DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S COMMENTS
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdrawal of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/PatentForms. The form may be filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system using the document description Internet Communications Authorized to facilitate processing. If applicant authorizes Internet communications, USPTO employees may respond to email and initiate communications with applicants via email.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the head abutment portion is at least partly hollow and is configured to secure an electrical cable, the electrical cable being configured for electrically connecting the at least one earcup of the headset” recited in Claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 2-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-6 and 8-12 recites “The headband for a headset according to claim 1,” and it should be “The headband for the headset according to claim 1,”.
Claim 7 recites “The headband for a headset according to claim 2,” and it should be “The headband for the headset according to claim 2,”.
Claim 13 recites “A headphone comprising a headband according to claim 1,” and it should be “A headphone comprising the headband according to claim 1,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second strap" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the parent claim 1 did not recited any "second strap".
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1-7 and 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,200,428. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 and 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,200,428 read into the pending claims 1-7 and 9-13 as shown in the table 1 below. The claims under examination are anticipated by U.S. Patent’s claims.
Table 1
Claim Under Examination (18/965488)
U.S. Patent No. 12,200,428
1. A headband for a headset, the headband being configured to carry at least one earcup of the headset, the headband comprising: a carrier; a first strap; and a wrapping, wherein the carrier is being curved to conform to a wearer's head, wherein the first strap is attached to the carrier at two attachment points, wherein the wrapping is being attached to the carrier and arranged to conceal the first strap, wherein the first strap and the wrapping together form a head abutment portion extending between the two attachment points and configured to abut to the wearer's head when the headband is worn by the wearer, and wherein at least one of the first strap and the wrapping comprises a flexible and elastic material configured to stretch along the length of the carrier between the two attachment points, thereby providing the head abutment portion configured to adapt to the shape of the wearer's head.
1. A headband for a headset, the headband being configured to carry at least one earcup of the headset, the headband comprising: a carrier; a first strap; a second strap arranged so that the first strap extends between the second strap and the carrier; and a wrapping, wherein the carrier is being curved to conform to a wearer's head, wherein the first strap is attached to the carrier at two attachment points, wherein the second strap is shorter than the first strap, wherein the first strap is shorter than the carrier between the two attachment points, wherein the wrapping is being attached to the carrier and arranged to conceal the first strap, wherein the first strap and the wrapping together form a head abutment portion extending between the two attachment points and configured to abut to the wearer's head when the headband is worn by the wearer, and wherein at least one of the first strap and the wrapping comprises a flexible and elastic material configured to stretch along the length of the carrier between the two attachment points, thereby providing the head abutment portion configured to adapt to the shape of the wearer's head.
2. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the headband further comprises a second strap arranged such that the first strap extends between the second strap and the carrier.
1. A headband for a headset, the headband being configured to carry at least one earcup of the headset, the headband comprising: a carrier; a first strap; a second strap arranged so that the first strap extends between the second strap and the carrier; and a wrapping, wherein the carrier is being curved to conform to a wearer's head, wherein the first strap is attached to the carrier at two attachment points, wherein the second strap is shorter than the first strap, wherein the first strap is shorter than the carrier between the two attachment points, wherein the wrapping is being attached to the carrier and arranged to conceal the first strap, wherein the first strap and the wrapping together form a head abutment portion extending between the two attachment points and configured to abut to the wearer's head when the headband is worn by the wearer, and wherein at least one of the first strap and the wrapping comprises a flexible and elastic material configured to stretch along the length of the carrier between the two attachment points, thereby providing the head abutment portion configured to adapt to the shape of the wearer's head.
3. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the first strap is formed from a non-stretchable material.
2. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein the first strap is formed from a non-stretchable material.
4. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the first strap has a length which is shorter than the length of the carrier between the two attachment points.
1. A headband for a headset, the headband being configured to carry at least one earcup of the headset, the headband comprising: a carrier; a first strap; a second strap arranged so that the first strap extends between the second strap and the carrier; and a wrapping, wherein the carrier is being curved to conform to a wearer's head, wherein the first strap is attached to the carrier at two attachment points, wherein the second strap is shorter than the first strap, wherein the first strap is shorter than the carrier between the two attachment points, wherein the wrapping is being attached to the carrier and arranged to conceal the first strap, wherein the first strap and the wrapping together form a head abutment portion extending between the two attachment points and configured to abut to the wearer's head when the headband is worn by the wearer, and wherein at least one of the first strap and the wrapping comprises a flexible and elastic material configured to stretch along the length of the carrier between the two attachment points, thereby providing the head abutment portion configured to adapt to the shape of the wearer's head.
5. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the wrapping comprises a fabric.
3. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein the wrapping comprises a fabric.
6. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the second strap comprises a material selected from a list of fabric, rubber, and/or silicone.
4. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein the second strap comprises a material selected from a list of fabric, rubber, and/or silicone.
7. The headband for a headset according to claim 2, wherein the second strap comprises a spring.
5. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein the second strap comprises a spring.
9. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the carrier and the head abutment portion contribute to a clamping force of the headband.
7. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein the carrier and the head abutment portion contribute to a clamping force of the headband.
10. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the carrier is formed from a rigid material formed in a U-shape.
8. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein the carrier is formed from a rigid material formed in a U-shape.
11. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the wrapping is wrapped around the first strap and the carrier.
9. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein the wrapping is wrapped around the first strap and the carrier.
12. The headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein any of the first and second strap are attached to the carrier via the wrapping.
10. The headband for the headset according to claim 1, wherein any of the first and second strap are attached to the carrier via the wrapping.
13. A headphone, comprising: a headband according to claim 1; and at least one earcup arranged at an end of the headband
11. A headphone for the headband according to claim 1 and at least one earcup arranged at an end of the headband.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Henderson et al. (Hereinafter Henderson) US-PG-PUB No. 2016/0212519.
Regarding claim 1, Henderson teaches
A headband for a headset (Figs. 1, 3 and 6 show a headphone 2 include headband), the headband being configured to carry at least one earcup (Fig. 1 shows an earcup assembly 16 and 18) of the headset as shown in Fig. 1, the headband comprising:
a carrier (Figs. 1 and 3 show an outer band 4);
a first strap (Figs. 1 and 5 show an elastic material 20); and
a wrapping (Figs. 1, 3 and 5 show a head cushion 21),
wherein the carrier (i.e. outer band 4) is being curved to conform to a wearer's head as shown in Fig. 6,
wherein the first strap (i.e. elastic material 20) is attached to the carrier (i.e. outer band 4) at two attachment points (Figs. 1 and 3 show a left sling arm 26 and a right sling arm 32),
wherein the wrapping (i.e. head cushion 21) is being attached to the carrier (i.e. outer band 4) and arranged to conceal the first strap (i.e. elastic material 20) as shown in Fig. 5 (Para. [0036], Lines 6-8),
wherein the first strap (i.e. elastic material 20) and the wrapping (i.e. head cushion 21) together form a head abutment portion extending between the two attachment points (i.e. left sling arm 26 and right sling arm 32) and configured to abut to the wearer's head when the headband is worn by the wearer as shown in Fig. 6 and Para. [0038]-[0040], and
wherein at least one of the first strap (i.e. elastic material 20) and the wrapping (*i.e. head cushion 21) comprises a flexible and elastic material configured to stretch along the length of the carrier (i.e. outer band 4) between the two attachment points (i.e. left sling arm 26 and right sling arm 32), thereby providing the head abutment portion configured to adapt to the shape of the wearer's head as shown in Fig. 6 (Elastic material 20 is pulled/lengthened when the headband is placed on the wearer's head, exerting tension, and returns to its former shape/length when removed from the wearer's head…..Para. [0031], Lines 6 and Para. [0038]-[0040]) *Note: the definition of “cushion” is an elastic body for reducing shock. (Retrieved from Internet <https://www.merriamwebster.com/dictionary/cushion#:~:text=Synonyms%20of%20cushion-,1,bodily%20part%20resembling%20a%20pad>.
Regarding claim 5, Henderson teaches
A headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the wrapping (i.e. head cushion 21) comprises a fabric (As shown in FIG. 5, head cushion 21 in one form factor is a fabric sleeve…Para. [0036], Lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 9, Henderson teaches
A headband for a headset according to claim 1, wherein the carrier (i.e. outer band 4) and the head abutment portion contribute to a clamping force of the headband as shown in Fig. 6 (In operation, the sling band 6 is positioned on the wearer's head when the user puts on the headphone 2. The elasticity of sling band 6 allows it to self-adapt (i.e., automatically conform) to the wearer's head, accommodating a variety of head sizes. In addition to altering in length to ensure a proper fit, the sling band 6 provides a resilient inner force against the user head to hold the headphone 2 securely in place, the resilient inner force in response to the elastic material being stretched upwards (i.e., outwards). The head cushion 21 rests against the wearer's head….Para. [0039], Lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 13, Henderson teaches
A headphone comprising a headband according to claim 1, and at least one earcup arranged at an end of the headband as shown in Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson in view of Seki US-PAT No. 5,574,795.
Regarding claim 3, Henderson teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Henderson does not explicitly teach that the first strap is formed from a non-stretchable material.
Seki teaches in Fig. 2 of a suspender member 9 is made up of an extendable section 10 and a pair of non-extendable sections 14 (Col. 4, Lines 5-8).
Henderson and Seki each disclose a headband. One of ordinary skill in the art could have integrated the suspender member is made up of non-extendable sections of Seki to the headband of Henderson. The resulting combined apparatus would yield predictable results of limiting the possible over-stretching of the first strap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the suspender member is made up of non-extendable sections of Seki with the headband of Henderson to yield the predictable result of limiting the possible over-stretching of the first strap.
16. Claims 6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson in view of Mobed et al. (Hereinafter Mobed) US-PG-PUB No. 2019/0356976.
Regarding claim 6, Henderson teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Henderson does not explicitly teach that the second strap comprises a material selected from a list of fabric, rubber, and/or silicone.
Mobed teaches that the front flap 306 is made from the elastic material (i.e. a material selected from a rubber, and/or silicone)….Para. [0039], Lines 1-8.
Henderson and Mobed each disclose a headband. One of ordinary skill in the art could have integrated the second strap made from the elastic material of Mobed to the headband of Henderson. The resulting combined apparatus would yield predictable results of allowing for a comfortable wear on or around the user's head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second strap made from the elastic material of Mobed with the headband of Henderson to yield the predictable result of allowing for a comfortable wear on or around the user's head.
Regarding claim 11, Henderson teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Henderson does not explicitly teach that the wrapping is wrapped around the first strap and the carrier.
Mobed teaches in Fig. 4A-4B of a headband cushion cover 210 is wrapped around the rear flap 304 and the headband 206 as shown in Fig. 4H.
Henderson and Mobed each disclose a headphone. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the wrapping wrapped around the first strap and the carrier of Mobed could have been substituted for the wrapping of Henderson because each the wrapping of Mobed and the wrapping of Henderson serve the purpose of providing an aesthetically pleasing look to the headphone. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing a comfortable wear on the user's head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the wrapping wrapped around the first strap and the carrier of Mobed for the wrapping of Henderson according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a comfortable wear on the user's head.
Regarding claim 12, Henderson teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Henderson does not explicitly teach that any of the first and second strap are attached to the carrier via the wrapping.
Mobed teaches in Fig. 4A-4B of any of the elongated rear flap 304 and elongated front flap 306 are attached to the headband 206 via the headband cushion cover 210 as shown in Fig. 4H.
Henderson and Mobed each disclose a headphone. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the first and second strap are attached to the carrier via the wrapping of Mobed could have been substituted for the wrapping of Henderson because each the wrapping of Mobed and the wrapping of Henderson serve the purpose of providing an aesthetically pleasing look to the headphone. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing a comfortable wear on the user's head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first and second strap are attached to the carrier via the wrapping of Mobed for the wrapping of Henderson according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a comfortable wear on the user's head.
17. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson in view of Andersen et al. (Hereinafter Andersen) US-PG-PUB No. 2020/0280801.
Regarding claim 8, Henderson teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Henderson does not explicitly teach that the head abutment portion is at least partly hollow and is configured to secure an electrical cable, the electrical cable being configured for electrically connecting the at least one earcup of the headset.
Andersen teaches in Fig. 3L of a data synchronization cable 368 extending through the hollow stem and the interior volume to electrically couple the first 304 and second earpieces 306.
Henderson and Andersen each disclose a headband. One of ordinary skill in the art could have modify the headband of Henderson with the hollow stem configured to secure the electrical cable, the electrical cable being configured for electrically connecting the earcups of the headphone. The resulting combined apparatus would yield predictable results of concealing the electrical cable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the headband of Henderson with the hollow stem configured to secure the electrical cable, the electrical cable being configured for electrically connecting the earcups of the headphone to yield the predictable result of concealing the electrical cable.
18. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson in view of Taniguch et al. (Hereinafter Taniguch) JP 2000032580 (For examination purports English Machine Translation of Taniguch would be use as cited reference).
Regarding claim 10, Henderson teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Henderson does not explicitly teach that the carrier is formed from a rigid material formed in a U-shape.
Taniguch teaches of a carrier is formed from a rigid material formed in a U-shape (Abstract, Lines 8-9).
Henderson and Taniguch each disclose a headphone. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the carrier formed from the rigid material formed in the U-shape of Taniguch could have been substituted for the carrier of Henderson because each the carrier of Taniguch and the carrier of Henderson serve the purpose of being wear on or around the head. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of allowing the headphone to be keep in place.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the carrier formed from the rigid material formed in the U-shape of Taniguch for the carrier of Henderson according to known methods to yield the predictable result of allowing the headphone to be keep in place.
Conclusion
19. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fan Tsang can be reached on (571)-272-7574. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694