DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitations "the at least one hinge," “the upper portion,” and “the lower portion.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it will be assumed that claim 7 depends from claim 6 which possesses the requisite antecedents.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 depends from claim 7. Claim 7 is being interpreted as depending from claim 6. Claim 9 is identical to claim 6 and does not further limit claim 6. Claim 10 is likewise identical to claim 7 and fails to further limit claim 7. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For the purpose of examination, it will be assumed that claim 9 depends from claim 8.
Interpreting claims 7 and 9 as depending from claims 6 and 8 respectively is a good faith effort to arrive at the applicant’s likeliest intended claims. As claims 6 and 7 are identical to claims 9 and 10 respectively, it is also possible that the applicant intended either claim 6 or claim 9 to depend from claim 4 (as claim 7 presently recites). Therefore, claim 9 will alternately be interpreted as depending from claim 4 in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and *** are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon (US 11344032 B1), hereinafter Simon, in view of Triulzi (US 2486345 A), hereinafter Triulzi.
Regarding claim 1, Simon discloses an oven comprising:
a housing defining a baking chamber (“a portable or tabletop oven 10 may include an oven housing including a lower portion 100 and an upper portion 101 preferably constructed largely or entirely of stainless steel and/or other formed metal(s)” column 5, line 16) and a baking chamber opening, said baking chamber opening having a width dimension and a height dimension, wherein the width dimension is greater than the height dimension, and wherein said baking chamber opening is of sufficient size to allow a baking item to pass therethrough (“The baking chamber opening 118 may have a width dimension that is greater than its height dimension. The baking chamber opening 118 may also be of sufficient size to easily allow a baking item, such as a pizza, to pass therethrough into the baking chamber” column 5, line 41);
a support pan disposed within the baking chamber, said support pan having a plurality of openings provided about a central axis wherein said central axis extends in a direction that is substantially parallel to the height dimension of the baking chamber opening (“circular metal pan 166 may include… a plurality of generally trapezoidal shaped openings 167 formed in the metal pan central planar surface” column 6, line 66);
a baking stone supported by said support pan (“circular metal pan 166 may include an outer upward extending lip adapted to securely hold the baking stone 140” column 6, line 66);
a gas-powered burner disposed within the baking chamber below the support pan (“one or more gas-powered infrared burners 190 disposed within the housing lower portion 100” column 6, line 32); and
a motor operatively connected to the support pan, said motor configured to rotate the support pan about the central axis (“The rotary motor 160 preferably may be driven directly or geared to rotate a drive shaft 164 that is connected to a circular metal pan 166 supporting the baking stone 140. The drive shaft 164 may define the central axis for the baking oven 10” column 6, line 59).
Simon does not disclose wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor.
However, Triulzi teaches wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor (“Where no electrical current is available a spring wound motor, not shown, may be substituted for the electrical motor illustrated” column 3, line 56).
In view of Triulzi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor as is taught in Triulzi, in the oven disclosed by Simon because Triulzi states that the spring motor permits use where no electrical current is available. Therefore, incorporating a spring motor as in Triulzi will expand the usable environments for the oven of Simon.
Regarding claim 6, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 1 wherein the housing comprises:
an upper portion defining an entirety of the baking chamber opening (101);
a lower portion connected to the mechanically wound spring motor (100); and
at least one hinge connecting the upper portion to the lower portion, said at least one hinge adapted to permit the upper portion to pivot away from the lower portion (“the housing lower portion 100 and the housing upper portion 101 may be connected together with one or more hinges 134. In a preferred embodiment, two hinges 134 are employed. The housing lower portion 100 may include a hinge pedestal 104 for each hinge 134. Each hinge pedestal 104 may include a canted outer surface. The canted surface may differ from the vertical orientation of the rear wall 108 of the lower portion 100 by between 5-45 degrees. Each hinge 134 may include a guide strut 135 and a bias strut 136. With reference to FIG. 3, the hinges 134 may permit the housing upper portion 101 to pivot away from the housing lower portion 101” column 5, line 62).
Regarding claim 7, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 6 wherein the at least one hinge includes a biasing element adapted to maintain the upper portion in a pivoted away position relative to the lower portion (“The bias struts 135 may be adapted to maintain the housing upper portion 101 in a pivoted away position relative to the housing lower portion 100” column 6, line 6).
Regarding claim 12, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 1 further comprising a gas-powered curved back burner disposed within the baking chamber above and behind the support pan relative to the baking chamber opening (“A back burner 144 may be provided above the heat shield 117 between the baking stone 140 and the rear wall 108. The infrared burner 190 and the back burner 144 may be configured to disperse and burn propane gas, natural gas, or the like. The back burner 144 preferably may have a gently curved shape when viewed from above that is complimentary to the curved shape of the baking stone 140” column 6, line 38).
Regarding claim 13, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 12 further comprising a single gas valve connected to both the gas-powered burner and the gas-powered curved back burner (“Both burners 144 and 190 may operate off of one valve 146” column 7, line 43).
Regarding claim 14, Simon discloses an oven comprising:
a housing defining a baking chamber (“a portable or tabletop oven 10 may include an oven housing including a lower portion 100 and an upper portion 101 preferably constructed largely or entirely of stainless steel and/or other formed metal(s)” column 5, line 16) and a baking chamber opening, wherein said baking chamber opening has a width dimension and a height dimension, wherein the width dimension is greater than the height dimension, wherein said baking chamber opening is of sufficient size to allow a baking item to pass therethrough (“The baking chamber opening 118 may have a width dimension that is greater than its height dimension. The baking chamber opening 118 may also be of sufficient size to easily allow a baking item, such as a pizza, to pass therethrough into the baking chamber” column 5, line 41);
a baking stone disposed in the housing (“circular metal pan 166 may include an outer upward extending lip adapted to securely hold the baking stone 140” column 6, line 66); and
a motor configured to rotate the baking stone (“The rotary motor 160 preferably may be driven directly or geared to rotate a drive shaft 164 that is connected to a circular metal pan 166 supporting the baking stone 140. The drive shaft 164 may define the central axis for the baking oven 10” column 6, line 59).
Simon does not disclose wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor.
However, Triulzi teaches wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor (“Where no electrical current is available a spring wound motor, not shown, may be substituted for the electrical motor illustrated” column 3, line 56).
In view of Triulzi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor as is taught in Triulzi, in the oven disclosed by Simon because Triulzi states that the spring motor permits use where no electrical current is available. Therefore, incorporating a spring motor as in Triulzi will expand the usable environments for the oven of Simon.
Regarding claim 15, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 14 further comprising a gas-powered curved back burner disposed within the baking chamber above and behind the baking stone relative to the baking chamber opening (“A back burner 144 may be provided above the heat shield 117 between the baking stone 140 and the rear wall 108. The infrared burner 190 and the back burner 144 may be configured to disperse and burn propane gas, natural gas, or the like. The back burner 144 preferably may have a gently curved shape when viewed from above that is complimentary to the curved shape of the baking stone 140” column 6, line 38).
Regarding claim 20, Simon discloses an oven comprising:
a housing defining a baking chamber (“a portable or tabletop oven 10 may include an oven housing including a lower portion 100 and an upper portion 101 preferably constructed largely or entirely of stainless steel and/or other formed metal(s)” column 5, line 16) and a baking chamber opening, wherein said baking chamber opening has a width dimension and a height dimension, wherein the width dimension is greater than the height dimension, wherein the housing includes an upper portion and a lower portion, wherein said baking chamber opening is entirely defined by said upper portion, and wherein said baking chamber opening is of sufficient size to allow a baking item to pass therethrough (“The baking chamber opening 118 may have a width dimension that is greater than its height dimension. The baking chamber opening 118 may also be of sufficient size to easily allow a baking item, such as a pizza, to pass therethrough into the baking chamber” column 5, line 41);
at least one hinge is adapted to permit the upper portion to pivot away from the lower portion and wherein said baking chamber opening is of sufficient size to allow a baking item to pass therethrough when the upper portion is fully pivoted toward the lower portion (“the housing lower portion 100 and the housing upper portion 101 may be connected together with one or more hinges 134. In a preferred embodiment, two hinges 134 are employed. The housing lower portion 100 may include a hinge pedestal 104 for each hinge 134. Each hinge pedestal 104 may include a canted outer surface. The canted surface may differ from the vertical orientation of the rear wall 108 of the lower portion 100 by between 5-45 degrees. Each hinge 134 may include a guide strut 135 and a bias strut 136. With reference to FIG. 3, the hinges 134 may permit the housing upper portion 101 to pivot away from the housing lower portion 101” column 5, line 62);
a circular pan disposed within the baking chamber (“circular metal pan 166 may include… a plurality of generally trapezoidal shaped openings 167 formed in the metal pan central planar surface” column 6, line 66);
a baking stone supported by said pan (“circular metal pan 166 may include an outer upward extending lip adapted to securely hold the baking stone 140” column 6, line 66);
a gas-powered bottom burner disposed within the baking chamber below the pan (“one or more gas-powered infrared burners 190 disposed within the housing lower portion 100” column 6, line 32); and
a motor operatively connected to the pan, said motor configured to rotate the pan about a central axis (“The rotary motor 160 preferably may be driven directly or geared to rotate a drive shaft 164 that is connected to a circular metal pan 166 supporting the baking stone 140. The drive shaft 164 may define the central axis for the baking oven 10” column 6, line 59).
Simon does not disclose wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor.
However, Triulzi teaches wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor (“Where no electrical current is available a spring wound motor, not shown, may be substituted for the electrical motor illustrated” column 3, line 56).
In view of Triulzi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the motor is a mechanically wound spring motor as is taught in Triulzi, in the oven disclosed by Simon because Triulzi states that the spring motor permits use where no electrical current is available. Therefore, incorporating a spring motor as in Triulzi will expand the usable environments for the oven of Simon.
Claims 2-5, 9-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon, in view of Triulzi, and further in view of Willens (US 1496572 A), hereinafter Willens.
Regarding claims 2-5, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 1 wherein the mechanically wound spring motor includes:
a geared shaft operatively connected to the gear assembly and the support pan (“The rotary motor 160 preferably may be driven directly or geared to rotate a drive shaft 164 that is connected to a circular metal pan 166 supporting the baking stone 140” column 6, line 59).
Simon, as modified by Triulzi, does not disclose wherein the mechanically wound spring motor includes:
a vertical bevel gear;
a horizontal bevel gear intermeshed with the vertical bevel gear;
a helical spring operatively connected to the horizontal bevel gear;
a helical spring operatively connected to a gear assembly;
an outer housing;
a winding knob disposed outside of the outer housing;
a gear assembly operatively connected to the winding knob;
a spring operatively connected to the gear assembly.
However, Willens teaches wherein the mechanically wound spring motor includes:
a vertical bevel gear (“a bevel gear 16a in mesh with gear wheel 5b” page 4, line 25);
a horizontal bevel gear intermeshed with the vertical bevel gear (“a bevel gear 5b” page 4, line 23);
a helical spring operatively connected to the horizontal bevel gear (“The actuating means which I employ comprises superposed springs, 4a and 4b, best depicted in Figure 4” page 2, line 70);
a helical spring operatively connected to a gear assembly (“Springs 4a and 4b, as they unwind, actuate the gear wheel 7c” page 3, line 7);
an outer housing (“a case 1” page 1, line 77);
a winding knob disposed outside of the outer housing (“The outer end of shaft 16 which is, substantially, in engagement with case 1, is provided with a sleeve internally threaded to receive a crank 16c having at its extremity a freely moving grip piece of the usual form” page 4, line 38);
a gear assembly operatively connected to the winding knob (At least 16a and 5b);
a spring operatively connected to the gear assembly (4a and 4b);
a geared shaft operatively connected to the gear assembly and the support (“shaft 9 which, at its lower portion 9b is fluted to form gear teeth meshing with those of gear wheel 7c of the spring motor” page 3, line 39).
Simon, as modified by Triulzi, does not disclose the specific claimed spring motor. Willens teaches the claimed spring motor. The substitution of one known element (the generically recited spring motor of Triulzi) for another (the spring motor of Willens) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the spring motor taught in Willens would have yielded predictable results, namely, a manually wound motor for rotating a support Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Regarding claim 9, Simon, as modified by Triulzi and Willens, discloses the oven of claim 4 wherein the housing comprises:
an upper portion defining an entirety of the baking chamber opening (101);
a lower portion connected to the mechanically wound spring motor (100); and
at least one hinge connecting the upper portion to the lower portion, said at least one hinge adapted to permit the upper portion to pivot away from the lower portion (“the housing lower portion 100 and the housing upper portion 101 may be connected together with one or more hinges 134. In a preferred embodiment, two hinges 134 are employed. The housing lower portion 100 may include a hinge pedestal 104 for each hinge 134. Each hinge pedestal 104 may include a canted outer surface. The canted surface may differ from the vertical orientation of the rear wall 108 of the lower portion 100 by between 5-45 degrees. Each hinge 134 may include a guide strut 135 and a bias strut 136. With reference to FIG. 3, the hinges 134 may permit the housing upper portion 101 to pivot away from the housing lower portion 101” column 5, line 62).
Regarding claim 10, Simon, as modified by Triulzi and Willens, discloses the oven of claim 9 wherein the at least one hinge includes a biasing element adapted to maintain the upper portion in a pivoted away position relative to the lower portion (“The bias struts 135 may be adapted to maintain the housing upper portion 101 in a pivoted away position relative to the housing lower portion 100” column 6, line 6).
Regarding claim 11, Simon, as modified by Triulzi and Willens, discloses the oven of claim 9 further comprising a gas-powered curved back burner disposed within the baking chamber above and behind the support pan relative to the baking chamber opening (“A back burner 144 may be provided above the heat shield 117 between the baking stone 140 and the rear wall 108. The infrared burner 190 and the back burner 144 may be configured to disperse and burn propane gas, natural gas, or the like. The back burner 144 preferably may have a gently curved shape when viewed from above that is complimentary to the curved shape of the baking stone 140” column 6, line 38).
Regarding claims 16-19, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 14 wherein the mechanically wound spring motor includes:
a geared shaft operatively connected to the gear assembly and the support pan (“The rotary motor 160 preferably may be driven directly or geared to rotate a drive shaft 164 that is connected to a circular metal pan 166 supporting the baking stone 140” column 6, line 59).
Simon, as modified by Triulzi, does not disclose wherein the mechanically wound spring motor includes:
a vertical bevel gear;
a horizontal bevel gear intermeshed with the vertical bevel gear;
a helical spring operatively connected to the horizontal bevel gear;
a helical spring operatively connected to a gear assembly;
an outer housing;
a winding knob disposed outside of the outer housing;
a gear assembly operatively connected to the winding knob;
a spring operatively connected to the gear assembly.
However, Willens teaches wherein the mechanically wound spring motor includes:
a vertical bevel gear (“a bevel gear 16a in mesh with gear wheel 5b” page 4, line 25);
a horizontal bevel gear intermeshed with the vertical bevel gear (“a bevel gear 5b” page 4, line 23);
a helical spring operatively connected to the horizontal bevel gear (“The actuating means which I employ comprises superposed springs, 4a and 4b, best depicted in Figure 4” page 2, line 70);
a helical spring operatively connected to a gear assembly (“Springs 4a and 4b, as they unwind, actuate the gear wheel 7c” page 3, line 7);
an outer housing (“a case 1” page 1, line 77);
a winding knob disposed outside of the outer housing (“The outer end of shaft 16 which is, substantially, in engagement with case 1, is provided with a sleeve internally threaded to receive a crank 16c having at its extremity a freely moving grip piece of the usual form” page 4, line 38);
a gear assembly operatively connected to the winding knob (At least 16a and 5b);
a spring operatively connected to the gear assembly (4a and 4b);
a geared shaft operatively connected to the gear assembly and the support (“shaft 9 which, at its lower portion 9b is fluted to form gear teeth meshing with those of gear wheel 7c of the spring motor” page 3, line 39).
Simon, as modified by Triulzi, does not disclose the specific claimed spring motor. Willens teaches the claimed spring motor. The substitution of one known element (the generically recited spring motor of Triulzi) for another (the spring motor of Willens) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the spring motor taught in Willens would have yielded predictable results, namely, a manually wound motor for rotating a support Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon, in view of Triulzi, and further in view of Ricci (US 20150184865 A1), hereinafter Ricci.
Regarding claim 8, Simon, as modified by Triulzi, discloses the oven of claim 1.
Simon, as modified by Triulzi, does not disclose wherein the gas-powered burner includes first and second gas manifolds (The examiner points out that Simon discloses “one or more gas-powered infrared burners 190” column 6, line 32).
However, Ricci teaches wherein the gas-powered burner includes first and second gas manifolds (“pipe union or manifold 11b” paragraph [0084] and “union or manifold 10b” paragraph [0094]).
In view of Ricci’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the gas-powered burner includes first and second gas manifolds as is taught in Ricci, in the oven disclosed by Simon because Ricci states “The burner means comprise at least a first radiating element and a second radiating element which are independent of one another and which are configured to vary the temperature at the baking surface” (abstract). Therefore, including first and second manifolds will permit independent and therefore more nuanced control.
Regarding claim 9, Simon, as modified by Triulzi and Ricci, discloses the oven of claim 8 wherein the housing comprises:
an upper portion defining an entirety of the baking chamber opening (101);
a lower portion connected to the mechanically wound spring motor (100); and
at least one hinge connecting the upper portion to the lower portion, said at least one hinge adapted to permit the upper portion to pivot away from the lower portion (“the housing lower portion 100 and the housing upper portion 101 may be connected together with one or more hinges 134. In a preferred embodiment, two hinges 134 are employed. The housing lower portion 100 may include a hinge pedestal 104 for each hinge 134. Each hinge pedestal 104 may include a canted outer surface. The canted surface may differ from the vertical orientation of the rear wall 108 of the lower portion 100 by between 5-45 degrees. Each hinge 134 may include a guide strut 135 and a bias strut 136. With reference to FIG. 3, the hinges 134 may permit the housing upper portion 101 to pivot away from the housing lower portion 101” column 5, line 62).
Regarding claim 10, Simon, as modified by Triulzi and Ricci, discloses the oven of claim 9 wherein the at least one hinge includes a biasing element adapted to maintain the upper portion in a pivoted away position relative to the lower portion (“The bias struts 135 may be adapted to maintain the housing upper portion 101 in a pivoted away position relative to the housing lower portion 100” column 6, line 6).
Regarding claim 11, Simon, as modified by Triulzi and Ricci, discloses the oven of claim 9 further comprising a gas-powered curved back burner disposed within the baking chamber above and behind the support pan relative to the baking chamber opening (“A back burner 144 may be provided above the heat shield 117 between the baking stone 140 and the rear wall 108. The infrared burner 190 and the back burner 144 may be configured to disperse and burn propane gas, natural gas, or the like. The back burner 144 preferably may have a gently curved shape when viewed from above that is complimentary to the curved shape of the baking stone 140” column 6, line 38).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kunkle (US 1267423 A)
Born (US 1541472 A) “In Fig. 4, the casing 45 is shown as being provided with an exteriorly disposed crank 90 which is adapted to wind a spring motor within the casing the latter driving the member 46 in place of the electric motor shown in Fig. 3” page 3, line 80
Nassif (US 2494448 A) “If electric current is not available for operation of the motor, it may be replaced by a hand wound, clock spring motor or even a hand crank” column 4, line 61
Pomeroy (US 4330696 A)
Moreth (US 20100193500 A1)
Vrionis (US 2783705 A) “Another object of this invention is to provide a rotisserie with a manually wound spring mechanism to rotate the spit upon which the foods to be roasted are held” column 1, line 24
Fei (US 20190368745 A1) “Drive mechanism or motor 132, suitably comprised of a wind-able spring motor, allows for continued food rotation” paragraph [0028]
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762