DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on December 02, 2024. Claims 1 – 2 have been cancelled. Claim 3 is new. Claims 3 is pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 02, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in The Republic of Japan on December 22, 2016.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0233048 A1 to ANDERSSON et al. (herein after "Andersson") in view of Japanese Patent No. JP 2017/182768 A to KURIHARA et al. (herein after "Kurihara").
(Note: Claim language is in bold typeface, and the Examiner’s comments and cited passages from the prior art reference(s) are in normal typeface.)
As to Claim 3, (New)
Andersson discloses a device (see Figs. 2, 5 - 7, ¶0013, and ¶0017; Andersson; a device 700),
configured to:
detect a target existing in front of a vehicle (see Figs. 2, 5, ¶0035, and ¶0087; Andersson; VRUs 200 may be detected by vehicle 100 cameras 110 positioned in the front and rear of the vehicle);
determine whether a type of said target is pedestrian and said target is in a travel lane of a road in which said vehicle is traveling (see Figs. 4A - 4B and ¶0054; Andersson; sensor 120 detects, analyzes, and classifies targets (objects), and makes determination if targets (objects) are pedestrians (VRUs 200));
execute, in a case where it is determined that said type of said target is a pedestrian and said target is in said travel lane (see Figs. 4A - 4B and ¶0054; Andersson; sensor 120 detects, analyzes, and classifies targets (objects), and makes determination if targets (objects) are pedestrians (VRUs 200)),
at least one of alert control to issue an alert (see Figs. 2, 5, 6 ~ process method step 604, ¶0017 - ¶0018, and ¶0058; Andersson; discloses issuing an audible alert where potential of clash of pedestrian (VRU ~ vulnerable road user) exists with vehicle) and automatic brake control to activate a brake device of said vehicle (see ¶0094-¶0095, ¶0130 and ¶0136; Andersson; discloses wherein control unit 310 detects a probable collision with a disclosed Vulnerable Road User ~ VRU 200 (i.e., a pedestrian, or other living being, etc.) and as a part of probable collision protocol, may further generate control signal instructions to perform a "full brake to standstill" to avoid collision).
While Andersson discusses at least one of said alert control and said automatic brake control (see ¶0090; Andersson; in order intervene and avoid a collision, vehicle 100 applies automatic braking when a pedestrian (VRU) is imminent relative to the position of the vehicle 100), Kurihara likewise discuses “a brake actuator 5 that automatically applies brakes” as taught in ¶0012; Kurihara. Emphasis added.
Kurihara is relied upon to disclose a device teaching when it is determined that a first width orthogonal in a plan view to a traveling direction of said vehicle and a width of said pedestrian overlap (see Figs. 2 - 4, ¶0006-¶0008, and ¶0018; Kurihara; Kurihara discloses a vehicle collision avoidance device teaching wherein a predicted track of a target having a width in a lateral direction that is orthogonal to a vehicle predicted track (driving direction) of an ego vehicle as illustrated particularly in Figs. 2, 4) execute, in a case where it is determined that said type of said target is a pedestrian and said target is not in said travel lane (see Figs. 2, 4, and ¶0064; Kurihara; widths in plan view being orthogonal as illustrated in Figs. 2, 4, where pedestrian (target) is not in said travel lane),
when it is determined that a second width, that is smaller than said first width, orthogonal in a plan view to said traveling direction of said vehicle and said width of said pedestrian overlap. (See Fig. 2, ¶0008, ¶0016, and ¶0020; Kurihara; discloses a proportional enlargement of the vehicle’s predicted track relative to a detected target with customized (curated), extensions of regions respective to the size and type of target (obstacle, i.e., pedestrian, etc.) that is identified. Thus, Kurihara teaches determining that a collision between the own vehicle and a pedestrian is predicted within a predetermined width range smaller than the vehicle width from the center of a region by recognizing a pedestrian crossing the street based on three judgment conditions, teaching wherein a vehicle’s predicted track has a second width smaller than first said width).
Andersson is analogous art to the claimed invention as it relates to pedestrian vehicle collision avoidance system in that it provides proportional enlargement of vehicle predicted track relative to a detected target (pedestrian ~ VRU200 of Andersson). Kurihara is analogous art to the claimed invention as it relates to collision avoidance system in that it provides where a predicted track of a target (i.e. pedestrian, etc.) having a width in a lateral direction that is orthogonal to a vehicle predicted track (driving direction) of an ego vehicle. (See MPEP § 2141.01(a) ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Andersson’s collision avoidance system with the vehicle predicted track calculation, as taught by Kurihara, to provide where vehicle predicted track has a predetermined width orthogonal to a travelling direction of said vehicle, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: pedestrian collision avoidance and/or mitigation; reducing nuisance activation of vehicle safety devices; and more reliable collision avoidance strategies.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Peter Nolan can be reached Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at (571) 270 – 7016. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ASHLEY L REDHEAD JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661