DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Horn (US 2023/0406072).
As to claims 1-3, Horn discloses an air conditioning apparatus for a motor vehicle comprising a refrigeration circuit path that comprises:
a compressor 11;
a condenser 12/13 configured to condense refrigerant fluid by heat exchange with an additional fluid;
parallel expansion valves 20-21
parallel evaporators 14-15 downstream of the expansion valves and configured to exchange heat with an environment or device; and
a bypass line 30 connecting a first node of the path downstream of the condenser 12/13 and upstream of the evaporators 14-15 with a second node downstream of the evaporators 14-15 and upstream of the compressor 11 (Fig. 3; note a first node that is at solid circles in the diagram upstream of valves 20-21, and a second node that is low pressure side of the compressor at element 25), the bypass line comprising a controllable valve 31 that is controllable to regulate a flow of refrigerant from the first node to the second node bypassing the evaporator.
As to claim 4, the controllable valve 31 is arranged in parallel with the expansion valves 20-21 (Fig. 3).
As to claims 5-7, Horn discloses an internal heat exchanger 17 configured to realize a heat exchange between the refrigerant fluid circulating between the condenser 12/13 and the first node and the refrigerant fluid circulating between the evaporators 14-15 and the second node 25, wherein the first and second nodes are downstream from a first and second section of the internal heat exchanger 17 (Fig. 3).
As to claims 11-13, Horn discloses a motor vehicle comprising the apparatus of claims 1-2, the vehicle comprising a passenger compartment and at least one electrical device (paragraphs 1 and 11), wherein the evaporators 14-15 are configured to subtract heat from the passenger compartment and the electrical device which comprises an energy storage (paragraph 39: evaporator 14 is an air conditioning evaporator; paragraphs 46-47: chiller 15 is for a cooling circuit as set forth in DE 10 2019 107 191 which discloses a cooling for a battery).
As to claims 14-20, Horn discloses the limitations of the claims for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn as applied above, and further in view of Chougale (US 2020/0408446).
As to claims 8-9, Horn teaches detecting a compressor suction temperature with sensor S1, does not explicitly teach controlling the valve 31 according to a target compressor suction temperature. However, Chougale teaches controlling such an evaporator bypass valve 124 according to a target suction temperature (paragraph 28). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Horn to control the bypass valve 31 in the manner as claimed and taught by Chougale in order to prevent undesirably high refrigerant temperatures at the compressor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn as applied above.
As to claim 10, Horn teaches that valve 31 can be proportionally controlled (paragraph 64) but is silent regarding a specific type of valve used. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to modify the valve 31 of Horn to be a proportional servo valve, since applicant has not disclosed that having a particular valve type solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected result, and it appears that the system would perform equally well with any valve capable of providing the desired flow capabilities.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763