Detailed Action
Office Action is in response to the instant Application 18/965,204 filed on 12/2/2024. Claims 1-11 are pending. This Office Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 2/19/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application or being significantly more.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the claims recite the limitations “a command receiver that receives …;” “a configuration information obtainer that obtains …;” “a monitoring program controller that refers to a feature of the command from an identifier included in the command, and determines …” and “an anomaly responder that obtains a result …”. Broadly interpreted, the aforementioned steps are directed to mental processes as said steps could be performed in the human mind. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Said abstract idea and/or judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application as the claim does not recite any other active steps that could be considered that the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application. It’s noted that the claim recites the operations “sends notice …”.
However, said operations are not sufficient to consider that the abstract idea is being interpreted into a practical application. Said operations are recited at a high level of generality in gathering/processing/storing information, which are a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
It’s also noted that the claims recite additional limitation/elements (i.e., system, processing circuitry, processor, memory, etc.,). However, said additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computing device performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception or abstract idea using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements/limitations/embodiments that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As mentioned above, although the claims recite additional elements, said elements taken individually or as a combination, do not result in the claim amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea because as the additional elements perform generic computer content distributing functions routinely used in information technology field. As discussed above, the additional elements recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Therefore, the claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 2-10, claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter for the same reasons addressed above as the claims recite an abstract idea and the claims do not positively recite any other operations that could be considered as the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobel et al. (US 10,528,736) in view of Tsirkin (US 2016/0246630).
As per claim 1, Sobel teaches a monitoring device in a virtualization platform that causes two or more virtual machines to operate, wherein the monitoring device runs on a first virtual machine in which one or more monitoring programs operate, the first virtual machine being included in the two or more virtual machines, the one or more monitoring programs being for monitoring a command transmitted or received in a process, the monitoring device comprises: a processor; and a non-transitory memory in which a program is stored (Sobel, Col. 5 Lines 8-15 recites “As illustrated in FIG. 1, example system 100 may also include one or more physical processors, such as physical processor 130. Physical processor 130 generally represents any type or form of hardware-implemented processing unit capable of interpreting and/or executing computer-readable instructions. In one example, physical processor 130 may access and/or modify one or more of modules 102 stored in memory 140”),
and the processor executes the program to cause the monitoring device to operate as: a command receiver that receives a command transmitted or received in a process operating in a second virtual machine different from the first virtual machine (Sobel, Col. 9 Lines 25-45 recites “The systems described herein may monitor the behaviors of a virtual machine in any suitable manner that enables the detection of the preparatory behaviors described in the signatures received at step 502. For example, monitoring module 106 may monitor when and how a virtual machine allocates its virtual memory, when and how the virtual machine reads from its virtual memory, and/or when and how the virtual machine writes to its virtual memory. At step 506, one or more of the systems described herein may detect, at the computing device while monitoring behaviors of the virtual machine, a behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors. For example, detecting module 108 may, as part of computing device 202 in FIG. 2, detect, while monitoring behaviors of malicious virtual machine 204 and benign virtual machine 210, a behavior of malicious virtual machine 204 that matches one of behavioral signatures 120. In general, the systems described herein may detect the preparatory stage of a rowhammer attack by detecting one or more of the preparatory behaviors described in the signatures received at step 502.”);
a monitoring program controller that refers to a feature of the command from an identifier included in the command, and determines an execution method for executing the one or more monitoring programs, according to the configuration information and the feature of the command; and an anomaly responder that obtains a result of the monitoring performed by executing the one or more monitoring programs, and sends notice of an anomaly when the anomaly is included in the result (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
But fails to teach a configuration information obtainer that obtains configuration information on the second virtual machine.
However, in an analogous art Tsirkin teaches a configuration information obtainer that obtains configuration information on the second virtual machine (Tsirkin, Paragraph 0042 recites “The hypervisor 180 may then determine whether the configuration is secure (block 530). In an example embodiment, the hypervisor 180 may determine whether a configuration is secure by determining whether the virtual machine 170A has a malicious payload. This determination may be made in a variety of ways. In an example embodiment, the hypervisor 180 may scan code and memory associated with the virtual machine 170A for any known forms of malicious payloads. In another example embodiment, the hypervisor 180 may compare a configuration of the virtual machine 170A against an expected value to determine whether the configuration has been altered. If the configuration has been altered, the hypervisor 180 may determine that the configuration is not secure and if the configuration has not been altered, the hypervisor 180 may determine that the configuration is secure. For example, the hypervisor 180 may compare system handlers 210, the interrupt service routines 220, and/or VM programs 270 of the virtual machine 170A against expected code to determine whether the code of the virtual machine 170A has been altered. In an example embodiment, the expected code is unaltered code maintained by the hypervisor 180 and was originally provided to the virtual machine 170A as part of the creation of the virtual machine 170A.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Tsirkin’s Guest controlled malicious payload protection with Sobel’s Systems And Methods For Detecting Preparatory-stages Of Rowhammer Attacks because it offers the advantage of ensuring the a virtual machines configuration is secure.
As per claim 2, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1, Sobel further teaches wherein the processor further causes the monitoring device to operate as a system status obtainer that obtains a system status of the second virtual machine, and the monitoring program controller further determines the execution method for executing the one or more monitoring programs, according to the system status (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
As per claim 4, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin teaches the monitoring device according to claim 2, Sobel further teaches wherein the system status is at least one of the following: a traveling state of a vehicle including the monitoring device; a traveling mode of the vehicle; a system load of a virtual machine; a system load in processing the command; a network connection state of the virtual machine; presence or absence of a security anomaly in the virtual machine; or presence or absence of a security anomaly in a virtual command (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
As per claim 5, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1, Sobel further teaches wherein the execution method for executing the one or more monitoring programs is at least one of the following: whether the one or more monitoring programs are active; a method for invoking the one or more monitoring programs; a time-out time set to the one or more monitoring programs; or an execution sequence of the one or more monitoring programs (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
As per claim 6, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1, Sobel further teaches wherein the anomaly responder further aggregates or adds up logs each of which indicates an anomaly in the command, according to the feature of the command (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
As per claim 7, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1, Sobel further teaches wherein, based on a result of monitoring performed by executing a simplified monitoring program, the monitoring program controller invokes a detailed monitoring program that has a processing load higher than a processing load of the simplified monitoring program, the simplified monitoring program and the detailed monitoring program being included in the one or more monitoring programs (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a similar method associated with the device of claim 1 respectively. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 1, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobel et al. (US 10,528,736) and Tsirkin (US 2016/0246630) and in further view of Paulraj et al. (US 12,430,158).
As per claim 3, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the feature of the command is at least one of the following: a virtual machine at a transmission source or a transmission destination of the command; an electronic control unit at the transmission source or the transmission destination of the command; a transmission direction of the command; an access destination of a file operation included in the command; a type of the file operation included in the command; a type of an operating system (OS) of the virtual machine at the transmission source or the transmission destination; presence or absence of an external connecting function of the virtual machine at the transmission source or the transmission destination; an automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) of the command; or an influence of the command on vehicle control.
However, in an analogous art Paulraj teaches wherein the feature of the command is at least one of the following: a virtual machine at a transmission source or a transmission destination of the command; an electronic control unit at the transmission source or the transmission destination of the command; a transmission direction of the command; an access destination of a file operation included in the command; a type of the file operation included in the command; a type of an operating system (OS) of the virtual machine at the transmission source or the transmission destination; presence or absence of an external connecting function of the virtual machine at the transmission source or the transmission destination; an automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) of the command; or an influence of the command on vehicle control (Paulraj, Claim 11 recites “11. A control system for a motor vehicle comprising: a hardware system comprising a plurality of hardware components; wherein: a middleware level is provided between a hardware level defining an arrangement of the plurality of hardware components and an application level of applications that can be executed using the plurality of hardware components; at least two virtual machines of the hardware level, which share access to the hardware components, are virtualized using a hypervisor; and the middleware level is software that: provides for a security domain of a security execution environment, which security domain is implemented virtualized on one of the virtual machines, the following: at least one driver to at least one security-relevant, domain-specific application that is on the application level and is dedicated for use by the security domain; and management of access by the security domain to hardware components of the hardware level, which hardware components are shared for use by at least one domain other than the security domain, which at least one domain is of at least one further execution environment for executing at least one further domain-specific application; and provides the at least one domain other than the security domain management of access to the shared hardware components of the hardware level; and the security domain and the at least one other domain are formed by a division of a plurality of functions into function groups that are each assigned to a respective one of the domains, the division being performed according to Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) risk level categorization of at least a subset of the functions, such that at least those of the functions that are categorized by a highest risk level of the ASIL risk level categorization are all grouped into the security domain.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to Paulraj’s Method, System And Domain For Providing A Security Execution Environment For Security-relevant Applications with Sobel’s Systems And Methods For Detecting Preparatory-stages Of Rowhammer Attacks because it offers the advantage of providing a security execution environment for security-relevant domain-specific applications in a virtualized system, in which at least two virtual machines share a hardware level virtualized with the aid of a hypervisor.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobel et al. (US 10,528,736) and Tsirkin (US 2016/0246630) and in further view of Hajnoczi et al. (US 2020/0242263).
As per claim 8, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the processor further causes the monitoring device to operate as two or more monitoring program controllers, the two or more monitoring program controllers each being the monitoring program controller, and when a transmission destination of the command is determined to be a virtual machine on the virtualization platform, the execution method for executing the one or more monitoring programs is determined by, among the two or more monitoring program controllers, one or more monitoring program controllers determined based on the identifier included in the command and the configuration information.
However, in an analogous art Hajnoczi teaches wherein the processor further causes the monitoring device to operate as two or more monitoring program controllers, the two or more monitoring program controllers each being the monitoring program controller, and when a transmission destination of the command is determined to be a virtual machine on the virtualization platform, the execution method for executing the one or more monitoring programs is determined by, among the two or more monitoring program controllers, one or more monitoring program controllers determined based on the identifier included in the command and the configuration information (Hajnoczi, Paragraph 0013 recites “Shared memory access by guests hosted on the same system is typically provided by a hypervisor managing memory access for both the source and destination guests. However, in such an implementation, the source guest's kernel has elevated access to the destination guest's memory mappings creating a potential security risk. For example, having control over a destination guest's memory mappings typically requires that the source guest's kernel is able to instruct the hypervisor to perform memory operations outside of the source guest's memory space (e.g., in the destination guest's memory space), potentially including granting the source guest control over certain hypervisor page table entries. The potential security risks associated with sharing memory with other guests would be further elevated in scenarios where access is granted to host memory and not just memory of other guests. For example, a malicious actor who gains access to a guest with access to host memory may be able to read data stored by the host as well as other guests on the same physical system.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to Hajnoczi’s Secure and efficient access to host memory for guests with Sobel’s Systems And Methods For Detecting Preparatory-stages Of Rowhammer Attacks because it offers the advantage of Secure and efficient access to host memory for guests.
As per claim 9, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin and Hajnoczi teaches the monitoring device according to claim 8, Sobel further teaches wherein the two or more monitoring program controllers determine the execution method for executing the one or more monitoring programs, according to a system status of the second virtual machine (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
As per claim 10, Sobel in combination with Tsirkin and Hajnoczi teaches the monitoring device according to claim 8, Sobel further teaches wherein, among the two or more monitoring program controllers, a first monitoring program controller assigns a first identifier to the command, and a second monitoring program controller determines the execution method for executing the one or more monitoring programs, according to whether the first identifier has been assigned to the command (Sobel, Claim 16 recites “16. A system for detecting preparatory-stages of rowhammer attacks, the system comprising: a receiving module, stored in memory, that receives, at a hypervisor, signatures of preparatory behaviors that are known to be exhibited by malicious virtual machines when preparing to perform rowhammer attacks, wherein: the hypervisor hosts a plurality of virtual machines; and at least one page of virtual memory of each of the plurality of virtual machines is mapped to at least one shared page frame of physical memory of the hypervisor; a monitoring module, stored in memory, that monitors, at the hypervisor while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, behaviors of each of the plurality of virtual machines; a detecting module, stored in memory, that detects, at the hypervisor while monitoring behaviors of the plurality of virtual machines and while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a behavior of one of the plurality of virtual machines that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors; a security module, stored in memory, that performs, in response to detecting the behavior that matches one of the signatures of preparatory behaviors while the plurality of virtual machines have simultaneous read-only access to at least one shared page frame, a security action to prevent the at least one of the plurality of virtual machines from perpetrating a successful rowhammer attack;”).
Conclusion
RODERICK . TOLENTINO
Examiner
Art Unit 2439
/RODERICK TOLENTINO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439