DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 22 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 December 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herz (US 9,410,641 B2).
Claim 1:
Herz discloses a method of making a bending transducer, the method comprising:
applying a stress to a flat metal foil (110) to form the foil into a non-flat configuration (fig. 1B, col. 12, lines 5-10 and col. 16, lines 36-39); while the metal foil (110) is in in the non-flat configuration, attaching the metal foil (110) to a flat surface of a metal base plate (120) to form a chamber between the foil and the flat surface (fig. 1B, col. 12, lines 5-10); and while the metal foil (110) is in in the non-flat configuration and attached to the flat surface of the metal base plate (120), attaching a piezoelectric element (210) to the foil (fig. 2A, col. 14, lines 41-44), the piezoelectric element (210) being configured to change a distance between the foil and the flat surface of the metal base plate (120) (figs. 2A and 2B, col 14, line 41 bridging col 15, line 5).
Claim 10:
Herz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the metal base plate (120) includes at least one passageway (126, 128, 132, 142) through the metal base plate (120) from a side of the metal base plate (120) to the flat surface of the metal base plate (120) and wherein applying the stress to the metal foil includes providing a fluid flow through the passageway (126, 128, 132, 142) through the metal base plate (120) from the side of the metal base plate (120) to the flat surface of the metal base plate (120) while the metal foil is positioned on the flat surface (figs. 2A and 2B, col. 12, lines 25-39).
Claim 14:
Herz discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the fluid is a gas (col. 8, lines 29-32).
Claim 15:
Herz discloses the method of claim 10, wherein attaching the piezoelectric element (210) to the foil includes: providing a voltage to the piezoelectric element (210) to conform a shape of a surface of the piezoelectric element (210) to a shape of a surface of the non-flat configuration of the metal foil; and bonding the surface of the piezoelectric element (210) to the surface of the non-flat configuration of the metal foil while the voltage is applied to the piezoelectric element (210) (col. 4, lines 20-27 and col. 4, lines 33-42).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herz (US 9,410,641 B2).
Claim 1:
Herz discloses a method of making a bending transducer, the method comprising:
applying a stress to a flat metal foil (820) to form the foil into a non-flat configuration (fig. 8, col. 2, lines 58-63 and col. 16, lines 36-39); while the metal foil (820) is in in the non-flat configuration, attaching the metal foil (820) to a flat surface of a metal base plate (810) to form a chamber between the foil and the flat surface (fig. 8, col. 2, lines 52-63 and col. 16, lines 36-39); and while the metal foil (820) is in in the non-flat configuration and attached to the flat surface of the metal base plate (810), attaching a piezoelectric element (830) to the foil (fig. 8, col. 2, lines 52-63), the piezoelectric element (830) being configured to change a distance between the foil and the flat surface of the metal base plate (810) (fig. 8, col. 2, lines 52-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steinbach et al. (US 5,814,019).
Claim 2:
Herz discloses the method of claim 1; and, Herz fails to disclose the metal foil includes titanium. Instead, Herz discloses the metal foil may comprise metals or metal alloys (col. 16, lines36-39).
Steinbach discloses an implantable infusion pump (abstract) further comprising a metal foil including titanium (col. 3, lines 26-28). Steinbach further discloses the metal foil may be made of any metal including aluminum, gold, silver, titanium or platinum (col. 3, lines 26-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have swapped the generic metal of Herz for the titanium metal of Steinbach since it was known that generic metals and titanium are analogues for metal foils for pumps. See MPEP § 2143 B which describes the prima facie obviousness of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Labbe et al. (US 4,944,659).
Claim 3:
Herz discloses the method of claim 1; and, Herz fails to disclose the metal base plate (120) includes titanium. Instead, Herz discloses pump bodies and pump membranes may be made of metals, synthetic materials, or polymers or stack structures thereof.
Labbe discloses a piezoelectric disc element bonded to a diaphragm member forming one wall of a pump chamber (abstract) further comprising a base plate (31) including titanium (figs. 3a and 3b, col. 3, lines 33-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the method of making an implantable fluidic pump of Herz by providing a base plate including titanium as taught by Labbe in order to provide a bio-compatible metallic material (Labbe, col. 2, lines 60-63). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herz (US 9,410,641 B2).
Claim 10:
Herz discloses the method of claim 1; and, the embodiment reflected in fig. 8 fails to disclose the metal base plate includes at least one passageway through the metal base plate and applying the stress to the metal foil includes providing a fluid flow through the passageway. Instead, embodiment 8 discloses schematic drawings of a micro pump with a pump body (figs. 8, col. 2, lines 55-58).
Herz further discloses a micro pump includes a metal base plate having at least one passageway (126, 128, 132, 142) through the metal base plate (120) from a side of the metal base plate (120) to the flat surface of the metal base plate (120) and wherein applying the stress to the metal foil includes providing a fluid flow through the passageway (126, 128, 132, 142) through the metal base plate (120) from the side of the metal base plate (120) to the flat surface of the metal base plate (120) while the metal foil is positioned on the flat surface (figs. 2A and 2B, col. 12, lines 25-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the micro pump reflected in fig. 8 of Herz includes at least one passageway and applying the stress to the metal foil included providing fluid flow through the passageway (Herz, figs. 2A and 2B, col. 12, lines 25-39). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 11:
Herz discloses renders obvious the method of claim 10, further comprising attaching first portions of a perimeter of the metal foil to the flat surface of the metal base plate before the fluid flow is provided through the passageway (Herz, col. 2, lines 52-66). It would have been obvious that the joining of the pump chamber by laser welding is completed before the fluid flow is provided through the passageway given Herz discloses joining of the pump chamber by laser welding with no discussion of using the fluid flow to deform the membrane.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the method of claim 1, wherein applying the stress to the metal foil includes roll-milling the foil.
Claim 7:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the method of claim 1, wherein applying the stress to the metal foil includes clamping the metal foil to the metal base plate with a clamping force that is greater at a perimeter of the metal foil than at a center of the foil and that includes a force component directed radially inward from the perimeter to the center.
Claim 12:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the method of claim 11, further comprising attaching remaining portions of the perimeter of the metal foil to the flat surface of the metal base plate while or after the fluid flow is provided through the passageway.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bussmann et al. (US 12,404,849 B2) discloses a micromembrane pumping device. Richter et al. (US 2017/0226994 A1) discloses a pump having a piezo diaphragm transducer.
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726