DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to Application # 18/965,401 filed on December 2, 2024 in which claims 1-12 were presented for examination.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending, of which claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed December 2, 2024 and May 29, 2025 comply with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 C.F.R. § 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 refer “normal” wheels. This shall be interpreted as a wheel that is not a “failed wheel” as detected in claims 1 or 7, respectively. If this is not Applicant’s intended interpretation, the examiner recommends replacing this term with claim language that better defines the intended interpretation.
Claim 8 recites a method claim including the limitation “wherein, in the compensating for the insufficient cornering force, in response to a speed of the vehicle being greater than a threshold value, the processor is configured to control the driving device to reduce a driving force or controls the braking device to increase a braking force, and wherein, in response to the speed of the vehicle being less than or equal to the threshold value, the processor is further configured to control the steering device to additionally steer a normal wheel or control the driving device to increase a driving force.” (Emphasis added). Because neither claim 8 nor parent claim 7 include a limitation requiring the speed of the vehicle to be compared to a threshold value, the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation does not require the control device to control the driving device, braking device, or steering device as claimed. Further, even if such a limitation were present, only one of the two conditions would be required to be performed. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential) where the board held that when method steps are to be carried out only upon the occurrence of a condition precedent, the broadest reasonable interpretation holds that those steps are not required to be performed. (id. at *7). See, e.g., Ex parte Heil (PTAB 2018) (App. S.N. 12/512,669), at 6; Ex parte Frost (PTAB 2018) (App. S.N. 12/785,052) at 7; Ex parte Dawson (PTAB 2018) (App. S.N. 12/103,472) at 6; and Ex parte Candelore (PTAB 2017) (App. S.N. 14/281,158) at 5 (supporting the interpretation that “in response to” limitations are conditional).
Claim Interpretation—35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” “step,” or a generic placeholder, but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitations are not modified by functional language. Such claim limitations are: “steering device,” “driving device,” “braking device” and in claims 1-10.
Because these claim limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If Applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim limitation “wherein the processor is further configured to control the driving device to increase a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof installed in a different direction from a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” is awkward and confusing. (Emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim limitation “wherein the processor is further configured to control the driving device to reduce a driving force of the failed wheel or to reduce a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” is awkward and confusing. (Emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the processor is further configured to control the braking device to increase a braking force of the failed wheel or increase a braking force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” is awkward and confusing. (Emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an operation of controlling the driving device to reduce a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel” is awkward and confusing. (Emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, this claim includes the limitation “wherein the processor is further configured to control the driving device to increase a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof installed in a different direction from a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force.” (Emphasis added). The “thereby” clause is subject to two, mutually exclusive interpretations.
First, this clause may be interpreted as a statement of intended use of the control of the driving device. “An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Thus, under this interpretation, the compensation for insufficient cornering force would not actually be required, so long as the claimed control occurred.
Second, this clause may be interpreted to affirmatively require that the insufficient cornering force is compensated for.
“[I]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential). See also Ex parte McAward, Appeal 2015-006416 (PTAB 2017) (precedential) (affirming the holding in Ex parte Miyazaki).
Therefore, this claim is indefinite.
Regarding claim 4, this claim includes the limitation “wherein the processor is further configured to control the driving device to reduce a driving force of the failed wheel or to reduce a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force.” (Emphasis added). The “thereby” clause is subject to two, mutually exclusive interpretations.
First, this clause may be interpreted as a statement of intended use of the control of the driving device. “An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Thus, under this interpretation, the compensation for insufficient cornering force would not actually be required, so long as the claimed control occurred.
Second, this clause may be interpreted to affirmatively require that the insufficient cornering force is compensated for.
“[I]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential). See also Ex parte McAward, Appeal 2015-006416 (PTAB 2017) (precedential) (affirming the holding in Ex parte Miyazaki).
Therefore, this claim is indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, this claim includes the limitation “wherein the processor is further configured to control the braking device to increase a braking force of the failed wheel or increase a braking force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force.” (Emphasis added). The “thereby” clause is subject to two, mutually exclusive interpretations.
First, this clause may be interpreted as a statement of intended use of the control of the driving device. “An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Thus, under this interpretation, the compensation for insufficient cornering force would not actually be required, so long as the claimed control occurred.
Second, this clause may be interpreted to affirmatively require that the insufficient cornering force is compensated for.
“[I]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential). See also Ex parte McAward, Appeal 2015-006416 (PTAB 2017) (precedential) (affirming the holding in Ex parte Miyazaki).
Therefore, this claim is indefinite.
Regarding claim 6, this claim includes the limitations “control the driving device to reduce a driving force; or control the braking device to increase a braking force, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” and “wherein, in response to the speed of the vehicle being less than or equal to the threshold value, the processor is further configured to control the steering device to additionally steer a normal wheel or control the driving device to increase a driving force, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force.” (Emphasis added). The “thereby” clause is subject to two, mutually exclusive interpretations.
First, this clause may be interpreted as a statement of intended use of the control of the driving device. “An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Thus, under this interpretation, the compensation for insufficient cornering force would not actually be required, so long as the claimed control occurred.
Second, this clause may be interpreted to affirmatively require that the insufficient cornering force is compensated for.
“[I]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential). See also Ex parte McAward, Appeal 2015-006416 (PTAB 2017) (precedential) (affirming the holding in Ex parte Miyazaki).
Therefore, this claim is indefinite.
Regarding claim 7, this claim includes the limitations:
determining, by a processor, a failure in a steering device, a driving device, and a braking device installed on each of a plurality of wheels;
determining, by the processor, a location of a failed wheel;
calculating an insufficient cornering force of the failed wheel in response to a failure occurring in any one steering device among the plurality of wheels; and
compensating for, by the processor, the insufficient cornering force by controlling at least one of the steering device, the driving device, and the braking device installed on each of the plurality of wheels. (Emphasis added).
Specifically, the first limitation of this claim appears to require all three of the steering device, driving device, and braking device of all wheels of the plurality of wheels to fail. However, the second and third limitations appear to state that only a single wheel has a failure, contradicting the first limitation. Further, the third limitation appears to state that only one of the steering device, driving device, or braking device has a failure, also contradicting the first limitation.
Therefore, because this claim includes multiple contradictions, the examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite.
For purposes of examination, the examiner shall interpreted this claim as commensurate in scope with independent claim 1.
Regarding claims 8-12, these claims depend from claim 7 and, therefore, inherit the rejection of that claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al., US Publication 2023/0045749 (hereinafter Choi) in view of Hagiwara, US Publication 2022/0227354 (hereinafter Hagiwara).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a control apparatus of a four-wheel independent control vehicle, the control apparatus comprising “a plurality of wheels each installed with a steering device … and a braking device; and (Choi ¶¶ 41, 45-46, Fig. 1) where wheels 10a and 10c (i.e., a plurality of wheels) are shown on the vehicle 10, where wheel 10a is individually connected to electro-mechanical brake (EMB) 100 (i.e., a braking device) and steer-by-wire controller (SWB) 500 (i.e., a steering device) and wheel 10c is individually connected to a separate EMB 100 and rear-wheel steering controller (RWS) 400. Additionally, Choi discloses “a processor.” (Choi ¶ 93). Further, Choi discloses “wherein, in response to occurrence of a failure in any one steering device among the plurality of wheels, the processor is configured to: determine a location of a failed wheel” (Choi ¶¶ 45-46) where the RWS and SBW controllers report which controllers have failed. Moreover, Choi discloses “calculate an insufficient cornering force of the failed wheel” (Choi ¶¶ 79-87) by disclosing the process for which an understeer or oversteer event are determined, which is based on the cornering force as shown in the given formula. Thus, a determination of an understeer or oversteer event is a determination that there was insufficient cornering force. Finally, Choi discloses “compensate for the insufficient cornering force by controlling at least one of the steering device, the driving device, and the braking device installed on each of the plurality of wheels” (Choi ¶ 81) where the RWS and SBW controllers may determine corrective steering or braking measures to be implemented to compensate for the understeer or oversteer event.
Choi does not appear to explicitly disclose a plurality of wheels each installed with a steering device and, therefore, does not appear to explicitly disclose “a plurality of wheels each installed with a steering device a driving device, and a braking device.”
However, Hagiwara discloses a control apparatus of a four-wheel independent control vehicle, the control apparatus comprising “a plurality of wheels each installed with a … driving device, and a braking device” (Hagiwara ¶ 29, 127) where each of the four wheels include a separate motor configured to rotate the wheel (i.e., a driving device, Hagiwara ¶ 29) and a mechanical brake (i.e., a braking device, Hagiwara ¶ 127). Additionally, Hagiwara discloses “a processor.” (Hagiwara ¶ 55). Finally, Hagiwara discloses “wherein, in response to occurrence of a failure in any one steering device among the plurality of wheels, the processor is configured to: compensate for the understeer or oversteer event by controlling at least one of the steering device, the driving device, and the braking device installed on each of the plurality of wheels” (Hagiwara ¶¶ 37, 42, see also ¶ 91) by increasing the torque (i.e., a controlling the motor) to compensate for the understeer situation. (Hagiwara ¶ 37). Hagiwara continues by disclosing that the torque to all four wheels may be controlled. (Hagiwara ¶ 42).
Choi and Hagiwara are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of correction devices to mitigate understeer and oversteer of a vehicle.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Choi and Hagiwara before him or her to modify the wheels of Choi to further include the individual steering device of Hagiwara.
The motivation for doing so would have been that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such a modification would provide an additional safety option upon the occurrence of an understeer or oversteer event, which provides redundancy in the case of the other safety method of Choi failed.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein the processor is further configured to compensate for the insufficient cornering force by additionally steering the steering device of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof” (Choi ¶ 51) by controlling the steering of the vehicle in the event of a controller 300 failure.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein the processor is further configured to control the driving device to increase a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof installed in a different direction from a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” (Hagiwara ¶¶ 37, 42, see also ¶ 91) by increasing the torque (i.e., a controlling the motor) to compensate for the understeer situation. (Hagiwara ¶ 37). Hagiwara continues by disclosing that the torque to all four wheels may be controlled. (Hagiwara ¶ 42).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein the processor is further configured to control the driving device to reduce a driving force of the failed wheel or to reduce a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” (Hagiwara ¶ 215) by decreasing the torque (i.e., a controlling the motor) of the right front wheel.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein the processor is further configured to control the braking device to increase a braking force of the failed wheel or increase a braking force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” (Choi ¶ 44) by braking the vehicle when one of controllers 300 fails.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein, in response to a speed of the vehicle being greater than a threshold value, the processor is further configured to: control the driving device to reduce a driving force; or control the braking device to increase a braking force, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” (Choi, ¶¶ 81, 83, 85) by comparing the front wheel speed to the rear wheel speed and when the front wheel speed is greater than the rear wheel speed, an understeer state is determined, which may result in control of the braking device to increase a braking force. Further, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein, in response to the speed of the vehicle being less than or equal to the threshold value, the processor is further configured to control the steering device to additionally steer a normal wheel or control the driving device to increase a driving force, thereby compensating for the insufficient cornering force” (Choi ¶¶ 83, 86) by comparing the front wheel speed to the rear wheel speed and when the front wheel speed is less than the rear wheel speed, perform a steering control.
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses a control method of a four-wheel independent control vehicle, the control method comprising “determining, by a processor, a failure in a steering device … and a braking device installed on each of a plurality of wheels.” (Choi ¶¶ 41, 45-46, Fig. 1) where wheels 10a and 10c (i.e., a plurality of wheels) are shown on the vehicle 10, where wheel 10a is individually connected to electro-mechanical brake (EMB) 100 (i.e., a braking device) and steer-by-wire controller (SWB) 500 (i.e., a steering device) and wheel 10c is individually connected to a separate EMB 100 and rear-wheel steering controller (RWS) 400. Additionally, Choi discloses “determining, by the processor, a location of a failed wheel” (Choi ¶¶ 45-46) where the RWS and SBW controllers report which controllers have failed. Further, Choi discloses “calculating an insufficient cornering force of the failed wheel in response to a failure occurring in any one steering device among the plurality of wheels” (Choi ¶¶ 79-87) by disclosing the process for which an understeer or oversteer event are determined, which is based on the cornering force as shown in the given formula. Thus, a determination of an understeer or oversteer event is a determination that there was insufficient cornering force. Finally, Choi discloses “compensating for, by the processor, the insufficient cornering force by controlling at least one of the steering device, the driving device, and the braking device installed on each of the plurality of wheels” (Choi ¶ 81) where the RWS and SBW controllers may determine corrective steering or braking measures to be implemented to compensate for the understeer or oversteer event.
Choi does not appear to explicitly disclose a plurality of wheels each installed with a steering device and, therefore, does not appear to explicitly disclose “determining, by a processor, a failure in a steering device, a driving device, and a braking device installed on each of a plurality of wheels.”
However, Hagiwara discloses a control method of a four-wheel independent control vehicle, the control method comprising “determining, by a processor, a failure in … a driving device, and a braking device installed on each of a plurality of wheels; (Hagiwara ¶ 29, 127) where each of the four wheels include a separate motor configured to rotate the wheel (i.e., a driving device, Hagiwara ¶ 29) and a mechanical brake (i.e., a braking device, Hagiwara ¶ 127). Additionally, Hagiwara discloses “compensating for, by the processor, the understeer or oversteer event by controlling at least one of the steering device, the driving device, and the braking device installed on each of the plurality of wheels” (Hagiwara ¶¶ 37, 42, see also ¶ 91) by increasing the torque (i.e., a controlling the motor) to compensate for the understeer situation. (Hagiwara ¶ 37). Hagiwara continues by disclosing that the torque to all four wheels may be controlled. (Hagiwara ¶ 42).
Choi and Hagiwara are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of correction devices to mitigate understeer and oversteer of a vehicle.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Choi and Hagiwara before him or her to modify the wheels of Choi to further include the individual steering device of Hagiwara.
The motivation for doing so would have been that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such a modification would provide an additional safety option upon the occurrence of an understeer or oversteer event, which provides redundancy in the case of the other safety method of Choi failed.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein, in the compensating for the insufficient cornering force, in response to a speed of the vehicle being greater than a threshold value, the processor is configured to control the driving device to reduce a driving force or controls the braking device to increase a braking force” (Choi, ¶¶ 81, 83, 85) by comparing the front wheel speed to the rear wheel speed and when the front wheel speed is greater than the rear wheel speed, an understeer state is determined, which may result in control of the braking device to increase a braking force. Further, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein, in response to the speed of the vehicle being less than or equal to the threshold value, the processor is further configured to control the steering device to additionally steer a normal wheel or control the driving device to increase a driving force” (Choi ¶¶ 83, 86) by comparing the front wheel speed to the rear wheel speed and when the front wheel speed is less than the rear wheel speed, perform a steering control.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein in the compensating for the insufficient cornering force, the processor is configured to perform at least one operation of an operation of controlling the steering device to additionally steer a normal wheel and an operation of controlling the driving device to increase a driving force of the normal wheel installed in a different direction from a direction of the failed wheel” (Choi ¶ 51) by controlling the steering of the vehicle in the event of a controller 300 failure.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein in the compensating, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: an operation of controlling the driving device to reduce a driving force of the failed wheel; an operation of controlling the driving device to reduce a driving force of a normal wheel without any failure in the steering device thereof located in the same direction as a direction of the failed wheel; ” (Hagiwara ¶ 215) by decreasing the torque (i.e., a controlling the motor) of the right front wheel. Further, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein in the compensating, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: … an operation of controlling the braking device to increase a braking force of the failed wheel; an operation of controlling the braking device to increase a braking force of the normal wheel located in the same direction as the direction of the failed wheel; or any combination thereof” (Choi ¶ 44) by braking the vehicle when one of controllers 300 fails.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein, in the compensating for the insufficient cornering force, the processor is configured to control the vehicle to perform a cornering motion based on a corrected cornering force.” (Choi ¶ 87).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Choi and Hagiwara discloses “wherein the corrected cornering force takes into account the failed wheel” (Choi ¶ 44) by taking into account the failure when determining braking forces to apply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Kashiwamura, US Publication 2020/0254996, System and method controlling vehicle characteristics while cornering.
Wu et al., US Publication 2021/0094560, System and method for including individual motors for a plurality of wheels.
Kim et al., US Publication 2022/0001846, System and method for controlling the steering and drive of individual wheels during cornering.
Kanda et al., US Publication 2022/0219658, System and method for adjusting a vehicle’s speed during cornering.
Okubo et al., US Publication 2022/0306062, System and method for generating a braking force for a subset of wheels during cornering.
Yamada et al., US Publication 2023/0347896, System and method for increasing a vehicle’s torque when an oversteer event occurs.
Sato et al., US Publication 2025/0136178, System and method for increasing a vehicle’s speed when an understeer event occurs.
Lee et al., US Patent 9,950,703, System and method for independently controlling each wheel of a plurality of wheels.
How to Remove Oversteer and Understeer, January 9, 2019, Suspension Secrets, Pages 1-19, Describes various techniques to reduce oversteer and understeer.
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662