DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 30, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-7 and 14-20) in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search burden. This is not found persuasive as the burden lies in the search and examination of patentably distinct inventions and/or because the groups have separate classifications which require a different field of search. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on May 31, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0067233 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: adjust capitalization and punctuation to make the claim a single sentence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: adjust capitalization and punctuation to make the claim a single sentence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: adjust capitalization and punctuation to make the claim a single sentence. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 14-16 and 19 of copending Application No. 18965209 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the following overlapping subject matter.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claims 1-3, 5-7, they are identical to claims 1-3 and 5-7 of ‘219, except for: ‘219 uses “component” instead of “part”; and ‘219 recites a range of tensile strength (TS) of “about 1350 MPa to 1680 MPa”, while the instant application recites a range of 1680 MPa to 2000 MPa. With respect to the former, the terms are considered to be analogous. With respect to the latter, when the claimed ranges both include, at least, 1680 MPa; therefore, the claims contain overlapping subject matter. Similarly, with respect to claim 4, the range recited in ‘219 for the yield strength (YP) is about 900 to 1300 MPa, while the instant claim 4 recites about 1150 to 1500 MPa. Thus, the ranges overlap. Regarding claims 14-16, the instant claims are substantially identical to claims 14-16 and 19 of ‘209, with the difference being the ranges of TS and YP. However, the ranges overlap, thus the subject matter overlaps. With respect to claim 16, the instant claim is more specific than that of ‘209, but is encompassed by the generic recitation to a zinc based plating layer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 2021/0147955) in view of Otomo et al. (US 2018/0281348). Regarding claim 1, Yoo et al. disclose a “hot stamping part (paragraph 77) comprising: a base material (paragraph 77); a decarburization layer located on the base material (paragraph 77),wherein the hot stamping part has a tensile strength (TS) of about 1680 MPa to 2000 MPa (paragraph 77).”
Yoo et al. fail to disclose “and an inner oxide layer located on the decarburization layer”. However, Otomo et al. teach providing an internal oxide layer in a steel sheet beneath the plating layer in order to decrease the heating time for suppressing liquid metal embrittlement (LME), and/or to increase productivity in manufacturing (paragraphs 15, 25, and 29). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the hot stamping part of Yoo et al. with an internal oxide layer in order to suppress LME and/or to increase productivity. Yoo et al. also fail to teach “a hardness of the hot stamping part within a depth of about 50 µm from a surface of the hot stamping part in a plate thickness direction of the hot stamping part and an average hardness of the hot stamping part satisfy Relational Expression 1. <Relational Expression 1> (A / B) ≤ 0.7 (In Relational Expression 1, A denotes the hardness (Hv(≤50 µm)) within the depth of 50 µm in the plate thickness direction of the hot stamping part, and B denotes the average hardness (Hv(avg.)) of the hot stamping part.) However, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by an identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, and recited properties are presumed inherent. See MPEP §2112.01. In this instance, the hot stamped part of Yoo et al., as modified, is substantially identical in composition as that of Applicant, and made in a substantially identical method. With respect to the claimed composition, as exemplified by instant claim 17, Yoo et al. disclose the base material comprises: 0.25 wt% to 0.5 wt% carbon (C) (paragraph 36), 0.1 wt% to 0.8 wt% silicon (Si) (paragraph 39), 0.3 wt% to 3.0 wt% manganese (Mn) (paragraph 42), 0.01 wt% to 0.1 wt% of at least one of titanium (Ti) (paragraph 54), niobium (Nb), and vanadium (V), 0.01 wt% to 1.0 wt% chromium (Cr) (paragraph 48), and the remainder being iron (Fe) and unavoidable impurities (paragraph 31) With respect to the manufacturing method, Yoo et al. disclose a substantially identical process (see Figure 1) as that of Applicant (see paragraph 117 and Figure 2 of Applicant’s disclosure), with the disclosed ranges of each process parameter being either identical or overlapping (see the associated paragraphs of Yoo et al. which correspond to each step from Figure 1). Therefore, since the hot stamping part of Yoo et al., as modified, is at least substantially identical to that claimed, the properties recited in the remainder of claim 1 and in claims 2 and 3 are presumed inherent. Regarding claim 4, Yoo et al. further disclose “wherein the hot stamping part has a yield strength (YP) of about 1150 MPa to 1500 MPa and an elongation (EL) of about 4% to 10% (paragraph 77).” Regarding claim 6, Yoo et al. further disclose “further comprising a plating layer located on the inner oxide layer (paragraph 72).” Regarding claim 7, Yoo et al., as modified, disclose all that is claimed, as in claim 6 above, but fail to disclose the thickness of the plating layer, leaving the choice up to one having ordinary skill in the art. Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would know that the thickness of the plating layer effects the anti-corrosive effects of the layer, with too small a layer not having enough anti-corrosive effects. It has been held that when the general conditions are disclosed in the art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to set the thickness of the plating layer to between 10 and 30 µm in order to achieve the desired, workable, or optimal anti-corrosive effects.
Claim(s) 5, 14, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. and Otomo et al., further in view of No et al. (KR102250333B1). The US-equivalent of No et al. (US2022/0205059) will be used for citations. Regarding claim 5, Yoo et al., as modified, disclose all that is claimed, as in claim 1 above, except “wherein the hot stamping part has a microstructure with a martensite fraction of about 90% or more.” However, No et al. teach having a steel sheet which has 95% by area martensite, and that a larger martensite fraction results in steel having both excellent strength and formability (paragraphs 54 and 55). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to set the amount of martensite to greater than 90% in order to achieve a steel with excellent strength and formability. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claims 14-17, and 19, Yoo et al. disclose “a hot stamping part comprising: a base material (paragraph 77); a decarburization layer located on a surface of the base material (paragraph 77); and a plating layer located on the inner oxide layer (paragraph 72), wherein the hot stamping part has: a tensile strength (TS) of 1680 MPa to 2000 MPa (paragraph 77), a yield strength (YP) of 1150 MPa to 1500 MPa (paragraph 77), an elongation (EL) of 4% to 10% (paragraph 77).”
Yoo et al. fail to disclose “and an inner oxide layer located on the decarburization layer”. However, Otomo et al. teach providing an internal oxide layer in a steel sheet beneath the plating layer in order to decrease the heating time for suppressing liquid metal embrittlement (LME), and/or to increase productivity in manufacturing (paragraphs 15, 25, and 29). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the hot stamping part of Yoo et al. with an internal oxide layer in order to suppress LME and/or to increase productivity. Yoo et al. also fail to disclose “wherein the base material comprises a microstructure with a martensite fraction of 90% or more.” However, No et al. teach having a steel sheet which has 95% by area martensite, and that a larger martensite fraction results in steel having both excellent strength and formability (paragraphs 54 and 55). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to set the amount of martensite to greater than 90% in order to achieve a steel with excellent strength and formability. See MPEP §2144.05. With respect to the remaining claim elements, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by an identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, and recited properties are presumed inherent. See MPEP §2112.01. In this instance, However, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by an identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, and recited properties are presumed inherent. See MPEP §2112.01.
In this instance, the hot stamped part of Yoo et al., as modified, is substantially identical in composition as that of Applicant, and made in a substantially identical method. With respect to the claimed composition, as exemplified by instant claim 17, Yoo et al. disclose the base material comprises: 0.25 wt% to 0.5 wt% carbon (C) (paragraph 36), 0.1 wt% to 0.8 wt% silicon (Si) (paragraph 39), 0.3 wt% to 3.0 wt% manganese (Mn) (paragraph 42), 0.01 wt% to 0.1 wt% of at least one of titanium (Ti) (paragraph 54), niobium (Nb), and vanadium (V), 0.01 wt% to 1.0 wt% chromium (Cr) (paragraph 48), and the remainder being iron (Fe) and unavoidable impurities (paragraph 31) With respect to the manufacturing method, Yoo et al. disclose a substantially identical process (see Figure 1) as that of Applicant (see paragraph 117 and Figure 2 of Applicant’s disclosure), with the disclosed ranges of each process parameter being either identical or overlapping (see the associated paragraphs of Yoo et al. which correspond to each step from Figure 1). Therefore, since the hot stamping part of Yoo et al., as modified, is at least substantially identical to that claimed, the properties recited in the remainder of claim 14, and in claims 15 and 19, are presumed inherent.
Regarding claim 16, Yoo et al., as modified, discloses all that is claimed, as in claim 14 above, except “wherein the plating layer is a zinc (Zn)-based plating layer comprising zinc (Zn), iron (Fe), aluminum (Al), manganese (Mn), silicon (Si), and unavoidable impurities, and has a thickness of 10 µm to 30 µm.” However, Yoo et al. disclose using a plating bath at a temperature of 650°C to 660°C (paragraph 72) and Otomo et al. disclose a zinc plating bath with Al and controlling the amount of plating mass (paragraph 88). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a zinc plating bath because it has been shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose of providing a plating layer. See MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, since the composition of the plating bath and the base steel plate is substantially identical to that used by Applicant (see the discussion of claim 17 supra), and the temperature is the same, examiner contends that the plating layer would have the same composition as is recited. Regarding the thickness of the plating layer, Yoo et al. are silent as to the thickness, leaving the choice up to one having ordinary skill in the art. Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would know that the thickness of the plating layer effects the anti-corrosive effects of the layer, with too small a layer not having enough anti-corrosive effects. Furthermore, Otomo et al. disclose controlling the amount of mass on the coating layer, which determines the thickness. Therefore, the thickness of the plating layer is a results-effective variable. It has been held that when the general conditions are disclosed in the art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to set the thickness of the plating layer to between 10 and 30 µm in order to achieve the desired, workable, or optimal anti-corrosive effects. Regarding claim 18, Otomo et al. further disclose “wherein the inner oxide layer comprises silicon (Si), manganese (Mn), and chromium (Cr) (paragraph 30) and has a depth of 5 µm or less (claim 2).” Regarding claim 20, Yoo et al. further disclose “wherein the decarburization layer and the inner oxide layer are formed by annealing the base material at a temperature of 750°C to 900°C in an annealing furnace with a dew point of -15°C to +15°C (paragraph 70).”
Conclusion
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853