.
Bull teaches controlling temperature within the reaction channel by adjusting the flow and oxygen concentration of gas entering the reaction channel, i.e. the gasifier (paragraph [0055]-[0066]). By this teaching, Bull at least suggests a control unit arranged and configured to regulate temperature specifically by regulating flow and oxygen concentration in gas supplied into the reaction channel.
Uchiyama also teaches a gasifier system comprising a plurality of sensors and at least one control unit. Specifically, Uchiyama teaches a gasification system comprising: a reactor (gasifier) 100/100’ having a reaction channel (gasifier chamber) 15 and a heating circuit comprising a gas mixture unit 120 and a plurality of input nozzles (tubes) 85 and 88 for inputting a mixture of gasifying agents, including an oxygen containing gas (air), from the mixture unit 120 into the reaction channel 15; a plurality of temperature sensors T1 and T2 arranged within the reaction channel and configured to measure a temperature therein; and a controller 300 (Figures 3, 8, 9A, and 10, paragraphs [0033], [0035]-[0037], [0056]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], and [0072]); wherein the controller 300 is arranged and configured to regulate flow of the mixture of gasifying agents and an oxygen concentration in said mixture in dependence on at least the temperature measured by the temperature sensor T2 (Figures 3, 8, 9A, and 10, paragraph [0072]). Uchiyama makes it clear that temperature in the reaction channel 15 can be controlled by controlling the amount of oxygen (air) supplied to said reaction channel (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kramer in view of Bull and/or Uchiyama by adding a control unit and one or more temperature sensors, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are arranged and configured to measure a temperature (T) in the reaction channel, and wherein the control unit is arranged and configured to regulate flow and/or oxygen concentration of the mix of oxygen and CO2 into the reaction channel in dependency of the temperature (T) in the reaction channel, in order to obtain a system which is capable of automatically controlling temperature within the reaction channel.
Modified Kramer is silent to at least one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit.
However, considering that modified Kramer is to control temperature by controlling oxygen flow and content, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include at least one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit, at least in order to verify that the O2 content is being controlled as desired, i.e. at the desired level.
It is known in the art to provide gasifiers with one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the gasifier. For example, Bull teaches a gasification system comprising a reactor (gasifier) 200 having a reaction channel (interior of the gasifier) and a heating circuit integrated in the reaction channel and at least one gas sensor (oxygen monitor) 209 configured to arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit (interior of the gasifier) in connection with controlling the oxygen levels in the gasifier (Figure 2, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Kramer in view of Bull by adding at least one gas sensor arranged and configured to detect a concentration of oxygen in the heating circuit in order to obtain a system which is capable of verifying that the O2 content in the mix is being controlled as desired, i.e. at the desired level.
Modified Kramer is silent to the heating circuit comprising a plurality of input nozzles arranged and configured to introduce the mix of O2 and CO2 into the reaction channel.
Uchiyama teaches a gasification system comprising: a reactor (gasifier) 100/100’ having a reaction channel (gasifier chamber) 15 and a heating circuit comprising a gas mixture unit 120 and a plurality of input nozzles (tubes) 85 and 88 for inputting a mixture of gasifying agents, including an oxygen containing gas (air), from the mixture unit 120 into the reaction channel 15 (Figures 3, 8, 9A, paragraphs [0033], [0035]-[0037], [0056]-[0057]). Uchiyama teaches that the plurality of input nozzles 85 and 88 effectively and evenly distributes a mixture of gasifying agents (air/steam) into the reaction channel 15 (Figure 3, paragraphs [0013], [0015], [0033]), whereas effective distribution of gasifying agents is difficult in the absence of such plural input nozzles (Figure 1, paragraphs [0007], [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Kramer in view of Uchiyama by providing the heating circuit with a plurality of input nozzles arranged and configured to introduce the mix of O2 and CO2 into the reaction channel, in order to effectively and evenly distribute said mix within the reaction channel.
With regard to claim 2: The control unit of modified Kramer is configured to at least:
a) compare the temperature (T) in the reaction channel with a predefined temperature interval, i.e. a predefined temperature value (Uchiyama: paragraph [0072]); and
b) reduce the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is above the predefined temperature interval (Uchiyama: paragraph [0072]).
Modified Kramer does not explicitly teach increasing the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is below the predefined temperature interval.
However, Uchiyama teaches, or at least suggests, controlling temperature within a reaction channel 15 by adjusting the amount of oxygen (air) supplied thereto (paragraph [0006]). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this teaching, when taken in combination with Uchiyama’s teaching to reducing oxygen supply when temperature reaches a desired level (paragraph [0072]), would suggest that the temperature can be raised by increasing the supply of oxygen should the temperature become too low.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Kramer in view of Uchiyama by configuring the control unit to increase the flow and/or the concentration of oxygen of the mixed gas introduced into the reaction channel if the temperature (T) in the reaction channel is below the predefined temperature interval, in order to obtain system which is capable of automatically correcting temperature, if temperature should fall too low.
With regard to claims 7, 8, and 10: The system of modified Kramer as described in the rejection of claims 1 and 2 above operates according to the method of claims 7 and 8 (see rejections of claims 1 and 2 above).
Said method further comprises a step of moving CO2 out of gas from the reaction channel by way of acid gas removal operation 220 (Figure 2, paragraphs [0040] and [0048]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer Uchiyama and Bull as applied to claims 1, 4, and 5 above, and in further view of Darcy et al. (US 2023/0119589), hereafter referred to as Darcy.
With regard to claim 6: Modified Kramer further comprises stripping (i.e. removing) CO2 from a gas from the reaction channel by way of acid gas removal operation 220 (Figure 2, paragraphs [0040] and [0048]).
Modified Kramer does not explicitly teach a power to gas or power to liquid plant which receives the CO2 that has been stripped (removed).
However, it is known in the art to provide such removed CO2 to a power to gas or power to liquid plant. For example, Darcey teaches a gasification system having a scrubber 150 which removes carbon dioxide from 145 gas issuing from a gasifier 120 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0036]), wherein removed CO2 152 is purified/compressed in treatment and compression system 160 and supplied (as stream 166) to a reverse water-gas-shift reactor 170, wherein CO2 is reacted with hydrogen to form CO and water (Figure 1, paragraphs [0037] and [0038]). Said reverse water-gas-shift reactor 170 constitutes an element of a power to gas system in that it receives hydrogen from an electrolyzer 155 (which is understood to use electricity to produce said hydrogen) and uses said hydrogen (along with the CO2) to produce CO, which is a gas (Figure 1, Paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Kramer in view of Darcey by adding a power to gas plant which receives the stripped (removed) CO2 and uses said CO2 in a reverse water-gas-shift reaction, in order to obtain a system which puts said stripped CO2 to use.
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer Uchiyama and Bull as applied to claims 1, 4, and 5 above, and in further view of Bowen.
With regard to claim 3: Modified Kramer is silent to a heating unit arranged and configured to heat the mix of oxygen and CO2 before the mix enters the reaction channel.
Bowen teaches a pyrolysis plant (abstract, Figure 1, paragraphs [0033]-[0044]), the plant comprising: a reactor (gasifier) 110/300 for producing pyrolysis gas from biomass (char) 106/334, wherein the reactor comprises at least one reaction channel, i.e. the interior of gasifier body 302, and at least one heating circuit comprised of at least preheat region 304 and gasification region 306, which is configured to heat the at least one reaction channel to a temperature that gasifies the biomass, wherein the reactor comprises a feed section configured for feeding the biomass into the at least one reaction channel, wherein the reaction channel comprises the heating circuit integrated in the reaction channel, wherein the heating circuit comprises a gas mixture unit (not explicitly described or illustrated, but implicitly present2) and a plurality of input nozzles (sparger tubes) 316 arranged and configured to introduce a mix of only oxygen and CO2 from the gas mixture unit into the reaction channel (Figures 1 and 3, paragraphs [0033]-[0044] and [0068]-[0092]; particular emphasis on paragraphs [0072], [0074], [0076]); and a heating unit (heat exchanger) 146 arranged and configured to heat the mix of oxygen and CO2 before the mix enters the reaction channel (Figure 1, paragraph [0040]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the heating unit 146 advnatagously: 1) heats the incoming mix of oxygen and carbon dioxide to prevent it from excessively cooling the gasifier 110, and 2) recovers heat from the gasifier effluent 140 to achieve said heating (Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Kramer in view of Bowen by adding a heating unit arranged and configured to heat the mix of oxygen and CO2 before the mix enters the reaction channel, in order to obtain a system wherein the mix does not excessively cool the gasifier upon entry.
With regard to claims 7 and 9: The system of modified Kramer as described in the rejection of claims 1 and 3 above operates according to the method of claims 7 and 9 (see rejections of claims 1 and 2 above).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LUKE PILCHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
1 Though Bowen does not explicitly describe or illustrate a gas mixture unit for forming a mixture of oxygen and CO2, Bowen is abundantly clear that the input nozzles (sparger tubes) 316 introduce the oxygen and CO2 as a mixture (paragraphs [0072], [0074], [0076]). Thus, it is clear that Bowen necessarily comprises a gas mixture unit for forming said mixture of oxygen and CO2.
2 Though Bowen does not explicitly describe or illustrate a gas mixture unit for forming a mixture of oxygen and CO2, Bowen is abundantly clear that the input nozzles (sparger tubes) 316 introduce the oxygen and CO2 as a mixture (paragraphs [0072], [0074], [0076]). Thus, it is clear that Bowen necessarily comprises a gas mixture unit for forming said mixture of oxygen and CO2.