DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/965701. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by WILSON (2003/0202860).
Regarding Claim 1, WILSON teaches A security fastener assembly (130) comprising: a fastener body having a threaded portion (132) for securing the fastener assembly, the fastener body having an attachment portion (146) at a first end along and a keyed security feature (158) formed adjacent the attachment portion; and a cap (10) having an outer a tool bearing surface (14) and internal bore for receiving the attachment portion (146) of the fastener body, wherein the threaded portion (132) of the fastener body is installed with rotation in a first direction, and wherein the cap (10) freely spins on the fastener body while the cap (10) is retained on the fastener body.
Regarding Claim 3, WILSON teaches wherein the keyed security feature (158) is formed external to the attachment portion (158 is external to 146 in the axial direction) on the fastener body.
Regarding Claims 4, 13, WILSON teaches wherein the keyed security feature (158) comprises at least one recess having a unique security shape being inoperable with standard tools.
Regarding Claims 5, 11, 18, WILSON teaches wherein the keyed security feature (158) is formed on a ledge (154) of the fastener body.
Regarding Claims 6, 12, WILSON teaches wherein the keyed security feature (158) comprises a recess is defined along a periphery of the ledge (154).
Regarding Claims 7, 10, 16, WILSON teaches wherein the cap is metal [0023].
Regarding Claim 8, WILSON teaches A security fastener assembly comprising: a fastener body having a threaded fastener portion (132) for securing the fastener assembly, the fastener body having an attachment portion (146) formed as a protrusion at a first end and has a keyed security feature (158) formed adjacent the attachment portion (146); and a cap (10) having an outer a tool bearing surface (14) and internal bore for receiving the attachment portion (146) of the fastener body, wherein engaging the tool bearing surface (14) of the cap (10) does not rotate the threaded portion (132) of the fastener body.
Regarding Claim 14, WILSON teaches A security fastener assembly comprising: a fastener body having a threaded fastener portion (132) for securing the fastener assembly, the fastener body having an attachment portion (146) at a first end and has a keyed security recess (158) formed adjacent the attachment portion (146), wherein the keyed security recess has a unique security shape being inoperable with standard tools; and a cap (10) having an outer a tool bearing surface (14) and internal bore for receiving the attachment portion (146) of the fastener body, wherein engaging the tool bearing surface (14) of the cap (10) does not rotate the threaded portion (132) of the fastener body, wherein the fastener body is rotatable with the keyed security feature (158).
Regarding Claim 15, WILSON teaches wherein the threaded fastener portion (132) of the fastener body is installed with rotation in a first direction, and wherein engaging the tool bearing surface (14) of the cap (10) and rotating in a second direction opposite the first direction does not rotate the threaded fastener portion (132) of the fastener body, and wherein the fastener body is removable with the keyed security recess (158).
Regarding Claim 17, WILSON teaches wherein the attachment portion (146) on the fastener body has a protrusion, wherein the protrusion is inserted into the internal bore when the cap (10) is retained on the fastener body.
Regarding Claim 19, WILSON teaches wherein the keyed security recess (158) comprises a plurality of grooves defined along a periphery of the ledge (154)(Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 20, WILSON teaches and a security drive tool having a tool bearing tip shaped to engage the keyed security feature (158) for removing the fastener body from the vehicle [0031].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the fastener body is removable with the keyed security feature without removing the cap with the other elements in Claims 2, 9.
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654