DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 110 as second tab, 132a as outer portion and etc, see paragraph 0044-0045. These types errors occur throughout the specification and corrections are required. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 150a, 150b and etc, these types of errors occur throughout the figures (not stated in the specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In conclusion the specification and drawings do not match as one to one correlation for elements to numerals. Furthermore claims are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy (US. 20220243748).
Murphy discloses a fastener assembly (e.g. figures) for coupling a first component to a second component, the fastener assembly comprising a fastener (e.g. 100) having a head (e.g. head of 100) and a shank (e.g. shank of 100), and a stamped-metal retainer (10) having a body portion (e.g. portion 12) and a pair of retainer legs (e.g. leg having 18 and leg having 20) resiliently coupled to the body portion and configured to transition between a first position and a second position during installation in the second component (e.g. intended use but the retainer of Murphy is capable of transition, see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding intended use and method limitations), wherein the body portion includes an internally-threaded collar (e.g. collar 62 having 64) that defines a retainer opening (e.g. 16) configured to receive and secure at least a portion of the shank (e.g. intended use but the retainer of Murphy is capable of receiving the shank), wherein each of the pair of retainer legs comprises a planar portion (e.g. planar portion having 20 and planar portion having 18) having a first tab (e.g. 36) and a second tab (e.g. 46) positioned on opposite sides of the planar portion, and wherein the first tab is configured to prevent the fastener from being driven into the internally-threaded collar when in the first position and to permit the fastener to be driven into the internally-threaded collar when in the second position (e.g. again intended use but the retainer of Murphy is capable of this, see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding intended use and method limitations).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein each of the first tab and the second tab has a generally L-shaped geometry (e.g. both 46 and 36 have and L-shape, 1st part of the L-shape shown in figure 1 and second part of the L-shape shown in figure 4 between 18 and 20).
Regarding claim 3: Murphy discloses a fastener assembly for coupling a first component to a second component, the fastener assembly comprising a fastener having a head and a shank, a retainer having a body portion and a pair of retainer legs resiliently coupled to the body
portion and configured to transition between a first position and a second position, wherein the body portion includes an internally-threaded collar that defines a retainer opening configured to receive and secure at least a portion of the shank, and wherein each of the pair of retainer legs comprises a first tab (e.g. each of 36 on two sides of the retainer) configured to prevent the fastener from being driven into the internally-threaded collar when in the first position and to permit the fastener to be driven into the internally-threaded collar when in the second position.
Regarding claim 4: Wherein each of the pair of retainer legs comprises an outer planar portion (e.g. outer planar portion coupled to inner planar portion by the bend 20 and outer planar portion coupled to inner planar portion by the bend 18) and an inner planar portion (e.g. the inner planar portions of the pair of retainer legs) connected by a bend section (e.g. bend section having 18 and bend section having 20).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the first tab is coupled to the outer planar portion (e.g. see figure 1).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the first tab is coupled to the outer planar portion at a transverse angle (e.g. see angle of 36 relative to the outer planar portion).
Regarding claim 7: Wherein each of the pair of retainer legs comprises a second tab (e.g. 46) coupled to the outer planar portion opposite the first tab.
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the second tab is coupled to the outer planar portion at a transverse angle (e.g. see angle of 46 relative to the outer planar portion).
Regarding claim 9: Wherein the first tab has a generally L-shaped geometry (e.g. both 46 and 36 have and L-shape, 1st part of the L-shape shown in figure 1 and second part of the L-shape shown in figure 4 between 18 and 20).
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the second tab has a generally L-shaped geometry (e.g. both 46 and 36 have and L-shape, 1st part of the L-shape shown in figure 1 and second part of the L-shape shown in figure 4 between 18 and 20).
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the first tab of one of the pair of retainer legs is configured to interlock with the second tab of the other retainer leg (e.g. again intended use but the retainer legs of Murphy are capable of this, see structure between 20 and 18 that is defined by the first tab and the second tab).
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the first and second tabs are positioned at different vertical positions along the outer planar portion (e.g. see vertical position of end of the first tab relative to vertical position of end of the second tab as seen in figure 4 between 20 and 18).
Regarding claim 13: Wherein a distance between the first tab and the body portion is less than a distance between the second tab and the body portion (e.g. this is the case and see rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 14: Wherein the retainer is a stamped-metal retainer (e.g. the retainer is made of metal and with regard to the method limitation of stamped, see MPEP 2113-2114). It is noted that all the structural limitation of the retainer is taught by Murphy.
Regarding claim 15: Wherein the fastener is a metal bolt (e.g. bolt 100).
Regarding claim 16: Murphy discloses a stamped-metal retainer configured to couple with a fastener having a head and a shank (e.g. intended use but the retainer of Murphy is capable of receiving a fastener, see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding intended use and method limitations), the stamped-metal retainer comprising a body portion (e.g. portion 12) including an internally-threaded collar (e.g. see structure of opening 16) that defines a retainer opening (e.g. 16) configured to receive and secure at least a portion of the shank (e.g. intended use but the retainer of Murphy is capable of receiving the shank, see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding intended use and method limitations), a pair of retainer legs (e.g. leg having 20) resiliently coupled to the body portion and configured to transition between a first position and a second position (e.g. again intended use but the structure of Murphy is capable of this, see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding intended use and method limitations), wherein each of the pair of retainer legs comprises a first tab (e.g. portions 46 and 36) configured to prevent the fastener from being driven into the internally-threaded collar when in the first position and to permit the fastener to be driven into the collar when in the second position.
Regarding claim 17: Wherein each of the pair of retainer legs comprises an outer planar portion and an inner planar portion (e.g. inner and outer planar portion connected by bend section 20) connected by a bend section.
Regarding claim 18: Wherein the first tab (e.g. 46 on both sides of 10) is coupled to the outer planar portion at a transverse angle, and a second tab (e.g. 36 on both sides of 10) is coupled to the outer planar portion at a transverse angle, with the first and second tabs positioned on opposite sides of the outer planar portion.
Regarding claim 19: wherein each of the first and second tabs has a generally L-shaped geometry (e.g. see figure 1, shape of 38 and 46).
Regarding claim 20: Wherein the first tab of one retainer leg is configured to interlock with the second tab of the other retainer leg (e.g. shown in figure 1, see 46 ad 38).
It is also noted that section 36 has two portion one connected to 32 and another portion that is between each of 20. This is also for section 46.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. It is noted that applicant has claim the intervention so broadly. Applicant should review all documents listed on form 892 (Mutz discloses L-shape tabs see 10, 32 and 36; Ribes teaches L-shape tabs 4; Hattori teaches tab on different heights 38 and 36 which can be changed to L-shape if one were to connect the tabs to 26 and 24 by teaching of references listed on form 892;) and prior patents and application of assignee.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675