DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. Claim 13 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 6. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesel et al. (US 2023/0092282 A1 – hereinafter Boesel) and Ki et al. (US 2014/0240452 A1 – hereinafter Ki).
Regarding claim 1, Boesel discloses a display controlling apparatus (Figs. 9A-9E – apparatus 101) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions ([0074] – memory 320 storing program instructions); and one or more processors executing the instructions (Fig. 3; [0042]; [0070] – a processor) to: acquire information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint corresponding to a first virtual viewpoint image ([0221] – acquiring information indicating a first location of the view point in order to determine scaling the size of the object) generated based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of imaging apparatuses ([0073]; [0102]; [0109] – based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of cameras, e.g. RGB cameras), and information indicating a position of an observed point corresponding to the first virtual viewpoint ([0190]-[00193] – acquiring information indicating a location of an observed point where the object is located according to user’s control); and determine a size of an object indicating the observed point, based on a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased); and perform control of displaying a second virtual viewpoint image corresponding to a second virtual viewpoint, the second virtual viewpoint image including the object indicating the observed point having the determined size, and an object indicating the first virtual viewpoint ([0092]-[0093]; [0221]; Figs. 9A, 9D – the object with increased size is displayed accordingly), wherein the determining determines a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is a second distance longer than a first distance, to be larger than a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is the first distance ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased).
However, Boesel does not disclose the one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on the information indicating the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the information indicating the position of the observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases.
Ki discloses one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint and information indicating a position of an observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases ([0060]; [0065]; Fig. 5(a)-(c) – determining a virtual location of a user when the user zooms out based on a zooming out factor, i.e. using the zooming out factor to derive the zoomed-out virtual location from the current virtual location and the depth value of the object, i.e. the distance from information indicating a position of an observed point).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ki into the display controlling apparatus taught by Boesel to create an effect of a realistic sense for the user to experience.
Regarding claim 4, Boesel also discloses the display controlling apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the object indicating the first virtual viewpoint and the object indicating the observed point are three- dimensional models ([0206] - a three-dimensional virtual object such as a three-dimensional model of a car, a three-dimensional model of an alarm clock).
Regarding claim 5, Boesel also discloses the display controlling apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a position of the second virtual viewpoint is a position at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – locations of viewpoint are predetermined by the user).
Regarding claim 6, Boesel discloses a display controlling apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions ([0074] – memory 320 storing program instructions); and one or more processors executing the instructions (Fig. 3; [0042]; [0070] – a processor) to: acquire information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint corresponding to a first virtual viewpoint image ([0221] – acquiring information indicating a first location of the view point in order to determine scaling the size of the object) generated based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of imaging apparatuses ([0073]; [0102]; [0109] – based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of cameras, e.g. RGB cameras), and acquire information indicating a position of an observed point corresponding to the first virtual viewpoint ([0190]-[00193] – acquiring information indicating a location of an observed point where the object is located according to user’s control); and determine a size of an object indicating the observed point, based on a distance from the position of a second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased), and perform control of displaying a second virtual viewpoint image corresponding to the second virtual viewpoint, the second virtual viewpoint image including the object indicating the observed point having the determined size, and an object indicating the first virtual viewpoint ([0092]-[0093]; [0221]; Figs. 9A, 9D – the object with increased size is displayed accordingly), wherein the determining determines a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is a second distance longer than a first distance, to be larger than a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is the first distance ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased).
However, Boesel does not disclose the one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on the information indicating the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the information indicating the position of the observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases.
Ki discloses one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint and information indicating a position of an observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases ([0060]; [0065]; Fig. 5(a)-(c) – determining a virtual location of a user when the user zooms out based on a zooming out factor, i.e. using the zooming out factor to derive the zoomed-out virtual location from the current virtual location and the depth value of the object, i.e. the distance from information indicating a position of an observed point).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ki into the display controlling apparatus taught by Boesel to create an effect of a realistic sense for the user to experience.
Regarding claim 7, Boesel also discloses the display controlling apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a size of the object indicating the observed point is a size on the second virtual viewpoint image ([0092]-[0093]; [0221]; Figs. 9A, 9D).
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Boesel also disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a computer program for causing a computer to perform the recited steps ([0074] – memory 320 storing program instructions to be executed by a process as described at least in Fig. 3, [0042], and [0070]).
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 6 above in view of Boesel also disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a computer program for causing a computer to perform the recited steps ([0074] – memory 320 storing program instructions to be executed by a process as described at least in Fig. 3, [0042], and [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, Boesel discloses a display controlling apparatus (Figs. 9A-9E – apparatus 101) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions ([0074] – memory 320 storing program instructions); and one or more processors executing the instructions (Fig. 3; [0042]; [0070] – a processor) to: acquire information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint corresponding to a first virtual viewpoint image ([0221] – acquiring information indicating a first location of the view point in order to determine scaling the size of the object) generated based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of imaging apparatuses ([0073]; [0102]; [0109] – based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of cameras, e.g. RGB cameras), and information indicating a position of an observed point corresponding to the first virtual viewpoint ([0190]-[00193] – acquiring information indicating a location of an observed point where the object is located according to user’s control); and determine a size of an object indicating the observed point, based on a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased); and perform control of displaying a second virtual viewpoint image corresponding to a second virtual viewpoint, the second virtual viewpoint image including the object indicating the observed point having the determined size, and an object indicating the first virtual viewpoint ([0092]-[0093]; [0221]; Figs. 9A, 9D – the object with increased size is displayed accordingly), wherein the determining determines a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is a second distance longer than a first distance, to be larger than a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is the first distance ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased), and wherein control of displaying a second virtual viewpoint image corresponding to a second virtual viewpoint determined based on the first virtual viewpoint is performed, the second virtual viewpoint image including the object indicating the observed point that has a determined size, and an object indicating the first virtual viewpoint ([0092]-[0093]; [0221]; Figs. 9A, 9D – the object with increased size is displayed accordingly).
However, Boesel does not disclose the one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on the information indicating the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the information indicating the position of the observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases.
Ki discloses one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint and information indicating a position of an observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases ([0060]; [0065]; Fig. 5(a)-(c) – determining a virtual location of a user when the user zooms out based on a zooming out factor, i.e. using the zooming out factor to derive the zoomed-out virtual location from the current virtual location and the depth value of the object, i.e. the distance from information indicating a position of an observed point).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ki into the display controlling apparatus taught by Boesel to create an effect of a realistic sense for the user to experience.
Regarding claim 13, Boesel discloses a display controlling apparatus (Figs. 9A-9E – apparatus 101) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions ([0074] – memory 320 storing program instructions); and one or more processors executing the instructions (Fig. 3; [0042]; [0070] – a processor) to: acquire information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint corresponding to a first virtual viewpoint image ([0221] – acquiring information indicating a first location of the view point in order to determine scaling the size of the object) generated based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of imaging apparatuses ([0073]; [0102]; [0109] – based on a plurality of captured images obtained by a plurality of cameras, e.g. RGB cameras), and acquire information indicating a position of an observed point corresponding to the first virtual viewpoint ([0190]-[00193] – acquiring information indicating a location of an observed point where the object is located according to user’s control); and determine a size of an object indicating the observed point, based on a distance from the position of a second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased); and perform control of displaying a second virtual viewpoint image corresponding to a second virtual viewpoint, the second virtual viewpoint image including the object indicating the observed point having the determined size, and an object indicating the first virtual viewpoint ([0092]-[0093]; [0221]; Figs. 9A, 9D – the object with increased size is displayed accordingly), wherein the determining determines a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is a second distance longer than a first distance, to be larger than a size of an object indicating the observed point in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is the first distance ([0092]-[0093]; [0221] – determining a size of an object indicating the observed point so that as the object moves further away from the virtual view point, i.e. the distance gets longer, the size of the object is increased), and wherein control of displaying a second virtual viewpoint image corresponding to a second virtual viewpoint determined based on the first virtual viewpoint is performed, the second virtual viewpoint image including the object indicating the observed point that has a determined size, and an object indicating the first virtual viewpoint ([0092]-[0093]; [0221]; Figs. 9A, 9D – the object with increased size is displayed accordingly).
However, Boesel does not disclose the one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on the information indicating the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the information indicating the position of the observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases.
Ki discloses one or more processors executing the instructions to: determine, based on information indicating a position of a first virtual viewpoint and information indicating a position of an observed point, a position of a second virtual viewpoint that is located at a predetermined distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint in a direction away from the observed point relative to the first virtual viewpoint, such that as a distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point increases, a distance from the position of the second virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point also increases ([0060]; [0065]; Fig. 5(a)-(c) – determining a virtual location of a user when the user zooms out based on a zooming out factor, i.e. using the zooming out factor to derive the zoomed-out virtual location from the current virtual location and the depth value of the object, i.e. the distance from information indicating a position of an observed point).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ki into the display controlling apparatus taught by Boesel to create an effect of a realistic sense for the user to experience.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesel and Ki as applied to claims 1 and 4-11 above, and further in view of Gitter et al. (US 2024/0420435 A1 – hereinafter Gitter).
Regarding claim 2, see the teachings of Boesel and Ki as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Boesel and Ki do not explicitly disclose a size of the object indicating the observed point is determined in such a manner as to be proportionate to the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point.
Gitter discloses a size of an object indicating an observed point is determined in such a manner as to be proportionate to the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point ([0445] - increasing a size of a virtual object according to a linear relationship with the distance between the viewpoint and the virtual object).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Gitter into the apparatus taught by Boesel and Ki to enhance the viewing experience, i.e. making more sense to the user.
Regarding claim 3, see the teachings of Boesel and Ki as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Boesel and Ki do not explicitly disclose in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is smaller than a threshold value, a size of the object indicating the observed point is determined to be a predetermined size, and in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the size is determined to be a larger size as the distance becomes larger.
Gitter discloses in a case where a distance from a position of a first virtual viewpoint to a position of an observed point is smaller than a threshold value, a size of an object indicating the observed point is determined to be a predetermined size, and in a case where the distance from the position of the first virtual viewpoint to the position of the observed point is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the size is determined to be a larger size as the distance becomes larger ([0414]; [0445]; Figs. 11A-11F – when the distance is less than a threshold, i.e. a minimum distance 1132a, the size is at a predetermined value 1128a, when the distance is greater than the threshold, the size increases as the distance becomes larger according to a curve 1126-3 or 1126-2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Gitter into the apparatus taught by Boesel and Ki to prevent the size of the object from becoming too small that the user cannot see.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484