DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dewald 2014/0209769 in view of Iaslovits 4,860,895.
Regarding claim 1, Dewald discloses a retainer (Fig 1) for a beverage container with a stem, comprising:
a base portion (Fig 1, #4);
a recess (annotated Fig 1 below) formed in the base portion (Fig 1, #4) or (Fig 1, #3 & #4);
a retainer cap (Fig 1, #2) coupled to the base portion (Fig 1, #4) or (Fig 1, #3 & #4) and covering the recess (annotated Fig 1 below); and
a flexible retainer (Figs 1-3, #11 & #12) [0025] disposed in the recess (annotated Fig 1 below) between the base portion (Fig 1, #4) or (Fig 1, #3 & #4) and the retainer cap (Fig 1, #2) (i.e. For the interpretation of the base portion (Fig 1, #3 & #4) the flexible retainer (Figs 1-3, #11 & #12) is between the bottom base portion (Fig 1, #4) and the retainer cap (Fig 1, #2)) and adapted to hold the stem, wherein the flexible retainer (Figs 1-3, #11 & #12) includes a retainer slot (annotated Fig 3 below) (void between #11 & #12) that forms opposing finger like portions (Fig 3, #11 & #12).
Dewald has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach wherein the opposing finger like portions are adapted to flex outwardly away from one another when the stem is pushed into the retainer slot.
Iaslovits discloses a retainer (Fig 1) comprising a retainer slot (annotated Fig 1 below) and opposing finger like portions (Fig 1, #14 & #16) that are adapted to or capable of flexing outwardly away from one another when a stem of a beverage container is pushed into the retainer slot (annotated Fig 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opposing fingers (DeWald, Fig 2, #11 & #12) of DeWald to be closer to each other so that they are capable of flexing outwardly away from each other when a stem of a beverage is pushed into the retainer slot (DeWald, annotated Fig 3 above) as taught by Iaslovits in order further secure the beverage container within the retainer or holder (Dewald, Fig 1) of Dewald at both the bottom of the beverage container and the stem of the beverage container.
In a second interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the opposing fingers (DeWald, Fig 2, #11 & #12) of DeWald with the opposing fingers (Iaslovits, Fig 1, #14 & #16) the substitution of one known set of opposing fingers for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 3, modified Dewald discloses the retainer wherein the recess (Dewald, annotated Fig 1 above) includes a relief portion (Dewald, annotated Fig 1 below) (left & right portion of the recess) adapted to allow the opposing finger like portions (Dewald, Fig 2, #11 & #12) or (Iaslovits, Fig 1, #14 & #16) flexible retainer to flex outwardly.
Regarding claim 5, modified DeWald discloses the retainer wherein the flexible retainer (Dewald, Fig 2, #11 & #12) (DeWald, [0025]) or (Iaslovits, Fig 1, #14 & #16) (Iaslovits, col 3, line16) is made of a flexible material.
Regarding claim 6, modified DeWald discloses the retainer wherein the base portion (Dewald, Fig 2, #3 & #4) includes a first slot (DeWald, Fig 1, #10) adapted to receive the stem.
Regarding claim 7, modified DeWald discloses the retainer wherein the retainer slot (DeWald, annotated Fig 3 above) (DeWald, void between #11 & #12) is substantially aligned with the first slot (DeWald, Fig 1, #10) and is adapted to receive the stem.
Regarding claim 8, modified DeWald discloses the retainer wherein the retainer cap (DeWald, Fig 1, #2) includes a cap slot (DeWald, Fig 1, #9) substantially aligned with the first slot (DeWald, Fig 1, #10) and the retainer slot (DeWald, annotated Fig 3 above) (DeWald, void between #11 & #12) and that is adapted to receive the stem.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dewald 2014/0209769 and Iaslovits 4,860,895; and further in view of Sorrells 8,439,200.
Regarding claim 2, modified Dewald has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach the retainer wherein the base portion is part of a table, a tray, or a storage container.
Sorrells discloses a retainer (Fig 1, #13) comprising a base portion (Fig 1, #13) that is part of a tray (Fig 1, #10) or a storage container (Fig 1, #10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the retainer (DeWald, Fig 1) of modified DeWald in the tray (Sorrells, Fig 1, #10) of Sorrells in order to easily transport the retainer (DeWald, Fig 1) of modified DeWald from one location to another along with other beverage items.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dewald 2014/0209769 and Iaslovits 4,860,895; and further in view of Scharfe 9,132,932.
Regarding claim 2, modified Dewald has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach the retainer wherein the base portion is part of a table, a tray, or a storage container.
Scharfe discloses a retainer (Fig 1, #6, #10b, & #13) comprising a base portion (Fig 1, #10b) that is part of a tray (Fig 1, #1) or a storage container (Fig 1, #1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the retainer (DeWald, Fig 1) of modified DeWald in a tray (Scharfe, Fig 1, #1) of Scharfe in order to easily transport the retainer (DeWald, Fig 1) of modified DeWald from one location to another along with other beverage items.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN K BARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631