DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 September 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests adding “the” into the phrase “wherein step of adding material”, so as to read --wherein the step of adding material-- (line 1), since this method step has already been claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tensile strength" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may be able to overcome this rejection by rephrasing to read --a tensile strength--.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the gauge of the material" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, it is unclear what material is being referenced by “the material” in line 2, since the only material that has been claimed is in the method step of “adding material to the transition”, and it is unclear if it is the gauge of added material that is doubled, or the gauge of original pillar material that is doubled by adding material to the transition.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the same material" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the microstructure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may be able to overcome this rejection by rephrasing to read --a microstructure--.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the transition area" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A transition has been previously claimed, but not a transition area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamada et al. (US 10486750 B2). Hamada et al. discloses a method of constructing a pillar (#100, 200) for a vehicle (figures 1A-7) comprising the steps of:
(claim 1) determining a minimum gauge (thickness) of the pillar (#100, 200; column 5, lines 20-61; figures 2, 5-7);
forming the pillar (#100, 200) out of the minimum gauge (thickness), the pillar including a body (main wall portion #121) and sidewalls (standing wall portions #122) extending transversely from the body at a transition (transition between main wall portion #121 and standing wall portions #122, including end edges #121a; column 5, line 20-61; figures 2, 5-7);
modifying the tensile strength of the transition (including adding patch member(s) #130, 140; column 4, line 64-column 10, line 2; figures 1A-7);
(claim 2) wherein the step of modifying the tensile strength of the transition includes adding material to the transition and increasing the tensile strength (including adding patch member(s) #130, 140, which has a tensile strength of 980 MPa or higher, to center pillar outer #120, which has a tensile strength of 980 MPa or higher; column 5, line 28-column 6, line 17);
(claim 3) wherein the step of adding material to the transition includes at least doubling the gauge (thickness) of the material (adding patch member(s) #130, 140 adds a sheet thickness of 0.8-3.0mm to the original sheet thickness of 0.8-2.0mm of center pillar outer #120; column 5, lines 28-61; figures 2, 5-7);
(claim 4) wherein step of adding material further includes adding the same material as the pillar (including steel sheet; discussed throughout specification);
(claim 6) wherein the step of modifying the tensile strength includes at least doubling the tensile strength (including adding patch member(s) #130, 140, which has a tensile strength of 980 MPa or higher, to center pillar outer #120, which has a tensile strength of 980 MPa or higher; column 5, line 28-column 6, line 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10486750 B2) in view of Bodin et al. (US 8292354 B2). Hamada et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the step of modifying the tensile strength includes changing the microstructure of the transition area to increase a distribution of at least one of martensite and austenite. Bodin et al. teaches a method of constructing a pillar (#11) of a vehicle, comprising modifying a tensile strength including changing a microstructure of an area to increase a distribution of at least one of martensite and austenite (Abstract; column 1, lines 15-22; column 2, lines 3-43; claims 1, 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of constructing a vehicle pillar of Hamada et al. to include changing a microstructure of an area to increase a distribution of at least one of martensite and austenite, as taught by Bodin et al., so as to provide an area with a higher proportion of martensite, thereby increasing tensile strength in that area (Bodin et al.: Abstract; column 1, lines 15-22; column 2, lines 3-43; claims 1, 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses methods of constructing vehicle pillars. Of particular note:
Honda (US 9260137 B2) discloses a method of constructing a vehicle pillar comprising determining minimum pillar gauge, forming the pillar out of the minimum pillar gauge, the pillar including a body, transversely extending sidewalls, and a transition, and modifying the tensile strength of the transition;
Frost et al. (US 10351175 B2) discloses a method of constructing a vehicle pillar comprising determining minimum pillar gauge, forming the pillar out of the minimum pillar gauge, the pillar including a body, transversely extending sidewalls, and a transition, and modifying the gauge of the transition;
Shimizu et al. (US 7070228 B2) discloses a vehicle pillar including hardening regions at transition areas between body and sidewalls of pillar;
Elfwing et al. (US 2014/0191536 A1) and Singh (US 11148725 B2) disclose a vehicle pillar including martensite and austenite material structure;
Hanakawa et al. (US 6474726 B1), Kunishi et al. (US 8419113 B2), Yasuyama et al. (US 10035324 B2), and Marquez Duran et al. (US 12752855 B2) disclose reinforcement panels for a vehicle pillar;
Obayashi (US 7815247 B2), Shimizu (US 9884653 B2), and Nakamoto et al. (US 10414440 B2) disclose a vehicle pillar with different tensile strengths for upper, central, and lower portions;
Higai et al. (US 11975764 B2), Higai et al. (US 11993311 B2), Higai et al. (US 12054113 B2), Higai et al. (US 12358563 B2), and Higai et al. (US 12637781 B2) disclose a vehicle pillar with resin at transition areas between body and sidewalls of pillar.
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614