DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the application filed on 12/02/2024, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_”, “L_” and “Pr_” are used to mean “column_”, “line_” and “paragraph_”.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 recites “an isolation snubber limiting an ozone gas concentration”. Paragraphs [0050] and [0060] of the originally filed specification, dated 12/02/2024, describes a snubber that prevents damage to pressure gauge 132 and vacuum switch 134 from ozone gas and from sudden shifts in pressure/vacuum in the system. The specification filed 11/22/2024 does not describe an isolation snubber as recited in Claim 16.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10 recites “the first is a ball valve”. For the purposes of examination, in light of the specification, this recitation is being interpreted to mean “the first valve is a ball valve.”
Claim 16 recites “an isolation snubber limiting an ozone gas concentration”. Paragraphs [0050] and [0060] of the originally filed specification, dated 12/02/2024, describe a snubber that prevents damage to pressure gauge 132 and vacuum switch 134 from ozone gas and from sudden shifts in pressure/vacuum in the system. For purposes of examination, interpretation of Claim 16 includes, but is not limited to, an interpretation that the isolation snubber limits exposure to ozone gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “an ozone generator” in the preamble and in line 2. It is unclear whether these refer to the same or different ozone generators.
Dependent claims not recited above require all of the limitations of independent Claim 9, and therefore are rejected for the same reasons set forth above.
Claim 10 recites “the first is a ball valve”. It is unclear to which component of Claim 9, upon which Claim 10 depends, “the first” refers.
Claim 16 recites “an isolation snubber limiting an ozone gas concentration”. Paragraphs [0050] and [0060] of the originally filed specification, dated 12/02/2024, describe a snubber that prevents damage to pressure gauge 132 and vacuum switch 134 from ozone gas and from sudden shifts in pressure/vacuum in the system. It is unclear whether the snubber limits ozone gas concentration, and if so, how?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus (Claim 1) and a method (Claim 9).
Regarding Claims 1-2, and 5, Burris teaches an ozone backflow arrester (C3/L51-54), comprising:
a reservoir (Fig. 1-2, C3/L8-13, chamber 18) operable to receive ozone from an ozone generator (Fig. 1-2, C3/L8-11, ozone generator 20) via an intake tube (Fig. 1-2, C3/L13-18, line comprising check valve 22);
a float switch (Fig. 1-2, C3/L28-32, float valve 27) in the reservoir;
a water level switch (Fig. 5, C6/L1-10, liquid level switch 57) in the reservoir; and
an injector (Fig. 1-2, C3/L18-25, pump 25) connected to the reservoir via an outtake tube (Fig. 1-2, C3/L13-18, line comprising mixer 19), wherein the injector is operable to inject the ozone into a fluid stream (C3/L18-25);
wherein when the float switch or the water level switch are activated, the system activates a purge mode of the ozone generator (Fig. 5, C6/L1-10, when liquid level drops, switch 57 initiates a treatment cycle (C3/L46-50, treatment cycle includes operating generator), so when switch 57 is activated, generator is not being operated).
wherein when both the float switch and the water level switch are activated, a valve (Fig. 1-2, C4/L13-17) automatically reorients to vent to the surrounding environment.
Burris does not teach a first valve in the intake tube, configured to change orientations to vent the ozone to a surrounding environment.
Ramsey also relates to a backflow arrester (abstract), comprising a first valve (Fig. 1, C5/L17-24, flow control device 10) in the intake tube (C5/L17-24, for attachment to liquid storage receptables (during refilling, see C2/L20-26)), configured to change orientations to vent gas to a surrounding environment (Fig. 2, C7/L23-28, valve ball 58 sealably rests on valve seat 55 when venting is not necessary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reservoir of Burris to initiate a treatment cycle at a desired liquid level within the reservoir (Burris, C6/L1-10), replenishing the liquid (Burris, C6/L30-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the backflow arrester of Burris to comprise a first valve of Ramsey, as demonstrated by Ramsey, to allow internal vapor or air to escape the reservoir as the liquid level rises (Ramsey, C1/L20-23), and also to prevent the introduction of dirty or tainted air into the reservoir (Ramsey, C4/L5-10).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: the first valve is a ball valve (Ramsey, C7/L23-28).
Claim 5: the reservoir includes a test drain plug (Burris, Fig. 1-2, C3/L34-37, drain 29).
Regarding Claims 9-10 and 13, Burris teaches a method for preventing water backflow into an ozone generator, comprising:
a reservoir (Fig. 1-2, C3/L8-13, chamber 18) receiving ozone from an ozone generator (Fig. 1-2, C3/L8-11, ozone generator 20) via an intake tube (Fig. 1-2, C3/L13-18, line comprising check valve 22);
an injector (Fig. 1-2, C3/L18-25, pump 25) injecting the ozone into a fluid stream (C3/L18-25);
detecting an activation of a float switch or a water level switch within the reservoir, and subsequently activating a purge mode of the ozone generator (Fig. 5, C6/L1-10, when liquid level drops, switch 57 initiates a treatment cycle (C3/L46-50, treatment cycle includes operating generator), so when switch 57 is activated, generator is not being operated); and
detecting and activation of both the float switch and the water level switch, and a first valve (Fig. 1-2, C4/L13-17).
Burris does not teach a first valve in the intake tube, configured to change orientations to vent the ozone to a surrounding environment.
Ramsey also relates to a backflow arrester (abstract), comprising a first valve (Fig. 1, C5/L17-24, flow control device 10) in the intake tube (C5/L17-24, for attachment to liquid storage receptables (during refilling, see C2/L20-26)), configured to change orientations to vent gas to a surrounding environment (Fig. 2, C7/L23-28, valve ball 58 sealably rests on valve seat 55 when venting is not necessary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the backflow arrester of Burris to comprise a first valve of Ramsey, as demonstrated by Ramsey, to allow internal vapor or air to escape the reservoir as the liquid level rises (Ramsey, C1/L20-23), and also to prevent the introduction of dirty or tainted air into the reservoir (Ramsey, C4/L5-10).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 10: the first valve is a ball valve (Ramsey, C7/L23-28).
Claim 13: the reservoir includes a test drain plug (Burris, Fig. 1-2, C3/L34-37, drain 29).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20150232357A1 (‘Moncrief’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus (Claim 3) and a method (Claim 11).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, the combination of Burris and Ramsey teaches the ozone backflow arrester of Claim 1 and the method of Claim 9, except the outtake tube includes a second valve configured to vent the ozone to the surrounding environment, and wherein when both the float switch and the water level switch are activated, the second valve automatically reorients to vent to the surrounding environment.
Moncrief also relates to an ozone backflow arrester (Fig. 3A-3B, [0076], post-generator valve 326 prevents backflow), including a second valve (Fig. 3A-3B, [0070], actuated ball valve 334).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ozone backflow arrester of Burris and Ramsey to include a second valve, as demonstrated by Moncrief, to allow internal vapor or air to escape the reservoir as the liquid level rises (Ramsey, C1/L20-23), and also to prevent the introduction of dirty or tainted air into the reservoir (Ramsey, C4/L5-10).
Claims 4, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above and over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) and in further view of U.S. Publication US20130224077A1 (‘Hinkle’) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20230125466A1 (‘Fuhrmann’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus (Claim 4 and Claim 19) and a method (Claim 12).
Regarding Claims 4, 12 and 19, the combination of Burris and Ramsey teaches the ozone backflow arrester of Claim 1 and the method of Claim 9, and the combination of Burris, Ramsey and Hinkle teaches the ozone backflow arrester of Claim 17, except that the float ball has a specific gravity of approximately 0.6 kg/m3.
Fuhrmann teaches a float ball having a specific gravity of approximately 0.6 kg/m3 ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the float ball of Burris and Ramsey to have a specific gravity of approximately 0.6 kg/m3, as demonstrated by Fuhrmann, in order to float on the fluid (Fuhrmann, [0044]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20050207951A1 (‘Lee’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus (Claim 6) and a method (Claim 14).
Regarding Claims 8 and 14, the combination of Burris and Ramsey teaches the ozone backflow arrester of Claim 1 and the method of Claim 9, except that the water level switch includes at least one impedance sensor.
Lee teaches a water level switch including at least one impedance sensor (Fig. 1, [0033], ozone sensor 80 sends control unit 40 a signal corresponding to the detected concentration of ozone. Fig. 5, [0051], ozone generating unit 20 is changed to standby mode if the concentration of ozone is above the set value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the water level switch of Burris and Ramsey to include at least one impedance sensor, as demonstrated by Lee, in order to halt the operation of the ozone generating unit if the concentration of ozone is determined as being above a set concentration, because the concentration of ozone may be harmful due to ozone discharged during operation of the ozone generating unit (Lee, [0051]).
Claims 7, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above and over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) and in further view of U.S. Publication US20130224077A1 (‘Hinkle’) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent US8163173B1 (‘Dellecave’) and U.S. Publication US20190105417A1 (‘Ditzler’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus (Claim 7 and Claim 20) and a method (Claim 15).
Regarding Claims 7, 15 and 20, the combination of Burris and Ramsey teaches the ozone backflow arrester of Claim 1 and the method of Claim 15, and the combination of Burris, Ramsey and Hinkle teaches the ozone backflow arrester of Claim 17, except that an end of the outtake tube is positioned along an inner wall of the reservoir and is oriented downwardly.
Dellecave teaches that an end of the outtake tube is positioned along an inner wall of the reservoir (Fig. 1, C4/L53-58, pipe 36 extends to venturi 38, including outlet 40).
Ditzler teaches that an end of the outtake tube is oriented downwardly (Fig. 1, [0015], pipe 134).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the end of the outtake tube of Burris and Ramsey to be positioned along an inner wall of the reservoir, as demonstrated by Dellecave, and to be oriented downwardly, as demonstrated by Ditzler, because Burris, Dellecave and Ditzler all involve ozone injection (Burris, C3/L13-18; Dellecave, abstract; and Ditzler, abstract).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20170089792A1 (‘Russell’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Burris and Ramsey teaches the ozone backflow arrester of Claim 1, except for an isolation snubber limiting an ozone gas concentration.
Russell teaches an isolation snubber (Fig. 1-2, [0027], pressure port body 110) limiting an ozone gas concentration ([0025], separate or isolate portions of the assembly from harsh or corrosive environmental conditions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ozone backflow arrester of Burris and Ramsey and the isolation snubber of Russell because uncontrolled fluid communication with these elements may compromise the integrity of these components by corroding or otherwise damaging the components (Russell, [0027]). Note that the pressure port body of Russell may be configured for use in communication with fluids including both liquids and gases (Russell, [0048]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent US5213773A (‘Burris’) in view of U.S. Patent US5398722A (‘Ramsey’) and in further view of U.S. Publication US20130224077A1 (‘Hinkle’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 17-18, Burris teaches an ozone backflow arrester (C3/L51-54), comprising:
a reservoir (Fig. 1-2, C3/L8-13, chamber 18) operable to receive ozone from an ozone generator (Fig. 1-2, C3/L8-11, ozone generator 20) via an intake tube (Fig. 1-2, C3/L13-18, line comprising check valve 22);
a float switch (Fig. 1-2, C3/L28-32, float valve 27) in the reservoir;
an injector (Fig. 1-2, C3/L18-25, pump 25) connected to the reservoir via an outtake tube (Fig. 1-2, C3/L13-18, line comprising mixer 19), wherein the injector is operable to inject the ozone into a fluid stream (C3/L18-25);
wherein when the float switch is activated, the system activates a purge mode of the ozone generator (Fig. 5, C6/L1-10, when liquid level drops, switch 57 initiates a treatment cycle (C3/L46-50, treatment cycle includes operating generator), so when switch 57 is activated, generator is not being operated).
Burris does not teach a first valve in the intake tube, configured to change orientations to vent the ozone to a surrounding environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the backflow arrester of Burris to comprise a first valve of Ramsey, as demonstrated by Ramsey, to allow internal vapor or air to escape the reservoir as the liquid level rises (Ramsey, C1/L20-23), and also to prevent the introduction of dirty or tainted air into the reservoir (Ramsey, C4/L5-10).
The combination of Burris and Ramsey does not teach a vacuum switch positioned between the reservoir and the injector, and configured to detect a loss of vacuum in the outtake tube.
Hinkle also relates to ozone injection ([0060]), including a vacuum switch (Fig. 1, [0059-0060], vacuum switch 44) positioned between the reservoir (Fig. 1, [0059-0060], lower half of branch 42B depicted below vacuum switch 44 in Fig. 1) and the injector (Fig. 1, [0059-0060], venturi system 50), and configured to detect a loss of vacuum ([0063-0064], detect ozone flowing) in the outtake tube (Fig. 1, [0059-0060], upper half of branch 42B depicted above vacuum switch 44 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ozone backflow arrester of Burris and Ramsey to include a vacuum switch, as demonstrated by Hinkle, so that ozone is generated only when needed (Hinkle, [0057]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 18: the first valve is a ball valve (Ramsey, C7/L23-28).
Conclusion
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779