DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 12/02/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 lines 4 states “wherein and”.
Claim 8 lines 4-5 repeats the phrase ”a first temperature.”
Claim 8 line 6 states “aor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. KR20230140436 (henceforth referred to as Shin) in view of Leung et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0049415 (henceforth referred to as Leung).
As to claim 1, Shin teaches a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a cabinet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0073]);
an inner casing providing an accommodating space where laundry is hung (FIG. 2 paragraph [0082] an inner case 200 that has a receiving space 220);
a door configured to open and close the accommodating space (FIGS. 1-2 paragraph [0073] door 120);
a circulation duct forming a flow channel where air inside the inner casing circulates (paragraph [0136] circulation duct 320);
a heat supply part configured to heat air and supply heated air into the inner casing (paragraph [0036] heat supply section 340);
a steam iron disposed inside the cabinet and withdrawable toward the inner casing or the door (FIG. 3 paragraph [0131] steam iron 1300 must be pulled from the machine room to the inner case 200 or the clothing mounted on the door 120); and
wherein the steam supply part is set to supply steam at a higher pressure to the steam iron (paragraphs [0441]-[0442] the high-pressure pump 2200 can operate the pressure of the steam generating unit 2100 to reach the reference pressure, the reference pressure being 2 to 3 bar higher than atmospheric pressure. Paragraph [0415] the heating generating unit 2100 supplies heat and steam to the steam iron 1300.) than to the inside of the inner casing (paragraphs [0289] and [0464] when refresh module T is operating, pump 881 can run at a pressure to supply water to the steam supply unit 800 or steam nozzle 900).
Shin differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a steam supply part configured to selectively supply steam to the inside of the inner casing and the steam iron.
Leung teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0044] garment treatment device 10). Leung teaches a steam supply part (FIG. 3 paragraph [0048] steam generator 36) configured to selectively supply steam to the inside of the inner casing and the steam iron (paragraph [0047] – [0048] and [0053] steam generator 36 are in selective fluid communication with ports 24, 26, wherein the handheld steam nozzle 48 may be fluidly connected to the second port 26 and the garment bag (which reads on the inner casing) is connected to port 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Shin with a way to selectively supply steam as taught by Leung in order to control whether the steam is supplied to the chamber to treat the whole garment or to the steam iron to treat spot-treat the clothing.
As to claim 2, Shin and Leung further teach the steam supply part includes:
a heating part connected to both the inside of the inner casing and the steam iron and provide to heat water (Leung FIG. 3 steam generator 36 is connected to ports 24, 26. Shin paragraph [0252] steam supply unit includes a heater unit 840 which can heat the water and generate steam); and
a valve assembly configured to allow the heating part to be selectively in communication with one of the inner casing and the steam iron (Leung paragraph [0047] ports 24, 26 may be formed as valves).
As to claim 3, Shin and Leung further teach the heating part includes: a guide pipe transmitting steam into the inner casing (Leung FIG. 2 paragraph [0047] tubing 28 allows steam to flow into the garment bag); and
a cable transmitting steam to the steam iron (Leung FIG. 6 paragraph [0053] tubing 50 or Shin paragraph [0415] cable 1400 can transmit steam to the steam iron 1300), wherein the valve assembly is configured to selectively open and close the guide pipe and the cable (Leung paragraph [0047] – [0048] and [0053] steam generator 36 are in selective fluid communication with ports 24, 26).
As to claim 5, Shin and Leung further teach the valve assembly (Leung paragraph [0047] ports 24, 26 may be formed as valves) is controlled to: discharge steam generated in the heating part as it is to the guide pipe (Shin paragraphs [0289] and [0464] when refresh module T is operating, pump 881 can run at a pressure to supply water to the steam supply unit 800 or steam nozzle 900); and
discharge steam to the cable in case that steam generated in the heating part is further pressurized or further heated (Shin paragraphs [0441]-[0442] the high-pressure pump 2200 can operate the pressure of the steam generating unit 2100 to reach the reference pressure, the reference pressure being 2 to 3 bar higher than atmospheric pressure. Paragraph [0415] the heating generating unit 2100 supplies heat and steam to the steam iron 1300. The pressure of the steam supplied to the steam iron is higher than the inner casing).
As to claim 9, Leung further teaches a branch pipe coupled to the heating part, wherein the guide pipe and the cable are coupled to the branch pipe (See following figure), wherein the valve assembly is disposed on the branch pipe to open and close the guide pipe and the cable (paragraph [0059] valve 56 enables steam to flow to the handheld steam nozzle 48 or garment bag 18).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Branch pipe)]
As to claim 10, Shin further teaches the valve assembly is controlled to: close the guide pipe when the door is opened (paragraph [0046] when the door is opened, the refresh module can be set to be blocked from operation); and close the cable when the door is closed (paragraphs [0047] and [0616] the iron module is configured to operate only when the door is open. When the door is closed steam iron is set to stop or be blocked from operating).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that if the door is open, the steam supplied to the guide pipe would be closed as the refresh module would not be operable. In this same manner, if the door is closed, then the steam supplied to the cable would be closed as the steam iron would not be operable.
As to claim 11, Shin further teaches the heating part is operated regardless of the opening and the closing of the door (paragraph [0135] refresh module supplies hot air or steam inside the inner case 200 and paragraph [0369] steam iron 1300 supplies heat or steam. If both the refresh module and the steam iron supply hot air or steam, then the heater would be functioning whether the door was opened or closed).
As to claim 12, Shin and Leung further teach a water supply tank seated in front of the circulation duct (Shin FIGS. 3 and 9 water supply tank 301 sits in front of circulation duct 320), wherein the steam generator is configured to receive water from the water supply tank and generate steam (Shin paragraph [0230] the steam supply unit receives water from a water tank) to be supplied to the inner casing and the steam iron (Shin’s steam generator can supply steam to the inner casing and steam iron of Leung (Leung paragraph [0047] – [0048] and [0053])).
As to claim 13, Shin and Leung further teach a water supply pump configured to supply water stored in the water supply tank to the heating part (Leung FIG. 3 paragraph [0048] pump 34 is in fluid communication with the water reservoir 16 and steam generator 36), wherein the water supply pump is configured to supply water at a higher pressure when steam is supplied to the steam iron (Shin paragraph [0441] the high-pressure pump 2200 can operate the pressure of the steam generating unit 2100 to reach the reference pressure. Paragraph [0415] the heating generating unit 2100 supplies heat and steam to the steam iron 1300.) than when steam is supplied to the inner casing (paragraphs [0289] and [0464] when refresh module T is operating, pump 881 can run at a pressure).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to supply a higher pressure to the steam iron as pressure would be lost over the length of the hose.
As to claim 14, Shin further teaches the steam supply part is configured to supply steam at a pressure corresponding to an atmospheric pressure into the inner casing (paragraphs [0289] and [0464] when refresh module T is operating, pump 881 can run at a pressure), but supply steam at a pressure higher than the atmospheric pressure to the steam iron (paragraphs [0441]-[0442] the high-pressure pump 2200 can operate the pressure of the steam generating unit 2100 to reach the reference pressure, the reference pressure being 2 to 3 bar higher than atmospheric pressure. Paragraph [0415] the heating generating unit 2100 supplies heat and steam to the steam iron 1300.).
Shin teaches that the pressure of the steam supplied to the steam iron is high and merely states that the steam supplied to the inner casing is at a pressure, which suggests that the pressure of the steam supplied to the inner casing and the steam iron are different. Since the pressure of the steam supplied to the inner casing is lower than the pressure of the steam being supplied to the steam iron, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply atmospheric pressure to the steam as it is the most commonly known pressure.
As to claim 15, Shin further teaches the steam iron is configured to supply steam at a pressure of at least two or three times the atmospheric pressure (paragraph [0442] the reference pressure being 2 to 3 bar higher than atmospheric pressure).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. KR20230140436 (henceforth referred to as Shin) and Leung et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0049415 (henceforth referred to as Leung) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Couet et al. EP2423581 (henceforth referred to as Couet).
As to claim 6, Shin and Leung further teach the heating part further includes:
an accommodating body accommodating therein water (Shin paragraph [0420] the steam generating unit 2100 has a steam container) and in communication with the guide pipe and the cable (Leung paragraph [0047] – [0048] and [0053] steam generator 36 are in selective fluid communication with ports 24, 26, which communicate with tubing 28 and hose 50, respectively);
a heater coupled to the accommodating body and configured to heat water (Shin paragraph [0420] a steam heater provided inside the steam container to heat water); and
a pressure sensor configured to sense a pressure inside the accommodating body (paragraph [0440] pressure sensor 2300 for measuring internal pressure).
Shin and Leung differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the valve assembly is controlled to open and close the guide pipe and the cable based on the pressure inside the accommodating body.
Couet teaches a laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] household ironing appliance). Couet teaches the valve assembly is controlled to open and close the guide pipe and the cable based on the pressure inside the accommodating body (paragraph [0030] pressurization check valve 150 ensures pressurization of the steam distribution conduit 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Shin and Leung with a valve that opens and closes based on pressure as taught by Couet. The check valve would ensure that the appropriate pressure has been reached in order to achieve good ironing performance (paragraph [0040]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. KR20230140436 (henceforth referred to as Shin) and Leung et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0049415 (henceforth referred to as Leung) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Liang et al. CN106948149 (henceforth referred to as Liang).
As to claim 7, Shin and Leung further teach the heating part further includes:
an accommodating body accommodating therein water (Shin paragraph [0420] the steam generating unit 2100 has a steam container) and in communication with the guide pipe and the cable (Leung paragraph [0047] – [0048] and [0053] steam generator 36 are in selective fluid communication with ports 24, 26, which communicate with tubing 28 and hose 50, respectively);
a heater coupled to the accommodating body and configured to heat water (Shin paragraph [0420] a steam heater provided inside the steam container to heat water).
Shin and Leung differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature inside the accommodating body, wherein the valve assembly is controlled to open and close the guide pipe and the cable based on the temperature inside the accommodating body.
Liang teaches a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0049] garment steamer 100). Liang teaches a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature inside the accommodating body (FIG. 1 paragraph [0063] the temperature detector 73 detects the temperature of the liquid), wherein the valve assembly is controlled to open and close the guide pipe and the cable based on the temperature inside the accommodating body (paragraph [0063] when the liquid temperature is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the control valve 71 opens and the liquid is transmitted to the ironing head 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Shin and Leung with a valve that opens and closes based on temperature as taught by Liang. By preventing the liquid from being transmitted to the ironing head via a temperature-activated valve, it would prevent the ironing head from spraying water (paragraph [0063]).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. KR20230140436 (henceforth referred to as Shin) and Leung et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0049415 (henceforth referred to as Leung) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Al-Amri U.S. Publication 2023/0366142 (henceforth referred to as Al-Amri).
As to claim 4, Shin and Leung further teach the valve assembly (Leung paragraph [0047] ports 24, 26 may be formed as valves) is provided to open the guide tube at a first temperature or a first pressure (Shin paragraphs [0289] and [0464] when refresh module T is operating, pump 881 can run at a pressure to supply water to the steam supply unit 800 or steam nozzle 900), and is provided to open the cable at a second temperature or a second pressure (Shin paragraphs [0441]-[0442] the high-pressure pump 2200 can operate the pressure of the steam generating unit 2100 to reach the reference pressure, the reference pressure being 2 to 3 bar higher than atmospheric pressure. Paragraph [0415] the heating generating unit 2100 supplies heat and steam to the steam iron 1300.), and the second pressure is set higher than the first pressure (Shin teaches that the pressure of the steam supplied to the steam iron is high and merely states that the steam supplied to the inner casing is at a pressure, which suggests that the pressure of the steam supplied to the inner casing and the steam iron are different. The pressure of the steam supplied to the steam iron is higher than the inner casing).
Shin and Leung differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the second temperature is set higher than the first temperature.
Al-Amri teaches a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0033] steam press system 100). Al-Amri teaches the second temperature is set higher than the first temperature (paragraph [0041] second temperature greater than the first temperature or paragraphs [0009] and [0043] a third temperature greater than a second temperature or paragraph [0043] a fourth temperature greater than a third temperature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Shin and Leung with a second temperature that is greater than a first temperature as taught by Al-Amri. It would have been obvious to have the second temperature (the temperature of the steam supplied to the steam iron) be greater than the first temperature (the temperature of the steam supplied to the inner casing) as there could be temperature loss as the steam travels to the steam iron.
As to claim 8, Shin and Leung further teach the valve assembly includes:
a first valve configured to open and close the guide pipe (Leung FIG. 4 paragraph [0047] port 24, which is connected to tubing 28, may be a valve); and
a second valve configured to open and close the cable (Leung FIG. 6 paragraph [0047] port 26, which is connected to tubing 50, may be a valve),
wherein and the first valve part is controlled to be opened at a first temperature a first temperature (Leung paragraph [0047] port (valve) 24 can open at a first temperature or a first pressure to allow steam into the garment bag 18),
wherein the second valve part is controlled to be opened at a second temperature or a second pressure (Shin paragraphs [0441]-[0442] the high-pressure pump 2200 can operate the pressure of the steam generating unit 2100 to reach the reference pressure, the reference pressure being 2 to 3 bar higher than atmospheric pressure. If Shin’s steam generating unit 2100 can release steam into the steam iron 1300 when the reference pressure is reached, Leung’s port (valve) 26 would be capable of opening and closing based on the condition of the steam generator), and the second pressure is set higher than the first pressure (Shin paragraphs [0441]-[0442] the reference pressure being supplied to the steam iron 1300 is 2 to 3 bar higher than atmospheric. Shin suggests that the pressure of steam being supplied to the inner casing is lower than the reference pressure).
Shin and Leung differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the second temperature is set higher than the first temperature.
Al-Amri teaches a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0033] steam press system 100). Al-Amri teaches the second temperature is set higher than the first temperature (paragraph [0041] second temperature greater than the first temperature or paragraphs [0009] and [0043] a third temperature greater than a second temperature or paragraph [0043] a fourth temperature greater than a third temperature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Shin and Leung with a second temperature that is greater than a first temperature as taught by Al-Amri. It would have been obvious to have the second temperature (the temperature of the steam supplied to the steam iron) be greater than the first temperature (the temperature of the steam supplied to the inner casing) as there could be temperature loss as the steam travels to the steam iron.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711