DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As of the reply filed 6/25/2026, claims 1-20 are pending. No claims have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/25/2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior art as listed further below.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “the claimed “tissue encroachment prevention assembly”, when read in light of the specification connotes sufficient, definite structure to one of skill in the art to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f)” (see Remarks pages 7-8), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The three-prong test, as outlined further below in the Claim Interpretation section, is used solely against the claim language and is not done in view of the specification. In the present case, the structure “tissue encroachment prevention assembly” can be alternatively read as “an assembly for preventing tissue encroachment”.
The term uses a generic placeholder for “means” as required by prong one (“assembly” lacks structure, and is being interpreted as a generic placeholder for “means”),
The generic placeholder “assembly” is modified by purely functional language as required by prong two (“for preventing tissue encroachment” is the functional language modifying the generic placeholder “assembly”), and
The generic placeholder “assembly” is not further modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed structure (the placeholder is not further defined until claim 2, so claim 1 alone is being interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) with respect to this structure).
Since “a means for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen” in claim 8 additionally uses “means” modified by functional language with no additional structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed structure, meeting the three-prong test, this term is also being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “The Office Action identifies the corresponding structure only at a level as “a cage-like structure” (Office Action, pp. 4-5), without accounting for other possible structures disclosed in the specification for performing the claimed function” (see page 8 of Remarks), the Examiner directs to the following excerpt from the Claim Interpretation section of the previously filed Office Action, with emphasis added:
“Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (PP [0011]: “the tissue encroachment prevention assembly comprising at least one of a cage-like structure”).”
Additionally, the Examiner cites the present Specification to support the interpretation of the tissue encroachment prevention assembly and means for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen.
PP [0011]: “the tissue encroachment prevention assembly comprising at least one of a cage-like structure”
PP [0098]: “The combination of the base 452a, the tine assembly 454a, and the atraumatic member 456a forms a cage-like structure that allows clot, thrombus, aspirant, blood, etc. to flow into the aspiration lumen 406 while preventing vessel tissue from being drawing into the aspiration lumen 406”
PP [0103]: “one skilled in the art would understand that the point of attachment for the tines 462a need not be a spherical ball—it need only be an element or configuration which helps to form a cage structure with the tines and which is atraumatic”
PP [0107]: “The combination of the base 452b, the tine assembly 454b, and the atraumatic member 456b forms a cage-like structure that allows clot, thrombus, aspirant, blood, etc. to flow into the aspiration lumen 406 and prevent vessel tissue from being drawn into the aspiration lumen 406”
PP [0109]: “The combination of the base 452c, the tine assembly 454c, and the atraumatic member 456c forms a cage-like structure that allows clot, thrombus, aspirant, blood, etc. to flow into the aspiration lumen 406 and prevent vessel tissue from being drawing into the aspiration lumen 406”
PP [0113]: “The combination of the base 452d, the tine assembly 454d, and the atraumatic member 456d forms a cage-like structure that allows clot, thrombus, aspirant, blood, etc. to flow into the aspiration lumen 406 and prevent vessel tissue from being drawing into the aspiration lumen 406”
PP [0120]: “the tissue encroachment prevention assemblies of FIGS. 14-18 can be advanced into and/or through a clot or thrombus based, in part, upon the particular structure and configuration of the cage assembly”
PP [0123]: “The combination of the base 452e, the tine assembly 454e, and the atraumatic member 456e forms a cage-like structure that allows clot, thrombus, aspirant, blood, etc. to flow into the aspiration lumen and prevent vessel tissue from being drawing into the aspiration lumen 406”
PP [0125]: “The combination of the base 425f, the tine assembly 454f, and the atraumatic member 456f forms a cage-like structure that allows clot, thrombus, aspirant, blood, etc. to flow into the aspiration lumen and prevent vessel tissue from being drawing into the aspiration lumen 406”
PP [0127]: “The combination of the base 425g, the tine assembly 454g, and the atraumatic member 456g forms a cage-like structure that allows clot, thrombus, aspirant, blood, etc. to flow into the aspiration lumen 406 while preventing vessel tissue from being drawing into the aspiration lumen 406”
Additionally, PPs [0218], [0230], [0231], [0232], [0233], [0248], and [0250] each refer to “a cage-like structure”.
When interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the broadest reasonable interpretation of the structure in question is limited by the description in the specification and equivalents thereof. In the present case, the specification broadly defines the tissue encroachment prevention assembly and means for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen to be cage-like structures. The Examiner maintains the interpretation of these structures under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a tissue encroachment prevention assembly” (which can be read as “an assembly for preventing tissue encroachment”) in claim 1.
The limitation “a means for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen” in claim 8 is also being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in this manner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
PPs [0098], [0107], [0109], [0113], [0123], [0125], [0127]
Each of these paragraphs recite “from being drawing”, which is grammatically incorrect. It is recommended that they be amended to recite “from being drawn” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bates et al. (US PGPub 2026/0207219 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Bates et al. discloses an aspiration catheter (see Figs. 2A-B, PP [0005]: “The device can be, for example, an aspiration catheter”, PP [0061]: “The lumen 116 of the first elongate element 110 is thus capable of providing a passage by which the thrombus is removed when the lumen is fluidically coupled to the suction source 1000. In some embodiments, the first elongate element 110 is capable of passive thrombus removal/transport”) comprising:
an elongate shaft (110) configured for placement within a blood vessel (see 110 within vessel 225 in Fig. 4);
a supply lumen (126, PP [0063]: “the lumen 126 is fluidically coupled to a fluid source 2000 (see FIG. 6)”) and an aspiration lumen (116) each extending along the shaft (110), the supply lumen (126) having a proximal end and a distal end (see distal end near 122), and the aspiration lumen (116) having a proximal end and a distal opening (see opening near 112);
an orifice (128) near the distal end of the supply lumen (126), the orifice (128) being configured to allow injection of pressurized fluid into the aspiration lumen (116) at or near the distal end of the aspiration lumen (116) when the pressurized fluid is delivered through the supply lumen (126, PP [0064]: “The opening 128 allows the fluid to be delivered at the first end 122 of the second elongate element 120, which is positioned at the target site, and the fluid may be deployed along the longitudinal axis or radially outward from the second elongate element 120”, see Fig. 5, the pressurized fluid is ejected through orifice 128 and then injected near the distal end of 116); and
a tissue encroachment prevention assembly (130) for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into said aspiration lumen (116) and into close proximity to the orifice (128) of the supply lumen (126) during aspiration (frame 130 extends longitudinally outward from elongate element 120 and radially covers the orifice 128 and aspiration lumen 116 such that it is configured for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen into proximity with the orifice 128, see Fig. 5, MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”).
With respect to claim 8, Bates et al. discloses an aspiration catheter (see Figs. 2A-B, PP [0005]: “The device can be, for example, an aspiration catheter”, PP [0061]: “The lumen 116 of the first elongate element 110 is thus capable of providing a passage by which the thrombus is removed when the lumen is fluidically coupled to the suction source 1000. In some embodiments, the first elongate element 110 is capable of passive thrombus removal/transport”) comprising:
an elongate shaft (110) configured for placement within a blood vessel (see 110 within vessel 225 in Fig. 4);
a supply lumen (126, PP [0063]: “the lumen 126 is fluidically coupled to a fluid source 2000 (see FIG. 6)”) and an aspiration lumen (116) each extending along the shaft (110), the supply lumen (126) having a proximal end and a distal end (see distal end near 122), and the aspiration lumen (116) having a proximal end and a distal opening (see opening near 112);
an orifice (128) near the distal end of the supply lumen (126), the orifice (128) being configured to allow injection of pressurized fluid into the aspiration lumen (116) at or near the distal end of the aspiration lumen (116) when the pressurized fluid is delivered through the supply lumen (126, PP [0064]: “The opening 128 allows the fluid to be delivered at the first end 122 of the second elongate element 120, which is positioned at the target site, and the fluid may be deployed along the longitudinal axis or radially outward from the second elongate element 120”, see Fig. 5, the pressurized fluid is ejected through orifice 128 and then injected near the distal end of 116); and
a means (130) for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen (116) and into close proximity to the orifice (128) of the supply lumen (126) during aspiration (frame 130 extends longitudinally outward from elongate element 120 and radially covers the orifice 128 and aspiration lumen 116 such that it is configured for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen into proximity with the orifice 128, see Fig. 5, MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”).
Regarding claim 9, Bates et al. further discloses wherein the means (130 in Figs. 2A-B) for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen (116) comprises a cage-like structure (the frame 130 including struts 132, 134 and lines 150 is a cage-like structure) extending distally from a point at or near the opening at the distal end of the elongate shaft (130 extends from near end 112 of elongate shaft 110).
With respect to claim 11, Bates et al. discloses an aspiration catheter (see Figs. 2A-B, PP [0005]: “The device can be, for example, an aspiration catheter”, PP [0061]: “The lumen 116 of the first elongate element 110 is thus capable of providing a passage by which the thrombus is removed when the lumen is fluidically coupled to the suction source 1000. In some embodiments, the first elongate element 110 is capable of passive thrombus removal/transport”) comprising:
an elongate shaft (110) configured for placement within a blood vessel (see 110 within vessel 225 in Fig. 4), the elongate shaft (110) having a distal end with an opening (distal opening of 110) at the distal end (112);
a supply lumen (126, PP [0063]: “the lumen 126 is fluidically coupled to a fluid source 2000 (see FIG. 6)”) and an aspiration lumen (116) each extending along an interior of the shaft (110), coextensive with the shaft (110), the supply lumen (126) having a proximal end and a distal end (see distal end near 122), and the aspiration lumen (116) having a proximal end and a distal opening (see opening near 112);
an orifice (128) near the distal end of the supply lumen (126), the orifice (128) being configured to allow injection of pressurized fluid into the aspiration lumen (116) at or near the distal end of the aspiration lumen (116) when the pressurized fluid is pumped through the supply lumen (126, PP [0064]: “The opening 128 allows the fluid to be delivered at the first end 122 of the second elongate element 120, which is positioned at the target site, and the fluid may be deployed along the longitudinal axis or radially outward from the second elongate element 120”, see Fig. 5, the pressurized fluid is ejected through orifice 128 and then injected near the distal end of 116); and
a tissue encroachment prevention assembly (130) for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into said aspiration lumen (116) and into close proximity to the orifice (128) of the supply lumen (126) during aspiration (frame 130 extends longitudinally outward from elongate element 120 and radially covers the orifice 128 and aspiration lumen 116 such that it is configured for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen into proximity with the orifice 128, see Fig. 5, MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”), the tissue encroachment prevention assembly (130) comprising at least one of a cage-like structure (the frame 130 including struts 132, 134 and lines 150 is a cage-like structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7, 10, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates et al. (US PGPub 2026/0207219 A1) in view of di Palma et al. (US PGPub 2012/0059356 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bates et al. further discloses wherein said tissue encroachment prevention assembly (130 in Figs. 2A-B) comprises:
a plurality of tines (132) extending from a point at or near the opening at the distal end of the elongate shaft (the ends of 132 are near the opening at the distal end 112 of elongate shaft 110), the plurality of tines (132) each having distal ends that are attached (the ends of 132 attach to 120 together at 122) and proximal ends that extend from the distal end of the elongate shaft (132 extends from 120 such that the proximal ends extend radially from and around the distal end 112 of the elongate shaft 110);
wherein the plurality of tines (132) are configured to form a cage-like structure (the frame 130 including struts 132, 134 and lines 150 is a cage-like structure) that prevents vessel tissue from being drawn into the aspiration lumen and into close proximity to the orifice of the supply lumen (frame 130 extends longitudinally outward from elongate element 120 and radially covers the orifice 128 and aspiration lumen 116 such that it is configured for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen into proximity with the orifice 128, see Fig. 5, MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”).
However, Bates et al. fails to disclose wherein the distal ends of the plurality of tines are attached to a spherical ball.
In the same field of thrombus removal devices (see Fig. 9), di Palma et al. teaches an assembly comprising an aspiration catheter (110 in Fig. 7C) and a distal cage-like structure (20 in Fig. 2A) comprising a plurality of tines (31A-C), wherein the distal ends of the plurality of tines (31A-C) are attached to a spherical ball (54 in Fig. 2C attaches to 31A-C via mandrel wire 53).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Bates et al. device according to the teachings of di Palma et al. to include the distal tip seen in Fig. 2C, including the spherical ball connected to the plurality of tines as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification in order to “facilitate tracking and advancement of [the device] through the vessel or alternatively through the lumen of a catheter or other treatment device” (PP [0030] of di Palma et al.). The modification as proposed would not alter the main operating principle of Bates et al. because the device of di Palma et al. is also intended for use in removing thrombus within the vasculature (see Fig. 9 method flowchart) but would instead simply and predictably enhance the tracking and advancement of the Bates et al. device as taught.
Regarding claim 3, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses wherein at least three tines (there are at least five tines visible as seen in Fig. 2A of Bates et al.) extend from the aspiration lumen (the tines 132 extend radially around and from aspiration lumen 116).
Regarding claim 4, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses wherein the tines (132 in Figs. 2A-B of Bates et al.) contain a spring element (see struts 134 and 136 attached between tines 132) that allows the tines to bend (the bent and curved configurations of support struts 134 and 136, respectively, allow tines 132 to bend between configurations, see Figs. 2A-B).
Regarding claim 5, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses wherein a width of the tines (132 in Figs. 2A-B of Bates et al.) is tapered towards the spherical ball (tines 132 taper in Fig. 2A and are spaced more closely together at the distal end, in the combination as proposed this would give the plurality of tines a more tapered collective width closer to the spherical ball of di Palma et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses a mesh configuration at the proximal ends of the tines (132 in Figs. 2A-B of Bates et al., PP [0069]: “The struts 132, 134, 136 may separate from each other, creating space between the struts 132, 134, 136 as the frame 130 outwardly extends. The struts 132, 134, 136 may be formed to define an open interior structure bounded by a mesh-like structure or a ribbed structure (e.g., membrane 170), for example”).
Regarding claim 10, Bates et al. further discloses wherein the cage-like structure (130 in Figs. 2A-B) comprises a plurality of tines (132), the plurality of tines (132) each having distal ends that are attached (the ends of 132 attach to 120 at 122) to form the cage-like structure (the attachment of tines 132 creates the cage-like structure of frame 130) and proximal ends that extend from the distal end of the elongate shaft (132 extends from 120 such that the proximal ends extend radially from and around the distal end 112 of the elongate shaft 110).
However, Bates et al. fails to disclose wherein the distal ends of the plurality of tines are attached to a spherical ball.
In the same field of thrombus removal devices (see Fig. 9), di Palma et al. teaches an assembly comprising an aspiration catheter (110 in Fig. 7C) and a distal cage-like structure (20 in Fig. 2A) comprising a plurality of tines (31A-C), wherein the distal ends of the plurality of tines (31A-C) are attached to a spherical ball (54 in Fig. 2C attaches to 31A-C via mandrel wire 53).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Bates et al. device according to the teachings of di Palma et al. to include the distal tip seen in Fig. 2C, including the spherical ball connected to the plurality of tines as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification in order to “facilitate tracking and advancement of [the device] through the vessel or alternatively through the lumen of a catheter or other treatment device” (PP [0030] of di Palma et al.). The modification as proposed would not alter the main operating principle of Bates et al. because the device of di Palma et al. is also intended for use in removing thrombus within the vasculature (see Fig. 9 method flowchart) but would instead simply and predictably enhance the tracking and advancement of the Bates et al. device as taught.
Regarding claim 12, Bates et al. further discloses said cage-like structure (130 in Figs. 2A-B) comprising a plurality of tines (132) extending from a point at or near the opening at the distal end of the elongate shaft (110), the plurality of tines (132) each having distal ends that are attached and proximal ends that extend from the distal end of the elongate shaft (110), wherein the plurality of tines (132) prevent vessel tissue from being drawn into the aspiration lumen and into close proximity to the orifice of the supply lumen (frame 130 extends longitudinally outward from elongate element 120 and radially covers the orifice 128 and aspiration lumen 116 such that it is configured for preventing the blood vessel from being drawn into the aspiration lumen into proximity with the orifice 128 of supply lumen 126, see Fig. 5, MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”).
However, Bates et al. fails to disclose the plurality of tines having distal ends that are attached to a spherical ball.
In the same field of thrombus removal devices (see Fig. 9), di Palma et al. teaches an assembly comprising an aspiration catheter (110 in Fig. 7C) and a distal cage-like structure (20 in Fig. 2A) comprising a plurality of tines (31A-C), wherein the distal ends of the plurality of tines (31A-C) are attached to a spherical ball (54 in Fig. 2C attaches to 31A-C via mandrel wire 53).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Bates et al. device according to the teachings of di Palma et al. to include the distal tip seen in Fig. 2C, including the spherical ball connected to the plurality of tines as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification in order to “facilitate tracking and advancement of [the device] through the vessel or alternatively through the lumen of a catheter or other treatment device” (PP [0030] of di Palma et al.). The modification as proposed would not alter the main operating principle of Bates et al. because the device of di Palma et al. is also intended for use in removing thrombus within the vasculature (see Fig. 9 method flowchart) but would instead simply and predictably enhance the tracking and advancement of the Bates et al. device as taught.
Regarding claim 13, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses wherein at least three tines (there are at least five tines visible as seen in Fig. 2A of Bates et al.) extend from the aspiration lumen (the tines 132 extend radially around and from aspiration lumen 116).
Regarding claim 14, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses wherein the tines (132 in Figs. 2A-B of Bates et al.) contain a spring element (see struts 134 and 136 attached between tines 132) that allows the tines to bend (the bent and curved configurations of support struts 134 and 136, respectively, allow tines 132 to bend between configurations, see Figs. 2A-B).
Regarding claim 15, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of tines (132 in Figs. 2A-B of Bates et al.) extend from a base (tube 120) having holes dispersed throughout (see plurality of holes 128).
Regarding claim 16, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses wherein a width of the tines (132 in Figs. 2A-B of Bates et al.) is tapered towards the spherical ball (tines 132 taper in Fig. 2A and are spaced more closely together at the distal end, in the combination as proposed this would give the plurality of tines a more tapered collective width closer to the spherical ball of di Palma et al.).
Regarding claim 20, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. further discloses a mesh configuration at the proximal ends of the tines (132 in Figs. 2A-B of Bates et al., PP [0069]: “The struts 132, 134, 136 may separate from each other, creating space between the struts 132, 134, 136 as the frame 130 outwardly extends. The struts 132, 134, 136 may be formed to define an open interior structure bounded by a mesh-like structure or a ribbed structure (e.g., membrane 170), for example”).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates et al. (US PGPub 2026/0207219 A1) in view of di Palma et al. (US PGPub 2012/0059356 A1), and further in view of Pokorney et al. (US PGPub 2016/0199620 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. fails to disclose wherein the spherical ball is made of a radiopaque material.
In the related field of guidewires, which is related since guidewires similarly navigate the torturous vasculature of a patient (abstract), Pokorney et al. teaches a guidewire (see Fig. 4) comprising a welded spherical distal tip (94) made of a radiopaque material (PP [0062]: “additionally or alternatively ball welds 70, 94, braze 72, torque stabilizer 90 or similar structures or portions thereof within a particular embodiment of a guidewire individually can be formed from or with a radiopaque material, such as such as platinum-iridium, platinum-tungsten or the like, or through radio-pacifiers, such as barium sulfate, bismuth trioxide, bismuth subcarbonate, powdered tungsten, powdered tantalum or the like, added to a polymer”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combination as proposed such that the spherical ball is made of a radiopaque material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification as it is a simple substitution of weld materials that would have yielded predictable results, since di Palma et al. already discloses that the spherical ball (54 in Fig. 2C) is a weld ball (PP [0030]: “weld ball 54”). Modifying this feature such that the weld ball comprises a radiopaque weld material would not have altered the main operating principle of di Palma et al. since the spherical ball is stated to be a weld ball, but would have simply and predictably provided a specifically radiopaque weld material to enhance visualization of the device during the procedure.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates et al. (US PGPub 2026/0207219 A1) in view of di Palma et al. (US PGPub 2012/0059356 A1), and further in view of Hall et al. (US PGPub 2011/0213231 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. fails to disclose wherein the tines are laser welded or soldered directly to a surface of the spherical ball.
In the related field of intraluminal expandable baskets (abstract), which is structurally related to the present application, Hall et al. teaches a cage-like structure (20 in Figs. 3A-C) comprising a plurality of tines (12) attached to a spherical ball (13) via welding or soldering (PP [0044]: “The tip junction 13 may be a block with a plurality of transverse through holes, as seen in FIG. 5. The transverse through holes receive spines 11. The spines 11 can be fastened to the tip junction 13 by adhesives, welding or other suitable means”, emphasis added).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combination as proposed to further include the teachings of Hall et al. and incorporate wherein the spherical ball comprises a blind hole to receive the tines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification as it is a simple substitution of attachment structures that would have yielded predictable results, as replacing the plug (52) and mandrel (53) attachment mechanism with the Hall et al. through-holes and welding for direct reception of the plurality of tines would not have altered the main operating principle of the Hall et al. device, but would have simply and predictably enabled direct attachment of the plurality of tines to the spherical ball for providing enhanced structural integrity.
Regarding claim 18, Bates et al. as modified by di Palma et al. fails to disclose wherein the spherical ball comprises a blind hole to receive the tines.
In the related field of intraluminal expandable baskets (abstract), which is structurally related to the present application, Hall et al. teaches a cage-like structure (20 in Figs. 3A-C) comprising a plurality of tines (12) attached to a spherical ball (13), wherein the spherical ball (13) comprises a blind hole to receive the tines (PP [0044]: “The tip junction 13 may be a block with a plurality of transverse through holes, as seen in FIG. 5. The transverse through holes receive spines 11. The spines 11 can be fastened to the tip junction 13 by adhesives, welding or other suitable means”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combination as proposed to further include the teachings of Hall et al. and incorporate wherein the spherical ball comprises a blind hole to receive the tines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification as it is a simple substitution of attachment structures that would have yielded predictable results, as replacing the plug (52) and mandrel (53) attachment mechanism with the Hall et al. through-holes for direct reception of the plurality of tines would not have altered the main operating principle of the Hall et al. device, but would have simply and predictably enabled direct attachment of the plurality of tines to the spherical ball for providing enhanced structural integrity.
Conclusion
/BRIDGET E. RABAGLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771