DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on December 2, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-17 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated CESA (US 20240014702 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CESA teaches:
An electric machine(Fig 2; 1) for powering an electric vehicle[0002], the electric machine comprising:
a rotor (Fig 2; 3)configured to rotate relative to a stator (Fig 2; 4)to drive a rotor shaft (Fig 2; 5)and at least one drive wheel of the electric vehicle[0002];
a rotor lamination [0047]of the rotor (Fig 2; 3)defining a first slot (Fig 4/7; 11B-2)that defines:
a first flux barrier (Fig 7; 13B-2O) having a first flux barrier width (Fig 7; 13B-2O-W) at a first end of the first slot(Fig 7; 11B-2);
a second flux barrier (Fig 7; 13B-2I) having a second flux barrier width (Fig 7; 13B-2I-W)at a second end of the first slot(Fig 7; 11B-2); and
a first magnet retaining slot portion (Fig 7; 12B-2) having a first slot width(Fig 7; 12B-2-W); and
a first magnet (Fig 7; 10B-2)positioned in the first magnet retaining slot portion(Fig 7; 12B-2), wherein the first flux barrier width (Fig 7; 13B-2O-W) and the second flux barrier width (Fig 7; 13B-2I-W) are greater than the first slot width(Fig 7; 12B-2-W).
Regarding claim 2, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 1:
wherein the first flux barrier (Fig 4; 13B-2O)of the first slot is tangentially elongated relative to the rotor(Fig 4; 6).
Regarding claim 3, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 1:
wherein the second flux barrier(Fig 4; 13B-2I) of the first slot is elongated.
Regarding claim 4, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 1:
wherein the first flux barrier (Fig 4; 13B-2O)of the first slot is located proximate an outer perimeter of the rotor(Fig 4; 6).
Regarding claim 5, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 4:
wherein the rotor lamination includes a first bridge (Fig 4; 13B-2O-B) between the outer perimeter and the first flux barrier (Fig 4; 13B-2O)of the first slot.
Regarding claim 6, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 1:
wherein the first flux barrier width(Fig 7; 13B-2O-W) and the second flux barrier width (Fig 7; 13B-2I-W)of the first slot are greater than the first slot width(Fig 7; 12B-2-W) providing a higher arc radius of the first flux barrier(Fig 7; 13B-2O).
Regarding claim 7, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 6:
wherein the first flux barrier width (Fig 7; 13B-2O-W)and the second flux barrier width (Fig 7; 13B-2I-W)of the first slot are greater than the first slot width(Fig 7; 12B-2-W) providing lower flux leakage and improving torque performance of the electric machine(lowered flux leakage is innate to the improvements described[0006-0012]).
Regarding claim 8, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 1:
wherein an inductance is created by current applied to the stator(Fig 2; 4), wherein torque is generated due to an inductance difference between a D-axis(Fig 4; dr-1) and a Q-axis (Fig 4; qr-1)owing to the first and second flux barriers of the first slot causing the rotor to be rotated by torque(the functions claimed are innate of an imbedded magnet rotor with a concentration effect; by definition flux barriers direct magnetic flux to concentrate and improve electric machine efficiency).
Regarding claim 9, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 1:
wherein the rotor lamination of the rotor (Fig 4; 6)further defines a second slot (Fig 4; 11B-3)that defines:
a first flux barrier (Fig 4; 13B-3O)having a first flux barrier width (Fig 4; 13B-3O-W)at a first end of the second slot(Fig 4; 11B-3);
a second flux barrier(Fig 4; 13B-3I) having a second flux barrier width (Fig 4; 13B-3I-W)at a second end of the second slot(Fig 4; 11B-3); and
a second magnet receiving slot portion (Fig 4; 12B-3)having a second slot width(Fig 4; 12B-3-W)(the rotor pole is symmetrical on each side of dr-1; meaning all the slots are duplicated in there structure [0066]).
Regarding claim 10, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 9:
further comprising a second magnet (Fig 4; 10B-3)disposed in the second magnet receiving slot portion(Fig 4; 12B-3), wherein the first flux barrier width(Fig 4; 13B-3O-W) and the second flux barrier width (Fig 4; 13B-3I-W)of the second slot are greater than the second slot width(Fig 4; 12B-3-W)(the structure of the second slot and first slot are identical as shown in Fig 4 and described in [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 10:
wherein the first flux barrier (Fig 4; 13B-3O)of the second slot is tangentially elongated relative to the rotor(Fig 4; 6).
Regarding claim 12, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 10:
wherein the second flux barrier(Fig 4; 13B-3I) of the second slot is elongated.
Regarding claim 13, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 10:
wherein the first flux barrier (Fig 4; 13B-3O)of the second slot is located proximate an outer perimeter of the rotor(Fig 4; 6).
Regarding claim 14, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 13:
wherein the rotor lamination includes a second bridge (Fig 4; 13B-3O-B) between the outer perimeter and the first flux barrier (Fig 4; 13B-3O)of the second slot.
Regarding claim 15, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 10:
wherein the first flux barrier width (Fig 4; 13B-3O-W)and the second flux barrier width (Fig 4; 13B-3I-W)of the second slot are greater than the second slot width(Fig 4; 12B-3-W) providing a higher arc radius of the first flux barrier of the second slot(Fig 4; 13B-3O).
Regarding claim 16, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 15:
wherein the first flux barrier width (Fig 4; 13B-3O-W)and the second flux barrier width (Fig 4; 13B-3I-W)of the second slot are greater than the second slot width(Fig 4; 12B-3-W) providing lower flux leakage and improving torque performance of the electric machine(lowered flux leakage is innate to the improvements described[0006-0012]).
Regarding claim 17, CESA teaches the electric machine of claim 10:
wherein an inductance is created by current applied to the stator(Fig 2; 4), wherein torque is generated due to an inductance difference between a D-axis(Fig 4; dr-1) and a Q-axis (Fig 4; qr-1)owing to the first and second flux barriers of the second slot causing the rotor to be rotated by torque(the functions claimed are innate of an imbedded magnet rotor with a concentration effect; by definition flux barriers direct magnetic flux to concentrate and improve electric machine efficiency).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834