DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims10, and 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, please delete the term “couplable” in line 5, and replace it with the phrase “is coupled to,” “configured to be coupled to,” “capable of being coupled to,” or any equivalent.
Claim 13, please delete the term “connectable” in line 4, and replace it with the phrase “is connected to,” “configured to be connected to,” “capable of being connected to,” or any equivalent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (KR 20200131115 A) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 12/2/2024) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches an air conditioner (Fig. 1, 10) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, case 20) comprising an inlet (Fig. 1, 55) and an outlet (Fig. 1, 60);
a heat exchanger within the housing (Fig. 2, 90), wherein the heat exchanger is configured to heat exchange with air drawn in through the inlet (page 3, para 12);
a blower fan (Fig. 2, 75) configured to cause the heat exchanged air to be discharged through the outlet (page 3, para 6); and,
a sterilizer configured to irradiate light toward the blower fan (Fig. 2, 200); wherein the sterilizer comprises:
a first light-emitting diode (LED) comprising a first irradiation surface (Fig. 3, 221) and,
a second LED comprising a second irradiation surface (Fig. 3, 223),
wherein the first irradiation surface faces a first direction, and wherein the second irradiation surface faces a second direction different from the first direction (first light source 221 and second light source 223 each have irradiation surfaces which face different ends of the blowing fan 75 so as to sterilize the whole area, page 6, para 3).
Regarding claim 3, Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the sterilizer further comprises a blocking protrusion configured to prevent the light from being exposed to an outside of the housing (Figs. 2-3, blocking vane 120, page 4, para 11; page 5, para 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 20200131115 A).
Regarding claim 2, Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 but does not teach wherein the sterilizer further comprises a third LED spaced apart from the first LED, wherein the third LED comprises a third irradiation surface, and wherein the third irradiation surface faces the first direction. Seo contemplates multiple ultraviolet LEDs spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3, first LED 221 and second LED 223) wherein the LEDs are configured to irradiate opposing sides of the blower (page 6, para 1-3). One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with ensuring the entire blower is exposed to sterilizing ultraviolet radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first LED as taught by Seo spaced apart from the first and second LEDs such that the third LED faces the first direction to ensure the entire blower is exposed to sterilizing radiation and this involves the duplication of parts to yield a predictable result (increase efficiency of sterilizing light provided to the blower) which has already been found to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B)).
Regarding claim 4, Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the blocking protrusion comprises: a first blocking protrusion extending toward the first direction (Figs. 2-3, blocking vane 120, page 4, para 11; page 5, para 1-2), wherein the first blocking protrusion may rotatably hinge to block light emitting from the first LED (Fig. 6, vane 120 blocks light emitting from lighting source 220), but does not teach a second blocking protrusion extending toward the second direction. One having ordinary skill in the art would seek to also minimize incident light from emitting from the second ultraviolet light source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first blocking protrusion as taught by Seo such that the second blocking protrusion extends towards the second direction (corresponding to the second LED 223) to minimize incident light from emitting from the second ultraviolet light source and this involves the duplication of parts to yield a predictable result (minimize incident light) which has already been found to be obvious (MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B)).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 4, wherein the housing further comprises a lower panel in which the inlet and the outlet are formed (Fig. 2, inlet 55 and outlet 60 are formed into panel 30),
wherein the first blocking protrusion is disposed at a lower end of the first irradiation surface and is configured to prevent light irradiated from the first LED from penetrating the lower panel (Fig. 6, blocking protrusion 120 capable of prevent light from penetrating panel 30), and
wherein the second blocking protrusion is disposed at a lower end of the second irradiation surface and is configured to prevent light irradiated from the second LED from penetrating the lower panel (duplicated blocking protrusion 120 would be capable of prevent light from penetrating panel 30, see Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 6-8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 20200131115 A) in view of Blackwood et al. (US 20220221167 A1)(eligible as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with an effective filing date of 1/14/2021).
Regarding claim 6, Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger surrounds the blower fan (Fig. 4, heat exchanger 90 surrounds blower 75), but does not teach wherein the sterilizer (Fig. 4, 200) is between the heat exchanger and the blower fan.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be consider alternative positionings of an ultraviolet sterilizer to optimize irradiation of a blower, motivating one to turn towards Blackwood. Blackwood teaches an air conditioning unit with a sterilizing light assembly (abstract) wherein the sterilizing light assembly (Fig. 4-5, 100) is positioned between a blower (Fig. 5, 42) and a heat exchanger (Fig. 5, 40) such that the light emitted from the light assembly may be projected between the individual fan blades to ensure sterilization to the central axis of the blower [0033-0034].
Blackwood is considered analogous to the claimed invention to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the air conditioning arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal surface of the air conditioner as taught by Seo (such as surface 72) with the sterilizing light assembly as taught by Blackwood because Blackwood teaches the light assembly to be oriented between a heat exchanger and a blower such sterilizing light may be projected between the individual fan blades to ensure sterilization to the central axis of the blower [0033-0034] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 6, wherein the first LED is arranged to be inclined toward the blower fan in a direction moving away from the second LED (Fig. 3, first light source 221 understood to be oriented towards an end of the blower 75 in a direction away from light source 223).
Regarding claim 8, Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 but does not teach wherein the sterilizer further comprises: a case configured to accommodate the first LED and the second LED, and a holder supporting the case.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with preventing the accumulation of moisture on the LEDS, motivating one to turn towards Blackwood. Blackwood teaches an air conditioning unit with a sterilizing light assembly (abstract) wherein the sterilizing light assembly (Fig. 4-5, 100) is positioned between a blower (Fig. 5, 42) and a heat exchanger (Fig. 5, 40) such that the light emitted from the light assembly may be projected between the individual fan blades to ensure sterilization to the central axis of the blower [0033-0034]. Blackwood further teaches wherein the sterilizing light assembly (Fig. 4-5, 100) comprises LEDs [0033] that can be covered by a UV transmissive casing coupled to a holder (Fig. 5, casing 106 coupled to sterilization assembly 100) to prevent the accumulation of moisture on the light source [0038-0039].
Blackwood is considered analogous to the claimed invention to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the air conditioning arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first and second LEDs with the sterilizing light assembly (Fig. 5, 100) as taught by Blackwood because Blackwood teaches the sterilizing light assembly to disinfect a blower with UV radiation emitted from LEDS while sealing said LEDs from moisture with a case and a holder [0038-0039] and this involves the substitution of elements (first and second LEDs of Seo with the sterilizing assembly of Blackwood) to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 8, further comprising a sterilization coupling portion (Blackwood, Fig. 5, wall 110) within the housing ,
wherein the sterilization coupling portion is coupled to the holder and supports the sterilizer (Blackwood, Fig. 5, coupling portion 110 is coupled to and supports sterilizer 100),
wherein the holder comprises: a first frame couplable to the case (Blackwood, Fig. 5, sterilizer includes first frame 104 that is coupled to the case 106) and
a second frame connected to the first frame and couplable to the sterilization coupling portion (Blackwood, Fig. 5, second frame 108 [understood to include upper bracket] is coupled to first frame 104 and coupling portion 110).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 10, wherein the first frame comprises a first hole and a second hole spaced apart from the first hole, and wherein the case is connectable to the first hole or the second hole (Blackwood, Fig. 5, first frame 104 forms two holes with second frame 108, holes which the case 106 is inserted into).
Claim(s) 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 20200131115 A) in view of Blackwood et al. (US 20220221167 A1), further in view of Yasutaka (JP 2017109534 A) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 12/2/2024) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner claim 8, wherein each of the LEDs include a case (Blackwood, Fig. 5, case 106) but does not teach wherein the case further comprises a case hinge configured to allow the second LED to rotate relative to the first LED.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with evenly exposing the blower to ultraviolet radiation, motivating one to turn towards Yasutaka. Yasutake teaches an air conditioner sterilizer (abstract) comprising an ultraviolet light source (Fig. 3, 21) configured to irradiate an evaporator (Fig. 3, 3) with ultraviolet light wherein the ultraviolet light source may be movably affixed to a guide rail (Fig. 3, 13) and a rotation shaft (Fig. 3, 21a, understood to be a hinge structure) such that ultraviolet light source can be translated and rotated to evenly irradiate the evaporator (page 6, paras 1-4).
Yasutaka is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to sterilization apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sterilizing assembly containing the case and second LED as taught by Modified Seo with the rotation shaft as taught by Yasutaka because Yasutaka teaches the rotation shaft to allow an ultraviolet light source to be rotated to evenly irradiate a target surface (page 6, paras 1-4) and this involves the combination of elements (the sterilization assembly and case of Modified Seo and the rotation shaft of Yasutaka) to yield a predictable result (a rotatable second LED that emits UV light) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 10, comprising a holder (Blackwood, Fig. 5, casing 106 coupled to sterilization assembly 100 = holder), a first frame (Blackwood, Fig. 5, first frame 104), and a second frame (Blackwood, Fig. 5, second frame 108) wherein an ultraviolet LED is fixed to the first frame (Blackwood, Fig. 5, LED 102 but does not teach wherein the holder further comprises a holder hinge configured to allow the first frame to rotate relative to the second frame.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with evenly exposing the blower to ultraviolet radiation, motivating one to turn towards Yasutaka. Yasutake teaches an air conditioner sterilizer (abstract) comprising an ultraviolet light source (Fig. 3, 21) configured to irradiate an evaporator (Fig. 3, 3) with ultraviolet light wherein the ultraviolet light source may be movably affixed to a guide rail (Fig. 3, 13) and a rotation shaft (Fig. 3, 21a, understood to be a hinge structure) such that ultraviolet light source can be translated and rotated to evenly irradiate the evaporator (page 6, paras 1-4).
Yasutaka is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to sterilization apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sterilizing assembly containing the holder and first frame as taught by Modified Seo with the rotation shaft as taught by Yasutaka because Yasutaka teaches the rotation shaft to allow an ultraviolet light source to be rotated to evenly irradiate a target surface (page 6, paras 1-4) and this involves the combination of elements (the sterilization assembly and holder of Modified Seo and the rotation shaft of Yasutaka) to yield a predictable result (a rotatable first frame containing an LED that emits UV light) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 20200131115 A) in view of Blackwood et al. (US 20220221167 A1), further in view of Maeng et al. (US 20120085927 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 10, further comprising a drain pan on a lower portion of the heat exchanger and configured to store condensed water (Seo, Fig. 4, drain pain 70 on lower end of heat exchanger 90) and a sterilization light assembly (Blackwood, Fig. 5, 100) but does not teach wherein the sterilization coupling portion is arranged at the drain pan.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with removing the potential microbial growth that could accumulate in the drain pan, as contemplated by Maeng, who teaches the placement of ultraviolet LEDs to be disposed at a drain pan to keep it sterile [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner as taught by Modified Seo to include a sterilization assembly as taught by Blackwood (including a sterilization coupling portion) above the drain pan because Maeng teaches the placement of ultraviolet LEDs at a drain pan to prevent the buildup of microorganisms in the condensate [0076] and this involves the combination of elements (the drain pan of Modified Seo and the sterilization assembly of Blackwood) to yield a predictable result (disinfection of a drain pan condensate) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 20200131115 A) in view of Blackwood et al. (US 20220221167 A1), further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170343016 A1) and Naoki (JP 2012189249 A) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 10 but does not teach wherein the air conditioner further comprising a bell mouth configured to guide the air drawn in through the inlet to the blower fan, wherein the sterilization coupling portion is arranged at the bell mouth.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with reducing the noise of the air conditioner, motivating one to turn towards Kim. Kim teaches an air conditioner comprising a bell mouth (Fig. 1, 70) positioned at the inlet of the air conditioner configured to induce an eddy current at the inlet of the bell mouth and improve flow noise [0053].
Kim is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to air conditioners. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inlet of the air conditioner as taught by Modified Seo with the bell mouth as taught by Kim because Kim teaches the bell mouth to improve flow noise [0053]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Modified Seo does not teach wherein the sterilization coupling portion (Blackwood, Fig. 5, wall 110) is arranged at the bell mouth. However, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the sterilization coupling portion could comprise any surface on the air conditioner where a sterilizing assembly (Blackwood, Fig. 5, 100) comprising an ultraviolet LED, could be coupled to irradiate an air flow. Such an embodiment is contemplated by Naoki, who teaches an air conditioner with an ultraviolet lamp (Fig. 1, 6) positioned at a bell mouth of the air conditioner (Fig. 1, 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bell mouth as taught by Modified Seo with the sterilizing assembly as taught by Blackwood to irradiate an incoming flow of air at the bell mouth with sterilizing radiation and this involves the combination of elements (the bell mouth of Modified Seo and the sterilizing assembly of Blackwood) to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 20200131115 A) in view of Blackwood et al. (US 20220221167 A1), further in view of Yu et al. (US 20210199337 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Seo teaches the air conditioner of claim 10 but does not teach wherein the holder further comprises a cable receiving portion securing a cable configured to supply power to the first LED and the second LED.
One having ordinary skill would be concerned with supplying power to the air conditioner without interrupting operation of the device, motivating one to turn towards Yu. Yu teaches a window air conditioning device comprising a power cord groove (Fig. 1, 21) configured to receive a power cord and neatly arrange the electrical components powering the device [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holder as taught by Modified Seo to include the power cord groove as taught by Yu because Yu teaches the power cord groove to neatly arrange the wiring within an air conditioner and improve efficiency [0046]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758