DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202411442372X, filed on 10/15/2024 in China.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 12/02/2024 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. [US 2021/0033240].
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al., disclose a locking device (figures 1-12), comprising a bracket (BF, figures 6-8) and a support plate (200, figures 6-8) arranged opposite to each other, a side of the support plate facing away from the bracket being used for carrying a display unit (DP, figures 6-8), wherein:
one of the bracket and the support plate includes a first pin (a left pin 300, figures 7-8), and the other one of the bracket and the support plate includes a first switch (a left mount 100, figures 7-8), when the first switch is in a locked state (figure 7), the first pin is inserted into the first switch, and the first switch resists the first pin from being pulled out (figure 7);
one of the bracket and the support plate includes a second pin (a right pin 300, figures 7-8), and the other one of the bracket and the support plate includes a second switch (a right mount 100, figure 7-8), when the second switch is in the locked state (figure 7), the second pin is inserted into the second switch, and the second switch resists further insertion of the second pin (figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Choi et al. disclose wherein the support plate includes at least two support plates (220, figure 7).
Regarding claim 17, Choi et al., disclose wherein the first pin and the second pin are an integrally formed structure, and the first switch and the second switch are stacked along a direction in which the bracket and the support plate are relatively arranged (figure 7).
Regarding claim 18, Choi et al., disclose a display device (figures 1-12), comprising a locking device including a bracket (BF, figures 6-8) and a support plate (200, figures 6-8) arranged opposite to each other, a side of the support plate facing away from the bracket being used for carrying a display unit (DP, figures 6-8), wherein:
one of the bracket and the support plate includes a first pin (a left pin 300, figures 7-8), and the other one of the bracket and the support plate includes a first switch (a left mount 100, figures 7-8), when the first switch is in a locked state (figure 7), the first pin is inserted into the first switch, and the first switch resists the first pin from being pulled out (figure 7);
one of the bracket and the support plate includes a second pin (a right pin 300, figures 7-8), and the other one of the bracket and the support plate includes a second switch (a right mount 100, figure 7-8), when the second switch is in the locked state (figure 7), the second pin is inserted into the second switch, and the second switch resists further insertion of the second pin (figure 7); and
the display device includes a display panel (DP, figures 6-8), wherein the display panel is located at a side of the support plate away from the bracket.
Regarding claim 19, Choi et al., disclose a splicing method, comprising:
respectively attaching a plurality of display units (DP, figures 2 and 7-8) to their corresponding support plates (200, figures 6-8), wherein display surfaces of the display units are located on a side of the display units away from the support plates (figures 7-8);
detachably connecting each support plate to a bracket (BF, figures 1 and 7-8) from a side of the support plate away from a display unit (DP, figures 7-8), wherein one of the bracket and the support plate includes a first pin (a left pin 300, figures 7-8), and the one of the bracket and the support plate includes a first switch (a left mount 100, figures 7-8), and by inserting the first pin into the first switch and controlling the first switch to be in a locked state, so that the first switch locks the first pin and resists the first pin from being pulled out, one of the bracket and the support plate includes a second pin (a right pin 300, figures 7-8), and the other one of the bracket and the support plate includes a second switch (a right mount 100, figure 7-8), and by inserting the second pin into the second switch and controlling the second switch to be in the locked state, so that the second switch locks the second pin and resists further insertion of the second pin;
placing each of the display units on a same platform from a display surface side of each display unit (figures 2 and 6-8); and
by adjusting a locking height of the first switch to the first pin between each support plate and the bracket and a locking height of the second switch to the second pin, making the display surface of each display unit fit with the platform, thereby completing a splicing of each of the display units (figures 2 and 7-8).
Regarding claim 20, Choi et al., further disclose wherein adjusting the locking height of the second switch to the second pin between the support plate and the bracket comprises:
applying a magnetic field (paragraphs 0008 and 0024-0025) to the second switch and then removing the magnetic field to convert the second switch from the locked state to an unlocked state, thereby allowing the second pin to freely move in and out; and
after the display unit is attached to the platform under an action of gravity, applying the magnetic field to the second switch and then removing the magnetic field to convert the second switch from the unlocked state to the locked state via an intermediate state, thereby locking the second pin and resisting further insertion of the second pin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim 3 discloses the combination features of “wherein the first switch comprises a first frame, wherein the first frame is provided with a first through-hole, the first through-hole allows the first pin to enter and exit, the first frame has a first accommodating space, the first through-hole is affixed to the first accommodating space, and a distance between at least a portion of an inner sidewall of the first frame gradually narrows in a direction toward the first through-hole; an engaging member, wherein the engaging member is accommodated in the first accommodating space; and a first elastic member, wherein the first elastic member is accommodated in the first accommodating space, is located at a side of the engaging member away from the first through-hole, and abuts against the engaging member, wherein, when the first switch is in the locked state, the first pin passes through the engaging member and enters the first accommodating space, and the engaging member is accommodated in a space defined by the first pin, the first frame and the first elastic member to resist the first pin from being pulled out.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records. Claims 4-10 depend on the allowed claim 3.
The claim 11 discloses the combination features of “wherein the second switch comprises a second frame, wherein the second frame is provided with a third through-hole, the third through-hole allows the second pin to enter and exit, the second frame has a second accommodating space, the third through-hole is affixed to the second accommodating space, and an inner sidewall of the second frame includes a third inclined plane gradually narrowing in a direction away from the third through-hole; a clamping member, wherein the clamping member is accommodated in the second accommodating space, the clamping member includes at least two clamping parts, and each of the clamping parts is arranged around the third through-hole; and at least two sets of elastic assemblies, wherein the elastic assemblies are accommodated in the second accommodating space, the elastic assemblies and the clamping parts are connected one by one, the clamping parts are connected to the second frame through the elastic assemblies, and are held against the third inclined plane by the elastic assemblies, wherein, when the second switch is in the locked state, the second pin enters the second accommodating space through the third through-hole and is clamped by each of the clamping parts, the clamping parts are accommodated in a space defined by the second pin, the third inclined plane and correspondingly connected elastic assemblies to resist further insertion of the second pin.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records. Claims 12-15 depend on the allowed claim 11.
The claim 16 discloses the combination features of “wherein the first pin and the first switch form a first damping group, and the second pin and the second switch form a second damping group; when a single first damping group corresponds to a second damping group array formed by a plurality of second damping groups, a distance between a geometric center of the single first damping group and a geometric center of the corresponding second damping group array is less than a first predefined range; when two first damping groups correspond to a second damping group array formed by a plurality of the second damping groups, a distance between a center of a line connecting geometric centers of the two first damping groups and a geometric center of the corresponding second damping group array is less than a second predefined range; when a first damping group array formed by a plurality of the first damping groups corresponds to a second damping group array formed by a plurality of the second damping groups, a distance between a geometric center of the first damping group array and a geometric center of the corresponding second damping group array is less than a third predefined range; when a first damping group array formed by a plurality of the first damping groups corresponds to a single second damping group, a distance between a geometric center of the first damping group array and a geometric center of the corresponding single second damping group is less than a fourth predefined range; or when a first damping group array formed by a plurality of the first damping groups corresponds to two second damping groups, a distance between a geometric center of the first damping group array and a center of a line connecting geometric centers of the corresponding two second damping groups is less than a fifth predefined range.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hart [US 1,349,569] discloses a fastener;
Kim [US 2020/0205305] discloses display installation apparatus; and
KANNO et al. [US 2020/0389987] disclose image display device.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800