DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US 2017/0002279A1)
In regard to claim 1, Brown recites fuel production from FCC (i.e., fluid catalytic cracking) (title). The method comprises hydrocarbonaceous compositions provided on FCC processing of feeds, hydrotreatment of products from FCC processing and combinations [0005]. The process is directed to upgrading catalytic slurry oil to form naphtha boiling range and/or distillate boiling range and/or residual fuel products [0029].
The hydrocarbon feed comprises the catalytic slurry oil at about 25% to about 99% or 100% [0035]. The catalytic slurry oil has a T10 distillation point of at least 343℃, or at least 371℃ [0048]. The T90 distillation point is 566℃ or greater [0049]. The midpoint between T90 and T10 is T50 which is calculated to have distillation point of 454℃ or greater using linear regression analysis (i.e., halfway between 343℃ and 566℃) and which provides the third feedstock of the claim.
The feed can further comprise a feedstock (or feedstock compounds) for low temperature system, wherein the feed has a hydrogen content of at least about 12% or at least about 13.8% or at least about 14 wt. % up to about 16%, and can be present in the composition at amounts of about 15% or less, such as from about 0 to 15% or from 0.1 to about 8% by weight and which provides the second feedstock of the claim [0055 – 0057].
The feedstock can also comprise biooil such as pyrolysis oil (i.e., biomass oil) as an optional remainder ingredient and thus would be present in optional amounts of from 0 to likely not greater than 50%, which would be obvious, and which provides the biomass oil of the claim [0061 – 0063]. The oils are hydroprocessed and mixed with a catalyst prior to undergoing fluid catalytic cracking (FCC) to form the cracked fuel effluent of naphtha boing range [0065 – 0074].
In regard to claims 2 – 4, Brown teaches the composition having the components in amounts overlapping the claimed ranges.
In regard to claim 5, Brown teaches feedstock that can have a hydrogen content of 12% or higher as previously stated, and which overlaps the claimed range. Having combinations of feedstock having hydrogen content of 12% or more with those having hydrogen content of 14% or more would be obvious, as they are useful for the same purpose.
In regard to claim 6, Brown teaches the FCC feed can have substantially no aromatic content and thus allows for the co-feedstock useful for low temperature system to provide the claimed limitation [0059].
In regard to claims 7, 9, 10, Brown teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
In regard to claim 8, Brown teaches the co-feedstock for the low temperature processing can comprise a naphtha fraction [0130].
Conclusion
Please provide English abstract of the crossed-out NPL references from the IDS.
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771