DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to amendment received on 04/29/26. Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are examined herein.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “major axis” and “minor axis” when referring to the adaptor as recited in claims 9 and 10. Further, support needs to be provided for “first direction” as recited in claims 9 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones et al. (US 2021/045104).
In regard to claim 1, Jones et al. teaches a hard hat system comprising: a hard hat comprising: an outer shell, the outer shell comprising: an exterior surface; an interior surface defining a cavity sized to receive a head of a user (see annotated figure 15 below); and a crown portion configured to cover part of the head of the user (see annotated figure 15 below), wherein a bottom segment of the crown portion defines a lower circumference extending along the exterior surface of the outer shell (see annotated figure below); and a side accessory ridge positioned along the bottom segment (see annotated figure below), the side accessory ridge comprising a plurality of slots (see slots 84); and an adapter couplable to the side accessory ridge (adapter: 66), the adapter comprising: a connection tab (see connection tab in annotated figure below on different attachment and paragraph 0036); and a body comprising a first end and an opposing second end (see annotated figure below); an upper surface extending between the first end and the second end (see annotated figure below); and a lower surface opposing the upper surface and facing the connection tab (see annotated figure below); two or more adapter slots on the body between the first end and the second end (see slots in annotated figure below in adapter 66); wherein the adapter is configured to couple to and support two or more accessories (see accessories 132 in annotated figure 15 below and paragraph 0060).
In regard to claim 2, Jones et al. teaches wherein the plurality of slots of the side accessory ridge comprise: a first slot; a second slot; and a third slot, wherein the second slot is positioned between the first slot and the third slot (see slots/ports: 84 in annotated figure above).
In regard to claim 4, Jones et al. teaches wherein the two or more adapter slots comprise three slots (see three adapter slots in 66 in annotated figure above).
In regard to claim 5, Jones et al. teaches wherein the adapter is supported by side accessory ridge and interfaces against an upper edge of the side accessory ridge (see annotated figure 15 above, adapter 66 is interfacing against the upper edge of ridge).
In regard to claim 6, Jones et al. teaches wherein the adapter is supported along and is positioned against a lateral outer surface of the side accessory ridge (figure 15 shows adapter 16 is supported along a lateral outer surface of the side accessory ridge).
In regard to claim 9, Jones et al. teaches a hard hat system comprising: a hard hat comprising: an outer shell, the outer shell comprising: an exterior surface; an interior surface; and a crown portion comprising a bottom segment that defines a lower circumference extending along the exterior surface of the outer shell (see annotated figure 15 above); and a side accessory ridge positioned along the bottom segment (see annotated figure 15 above), the side accessory ridge comprising a slot extending downward, in a first direction (see slots 84, in figures 14 and 15, slop opening of first slot in which the adaptor is in extends in a first downward direction as seen by arrow 90 in figure 15); and an adapter couplable to the side accessory ridge (see adapter: 66 in annotated figure 15), the adapter comprising: a connection tab (see connection tab attached to attachment in annotated figure above and paragraph 0036), a body comprising a first end and an opposing second end (first/upper end of adapter 66 and lower/second end of adapter 66), a plurality of adapter slots on the body between the first end and the second end (adapter slots on 66 in annotated figure 16 above); each of the plurality of adaptor slots extending downward, along a minor axis of the body and in the first direction (see slots in adaptor 66 they extends in the same downward direction as arrow 90 on slot 84, which is the first direction: see figure 15); wherein the adapter is configured to couple to and support an accessory (accessories: 132, figure 15 and paragraph 0060).
In regard to claim 10, Jones et al. teaches wherein the adaptor further comprises a major axis extending between the first end and the second end (axis extending between first and second end as annotated in figure above), wherein the plurality of adapter slots extend through the body of the adapter between an upper surface of the body and an opposing lower surface of the body (see annotated figure above), wherein the upper surface of the body extends along the major axis of the body (upper surface extends along the major axis see annotated figure above).
In regard to claim 11, Jones et al. teaches wherein the adapter is supported by an upper portion of the side accessory ridge (see annotated figure 15 above, adapter 66 is supported by side accessory ridge).
In regard to claim 12, Jones et al. teaches wherein a bottom edge of the body of the adapter interfaces against an upper edge of the side accessory ridge (see adapter 66 body interfacing against the upper ride in annotated figure 15 above).
In regard to claim 13, Jones et al. teaches wherein the adapter is supported along a laterally outward facing surface of the side accessory ridge (figure 15 shows adapter 16 is supported along a lateral outer surface of the side accessory ridge).
In regard to claim 14, Jones et al. teaches wherein, when the adapter is coupled to the side accessory ridge, the connection tab of the adapter is positioned in the slot of the side accessory ridge (connection tab 86 as illustrated in annotated figure above attached to an attachment, as the attachment clip coupling attachment/adapter 66: paragraph 0036 and 0060 and the adapter 66 being positioned in the slots of the side accessory ridge: see annotated figure 15 above).
In regard to claim 15, Jones et al. teaches a hard hat system comprising: a hard hat comprising: an outer shell, the outer shell comprising: an exterior surface; an interior surface; and a crown portion comprising a bottom segment that defines a lower circumference extending along the exterior surface of the outer shell (see annotated figure 15 above); a brim extending radially outward and away from a portion of the lower circumference (see brim in annotated figure 15 above); and a side accessory ridge positioned on a lateral portion of the outer shell along the bottom segment (see accessory ridge in annotated figure 15 above), the side accessory ridge comprising a plurality of slots (see accessory ridge slots/ports: 84 in annotated figure 15 above); and an adapter couplable to the side accessory ridge (see adapter 66 coupled to accessory ridge in annotated figure 15 above), the adapter comprising: a connection tab (connection tab is in annotated figure above associated with accessory/attachment 64, which is connection tab/clip that is attached to accessory/attachment 66: paragraph 0038), wherein the connection tab extends downward in a first direction (connection tab as annotated above extends in a downward direction); and a body comprising a first end and an opposing second end (see annotated figure above); a plurality of adapter slots on the body between the first end and the second end (see adapter slots in annotated figure 15 above); wherein each of the adapter slots extends downward in the first direction (slots extend downward and sideways, see annotated figure above); wherein the adapter is configured to couple to and support an accessory (see accessories 132 coupled to adapter 66 in annotated figure 15 above).
In regard to claim 16, Jones et al. teaches wherein adapter body extends along an upper edge of the side accessory ridge (see annotated figure 15 above, adapter body 66 extend along upper edge of accessory ridge).
In regard to claim 17, Jones et al. teaches wherein the connection tab of the adapter is positioned in one of the plurality of slots of the side accessory ridge when the adapter is coupled to the hard hat, wherein the connection tab extends downward toward the brim (connection tab 86 as illustrated in annotated figure above attached to an attachment, as the attachment clip to attachment 66: paragraph 0036 and 0060).
In regard to claim 18, Jones et al. teaches wherein the plurality of adapter slots extend between an upper surface and a lower surface through the body of the adapter (see adapter slots in 66 in annotated figure above), wherein the lower surface of the body faces the brim (see lower surface in annotated figure above).
In regard to claim 19, Jones et al. teaches wherein the connection tab has a snap fit design (see connection tab in annotated figure above with three snap-fit prongs hat interact with ports/slots 84).
In regard to claim 20, Jones et al. teaches wherein the hard hat further comprises an opposite side accessory ridge positioned along the bottom segment, the opposite side accessory ridge comprising a plurality of slots (paragraph 0009).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 2021/0145104) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0153588).
Jones et al. teaches a hard hat system as described above in claim 1. However, Jones fails to specifically teach the connection tab engagement with the downward facing surface of the hard hat.
In regard to claim 7, Tsai et al. teaches a hard hat with an adaptor slot and spring clip attachment of an accessory, wherein the spring clip comprises an engagement surface that engages a downward facing surface of the hard hat (see figures 5 and 8, engagement surface 223 that engages downward facing surface of hard hat edge at 701).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the spring clip of Jones et al. with the spring clip of Tsai et al., since the spring clip of Jones et al. provided with an engagement surface that engages a downward facing surface of the hard hat would provide a spring clip that securely attaches the adaptor to the hard had so as not to become easily dislodged.
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2021/0153588) in view of Jones et al. (US 2021/0145104).
In regard to claim 1, Tsai et al. teaches a hard hat system comprising: a hard hat (700) comprising: an outer shell (paragraph 0002), the outer shell comprising: an exterior surface (see figures 4-5 and 7); an interior surface defining a cavity sized to receive a head of a user (see figure 4); and a crown portion configured to cover part of the head of the user (see figure 4), wherein a bottom segment of the crown portion defines a lower circumference extending along the exterior surface of the outer shell (see figure 4); and a side accessory ridge positioned along the bottom segment (accessory ridge: protrusion 7), the side accessory ridge comprising a slot (slot: 71); and an adapter couplable to the side accessory ridge (clamping plate: 12), the adapter comprising: a connection tab (snap arm: 2); and a body comprising: a first end an opposing second end (upper end and lower end of arm: 2); an upper surface extending between the first end and the second end (upper half of plate 12); and a lower surface opposing the upper surface and facing the connection tab (lower half of plate 12); two or more adapter slots on the body between the first end and the second end (see upper slot: 12 and lower slot: 13, figure 5), wherein each of the two or more adapter slots extends through the upper surface and the lower surface (see figures 3 and 5); wherein the adapter is configured to couple to and support two or more accessories (see figures 5 and 8, configured to couple two or more accessories as desired).
However, Tsai et al. fails to teach the slots on the accessory ridge comprising a plurality of slots.
Jones et al. teaches a helmet with an accessory ridge that comprises a plurality of slots (see figure 15 slots 84, paragraph 0008).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the accessory ridge of Tsai et al. with multiple slots as taught by Jones et al., since the accessory ridge of Tsai et al. provided with multiple slots would provide a helmet that can attach multiple accessories thereto at the same time or change the location of the accessory attachment as desired by the user.
In regard to claim 8, Tsai et al. teaches wherein the two or more accessories is configured to comprise a face shield and an earmuff (goggles is face shield and strap is earmuff, it is noted that the accessories are not being positively required of the claims).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jones et al. fails to teach the limitations as amended into amended claims 1, 9, 10 and 15.
As detailed above, Jones et al. teaches the amended limitations with respect to the upper surface, lower surface and downward directions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732