DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, in line 1 of the claim, the word “wherein” should be inserted after “claim 1” for clarity. Additionally, the following word “comprising” should be changed to “comprises” so that the first line reads “The device according to claim 1, wherein the first portion comprises…” or similar. Similar changes should be made to claims 6, 7 and 8.
Regarding claim 9, the claim should comprise the “wherein” term similar to above, and the phrase “both being inert” should be changed to “are both inert” for clarity.
Regarding claim 10, the word “wherein” should be inserted after “claim 1” for clarity.
Regarding claims 15-19, the claims are objected to for the same reasons as those above with regard to the language and the addition of the word “wherein.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson et al. US 2011/0203995 and LaBorde et al. 2007/0287198.
Regarding claim 1, Persson teaches a device as seen in fig. 3 and fig. 4 including a first portion 45 comprising a protrusion and a first section of a compartment (top section) configured to contain a magnetic stirrer 41, and a second portion 43 comprising a groove and a second section of the compartment 44 configured to contain the magnetic stirrer, the protrusion and groove to form an interlocking system to removably interlock the first portion and the second portion with each other to give a closed state of the device, the device comprising a plurality of windows 46 configured to have a plurality of extractive materials (solid member A and solid member B (paragraph 0070) respectively disposed therewithin when the device is in the closed state. Persson does not explicitly teach the specific connection means between the first and second portion as being a plurality of protrusions and a plurality of holes and grooves.
LaBorde teaches a detection device comprising a top and a bottom 42, 8 which are connected together via protrusions 67 and holes 53 which interconnect to make the device complete. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of LaBorde with those of Persson in order to allow for quick and easy attachment of the top and bottom in a secure and aligned manner.
Regarding claim 2, Persson and LaBorde teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the extractive material as being in the form of a planar membrane as claimed. Persson does however teach the use of filters 24, 25 in an embodiment to cover windows at either end a similar device (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have relied upon the teachings of a filter or membrane for placement over the windows of the device in order to allow for the desired amount of filtering of substances for analysis and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, upon assembly, the magnetic stirrer is disposed in the compartment of Persson as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, the device of Persson, when combined with LaBorde would have a circular cross-section as seen in fig. 4.
Regarding claim 7, the device of Persson comprises four windows as seen in fig. 4 but does not explicitly teach at least six. An embodiment shown in fig. 5 however does teach at least six windows 53. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of fig. 5 with the embodiment of fig. 4 of Persson in order to provide additional flow holes to allow the fluid flowing therethrough to be better dispersed or controlled.
Regarding claim 8, in combination, the attachment means of LaBorde comprise at least 8 holes and protrusions which would be combined with Persson to connect the elements together.
Regarding claim 9, Persson and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for the material being inert with respect to the one or more analytes and matrices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any desired material including an inert one to ensure that any measurements made in the system were not from the device itself in order to avoid false readings, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 10, Persson and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for specific dimensions claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the device of any dimensions desired in order to fit in a sampling area for operation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 11-13, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson, LaBorde and Porter US 2018/0207863.
Regarding claim 11, Persson teaches a device as seen in fig. 3 and fig. 4 including a first portion 45 comprising a protrusion and a first section of a compartment (top section) configured to contain a magnetic stirrer 41, and a second portion 43 comprising a groove and a second section of the compartment 44 configured to contain the magnetic stirrer, the protrusion and groove to form an interlocking system to removably interlock the first portion and the second portion with each other to give a closed state of the device, the device comprising a plurality of windows 46 configured to have a plurality of extractive materials (solid member A and solid member B (paragraph 0070) respectively disposed therewithin when the device is in the closed state. Persson does not explicitly teach the specific connection means between the first and second portion as being a plurality of protrusions and a plurality of holes and grooves.
LaBorde teaches a detection device comprising a top and a bottom 42, 8 which are connected together via protrusions 67 and holes 53 which interconnect to make the device complete. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of LaBorde with those of Persson in order to allow for quick and easy attachment of the top and bottom in a secure and aligned manner. Persson and LaBorde do not explicitly disclose forming the device by a method involving 3D printing as claimed.
It was known in the art at the time of filing to produce solid objects and housings from 3D printing methods such as that taught by Porter. Porter creates a computer program (software, paragraph 0114) with specifications of a device, stores the computer program on a machine-readable medium such as the geometry files, and prints with a 3D printer in operable communication, the device from the file. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Porter with those of Persson and LaBorde in order to form the device via a method of 3D printing due to its low-cost and ability to create precise shapes for housings.
Regarding claim 12, Persson and LaBorde teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the extractive material as being in the form of a planar membrane as claimed. Persson does teach the use of filters 24, 25 in an embodiment to cover windows at either end a similar device (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have relied upon the teachings of a filter or membrane for placement over the windows of the device in order to allow for the desired amount of filtering of substances for analysis and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, upon assembly, the magnetic stirrer is disposed in the compartment of Persson as claimed. .
Regarding claim 15, the device of Persson, when combined with LaBorde would have a circular cross-section as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, in combination, the attachment means of LaBorde comprise at least 8 holes and grooves which would be combined with Persson. The device of Persson comprises four windows as seen in fig. 4 but does not explicitly teach at least six. An embodiment shown in fig. 5 however does teach at least six windows 53. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of fig. 5 with the embodiment of fig. 4 of Persson in order to provide additional flow holes to allow the fluid flowing therethrough to be better dispersed or controlled.
Regarding claim 18, Persson and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for the material being inert with respect to the one or more analytes and matrices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any desired material including an inert one to ensure that any measurements made in the system were not from the device itself in order to avoid false readings, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 19, Persson and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for specific dimensions claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the device of any dimensions desired in order to fit in a sampling area for operation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al. US 2008/0090305 and LaBorde.
Regarding claim 1, Day teaches a device for extraction of analytes including a first portion 22 comprising a plurality of protrusions (not seen) and a first second of a compartment 40 configured to contain a magnetic stirrer (paragraph 0076), a second portion 24 comprising a plurality of holes or grooves (seen in fig. 2) and a second section of the compartment 62 configured to contain the magnetic stirrer, the plurality of protrusions to form an interlocking system to interlock with the first portion and the second portion. The device comprising a window 50 configured to have an extractive material 70 disposed therewithin when the device is in a closed state. Although illustrated, Day does not explicitly teach the holes and protrusion in the manner claimed.
LaBorde teaches a detection device comprising a top and a bottom 42, 8 which are connected together via protrusions 67 and holes 53 which interconnect to make the device complete. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of LaBorde with those of Day in order to allow for quick and easy attachment of the top and bottom in a secure and aligned manner.
Day and LaBorde do not explicitly disclose a plurality of windows as claimed, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided more than one window in order to accommodate additional test elements or to allow for better viewing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 3, the magnetic stirrer of Day is disposed in the compartment as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, the device of Day has a body with a rectangular shape and rounded corners as seen in fig. 2.
Regarding claim 6, LaBorde teaches a raised edge 34 which mates with a depression 58,59 when assembled. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings LaBorde with the device of day to secure any test materials within the housing by using the raised edges and depressions as were known in the art at the time of filing for holding the elements in place securely during operation.
Regarding claim 7, Day and LaBorde do not explicitly disclose a plurality of windows as comprising six windows as claimed, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided any number of desired windows in order to accommodate additional test elements or to allow for better viewing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 8, in combination, the attachment means of LaBorde comprise at least 8 holes and protrusions which would be combined with Persson.
Regarding claim 9, Day and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for the material being inert with respect to the one or more analytes and matrices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any desired material including an inert one to ensure that any measurements made in the system were not from the device itself in order to avoid false readings, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 10, Day and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for specific dimensions claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the device of any dimensions desired in order to fit in a sampling area for operation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 11, 13 14 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day, LaBorde and Porter
Regarding claim 11, Day teaches a device for extraction of analytes including a first portion 22 comprising a plurality of protrusions (not seen) and a first second of a compartment 40 configured to contain a magnetic stirrer (paragraph 0076), a second portion 24 comprising a plurality of holes or grooves (seen in fig. 2) and a second section of the compartment 62 configured to contain the magnetic stirrer, the plurality of protrusions to form an interlocking system to interlock with the first portion and the second portion. The device comprising a window 50 configured to have an extractive material 70 disposed therewithin when the device is in a closed state. Although illustrated, Day does not explicitly teach the holes and protrusion in the manner claimed.
LaBorde teaches a detection device comprising a top and a bottom 42, 8 which are connected together via protrusions 67 and holes 53 which interconnect to make the device complete. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of LaBorde with those of Day in order to allow for quick and easy attachment of the top and bottom in a secure and aligned manner.
Day and LaBorde do not explicitly disclose a plurality of windows as claimed, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided more than one window in order to accommodate additional test elements or to allow for better viewing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). Day and LaBorde do not teach the claimed manner of forming the device using 3D printing.
It was known in the art at the time of filing to produce solid objects and housings from 3D printing methods such as that taught by Porter. Porter creates a computer program (software, paragraph 0114) with specifications of a device, stores the computer program on a machine-readable medium such as the geometry files, and prints with a 3D printer in operable communication, the device from the file. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Porter with those of Day and LaBorde in order to form the device via a method of 3D printing due to its low-cost and ability to create precise shapes for housings.
Regarding claim 13, the magnetic stirrer of Day is disposed in the compartment as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, the device of Day has a body with a rectangular shape and rounded corners as seen in fig. 2.
Regarding claim 16, LaBorde teaches a raised edge 34 which mates with a depression 58,59 when assembled. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings LaBorde with the device of day to secure any test materials within the housing by using the raised edges and depressions as were known in the art at the time of filing for holding the elements in place securely during operation.
Regarding claim 17, in combination, the attachment means of LaBorde comprise at least 8 holes and protrusions which would be combined with Persson. Day and LaBorde do not explicitly disclose a plurality of windows as comprising six windows as claimed, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided any number of desired windows in order to accommodate additional test elements or to allow for better viewing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 18, Day and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for the material being inert with respect to the one or more analytes and matrices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any desired material including an inert one to ensure that any measurements made in the system were not from the device itself in order to avoid false readings, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 19, Day and LaBorde disclose the claimed invention except for specific dimensions claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the device of any dimensions desired in order to fit in a sampling area for operation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to disclose the claimed method for fabricating the specific device claimed including the step of 3D printing the claimed structure and
the method further comprising:
disposing the plurality of extractive materials within the plurality of windows, respectively; and disposing the magnetic stirrer in the compartment, each extractive material of the plurality of extractive materials being in a form of a planar membrane, the first portion comprising a first main body and the first section of the compartment connected to one end of the first body, the first main body having a rectangular shape with rounded corners, the second portion comprising a second main body and the second section of the compartment connected to one end of the second body, the second main body having a rectangular shape with rounded corners, the device having a circular cross-section in the closed state, one of the first portion or the second portion comprising a raised edge around each window of the plurality of windows,
the other of the first portion or the second portion comprising a depression, corresponding in size to the corresponding raised edge, around each window of the plurality of windows, the plurality of windows comprising at least six windows, the plurality of protrusions comprising at least eight protrusions, the plurality of holes or grooves comprising at least eight holes, a material of the first portion and a material of the second portion both being inert with respect to the one or more analytes and the one or more matrices. The prior art cited above teaches similar devices but does not explicitly disclose the specifics of the device as it is constructed and therefore would not, in combination, disclose the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MARK A SHABMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855