DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 09/01/2026 which has
been entered and made of record. Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 have been amended. No
claim has been cancelled or newly added. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1-20, filed on 09/01/2026 with respect
to the rejection under 35 USC 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that “inventor recognizes that there may be a need to clear the region of storage before it is allocated to another work group. Otherwise, data can leak between different work groups via the work group local storage, and this can present security issues (e.g. when those work groups are in different security domains).”, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that “claim states… These do not therefore indicate that a region of storage is to be cleared. Instead, these simply indicate whether a memory block is currently allocated. Similarly, the state values in Edwards are not then used (and could not be used) to clear the associated regions of storage in the manner of the claimed invention. Edwards does not in fact contain any teaching to clear a respective memory block when it is de-allocated”, examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited in claim 1, these limitations are taught by the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman. In particular, and in addition to the citations in claim 1 below, Edwards col. 7, lines 24-32 teaches “a deallocation operation, further described in conjunction with FIGS. 5A and 5B, requires finding a claim state 402 corresponding to an allocation to be deallocated, and updating claim state 402 by performing an atomic AND operation. In at least one embodiment, an atomic AND operation is a logical operation defined as (claim state)= (claim state) AND NOT (bit pattern), where (bit pattern) is determined based on what allocation is to be deallocated”; finding claim state corresponding to an allocation to be deallocated shows an indication for the region to be cleared/deallocated (since deallocation clears the bits associated with a memory region thereby indicating that the region is no longer allocated which is a reasonable characterization of clearing of the region’s allocation state); also, this is of region that has request to read data since is after traversal to allocation complete (col.8, lines 58-63) as cited in the rejection of claim 1 below.
In response to applicant's argument that “in Edwards, the state values simply indicate whether a memory block is currently allocated. The state values are not therefore used to control the write operations in the manner required by claim 10, nor are they updated in response to the write requests (they are instead updated based on memory allocations/de-allocations). Thus, in Edwards, if a write request is made to a memory block that the state value indicates is currently allocated, the requested data will simply be written.” examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited in claim 1, these limitations are taught by the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman. In particular, and in addition to the citations in claim 1 below, examiner notes that this interpretation is overlooking the aforementioned above deallocation process in Edwards, and that, once write request is received, an allocated memory would have to be deallocated first to be reallocated and write to it.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 8 objected to because of the following informalities: typo in claim 8 line 3 wherein “receptive” should read “respective”. Typo in claim 6, line 3 wherein “that be allocated” should read “that can be allocated”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn except as follows.
Claims 3, 5-6, 10-17 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a respective region of the storage" twice, in line 5 and also in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is because a respective region of the storage is recited twice (unclear if these are same instance of region of storage) then the claim refers to “the respective region of storage” (third to last line and fifth to last line) which makes it unclear which instance of region of storage is being referred to if these are multiple instances.
Claims 3, 11 and 20 recites the limitation "a respective region of the storage” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is because each of these claims recites another potential instance of “a respective region of the storage” (compared to parent claims) which leads to unclarity of the claims regarding if these are the same instances as before or newer instances of respective region(s).
Claims 5 and 13 recites the limitation "a respective region of the storage" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is because each of these claims recites another potential instance of “a respective region of the storage” (compared to parent claims) which leads to unclarity of the claims regarding if these are the same instances as before or newer instances of respective region(s).
Claims 6 and 14 recites the limitation "allocated for temporary use by a respective group of execution threads corresponding to a group of work items being executed” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is because it is unclear whether this respective group of threads and respective group of work items are the same instances as the parent claims recite or newer/different instances of each.
Claims 11-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) since they depend on a claim that is rejected under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Note. Most likely these claims depend on some dependent claim or are missing elements.
In order to fix this issue, dependency should be reviewed and any first instance of an element
should be made clear that it’s a first instance and should be referred to as “a” or “an” instead of
“the”, and if multiple instances exist, further instances should be further distinguished for example by saying “first”, “second”, and/or “third” etc.
In addition, most of the above 112b were rejected in the non-final office action. However, applicant fails to address these issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10, 12, 14-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,586,144), hereinafter referenced as Edwards, in view of Kloosterman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,585,701), hereinafter referenced as Kloosterman.
Regarding claim 1, Edwards teaches A graphics processing system, the graphics processing system comprising: a programmable processing unit operable to execute processing programs (fig. 13 shows computing system 1300, col. 20, lines 17-18 teach “one or more parallel processor(s) 1312 form a graphics processing subsystem” and abstract teaches “one or more software programs being performed on a parallel processing unit”) for execution threads corresponding to work items to be processed by the graphics processing system (col. 22, line 58 teaches “a work item is a thread”); and storage (fig. 13 shows memory/storage 1304); that can be allocated for temporary use by a respective group of execution threads corresponding to a group of work items being executed by the programmable processing unit (abstract teaches “perform multi-threaded memory allocation in parallel by one or more software programs being performed on a parallel processing unit…perform allocation, search, and deallocation of memory efficiently and in parallel on a GPU”, and claim 22 teaches “cause the one or more processors to at least: exclusively allocate, by the API, two or more memory portions to two or more software threads independently in parallel by: searching one or more memory blocks of a tree data structure for a block having at least a number of allocable bins corresponding to an amount of memory to be used by a software thread”); allocating and deallocating threads to memory portions and blocks shows storage region allocated for temporary use (temporary since later deallocated), and this is done for multiple threads (corresponding to a group of work items from above) which acts as group (group of threads also mentioned in claim 23); while the group of execution threads are being executed, (claim 28 teaches “first thread allocates the first one or more memory portions in the first memory block by modifying a first state value associated with the first memory block”); this shows allocation from above is while group of execution threads are being executed since thread allocating memory by modifying state value shows the threads are being executed; wherein respective regions of the storage are associated with respective indicators that can be used to indicate that all entries of the associated region of storage are to be cleared (col.8, lines 52-57 teach “deallocation starts 512 by traversing to an allocation 514. In at least one embodiment, traversing to an allocation 514 is described above in conjunction with FIG. 5A, and comprises navigating through superblocks 502, 504, 506 in a dynamic radix tree 500 to locate an allocation 526, 528, 530, 532 to be deallocated”); navigating to locate an allocation to be deallocated alongside the marking in fig. 5a of the allocations to be deallocated shows indicators that indicate all entries of an associated region of storage to be cleared; the graphics processing system further comprising a processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage, the processing circuit configured to: (fig. 13 shows processors 1302 connected with memory hub 1305 via link 1313 that can access memory/storage 1304 and col. 25, lines 1-2 teach “circuit provides cache management, memory access”); this shows the graphic processing system comprising processing circuit that controls memory access to storage; when a request is made for an execution thread of a group of work items that is being executed by the programmable processing unit to read data from a respective region of the storage that has been allocated for use by the group of work items: determine whether a respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to read data from indicates that the respective region of storage is to be cleared (claim 29 teaches “wherein the first state value is modified by setting bitwise values indicating a status for each of the two or more memory portions:”); modifying a value would require a request for a reading of that value (which is made by an execution thread of a group of work items being executed) to accurately modify it, and bitwise value set indicating status shows respective indicator would determine status such as need for storage to be deallocated/cleared, also this is for the same data aforementioned from respective region of storage that has been allocated for use by the group of work items as shown in parent claims; and when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to read data from, that the respective region of storage is to be cleared, return a clear value in response to the request to read the data from the region of storage (col.8 lines 58-63 teach “once traversal to an allocation 514 is complete, claim state bits are cleared 516. In at least one embodiment, claim state bits are cleared 516 by changing bit values in a claim state, as described above in conjunction with FIG. 4A, to indicate that bins in a superblock are no longer allocated”); this shows once traversal (involves accessing information therefore reading) is complete (thus indicators/marked locations of region of storage that had request to read to be cleared/deallocated), clear value of cleared/changed bit values of claim state bits are returned.
However, Edwards fails to explicitly teach for an execution thread... being executed… read data.
However, Kloosterman explicitly teaches for an execution thread... being executed… read data (Kloosterman col. 17, lines 15-18 teach “register write back circuitry 60 shown in FIG. 1. It can also issue acknowledgements back to those components, and can return read data to those components as required” and lines 19-22 teach “access circuitry can also interface to the level 1 data cache 45 so as to perform load and store operations as required during the execution of instructions on the thread processing circuitry”); this explicitly shows data being read for execution thread being executed. Kloosterman is considered to be analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of dynamic storage allocation for thread groups and the processing thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards's invention with the data read/write and dynamic allocation techniques of Kloosterman to significantly improve the efficiency, and reduce the overall storage requirements significantly improve the efficiency, and reduce the overall storage requirements (Kloosterman, col. 16, lines 19-20). This would be done by the dynamic allocation and specific data reading techniques presented.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman teaches wherein when a request is made for an execution thread of a group of items to write new data to a respective region of the storage that has been allocated for use by the group of work items, (Kloosterman, col. 18, lines 29-31 teach “preference will be given to the register read circuitry and the register write back circuitry, as the requests issued by those components relate to active threads being processed by the thread processing circuitry”, col. 17, lines 13-14 teach “control circuitry 310 can receive requests from a variety of sources” and lines 18-19 teaches “receive write data from those components”); this shows write back circuitry which makes request for thread (which are execution thread of group of items from Edwards) to write new data to region of storage allocated to for use by group of work items (from Edwards); the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to: determine whether a respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to indicates that the respective region of storage is to be cleared (Edwards, claim 29 teaches “wherein the first state value is modified by setting bitwise values indicating a status for each of the two or more memory portions:”); bitwise value set indicating status shows respective indicator would determine status such as need for storage to be deallocated/cleared (for the region of storage that write request is made to since once write request is received, an allocated memory would have to be deallocated first to be reallocated and write to it from Edwards col. 7, lines 24-32); and when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: (Edwards, col.8 lines 58-63 teach “once traversal to an allocation 514 is complete, claim state bits are cleared 516. In at least one embodiment, claim state bits are cleared 516 by changing bit values in a claim state, as described above in conjunction with FIG. 4A, to indicate that bins in a superblock are no longer allocated”); this shows once traversal is complete (thus indicators/marked locations of region of storage to be cleared/deallocated), storage is determined to be cleared(for the region of storage that write request is made to since once write request is received, an allocated memory would have to be deallocated first to be reallocated and write to it from Edwards col. 7, lines 24-32); perform a certain set of one or more write operations in such a manner that the new data is written to the respective region of the storage as requested whereas a clear value is written to all other entries if any, within the respective region of the storage, the result of the certain set of one or more write operations thus being to overwrite all of the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to either with new data or with a clear value (Kloosterman, col. 16, lines 6-14 teach “if it is determined that the only operations remaining are write operations to an output register in bank 1 and an output register in bank 2, then the number of active registers per bank information for the relevant warp can be adjusted so as to only identify one active register for bank 1 and one active register for bank 2, with all of the counters for the other banks associated with that warp in storage 105 being cleared to 0”); this shows new write data written to respective region and other entries with clear value of 0 written to the respective region of storage, thus results in overwrite all region (for the region of storage that write request is made to since once write request is received, an allocated memory would have to be deallocated first to be reallocated and write to it from Edwards col. 7, lines 24-32) with new data or clear value 0 and when viewed in combination, this would be done based on indicator when storage is to be cleared from Edwards because it involves the clear values from such; and update the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to so that it is no longer indicated that the region of storage is to be cleared (Edwards, col. 8, lines 60-63 teach “claim state bits are cleared 516 by changing bit values in a claim state, as described above in conjunction with FIG. 4A, to indicate that bins in a superblock are no longer allocated”); indication of no longer allocated shows deallocation (by changing values therefore updating respective indicator) thus shows no longer indicated that the region of storage (for the region of storage that write request is made to since once write request is received, an allocated memory would have to be deallocated first to be reallocated and write to it from Edwards col. 7, lines 24-32) needs to be cleared/deallocated. The same motivations used in claim 1 apply here in claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman teaches wherein the storage is configured as multiple, independently accessible banks, (Kloosterman, col. 7, lines 39-41 teach “plurality of banks of storage elements, the plurality of banks being accessible in parallel. By using a banked arrangement,”); this shows storage configured as multiple and independently accessible banks; and wherein the respective indicator are associated with respective regions of the storage that extend across multiple of the independently accessible banks (Kloosterman, col. 10, lines 55-57 teach “the operand staging unit can be arranged in a variety of ways, in one example it is constructed as a plurality of banks” and col. 4, lines 30-33 teach “register requirements of the region will be met by the operand staging unit, and all of the required operand values can be accessed within the allocated storage elements of the operand staging unit.”); this shows respective indicators associated with respective regions of storage from Edwards would have storage that extends across multiple of the independently accessible banks since the operand staging unit which has allocated storage elements is arranged as a plurality of banks. The same motivations used in claim 1 apply here in claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman teaches wherein the storage is available to be used for other purposes as well as storage that be allocated for temporary use by a respective group of execution threads corresponding to a group of work items being executed by the programmable processing unit (Edwards, abstract teaches “perform multi-threaded memory allocation in parallel by one or more software programs being performed on a parallel processing unit…perform allocation, search, and deallocation of memory efficiently and in parallel on a GPU”, and claim 22 teaches “cause the one or more processors to at least: exclusively allocate, by the API, two or more memory portions to two or more software threads independently in parallel by: searching one or more memory blocks of a tree data structure for a block having at least a number of allocable bins corresponding to an amount of memory to be used by a software thread”); allocating and deallocating threads to memory portions and blocks shows storage region allocated for temporary use (temporary since later deallocated), and this is done for multiple threads (corresponding to a group of work items from above) which acts as group (group of threads also mentioned in claim 23), also, storage is available for other purposes such as deallocation and search as mentioned in abstract; while the group of execution threads are being executed (Edwards, claim 28 teaches “first thread allocates the first one or more memory portions in the first memory block by modifying a first state value associated with the first memory block”); this shows allocation from above is while group of execution threads are being executed since thread allocating memory by modifying state value shows the threads are being executed; and the system further comprises: one or more arbitration circuits configured to receive both storage access requests relating to work group storage regions, and access requests from other requester(s), and to arbitrate between those requests (Kloosterman, col. 18, lines 25-28 teach “operand staging unit 40 can include arbitration circuitry to arbitrate between requests coming from the preload queue(s) 35, the register read circuitry 50 or the register write back circuitry 60” and col. 12, lines 6-9 teach “the operand staging unit 40 can be arranged to include arbitration logic as required to arbitrate between the various sources of requests issued to the operand staging unit”); this shows arbitration circuitry included in the system which receives both storage access requests (for work group storage regions from Edwards since work item would belong to work group) and other requests from various sources then arbitrates between the requests. The same motivations used in claim 1 apply here in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman teaches wherein the respective indicators comprise respective bits that can be set or cleared to indicate whether or not the associated region is to be cleared (Edwards, col. 6, lines 60-62 teach “allocated bins 404 is a group of bit values 408 in a claim state 402 that designated which bins have been allocated”, col. 8, lines 58-59 teach “once traversal to an allocation 514 is complete, claim state bits are cleared”, Kloosterman, col. 16, lines 12-14 teach “with all of the counters for the other banks associated with that warp in storage 105 being cleared to 0” and col. 13, lines 22-23 teach “registers are assigned to a bank by using a combination of bits of the warp ID”); bit values showing which bins allocated and bits cleared once allocation is complete shows indicators for which bit can be cleared and Kloosterman shows those bits indicating to be cleared would be for associated region to be cleared to zero. The same motivations used in claim 1 apply here in claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, the system claim 10 recites similar limitations as system claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. In addition the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman teaches perform a certain set of one or more write operations in such a manner that the new data is written to the respective region of the storage as requested whereas a clear value is written to all other entries if any, within the respective region of the storage, the result of the certain set of one or more write operations thus being to overwrite all of the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to either with new data or with a clear value (Kloosterman, col. 16, lines 6-14 teach “if it is determined that the only operations remaining are write operations to an output register in bank 1 and an output register in bank 2, then the number of active registers per bank information for the relevant warp can be adjusted so as to only identify one active register for bank 1 and one active register for bank 2, with all of the counters for the other banks associated with that warp in storage 105 being cleared to 0”); this shows new write data written to respective region and other entries with clear value of 0 written to the respective region of storage, thus results in overwrite all region with new data or clear value 0 and when viewed in combination, this would be done based on indicator when storage is to be cleared from Edwards because it involves the clear values from such; and update the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to so that it is no longer indicated that the region of storage is to be cleared (Edwards, col. 8, lines 60-63 teach “claim state bits are cleared 516 by changing bit values in a claim state, as described above in conjunction with FIG. 4A, to indicate that bins in a superblock are no longer allocated”); indication of no longer allocated shows deallocation (by changing values therefore updating respective indicator) thus shows no longer indicated that the region of storage needs to be cleared/deallocated. Also, examiner notes that the respective regions of storage here in claim 10 would be that of which request is made to write new data to (for the region of storage that write request is made to since once write request is received, an allocated memory would have to be deallocated first to be reallocated and write to it from Edwards col. 7, lines 24-32). The same motivations used in claim 1 apply here in claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, the system claim 12 recites similar limitations as system claim 4, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the system claim 14 recites similar limitations as system claim 6, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the system claim 15 recites similar limitations as system claim 7, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the system claim 18 recites similar limitations as system claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the method claim 19 recites similar limitations as system claim 2, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of KEIDAR et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160259750), hereinafter referenced as KEIDAR.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman fails to explicitly teach
wherein a respective indicator is set to indicate that its associated respective region of the storage is to be cleared in response to allocation of its associated receptive region of the storage to a new work group from a different trust domain.
However, KEIDAR explicitly teaches wherein a respective indicator is set to indicate that its associated respective region of the storage is to be cleared in response to allocation of its associated receptive region of the storage to a new work group from a different trust domain (Keidar, paragraph 42 teaches “multiplexer module 128b receives the second access request from the resource group…stored as the transaction owner…the value of the current owner 142 is based on the first access request…comparator circuit 132 determines that the values are not equal. This change of ownership event is a trigger configured to cause the crypto engine 12 to erase/delete/invalidate everything the current interface owns (e.g., keys, storage, secrets, states, privileges). In this example, the hardware interface values associated with the TZ_IF_Master 122 are invalidated, and all access to the domains associated with the trust zone master (e.g., defer domain(0), TrustZone(1), HV(4), Video(5), Audio(6), Enterprise(7), and HLOS(8)) will not be accessible by the transaction owner”); this shows storage would be cleared/erased (thus respective indicator from Edwards must indicate associated region of storage to be cleared) in response to allocation of region of storage to new work group (the resource group and change in ownership) from a different trust domain (a domain not associated with trust zone master). KEIDAR is considered to be analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of different trust domains and access of storage using new work groups of such. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman with the security according to trust domain techniques of KEIDAR to secure access to memory in a hardware block (KREIDAR, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 16, the system claim 16 recites similar limitations as system claim 8, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Ellis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0206698), hereinafter referenced as Ellis.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman fails to explicitly teach
wherein the programmable processing unit is part of a graphics processor, and wherein the storage is local to and on-chip with the programmable processing unit of the graphics processor.
However, Ellis explicitly teaches wherein the programmable processing unit is part of a graphics processor, (Ellis, abstract teaches “graphics processing unit comprises a programmable execution unit”); and wherein the storage is local to and on-chip with the programmable processing unit of the graphics processor (Ellis, paragraph 62 teaches “register memory provided for the programmable execution unit. The register memory should be (and in an embodiment is) local to (on-chip with) the programmable execution unit.”); this shows memory/storage being local and on-chip with the programmable execution/processing unit. Ellis is considered to be analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of specific on-chip hardware and memory configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman with the local on-chip memory techniques of Ellis to facilitate the more efficient use, e.g., of the ability to store data in (and load data from) the further local memory (Ellis, paragraph 138). This would be from the faster memory access due to being local and on-chip.
Regarding claim 17, the system claim 17 recites similar limitations as system claim 9, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 11, 13 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior art of (or combination of) Edwards and Kloosterman teaches wherein when a request is made for an execution thread of a group of items to write new data to one or more entries within a respective region of the storage that has been allocated for use by the group of work items, (Kloosterman, col. 18, lines 29-31 teach “preference will be given to the register read circuitry and the register write back circuitry, as the requests issued by those components relate to active threads being processed by the thread processing circuitry”, col. 17, lines 13-14 teach “control circuitry 310 can receive requests from a variety of sources” and lines 18-19 teaches “receive write data from those components”); this shows write back circuitry which makes request for thread (which are execution thread of group of items from Edwards) to write new data to region of storage allocated to for use by group of work items (from Edwards); However, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman fails to teach but wherein the request is to write new data to less than all of the entries within the respective region of the storage, when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to perform a write operation that writes the new data to the requested entries within the region of the storage and also writes a clear value to all other entries within the region of the storage
Furthermore, no prior art of record either alone or in combination teaches
but wherein the request is to write new data to less than all of the entries within the respective region of the storage, when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to perform a write operation that writes the new data to the requested entries within the region of the storage and also writes a clear value to all other entries within the region of the storage when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 3 and the claims to which claim 3 depends and thus claim 3 contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art of (or combination of) Edwards and Kloosterman teaches wherein each bank of the storage has its own accessor circuit that maintains a respective queue of memory access transactions for that bank of storage, (Kloosterman, fig. 4 reference 310 teaches access control circuitry with lists of data); this shows each bank in the operand staging unit would have accessor circuitry when viewed with the parallel computing structure and it also maintains queue of memory access transactions for the bank of storage as shown by lists of data; and wherein when a request is made for an execution thread of a group of items to write new data to one or more entries within a respective region of the storage that has been allocated for use by the group of work items, (Kloosterman, col. 18, lines 29-31 teach “preference will be given to the register read circuitry and the register write back circuitry, as the requests issued by those components relate to active threads being processed by the thread processing circuitry”, col. 17, lines 13-14 teach “control circuitry 310 can receive requests from a variety of sources” and lines 18-19 teaches “receive write data from those components”); this shows write back circuitry which makes request for thread (which are execution thread of group of items from Edwards) to write new data to region of storage allocated to for use by group of work items (from Edwards); However, the combination of Edwards and Kloosterman fails to teach but wherein the request is to write new data to less than all of the entries within the respective region of the storage, when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write new data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to: insert, into the respective queues of memory access transactions for each of the banks of storage that is not already being written to, a respective write transaction to write a clear value to the respective entries of the region of the storage that the request is made to write new data to that reside in those banks of storage.
Furthermore, no prior art of record either alone or in combination teaches
but wherein the request is to write new data to less than all of the entries within the respective region of the storage, when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write new data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to: insert, into the respective queues of memory access transactions for each of the banks of storage that is not already being written to, a respective write transaction to write a clear value to the respective entries of the region of the storage that the request is made to write new data to that reside in those banks of storage when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 5 and the claims to which claim 5 depends and thus claim 5 contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach
but wherein the request is to write new data to less than all of the entries within the respective region of the storage, when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to perform a write operation that writes the new data to the requested entries within the region of the storage and also writes a clear value to all other entries within the region of the storage when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 11 and the claims to which claim 11 depends and thus claim 11 contains allowable subject matter. The same reasoning for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 3 applies here to claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach
but wherein the request is to write new data to less than all of the entries within the respective region of the storage, when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write new data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to: insert, into the respective queues of memory access transactions for each of the banks of storage that is not already being written to, a respective write transaction to write a clear value to the respective entries of the region of the storage that the request is made to write new data to that reside in those banks of storage when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 13 and the claims to which claim 13 depends and thus claim 13 contains allowable subject matter. The same reasoning for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 5 applies here to claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach
but wherein the request is to write new data to less than all of the entries within the respective region of the storage, when it is determined based on the respective indicator associated with the respective region of storage that the request is made to write data to, that the region of storage is to be cleared: the processing circuit that controls memory accesses to the storage is configured to perform a write operation that writes the new data to the requested entries within the region of the storage and also writes a clear value to all other entries within the region of the storage when read in light of the rest of the limitations in claim 20 and the claims to which claim 20 depends and thus claim 20 contains allowable subject matter. The same reasoning for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 3 applies here to claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.U.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611