DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) Status
Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwami (CN 107776569 A). 1) Regarding claims 1 and 8, Iwami discloses a steering mode guidance system of a vehicle corner module device for a vehicle (page 5; Fig. 1: parking auxiliary device base 12), the system comprising: a sensor (pages 5-6; Fig. 1: sensor group 14); and a processor (page 7; calculating section 52 of Fig. 1) configured to: measure an area of a space region into which a vehicle intends to enter using the sensor (pages 2-4 with regard to the system determining range setting based on initial position of a vehicle during parking assistance to provide available displayed driving assistance content in response to a start switch being activated); determine whether trajectory switching is possible for each steering mode of the vehicle in the space region on the basis of the measured area information (pages 12-13; Fig. 6: determined and displayed available steering direction buttons 44 a 44b; or Fig. 7 determined and displayed available steering direction buttons 44 c 44d; or Fig. 8: determined and displayed available steering direction buttons 44 e 44f); and provide information on a steering mode in which the trajectory switching is possible on the basis of the determination result (pages 12-13; Fig. 6: determined and displayed available steering direction buttons 44 a 44b; or Fig. 7 determined and displayed available steering direction buttons 44 c 44d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwami in view of Dudeck et al. (“Dudeck”, US 20060113119 A1). 1) Regarding claims 2 and 9, further comprising: an input button (Fig. 1: start switch 34), wherein the processor is further configured to: activate an automatic sensing function of the sensor in response to a manipulation of the input button (page 12: ¶¶1-2); sense the space region into which the vehicle intends to enter through the automatic sensing function of the sensor to generate sensing data (pages 12-13; Figs. 6-8). As per the limitation measure the area of the space region using the generated sensing data. While, Iwami does not explicitly disclosed that the space in which the vehicle is intends to enter. Dudeck discloses, in ¶7, the concept of measuring a parking gap to determine trajectory available for a vehicle.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of measuring a parking gap to determine trajectory available for a vehicle, with the motivation to enhance the vehicle guidance features of the system. 2) Regarding claims 3, wherein the processor is further configured to: calculate reference position information for performing each steering mode on the
basis of current position information acquired through navigation of the vehicle and the
measured area information (Iwami: abstract with regard of the initial position being used to determine delivery determination ranges used to provide the displayed auxiliary control information); and provide a driver of the vehicle with the calculated reference position information in
the form of a plan view image by imaging the calculated reference position information
together with the measured area information and the current position information in
response to any one of steering modes in which the trajectory switching is possible being selected according to a manipulation of the input button (Iwami: abstract; Figs. 6-8). 3) Regarding claim 4, wherein, in response to any one of steering modes in which the trajectory switching is possible being selected according to the manipulation
of the input button, the processor is further configured to provide the driver with a
notification signal indicating that the steering mode of the corner module device is
switched visually and audibly (Iwami: page 9 with regard to the touch screen interaction that the driver must perform when the driver is prompted “the driving operation guide displayed on touch screen display 46. the delivery assistance (steering control mode), automatically steering wheel 76 operation”).
Claim(s) 5 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwami in view of Takano et al. (“Takano”, US 20130144492 A1). 1) Regarding claims 5, and 10 wherein, in response to a speed of the vehicle decreasing to a preset speed or less, the processor is further configured to: activate an automatic sensing function of the sensor; sense the space region into which the vehicle intends to enter through the automatic sensing function of the sensor to generate sensing data; and measure the area of the space region using the generated sensing data. Takano discloses, in ¶¶154, 174, the concept of triggering a parking mode based on pressing of a button or detection of a vehicle speed meeting a certain speed criteria.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of triggering a parking mode based on pressing of a button or detection of a vehicle speed meeting a certain speed criteria, with the motivation to enhance vehicle guidance assistance features of the system.
Claim(s) 6 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwami in view of Krnja et al. (“Krnja”, US 20180025647 A1). 1) Regarding claims 6 and 11, further comprising: a memory (Iwami: Fig. 1: storage section 54). As per the limitations wherein the processor is further configured to: calculate a vehicle moving trajectory for each steering mode on the basis of vehicle-specific specification information stored in the memory; compare and match the calculated vehicle moving trajectory with the measured area information; and determine whether the trajectory switching for each steering mode is possible in the space region. Krnja discloses, in ¶33; claim 1, the concept of storing vehicle dimension data (corresponding to vehicle-specific specification information) in memory to assist in determining vehicle trajectory data.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of storing vehicle dimension data in memory to assist in determining vehicle trajectory data, with the motivation to enhance the vehicle guidance features of the system.
Claim(s) 7 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwami in view of JP 7581137 B2 (“7581137”). 1) Regarding claims 7 and 12, wherein the steering mode in which the trajectory switching is possible includes a zero-turn mode and a pivot-turn mode. 7581137 disclose, on page 5, the concept of switching to a pivot turn or zero turn mode for possible vehicle maneuvering. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of switching to a pivot turn or zero turn mode for possible vehicle maneuvering, with the motivation to enhance vehicle driving assist features of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160075374 A1, system providing displayed vehicle guidance content. US 20240278773 A1, pivot turn switching features.
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2684
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685