CTNF 18/965,181 CTNF 74404 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-25 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in June 5, 2023 on PCT/JP2023/021028 . It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese PCT application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tian et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0377205 A1 . Regarding claim 1, Tian discloses an encoding device comprising: memory; and a circuit accessible to the memory, wherein in operation, the circuit: when a first triangle satisfies a condition, performs a first process including a process of using the first triangle to derive a predicted value of a current vertex to be encoded of a second triangle (paragraph 0108, determine the prediction of a current vertex; predication based on an order of the plurality of triangles); when the first triangle does not satisfy the condition, performs a second process including a process of using a third triangle different from the first triangle and the second triangle to derive the predicted value of the current vertex (paragraph 0110, a prediction difference is determined between each of the predictors in the prediction list and the current vertex; the prediction is further determined from the predictors in the predictions list that corresponds to a minimum prediction difference; ); and encodes the current vertex using the predicted value (paragraph 0064, blocks may be coded predictively with reference to other (already coded) blocks as determined by the coding assignment applied to the blocks’ respective pictures; pixel blocks of P pictures may be coded predictively, via spatial prediction or via temporal prediction with reference to one previously coded reference picture). Regarding claim 2, Tian discloses wherein the third triangle shares an edge with the first triangle (paragraph 0077, prediction triangle can be formed based on an edge that is shared with an adjacent triangle; paragraph 0078, the first triangle 434 can share an edge with an adjacent triangle 428; current vertex 420 can also be included in a second triangle 436). Regarding claim 3, Tian discloses wherein the third triangle shares an edge with the second triangle (paragraph 0077, prediction triangle can be formed based on an edge that is shared with an adjacent triangle; paragraph 0078, the first triangle can share an edge with an adjacent triangle). Regarding claim 4, Tian discloses wherein the third triangle shares a vertex with the first triangle (figure 4B). Regarding claim 5, Tian discloses wherein each vertex of the third triangle has been encoded (paragraph 0064, blocks may be coded predictively with reference to other (already coded) blocks as determined by the coding assignment applied to the blocks’ respective pictures). Regarding claim 6, Tian discloses wherein each edge of the third triangle has connectivity (paragraph 0075, mesh geometry information can include vertex connectivity information, 3D coordinates, and 2D texture coordinates; paragraph 0076, the set of triangles can be connected by common edges or corners of the set of triangles). Regarding claim 7, Tian discloses wherein the third triangle has a dummy vertex (paragraph 0079, a predicted position value (or a prediction or a prediction vertex) of a current vertex can be selected from a plurality of candidate position values (or candidate predictions or candidate prediction vertices), Examiner interprets prediction vertex as dummy vertex). Regarding claim 8, Tian discloses wherein the condition includes that each vertex of the first triangle has been encoded (paraph 0084, triangle ABC can be denoted as a prediction candidate (or prediction triangle) of the vertex D, if the position values of vertices A, B and C have been coded and can be used for prediction). Regarding claim 9, Tian discloses wherein the condition includes that each edge of the first triangle has connectivity (paragraph 0084, a vertex could have zero, one, two, or more prediction candidates, depending on the number of existing coded vertices and shared edges ). Regarding claims 10-18, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above. Tian further discloses a decoding device (paragraph 0033, video decoder) comprising: memory; and a circuit accessible to the memory, wherein in operation, the circuit: when a first triangle satisfies a condition, performs a first process including a process of using the first triangle to derive a predicted value of a current vertex to be decoded of a second triangle (paragraph 0034, receive one or more coded video sequences to be decoded by the video decoder). Regarding claim 19, it is rejected based upon similar rational to claim 1. Tian further discloses an encoding method (paragraph 0006 ). Tian further discloses paragraph 0106, determine the plurality of candidate predictions of the current vertex, a first triangle of the plurality of triangles is determined for the current vertex; the first triangle shares an edge with a second triangle of the plurality of triangles, and the current vertex is included in the second triangle and opposite to the shared edge; first prediction of the plurality of candidate predictions is determined based on the determined first triangle. Regarding claim 20, it is rejected based on similar rational as above. Tian further discloses a decoding method (paragraph 0045, video decoder may perform decoding operations) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Guillaume et al., GB 2561824 A (IDS filed) Guillaume discloses memory (2207 ROM, 2212 RAM); and a circuit accessible to the memory, wherein in operation, the circuit: when a first triangle satisfies a condition, performs a first process including a process of using the first triangle to derive a predicted value of a current vertex to be encoded of a second triangle (Figure 6; page 14, lines 27-29, a first part, steps 601 to 611 provides a coding-cost based competition between the position predictors of the set); (page 14, lines 29-30, a second and optional part of the process, namely steps 612 to 619, regards an optimization to avoid signaling which position predictor is used); (page 14, lines 18-23, encoding geometry data describing the positions of the vertices in the 3D model; encoding includes predicting the geometry data of at least one current vertex with a position predictor selected, based on a coding-cost-based criterion, from a set made of two or more position predictors). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Motilewa Good-Johnson whose telephone number is (571)272-7658. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 6am-2:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jason Chan can be reached at 571-272-3022. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON Primary Examiner Art Unit 2616 /MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/965,181 Page 2 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/965,181 Page 3 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/965,181 Page 4 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/965,181 Page 5 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/965,181 Page 6 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/965,181 Page 7 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/965,181 Page 8 Art Unit: 2619