DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in FRENCH REPUBLIC on 12/05/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2313549 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 12-14 do not further limit the apparatus of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/16/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The Google Translation pages submitted do not include the text of documents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorbunov (“APPLICATION PROSPECTS OF NUCLEAR-OPTICAL CONVERTER MEANT FOR DETECTION OF NUCLEAR-REACTOR NEUTRON FLUXES”).
Regarding claims 1 and 12-14, Gorbunov teaches a neutron detector (Pg1, Introduction, first paragraph) comprising:
- at least one seal-tight ionization chamber in which optical transduction occurs, which chamber is called an OFC, acronym of optical fission chamber (Pg. 2, Structure of the Optical Neutron Detector), each chamber extending along a longitudinal axis (X) and comprising:
•a seal-tight hollow body bounding internally an optical cavity and comprising at least one inner wall coated at least partially with at least one layer of fissile material, the optical cavity being filled with a gas and which is capable of being ionized by an ion resulting from a reaction between a neutron and the fissile material (Pg. 2, Structure of the Optical Neutron Detector),
•a window, arranged at one of the longitudinal ends of the hollow body and configured to seal the optical cavity (Pg. 2, Structure of the Optical Neutron Detector; Pgs. 9 and 11-12),
•an optical lens, fastened by bonding to or integrally formed with the window, the optical lens being configured to focus photons received by the window (Pg. 2, Structure of the Optical Neutron Detector; Pgs. 9 and 11-12),
•a mirror, arranged at the other of the longitudinal ends of the hollow body, which end is opposite the longitudinal end where the window is arranged, the mirror being configured to reflect photons towards the window (Pg. 9),
- a detection head comprising a fibre-optic coupler comprising a plurality of optical fibres by way of inputs, said optical fibres being arranged in the focal plane of the lens, and output (Pgs. 1, 11, and 15).
Gorbunov does not teach the output being one optical fibre by way of output, in which optical fibre the optical signals received by the inputs are summed. However, the Examiner is taking Official Notice that fiber combiners are is well known in the optical fiber art to combine multiple optical fibers into a single optical fibers for the benefit of consolidating into a single fiber to save space and cost. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to include a fiber combiner such that one optical fibre by way of output, in which optical fibre the optical signals received by the inputs are summed for the benefit of consolidating into a single fiber to save space and cost.
Regarding claim 2, Gorbunov teaches the OFC is axisymmetric in shape and having a central axis (X) corresponding to the axis of longitudinal extension of the ionization chamber (for example Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Gorbunov teaches the hollow body of the OFC is a cylinder (for example Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Gorbunov is silent regarding the surface density ρmax of the fissile material; however, absent some degree of criticality it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the surface density ρmax of the fissile material is less than or equal to 2 mg/cm²,since it has been held thatwhere the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Gorbunov teaches the fissile material is selected from boron-10, lithium-7, isotopes of uranium-238, plutonium and neptunium (pg. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Gorbunov teaches the gas is selected from helium, neon, argon, krypton, or xenon (pg. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Gorbunov does not teach the material from which the window is made, is based on silica. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice that silica is a well known material used to make windows in optical systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the material from which the window is made, is based on silica, since it has been held to bewithin the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 8, Gorbunov does not teach the optical lens is a Fresnel lens. However, the Examiner is taking Official Notice that Fresnel lenses are very well known in the art to use in an optical system. Therefore, absent some degree of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the optical lens be a Fresnel lens to achieve the predictable result of directing light.
Regarding claim 11, Gorbunov teaches the detection head is fastened to the hollow body of the chamber (for example Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably suggest, along with the other claimed limitations, a neutron detector comprising: namely, at least one spacer arranged between the window and the hollow body and/or at least one spacer arranged between the mirror and the hollow body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jammes et al. (US 2023/0008739) teaches a neutron detector (1) comprising:
- at least one seal-tight ionization chamber (2) in which optical transduction occurs, which chamber is called an OFC, acronym of optical fission chamber ([0053]), each chamber extending along a longitudinal axis (X) and comprising:
•a seal-tight hollow body bounding internally an optical cavity (20) and comprising at least one inner wall coated at least partially with at least one layer of fissile material (6; [0058]), the optical cavity being filled with a gas and which is capable of being ionized by an ion resulting from a reaction between a neutron and the fissile material ([0020]; [0057]),
•a window (24), arranged at one of the longitudinal ends of the hollow body and configured to seal the optical cavity,
•an optical lens ([0031]) at the end of an optical fiber to increase collection efficiency of fiber ([0031]).
/CAROLYN FIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2884