DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present Application, filed December 2, 2024, is a Continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/058,450, filed November 23, 2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/282,629, filed November 23, 2021.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment filed July 8, 2025, claims 7, 14, 21, and 23-34 are canceled and claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 20, and 22 are amended. Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20, 22, and 35 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The three information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on July 8, 2025, September 12, 2025, and October 6, 2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Objections are raised to claim 1 and 22:
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: in the listing of substituents from which each of R2, R3b, R3c, and R3d is selected, the first alkyl alternative is recited as “C16 alkyl.” Every other alkyl-containing alternative in the same listing is recited with a hyphenated carbon range (e.g., “C1-6 haloalkyl,” “C1-6 alkoxy”), and the corresponding limitation of the parent application, U.S. Patent Application No. 18/058,450, recites “C1-6 alkyl.” “C16 alkyl” therefore appears to be a typographical error for “C1-6 alkyl,” and will be construed as “C1-6 alkyl” for the purpose of examination. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informality: the preamble recites “[a] method of promoting bone formation a subject in need thereof,” which appears to omit the word “in” before “a subject.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–6, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are indefinite:
Claims 1–6, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for reciting that the composition is “packaged,” as one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the metes and bounds of this limitation. While the specification refers to certain compositions being “packaged” (paragraph [0148]), e.g. packaged tablets, capsules, and powders, this appears to be in reference to pharmaceutical compositions for systemic administration, containing the compound of Formula I. Meanwhile, the compositions of instant claim 1, having a scaffold with hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate, appear to be for local (e.g. surgical) administration. As such, it is unclear what the term “packaged” signifies within the context of claim 1. Claim 2 is indefinite for reciting the same feature; claims 3–6, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are indefinite for depending from claim 1 without curing this indefiniteness. For the purpose of compact prosecution, “packaged” in the context of claim 1 will be construed according to a broadest reasonable interpretation in which the composition is contained within any structure, such as an implantable device.
Claims 1–2 are further indefinite for reciting “a scaffold comprising hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate in a ratio of from 0/100 to 15/85” (claim 1) and “a scaffold of hydroxyapatite (HA) and tricalcium phosphate (TCP) in a ratio of from 0/100 to 15/85” (claim 2), because neither the claims nor the specification identifies the basis on which the ratio is determined, e.g., weight, moles, or volume. The specification expresses the ratio only as percentages (paragraph [0100]), and the working examples do not identify a basis (paragraphs [0213]–[0216]). Because hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate differ in molecular weight and density, a given ratio on one basis corresponds to a different ratio on another basis, such that a person of ordinary skill in the art could not determine with reasonable certainty whether a particular scaffold falls within the claimed range. Claim 4, which recites ratios of “about 0/100, 5/95 or 10/90,” is further indefinite for the same reason. Claims 3–6, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are indefinite for depending from, or incorporating the composition of, claim 1 without curing this indefiniteness. For the purpose of examination, the ratio will be construed as encompassing a ratio within the recited range on any basis.
Claim 1 is further indefinite for reciting that “the heterocyclyl moiety is selected from monocyclic, fused bicyclic, and bridged cyclic,” and then reciting “the fused bicyclic and bridged bicyclic heterocyclyl comprising from 7 to 10 ring members.” Because a single ring cannot be bridged, “bridged cyclic” is reasonably understood only as referring to bridged polycyclic ring systems having two or more rings. The specification is consistent with this understanding, describing cycloalkyl groups as including a “bridged polycyclic ring assembly” (paragraph [0040]) and describing heterocycles as including “bridged cyclic moieties” having from 3 to about 20 ring members (paragraph [0041]). However, claim 1 limits only “bridged bicyclic” heterocyclyls to 7 to 10 ring members. It is therefore unclear whether bridged heterocyclyls having three or more rings are encompassed by claim 1 without any limitation on ring size, or are excluded from claim 1 by implication. Furthermore, “bridged bicyclic” lacks antecedent basis, since only “bridged cyclic” heterocyclyls are previously recited. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art could not determine with reasonable certainty the scope of the heterocyclyl moieties encompassed by RN. Claims 3–6, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are indefinite for depending from, or incorporating the composition of, claim 1 without curing this indefiniteness.
Claim 1 is further indefinite for reciting a compound of Formula I “or a salt, hydrate, prodrug, or isomer thereof.” The term “isomer” is not limited in the claim, and the specification states that “the racemates, diastereomers, geometric isomers, regioisomers and individual isomers (e.g., separate enantiomers) are all intended to be encompassed within the scope of the present invention” (paragraph [0081]). Regioisomers and other constitutional isomers of a compound of Formula I share only a molecular formula with that compound, and may have entirely different ring systems and substitution patterns that fall outside of Formula I. Since an isomer of a compound of Formula I need not itself be a compound of Formula I, the structural limitations of Formula I do not define the boundaries of the claimed compounds, and a person of ordinary skill in the art could not determine with reasonable certainty which compounds are encompassed by the claim. Claims 3–6, 8–13, 15–18, 20, 22, and 35 are indefinite for depending from, or incorporating the composition of, claim 1 without curing this indefiniteness.
Claim 1 is further indefinite for reciting a “prodrug” of a compound of Formula I. A prodrug is defined by its ability to be converted to an active compound in vivo, rather than by any structure, and the claim places no structural limitation on the prodrug moiety. The specification states only that a prodrug may be an “ester prodrug” or an “amide prodrug,” or may comprise “conjugated groups which allow selective targeting at a bone structure,” including “estradiol conjugates and/or bisphosphonate conjugates” (paragraph [0098]). These statements are exemplary and open-ended, and do not provide an objective standard by which a person of ordinary skill in the art could determine which compounds are, and which are not, prodrugs of a compound of Formula I. Claims 3–6, 8–13, 15–18, 20, 22, and 35 are indefinite for depending from, or incorporating the composition of, claim 1 without curing this indefiniteness. Claim 19 is independently indefinite for reciting “prodrugs” of the recited species, for the same reasons.
Claim 8 is further indefinite for reciting “chemical sterilization (ether, ethanol, iodine, or PAA).” It is unclear whether the parenthetical expression limits chemical sterilization to the four recited agents, or merely provides examples of chemical sterilization agents without limiting the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 19 is further indefinite for reciting a compound “selected from the group consisting of:” six structures, the fifth and sixth of which are joined by “, and,” followed by “or salts, hydrates, or prodrugs thereof.” The sixth structure is depicted as a hydrochloride salt. Because the closing clause separately recites “salts” of the listed compounds, it is unclear whether the sixth structure is limited to the hydrochloride salt, whether the sixth structure encompasses other salts of its free base, and whether “salts” of the sixth structure encompasses salts of the hydrochloride salt. It is also unclear whether the phrase “or salts, hydrates, or prodrugs thereof” is part of the Markush group, given that the group is closed with “and” before the phrase. See MPEP § 2173.05(h).
Claim 35 is indefinite for reciting “administering to the subject a therapeutically effective of a composition of claim 1.” The phrase “therapeutically effective” modifies no noun (e.g. a therapeutically effective amount), and it is therefore unclear what quantity of the composition is required by the claim. Claim 35 is further indefinite for reciting “thereby treating bone loss in a subject.” The claim previously recites “a subject in need thereof” in the preamble, and it is unclear whether the subject in which bone loss is treated is the same subject to whom the composition is administered, or a different subject. For the purpose of examination, claim 35 will be construed as reciting the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of the composition of claim 1, thereby treating bone loss in the subject.
A note on claim interpretation:
Claim 22 recites “thereby promoting bone formation in the subject,” and claim 35 recites “thereby treating bone loss in [the] subject.” These thereby clauses are regarded as intended results that cannot be given patentable weight in this instance. “A whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Sec. Dealers, 336 F.3d 1373, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also MPEP § 2111.04(I). The thereby clauses of claims 22 and 35 are functionally equivalent to such whereby clauses, and do not further limit the manner in which the positively recited administering steps are performed. Accordingly, for the purpose of examination against the prior art, claim 22 is construed as reciting a method comprising locally administering an effective amount of a composition of claim 1 to a subject in need of bone formation, and claim 35 is construed as reciting a method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a composition of claim 1, in series or in combination with an antiresorptive agent, to a subject in need of treatment for bone loss.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 16 fails to further limit the subject matter of its base claim:
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites the composition of claim 1, “wherein RN is heterocyclyl or heteroaryl.” However, claim 1 already recites that “RN is selected from the group consisting of heterocyclyl and heteroaryl.” Claim 16 therefore recites the same scope for RN as claim 1, and does not further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–4, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are obvious over Ellies and McKay:
Claims 1–4, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0055853 to Ellies et al. (hereinafter, “Ellies”), in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,163,212 to McKay (hereinafter, “McKay”).
Claim 1 recites a sterilized composition for bone formation comprising a scaffold and a compound of Formula I:
where X, Y, Z, A, and R2 are as defined in the claim. The scaffold includes hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate in a ratio of from 0/100 to 15/85, collagen, and bioactive glass, wherein the bioactive glass is uniformly dispersed in both interior and surface portions of the scaffold. “C16 alkyl” is construed as “C1-6 alkyl,” as discussed above.
Ellies teaches compounds of Formula I suitable for promoting bone formation (paragraph [0024]) and having a structure of Formula I (paragraphs [0012] and [0024]):
where A, X, Y, Z, and R2 are as defined. Ellies teaches the following compound is an example of a compound of Ellies Formula I (paragraph [0150])
which is also a compound of instant claim 1 (see instant claim 19).
Ellies further teaches that the compound can be combined with a matrix or scaffold for use as a carrier in delivering the compound (paragraph [0232]) for local administration. For example, the combination of compound and matrix (i.e. the composition) can be incorporated into an implantable device (paragraph [0230]) such as a structural support to be implanted into a bone (paragraph [0030]). Ellies further teaches that the matrix can include a structural support such as hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, bioactive glass, or combinations thereof, as well as collagen (paragraph [0233]). The composition having scaffold/matrix and compound of Formula I as taught by Ellies thus constitutes a composition for bone formation, which can be incorporated into an implantable device (i.e. packaged). Ellies does not explicitly teach that the hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate are present in a ratio of from 0/100 to 15/85, that the bioactive glass is uniformly dispersed in both interior and surface portions of the scaffold, or that the composition (the combination of compound and matrix/scaffold) is sterilized, however it would have been obvious to provide the hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate of the scaffold in such a ratio, to uniformly distribute the bioactive glass in both interior and surface portions of the scaffold, and to sterilize the composition, because ceramic particles of tricalcium phosphate and hydroxyapatite in such ratios, and ceramic particles (including bioactive glass) uniformly distributed throughout the matrix, were well-known in the art in implantable matrices for promoting bone formation, and because it was well-known in the art that compositions for implant and/or to stimulate local bone formation should be sterilized prior to administration in order to avoid infection. See, for example, McKay.
McKay teaches compositions for augmenting bone formation (Abstract), comprising a porous matrix to allow bone growth (col. 1, lines 48-54 and claim 1). McKay teaches the matrix can be ceramic, composed of hydroxyapatite and calcium phosphate (col. 10, lines 44-47).
McKay further teaches that, in some embodiments, “the ceramic particles in the matrix comprise tricalcium phosphate and hydroxyapatite in a ratio of about 80:20 to about 90:10,” and, in other embodiments, “in a ratio of about 85:15” (col. 11, lines 10-15). Expressed as a ratio of hydroxyapatite to tricalcium phosphate, as recited in instant claim 1, McKay thus teaches a ratio of from about 10/90 to about 20/80, and specifically a ratio of about 15/85. The range taught by McKay overlaps the instantly claimed range of from 0/100 to 15/85, and the specific ratio of about 15/85 taught by McKay corresponds to the upper endpoint of the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2003); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257 (CCPA 1976). See also MPEP § 2144.05. McKay further teaches that including inorganic ceramics such as calcium phosphate in the matrix facilitates the prevention of local bone resorption, and provides “a local source of calcium and phosphate to the cells attempting to deposit new bone” (col. 11, lines 4-9). It thus would have been obvious to provide the hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate of the Ellies scaffold in a ratio of hydroxyapatite to tricalcium phosphate of from about 10/90 to about 15/85, as taught by McKay, in order to provide a local source of calcium and phosphate to bone-forming cells. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so, because Ellies itself teaches scaffolds comprising hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, and biphasic calcium phosphate (paragraphs [0232]–[0233]).
McKay further teaches that, in some embodiments, “the ceramic particles are uniformly or evenly distributed throughout the matrix” (col. 10, lines 36-38), that “the matrix and the ceramic particles comprise a resorbable ceramic, bone, hyaluronic acid, chitosan or combinations thereof” (col. 10, lines 50-52), and that the resorbable ceramic can be, for example, “hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, bioglasses, calcium sulfate, etc.” (col. 10, lines 44-47). McKay thus teaches ceramic particles of tricalcium phosphate and/or bioactive glass that are uniformly distributed throughout the matrix, i.e., in both interior and surface portions of the matrix. It thus would have been obvious to uniformly distribute the bioactive glass of the Ellies scaffold throughout the scaffold, i.e., in both interior and surface portions of the scaffold, as taught by McKay.
McKay further teaches that the matrix can be packaged and then terminally sterilized, so that a surgeon removes it from the sterile package immediately prior to use (col. 20, lines 40-44). Notably, therefore, McKay teaches not only sterilization of the matrix, but also packaging. It would have been obvious to package and terminally sterilize (sterilize in-package) the matrix/scaffold-containing composition of Ellies, so that a surgeon could remove it and implant it, sterile, from the package immediately prior to implantation in a patient’s body. The combination of Ellies and McKay thus teaches all elements of instant claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, claim 2 recites a composition for bone formation having the same features as the composition of claim 1, but without requiring the compound of Formula I. Claim 2 is therefore obvious, at least, over Ellies and McKay. With respect to claim 3, Ellies teaches the matrix/scaffold can be a cement hydrogel (liquid cement – paragraph [0262]). Furthermore, McKay teaches that the matrix (and therefore the composition of Ellies combined with McKay) can be in the shape of a strip or a block (col. 9, lines 56-59). With respect to claim 4, as noted, McKay teaches tricalcium phosphate and hydroxyapatite in a ratio of about 90:10 (i.e. a ratio of hydroxyapatite to tricalcium phosphate of about 10/90) as an endpoint of the range of about 80:20 to about 90:10 (col. 11, lines 10-13).
With respect to claim 8, McKay teaches the matrix can be sterilized by gamma irradiation (col. 20, lines 40-44). With respect to claim 9, Ellies teaches the compound has a formula Ia, Ib, Ic, or Id as recited in instant claim 9 (Ellies, paragraphs [0107] through [0110]). With respect to claim 10, Ellies teaches that R2 can be selected from the group consisting of H, halogen, C1-6 alkyl, C1-6 haloalkyl, C1-6 alkoxy, and C1-6 haloalkoxy (paragraph [0283]). With respect to claim 11, Ellies teaches that R2 can be selected from the group consisting of halogen, C1-6 alkyl, C1-6 haloalkyl, and C1-6 alkoxy (paragraph [0284]). With respect to claim 12, Ellies teaches wherein R2 is C1-6alkyl or C1-6 haloalkyl (paragraph [0285]). With respect to claim 13, Ellies teaches wherein R2 is CH3 or CF3 (paragraph [0286]). With respect to claim 15, Ellies teaches wherein R2 is CF3 (paragraph [0288]). With respect to claim 16, Ellies teaches wherein RN is heterocyclyl or heteroaryl (paragraph [0306]).
With respect to claim 17, Ellies teaches wherein RN is monocyclic heterocyclyl (paragraph [0300]). With respect to claim 18, Ellies teaches wherein RN is
(paragraph [0301]). With respect to claim 19, Ellies teaches wherein the compound is one of the species recited in instant claim 19 (paragraph [0325]). With respect to claim 20, Ellies teaches that the matrix can include an osteoinductive agent (i.e. a bone forming agent; paragraph [0089]).
With respect to claim 22, Ellies teaches a method of promoting bone formation in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula I, thereby promoting bone formation in the subject (paragraph [0024]). Ellies teaches that such administration can be local (paragraph [0024]). With respect to claim 35, Ellies teaches a method of treating bone loss. The method includes administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula I in series or in combination with an antiresorptive agent (paragraph [0031]).
Claims 5–6 are obvious over Ellies, McKay, and Brunelle:
Claims 5–6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ellies and McKay, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0136325 to Brunelle et al. (hereinafter, “Brunelle”).
Claim 5 recites the composition of claim 1 wherein the bioactive glass has a particle size of from about 50 microns to about 500 microns, while claim 6 recites the bioactive glass particle size is from about 90 to 250 microns. Neither Ellies nor McKay explicitly teaches these particle size ranges of bioactive glass, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize bioactive glass particles within these size ranges, as these were well-known size ranges of bioactive glass particles to use in compositions for promoting bone growth. See, for example, Brunelle.
Brunelle teaches moldable, osteoinductive bone graft compositions (paragraph [0007]) formed of bioresorbable polymer, hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, and bioactive glass (paragraph [0009]). Brunelle teaches that the bioactive glass is formed of particles, having suitable sizes such as from about 100 μm to about 200 μm (paragraph [0108]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575 (Fed. Cir. 1990). This is particularly so when, as in the present case, there is no evidence of criticality of the recited range. See also, MPEP § 2144.05. It thus would have been obvious to utilize bioactive glass particles within the size ranges recited in claims 5–6 in the composition of Ellies and McKay.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–6, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are rejected for nonstatutory double patenting over the ’250 patent:
Claims 1–6, 8–13, 15–20, 22, and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 12–13, and 20–21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,655,250 (hereinafter, “the ’250 patent”), in view of Ellies, McKay, and Brunelle.
Instant claim 1 is patentably indistinct from combined claims 1, 10, 12, and 13 of the ’250 patent. Claim 1 of the ’250 patent recites a medical device to be permanently implanted in a subject, attached to a bone, and having a structural support. The structural support bears at least a partial external or internal coating of any one of six compounds corresponding to the compounds of instant claim 19. As such, the structural support contains a compound of instant claim 1. Claim 10 of the ’250 patent further recites that the structural support can include hydroxyapatite or calcium phosphates, while claim 12 of the ’250 patent recites that the structural support is a scaffold or matrix that can include a bioactive glass. Claim 13 recites that the structural support is a scaffold or matrix that can comprise collagen. The structural support of combined claims 1, 10, 12, and 13 of the ’250 patent thus possesses the compositional elements of instant claim 1 (a composition having (a) a scaffold formed of collagen, a bioactive glass, and hydroxyapatite or calcium phosphates, and (b) a compound of instant Formula I, albeit only certain select compounds of Formula I). The claims of the ’250 patent do not explicitly require that the hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate are present in a ratio of from 0/100 to 15/85, that the bioactive glass is uniformly dispersed in both interior and surface portions of the scaffold, or that the composition is sterilized and packaged. These are well-known and obvious variations, however, as taught by McKay, and as discussed above in reference to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Claim 1 is thus patentably indistinct over the combination of claims 1, 10, 12, and 13 of the ’250 patent.
Instant claim 2 is substantially identical to instant claim 1 but does not require the compound of Formula I. As such, claims 1, 10, 12, and 13 of the ’250 patent, as supported by McKay, recite the features of instant claim 2. With respect to instant claims 3–4 and 8, these features are obvious variations as taught by McKay and discussed above with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of these claims. With respect to claims 5–6, these features are obvious variations as taught by Brunelle, and as discussed above with respect to the rejections of these claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103. With respect to claims 9–13 and 15–18, the six compounds recited in claim 1 of the ’250 patent satisfy these structural criteria; and with respect to instant claim 19, the compounds recited in instant claim 19 are the same as those recited in claim 1 of the ’250 patent. With respect to instant claim 20, claim 20 of the ’250 patent recites that the medical device includes BMP 2, 7, or 4. While this claim does not specifically require that the BMP be included in the scaffold, this is an obvious variation.
With respect to instant claim 22, claim 21 of the ’250 patent recites the same method but in which one of six specific compounds of Formula I are administered to the subject, rather than any compound of Formula I. With respect to instant claim 35, the preambular recitation of treating bone loss is substantially the same as the preambular recitation of claim 21 of the ’250 patent of promoting bone formation. Furthermore, the feature of co-administering an antiresorptive agent is well-known in the art, and thus an obvious variation, as taught by Ellies and discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 35 under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER K. SHOWALTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629