DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 3/21/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OneM2M Technical Specification (hereinafter OneM2M).
As to claims 1, 8, and 13, OneM2M teaches a service providing capabilities through a set of application programming interfaces (APIs) to a plurality of applications, the service being provided as a middleware (Service Layer Each of these services provides functions and resources on the Security Service and Administration API) (OneM2M, §§5.2.1 and 5.3):
a. Authenticating, by a trusted enabling entity in the service, a device by performing an attestation check (Trust Enabling Functions “Trust Enabler Function (e.g. MEF (M2M Enrollment Function), MAF (M2M Authentication Function), MN-CSE (Middle Node Common Service Entity))” , Trust Enabling Architecture may require the presence of security functionalities within the Infrastructure Domain), a device (M2M equipment) by performing an attestation check (OneM2M, §6.2.6, Figure 6.2.2-2; MEF and MAF which perform mutual authentication/handshake operations.);
b. Receiving, by the trust enabling entity and from the device, a credential registration message (MEF Key Registration Request, (MEF Key Registration Procedure), (MEF Key Registration Request)) (OneM2M, §8.3.5.2.7 and Table 8.3.5.2.7‑1).
c. Determining, by the trust enabling entity and based on the credential registration message, one or more security policies comprising one or more rules for assigning devices to a network function in the service (MEF: SUID limiting usage; response returns RelativeKeyID, targetIDs, and SUID) (OneM2M, §8.3.5.2.7 steps 5–7 and Table 8.3.5.2.7-2);
d. Sending, by the trust enabling entity and to the device, a response comprising one or more parameters comprising a parameter associated with a security credential, where the parameter associated with the security credential is used by the device to attach to the network function in the service (MEF response: §8.3.5.2.7 step 10 and Table 8.3.5.2.7-2 (RelativeKeyID, SUID, targetIDs, expirationTime)).
As to claims 2, 9, and 14, OneM2M teaches the credential registration message comprised an indication of one or more capabilities or security functionality of the device (end-to-end credential registration and provisioning) (OneM2M, §6.2.6).
As to claims 3 and 15, OneM2M teaches sending, by the trust enabling entity, on behalf of the device and to a third party, a message comprising an indication of a trustworthiness associated with the device (trust is established through trust enablers and the resultant trust determination is conveyed to the system) (OneM2M, §6.62 and §8.3.7.1).
As to claims 5, 11, and 17, OneM2M teaches at least one of the one or more rules of the one or more security policies has a dependency based on a location of the device (location is one parameter to determine trust in the network) (OneM2M, §F.2.1).
As to claims 7 and 19, OneM2M teaches sending, by the trust enabling entity to the network function, a message comprising an identifier and a credential associated with the device (Dynamic Authorization scheme includes exchanging identifiers and credentials (tokens) attached to the device) (OneM2M, §7.3.2).
As to claims 4, 6, 10, 12, 16, and 18, they are rejected because they are dependent from a rejected base claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 10, 12, 16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US Patent No. 11,824,643 and claims 1-19 of US Patent No. 12,192,203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant application are in a different order and the use of alternate synonyms for the limitations. The details of the differences are outlined below
18/965180
US Patent
11,824,643
US Patent 12,192,203
Difference
1. A method for a service providing service capabilities through a set of application programming interfaces (APIs) to a plurality of applications, the service being provided as a middleware, the method comprising: authenticating, by a trust enabling entity in the service, a device by performing an attestation check; receiving, by the trust enabling entity and from the device, a credential registration message; determining, by the trust enabling entity and based on the credential registration message, one or more security policies comprising one or more rules for assigning devices to a network function in the service; and sending, by the trust enabling entity and to the device, a response comprising one or more parameters comprising a parameter associated with a security credential, wherein the parameter associated with the security credential is used by the device to attach to the network function in the service.
A method for registering a device over a network to a trust enabling infrastructure (TEI) for enabling the device to securely attach to a network function in the network that provides one or more applications or services of an application or service provider to the device, the method comprising: receiving, by the TEI and from a device, a security connection establishment request, wherein service the TEI is configured with one or more policies comprising rules for assigning devices to network functions in the network that provide applications or services of one or more application or service providers to devices; authenticating, by the TEI, the device by performing an attestation check and establishing a secure connection with the device; receiving, by the TEI and from the device, a credential registration message comprising a device identifier; determining, by the TEI and based on the device identifier and one or more rules of the one or more policies, a network function in the network to which the device is to attach; sending, by the TEI and to the device, a response comprising an identifier of the network function in the network and a credential, wherein the identifier and credential facilitate the device attaching to the network function and accessing an application or service of an application or provider.
1. A method for a service providing service capabilities through a set of application programming interfaces (APIs) to a plurality of applications, the service being provided as a middleware, the method comprising: authenticating, by a trust enabling infrastructure (TEI) in the service, a device by performing an attestation check; receiving, by the TEI and from the device, a credential registration message; determining, by the TEI and based on the credential registration message, one or more security policies comprising one or more rules for assigning devices to a network function in the service; and sending, by the TEI and to the device, a response comprising an identifier of the network function and one or more parameters comprising a parameter associated with a security credential, wherein the identifier and the parameter associated with the security credential facilitate the device attaching to the network function.
The instant application uses term “trust enabling entity” while the patent uses “trust enabling infrastructure (TEI)” which are viewed as synonyms.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM S POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496