DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 15 June 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s argument regarding manually manipulating the apparatus lacks any structural recitation that would distinguish over the reference of Haarhuis. Any mechanical device with a series of interacting elements is able to be manually manipulated to operate the device at some point in use of the device. Where the device merely needs to be annually manipulated, functionally, the device of Haarhuis is able to be manually manipulated. The argument is unpersuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “emergency release is a threaded fastener” “emergency release is a thumb screw”, “the emergency release is a vibration resistant feature”, “emergency release has a torque limiting feature” “housing using one or more permanent magnets” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haarhuis (EP3231970)].
Regarding claim 1, Haarhuis discloses a vehicle security lock comprising:
a) a lock assembly adapted to mount to an interior surface of a vehicle including:
i. a lock assembly housing (15), and
ii. a lock cylinder (12) that moves relative to the lock assembly housing;
b) one or more bolt assemblies (35,37,36,43) adapted to mount to the interior surface of the vehicle where each bolt assembly includes:
i. a bolt assembly housing (23),
ii. a bolt (31) which moves relative to the bolt assembly housing,
iii. a bolt assembly housing cover (33 end portion) which is affixable to the bolt assembly housing, and
iv. a bolt receiver (33) mounted to a separate interior surface of the vehicle;
c) one or more force transfer assemblies (21) which mechanically transfer force between the lock assembly and each of the one or more bolt assemblies;
wherein insertion of the lock cylinder (12) into the lock assembly provides force through the one or more force transfer assemblies to each of the one or more bolt assemblies and moves the bolt of each of the one or more bolt assemblies into a locked position (Fig. 3B) ;
wherein withdrawl from the lock assembly (12) relieves the force through the one or more force transfer assemblies to each of the one or more bolt assemblies and allows the bolt of each of the one or more bolt assemblies to move into an unlocked position (Fig.3A)
wherein each bolt assembly further includes a manually actuated emergency release configured to selectively disengage the bolt from the one or more force transfer assemblies independently of the lock cylinder, without mechanical breakage or permanent deformation of the bolt or force transfer assemblies, such that the vehicle security lock remains operable after disengagement.
Haarhuis does not explicitly discuss: each bolt assembly further includes a manually actuated emergency release configured to selectively disengage the bolt from the one or more force transfer assemblies independently of the lock cylinder, without mechanical breakage or permanent deformation of the bolt or force transfer assemblies, such that the vehicle security lock remains operable after disengagement.
Haarhuis shows a mechanical system with individual elements capable of being manually manipulated as a manually actuated emergency release configured to selectively disengage the bolt from the one or more force transfer assemblies independently of the lock cylinder, without mechanical breakage or permanent deformation of the bolt or force transfer assemblies, such that the vehicle security lock remains operable after disengagement. for the purpose of opening by alternate means while maintaining the device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Haarhuis with shows a mechanical system with individual elements capable of being manually manipulated as a manually actuated emergency release configured to selectively disengage the bolt from the one or more force transfer assemblies independently of the lock cylinder, without mechanical breakage or permanent deformation of the bolt or force transfer assemblies, such that the vehicle security lock remains operable after disengagement for the purpose of opening by alternate means while maintaining the device as taught by Haarhuis for the expected benefit of opening by alternate means while maintaining the device.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Haarhuis discloses the vehicle security lock of Claim 1, wherein the lock assembly has a lock (40) which is affixed to the lock assembly housing (15) or the lock cylinder (12).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Haarhuis discloses the vehicle security lock of Claim 1, wherein the lock assembly includes a spring (28), wherein the one or more bolt assemblies include a spring (29), or both.
Regarding claims 11, Haarhuis discloses the vehicle security lock of Claim 1, wherein the one or more bolt assemblies include an auxiliary spring (29) which biases the bolt in a direction normal to a direction of travel between the unlocked position and the locked position (Fig.3A).
Regarding claims 12, Haarhuis discloses the vehicle security lock of Claim 11, wherein the auxiliary spring (29) is compressed when the bolt is in the locked position before the separate interior surface is secured to the interior surface (Fig.3A).
Regarding claim 13, Haarhuis a process for locking doors of a vehicle comprising the steps of:
1) inserting a lock cylinder(12) into a lock assembly housing;
2) transferring force from a lock assembly to one or more bolt assemblies through a force transfer assembly (top portion Fig.3A where lock cylinder is located); and
3) a force moving a bolt into a locked position (Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 14, Haarhuis a security lock comprising:
a) a lock assembly adapted to mount to an interior surface including:
i. a lock assembly housing (15), and
ii. a lock cylinder (12) that moves relative to the lock assembly housing;
b) one or more bolt assemblies adapted to mount to the interior surface where each bolt assembly includes:
i. a bolt assembly housing (23),
ii. a bolt (31) which moves relative to the bolt assembly housing,
iii. a bolt assembly housing cover (33 end portion) which is affixable to the bolt assembly housing, and
iv. a bolt receiver (33) mounted to a separate interior surface;
c) one or more force transfer assemblies (21) which mechanically transfer force between the lock assembly and each of the one or more bolt assemblies;
wherein insertion of the lock cylinder(12) into the lock assembly provides force through the one or more force transfer assemblies to each of the one or more bolt assemblies and moves the bolt of each of the one or more bolt assemblies into a locked position(Fig. 3B);
wherein withdrawal of the lock cylinder from the lock assembly relieves the force through the one or more force transfer assemblies to each of the one or more bolt assemblies and allows the bolt of each of the one or more bolt assemblies to move into an unlocked position(Fig. 3A).
Regarding claims 20, Haarhuis discloses the security lock of Claim 14, wherein the one or more bolt assemblies include an auxiliary spring (29) which biases the bolt in a direction normal to a direction of travel between the unlocked position and the locked position (Fig.3A), and wherein the auxiliary spring (29) is compressed when the bolt is in the locked position before the separate interior surface is secured to the interior surface (Fig.3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Haarhuis EP3231970 in view of Svci et al. (US 4,630,396).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Haahuis discloses the vehicle security lock of Claim 1, wherein the bolt assembly housing cover includes a coating.
Haarhuis does not disclose: a fluorescent coating.
Svci et al. teaches a fluorescent coating for the purpose of enhancing visibility by painting a particularly visible color, for example blaze fluorescent orange, which will clearly contrast with the dark grey color of the surrounding members.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haarhuis with a fluorescent coating\ as taught by Svci et al. for the expected benefit of enhancing visibility by painting a particularly visible color, for example blaze fluorescent orange, which will clearly contrast with the dark grey color of the surrounding members.
Claim 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Haarhuis EP3231970 in view of Lagassey et al. (US. 9,028,162).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Haahuis discloses the vehicle security lock of Claim 1, wherein the one or more bolt assemblies (35,37,36,43).
Haarhuis does not disclose: the one or more bolt assemblies further include an emergency release which disengages the bolt from the one or more force transfer assemblies
Lagassey et al. teaches an emergency release (1; Lagassey et al.) which disengages the bolt from the one or more force transfer assemblies for the purpose of providing an emergency disengagement.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haarhuis with an emergency release which disengages the bolt from the one or more force transfer assemblies as taught by Lagassey et al. for the expected benefit of providing an emergency disengagement.
Claim 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Haarhuis EP3231970 in view of Lahulek (2017/0009502).
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Haarhuis discloses the vehicle security lock of Claim 1, wherein the bolt assembly housing cover is affixable to the bolt assembly housing using one or more permanent magnets.
Haarhuis does not disclose: housing cover is affixable to the bolt assembly housing using one or more permanent magnets
Lahulek teaches housing cover is affixable to the bolt assembly housing using one or more permanent magnets for the purpose of covers of inspection chambers that use systems of magnets fixed on an anchoring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haarhuis with housing cover is affixable to the bolt assembly housing using one or more permanent magnets as taught by Lahulek for the expected benefit of covers of inspection chambers that use systems of magnets fixed on an anchoring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675