DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/965,648 on February 6, 2026. Please note Claims 1-6 and 21-29 are pending and have been examined.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 6 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( US 2019/0378459 A1 ) in view of Lee ( US 2023/0230522 A1 ).
Kim teaches in Claim 1:
A display device ( Figure 1, [0033] discloses a display device ) comprising:
a display panel including subpixels disposed in a display area and configured to display a main image and dummy subpixel lines disposed in an outer area of the display area ( Figure 1, [0034] discloses a display panel 10 which includes pixels PXL in a pixel array (read as a main area) as well as reference voltage lines 16 (read as dummy subpixel lines) which connect to a sensing unit 122. Figure 2, [0037] disclose details on the sensing unit and the lines 16 which are disposed/lead into data driver and in general, disposed in an outer area of the display area. Furthermore, please note the combination below as well ); and
a circuit configured to:
output a data voltage for driving the display panel during a first period and acquire a sensing value from the display panel during a second period ( Figure 5, [0047]-[0048] discloses an operation for writing the input image data, part of IDW driving (read as during a first period) and then implement SDW driving in a vertical blank period (read as a second period). Figure 5 shows the two distinct periods with the sensing driving occurs after the image data writing period ), and
in response to a change of a driving frequency of the display panel, increase or decrease a number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines among the dummy subpixel lines to sense during the second period ( Figure 6, [0068] disclose that as the frame frequency increases (read as changes), the vertical blank period accordingly adjusts. The number of sensing times RT# can change, as well as the number of sensing lines to be sensed per frame (read as increasing or decreasing a sensing target dummy pixel lines). To clarify, based on the frequency, the number of sense lines used for sensing, as shown in Figures 1 and 2, are changed ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein each of the dummy subpixel lines includes a row of dummy subpixels in the outer area that are not being used to display the main image in the display area”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, displays with sensing aspects (Lee, [0081]), Lee teaches of a plurality of pixels P disposed in a display area 10, ( Lee, Figure 2, [0065] ). Furthermore, Lee teaches of a plurality of dummy pixels DP disposed in a sub-display area 20. As for the structure of the dummy pixels, Lee teaches in Figure 4, [0076], [0085] the pixels P and dummy pixels DP have the same structure, including scan line connections, etc, (reinforcing the row of dummy subpixels shown in Figure 2. [0085] discloses dummy pixels DP may be defined with pixel rows and pixel columns). As combined with Kim, a clear main pixel area and a dummy pixel area are implemented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dummy area, as taught by Lee, with the motivation that it provides black data in the outer peripheral portion where display image is not displayed due to the shift of image data. Essentially, the dummy area assists in image shifting, as shown in Figure 3, [0068].
As per Claim 2:
With regards to “wherein the circuit is further configured to increase the number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines when the driving frequency increases.”
Kim teaches in [0068] that as the frame frequency increase, the vertical blank period becomes longer and as such, the number of sensing operations and number of sensing lines is also increased. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize that depending on the frequency, the appropriate number of sensing times, sensing lines, can be set properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the relationship between frequency and number of sensing lines, with the motivation that this will result in proper sensing given the frequency, a concept Kim also stresses, ( Kim, [0068] ).
As per Claim 3:
With regards to “wherein the circuit is further configured to: set a reference driving frequency of the display panel, increase the number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines when the driving frequency becomes higher than the reference driving frequency, and decrease the number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines when the driving frequency becomes lower than the reference driving frequency.”
Kim teaches in [0068] that as the frame frequency increase, the vertical blank period becomes longer and as such, the number of sensing operations and number of sensing lines is also increased. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize that depending on the frequency, the appropriate number of sensing times, sensing lines, can be set properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the relationship between frequency and number of sensing lines, with the motivation that this will result in proper sensing given the frequency, a concept Kim also stresses, ( Kim, [0068] ).
Kim teaches in Claim 6:
The display device of claim 1, wherein the circuit is further configured to:
supply a sensing data voltage through a dummy data line connected to at least one of the dummy subpixel lines during the blank period of the display panel, and receive the sensing value through a reference line connected to the at least one of the dummy subpixel lines. ( Figure 2, [0055] discloses using the reference voltage lines 16 to sense the state of the sensed pixel and this is done during the vertical blanking period )
Lee teaches in Claim 21:
The display device of claim 1, wherein the dummy subpixels of the dummy subpixel lines in the outer area comprise a same or similar structure as the subpixels disposed in the display area. ( Figure 4, [0076] discloses the pixel structure of pixel P and dummy pixel DP, which are at least similar )
Lee teaches in Claim 22:
The display device of claim 4, wherein the position of the main image displayed on the display panel moves according to an orbit driving operation. ( Figure 3, [0004] discloses an orbit driving scheme which is a type of pixel shift scheme )
Lee teaches in Claim 23:
The display device of claim 22, wherein the orbit driving operation completes one cycle by sequentially moving the position of the main image four times in a clockwise direction. ( Figure 3, [0068] discloses multiple shapes/clockwise rotations, as shown. Respectfully, the number of movement times is a design choice issue in light of the pixel/image shifting technique )
Lee teaches in Claim 24:
The display device of claim 1, wherein the circuit is further configured to: sum voltage values corresponding to the one or more lines of dummy subpixels to generate a summation value, and perform a compensation operation or determine that the display panel has a defect based of the summation value. ( Lee teaches of deterioration compensation areas and the dummy pixels deposed in these areas. Respectfully, it is clear the amount of compensation is based on the added/summed value of these areas and Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known )
Kim teaches in Claim 25:
The display device of claim 1, wherein the sensing value corresponds to a sum of currents acquired from the number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines. ( The same reasoning of Claim 24 is also applicable here as well: Lee teaches of deterioration compensation areas and the dummy pixels deposed in these areas. Respectfully, it is clear the amount of compensation is based on the added/summed value of these areas and Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known )
Kim and Lee teach in Claim 26:
The display device of claim 1, wherein increasing the number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines reduces a sensing time used to acquire a target sensing value. ( Kim, Figure 6, [0061] disclose the inverse relationship between the number of sensing lines and the update sensing. [0068] also provides details )
Kim and Lee teach in Claim 27:
The display device of claim 1, wherein the circuit is further configured to: sense one dummy subpixel line when the driving frequency is 60 Hz, and sense a group of multiple dummy subpixel lines together when the driving frequency is 120Hz or 240 Hz. ( Kim, [0060] discloses the number of sensing times per frame can be adjusted based on the frequency. As combined with Lee who teaches of using dummy pixel lines, it is clear these dummy aspects can be sensed differently depending on the frequency )
Kim and Lee teach in Claim 28:
The display device of claim 1, wherein a time for applying a sensing data voltage is fixed regardless of the number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines. ( Kim, Figure 8, [0070]-[0071] discloses the fixed period for various frequencies as an alternative embodiment. The frequency is related to the number of sensing/dummy pixel lines which are used, as the combination teaches )
Kim and Lee teach in Claim 29:
The display device of claim 1, wherein a time for applying a sampling control signal varies depending on the number of sensing target dummy subpixel lines. ( Kim, Figure 6, [0061] disclose the relationship between the number of sensing lines and the update sensing. [0068] also provides details and it is clear the number of sensing lines is embodied as a sampling control signal (broad and needs to be better defined) )
6. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al.
( US 2019/0378459 A1 ) in view of Lee ( US 2023/0230522 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Cho et al. ( US 2023/0306890 A1 ).
As per Claim 4:
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the circuit is further configured to select a dummy subpixel line displaying black during a blank period as a sensing target when a position of the main image displayed on the display panel moves up, down, left, or right.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, display driving with variable frequencies, Cho teaches: Figures 5 and 6, [0047] disclose the sequencing of images, the rendering and how the frequency changes as a result of this image data. As a result, as the frequency changes, the number of sensing lines is also adjusted. As combined with Kim, who also teaches of variable frequencies, this aspect changing as the images are rendered and analyzed, the movement aspects can be incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the image aspects, as taught by Cho, with the motivation that by examining the image aspects, proper frequencies can be assigned and the number of sensing aspects can be adjusted, ( Cho, [0047] ), which is a concept Kim also desires.
As per Claim 5:
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the circuit is further configured to determine that the display panel has a defect based on the sensing value obtained from the number of the sensing target dummy subpixel lines.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, display driving with variable frequencies, Cho teaches: Figure 9, [0079] discloses that, based on different frequencies, adjusts sensing operations. A s a result, compensation cycles can be implemented in light of the sensing operations and this can minimize image defects. Please interpret the compensation as a way to deal with defects and correct/minimize them.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the image aspects, as taught by Cho, with the motivation that by performing sensing aspects, defects can be minimized, ( Cho, [0079] ).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments considered but are respectfully moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments. As a result, the Lee reference has been cited and Applicant’s arguments are moot at this time.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621