DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 2) “a assembling” should recite –an assembling--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (US 2016/0265596).
As to claim 1, Yu discloses a universal joint including:
a socket 12 including a connecting slot 16 and a assembling structure X oppositely arranged (Figure 3 reprinted below with annotations), the connecting slot including a plurality of first inner surfaces A and a plurality of second inner surfaces B (Figure 7 reprinted below with annotations), the plurality of first inner surfaces and the plurality of second inner surfaces being different in shape and being alternatively and circumferentially arranged, the assembling structure being configured to be assembled with a first external device; and
a connecting rod 14 including a first end portion 24 and a second end portion 26 oppositely arranged, the first end portion being swingably received in the connecting slot and rotatable with the socket, the first end portion including a plurality of first side surfaces C and a plurality of second side surfaces 34, the plurality of first side surfaces and the plurality of second side surfaces being different in shape and being alternatively and circumferentially arranged, the plurality of first side surfaces and the plurality of second side surfaces facing the plurality of first inner surfaces and the plurality of second inner surfaces, respectively, the second end portion being configured to be assembled with a second external device (Figures 1-8).
[AltContent: textbox (X)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)]
As to claim 2, Yu discloses a universal joint wherein the plurality of first inner surfaces A and the plurality of second inner surfaces B extend axially along the socket 12, the plurality of first inner surfaces being planar, the plurality of second inner surfaces being arcuate surfaces extending circumferentially around an axial direction of the socket, each of the plurality of first side surfaces C extends linearly between neighboring two of the plurality of second side surfaces 34, and the plurality of second side surfaces are arcuate surfaces which are radially convex (Figures 1-8).
As to claim 3, Yu discloses a universal joint wherein each of the plurality of first side surfaces C includes a flat surface and an arcuate surface extending from the flat surface toward a distal end of the first end portion (Figures 1-8).
As to claim 4, Yu discloses a universal joint including a retainer 40, wherein the retainer is positioned to the socket 12 and restricts the first end portion 24 to be within the connecting slot 16 (Figures 1-8).
As to claim 5, Yu discloses a universal joint wherein the connecting slot 16 includes a bottom surface 32, the first end portion 24 is restricted between the bottom surface and the retainer 40, and the first end portion is axially movable between the bottom surface and the retainer (Figures 1-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Su (US 10,661,416).
As to claim 6 and 7, Yu fails to disclose a universal joint wherein the connecting slot includes a plurality of inclined surfaces, each of the plurality of inclined surfaces extends gradually outward from one of the plurality of first inner surfaces toward a periphery of an end of the socket; and wherein in a circumferential direction of the socket, two ends of each of the plurality of inclined surfaces are connected to neighboring two of the plurality of second inner surfaces, respectively.
Su teaches a universal joint wherein a connecting slot 22 of a socket 20 includes a plurality of inclined surfaces A (Figure 2 reprinted below with annotations), each of the plurality of inclined surfaces extends gradually outward from one of a plurality of first inner surfaces B of the connecting slot toward a periphery of an end of the socket; and wherein in a circumferential direction of the socket, two ends of each of the plurality of inclined surfaces are connected to neighboring two of a plurality of second inner surfaces 221, respectively; the inclined surfaces providing for a greater pivot angle between the socket and connecting rod 30 (Figures 1-9). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the universal joint disclosed by Yu to comprise a plurality of inclined surfaces, as taught by Su, in order to provide for a greater pivot angle between the socket and the connecting rod.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)]
As to claim 8, Yu discloses a universal joint wherein every two of the plurality of first inner surfaces A and every two of the plurality of second inner surfaces B are diametrically arranged; the connecting slot 16 and the first end portion 24 are wide and flat; the universal joint includes a retainer 40, the retainer is positioned to the socket 12 and restricts the first end portion to be within the connecting slot; the connecting slot includes a bottom surface 32, the first end portion is restricted between the bottom surface and the retainer, and the first end portion is axially movable between the bottom surface and the retainer; and the connecting rod 14 includes a necked portion connected between the first end portion and the second end portion 26 (Figures 1-8).
Yu fails to disclose a universal joint wherein the connecting slot includes a plurality of inclined surfaces, each of the plurality of inclined surfaces extends gradually outward from one of the plurality of first inner surfaces toward a periphery of an end of the socket; and wherein in a circumferential direction of the socket, two ends of each of the plurality of inclined surfaces are connected to neighboring two of the plurality of second inner surfaces, respectively.
Su teaches a universal joint wherein a connecting slot 22 of a socket 20 includes a plurality of inclined surfaces A, each of the plurality of inclined surfaces extends gradually outward from one of a plurality of first inner surfaces B of the connecting slot toward a periphery of an end of the socket; and wherein in a circumferential direction of the socket, two ends of each of the plurality of inclined surfaces are connected to neighboring two of a plurality of second inner surfaces 221, respectively; the inclined surfaces providing for a greater pivot angle between the socket and connecting rod 30 (Figures 1-9). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the universal joint disclosed by Yu to comprise a plurality of inclined surfaces, as taught by Su, in order to provide for a greater pivot angle between the socket and the connecting rod.
As to claims 9 and 10, Yu discloses a universal joint wherein the assembling structure X is a polygonal connecting hole (Figures 1-8).
Yu disclose a universal joint wherein the second end portion 26 is a polygonal connecting hole; instead of a polygonal connecting head, wherein a shape of the assembling structure matches a shape of the second end portion.
Su teaches a universal joint wherein a second end portion 32 of a connecting rod 30 is a polygonal connecting head, wherein a shape of an assembling structure connecting hole 21 of a socket 20 matches a shape of the second end portion (Figures 1-5).
Inasmuch as the references disclose correspondingly-shaped connecting holes and connecting heads as art recognized structural and functional equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the exercise art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
Conclusion
06/04/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619