Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Xiaoping (WO 2016019489).
Regarding claim 1, Xiaoping teaches, a computer-implemented method for remote control (abstract) of a live stream video field of view (Pg. 3, line 22-26, Pg. 4, lines 24-30: remotely control the first image capture device. Examples enable a request for adjustment of an image capture viewpoint of the first image capture device to be sent from the second device to the first image capture device which causes user identifiable indications to be generated and presented to the first user for indicating to the first user the requested change in the image capture viewpoint), the computer-implemented method comprising:
under control of a handheld computing device (Pg. 4, lines 1-5) comprising a video camera (Pg. 4, lines 1-5: image sensor and camera), an output, (Pg. 4, lines 15-19: display) and one or more processors configured to execute specific computer-executable instructions (Fig. 5: processor 502), obtaining, using the video camera, video data representing a field of view of the video camera (fig. 3, el. 301 and Pg. 6, lines 31-33: particular image/video capture viewpoint, is captured by a first image/video capture device);
sending a substantially live stream of the video data to a remote device (fig, 3, el. 302, Pg. 6, lines 33-36: The captured image/video is sent in block 302 by the first device and is received, in block 303, by the second device and Pg. 9, lines 1-4);
receiving from the remote device (fig. 3, second master device, second device) while continuing to obtain video data representing the field of view, device movement data representing a desired movement of the handheld computing device to change the field of view (pg. 9, lines 1-4: Firstly the image/video capture in block 301 may correspond to a real-time feed of streaming video footage captured by the first image/video capturing device. Such video footage, or sample images/videos may be compressed or down sampled prior to transmission to the second device to reduce bandwidth requirements of the sending in block 302., Pg. 4, lines 12-13, pg. 7, lines 15-25: Should the second user wish to change the image/video capture viewpoint the user may provide a user input in this regard. In block 305, the user input to request a change of the image/video capture viewpoint is received at the second device. The user input for requesting a change of the image/video capture viewpoint of the first image/video capture device may comprise detecting movement of the second device. For example the second user of the second device may change the orientation or direction of the second device by manually manipulating the second device his or herself. A change in the movement may be detected, for example detecting a change in the orientation, yaw, pitch, roll, tilt or angle of direction of the device via appropriate sensors of the second device. Additionally, sensors may be able to detect the direction and magnitude of such movements. Information regarding the same may be comprised in the instruction/request which is sent to the first device in block 201, pg. 8, lines 12-15: an indication of a requested magnitude of the movement of the second device may also be provided ); and presenting, using the output, a prompt to move the handheld computing device based on the desired movement (pg. 5, lines 35-36 through Pg. 6, lines 1-5: The captured image/video is sent in block 302 by the first device and is received, in block 303, by the second device. The transmission of the captured image/video may be via any suitable communication network(s), for example a cellular communication network or other wireless communication network. In block 304 the received image/video captured by the first imaging capturing device is displayed on a display of the second device. A second user of the second device, upon viewing the captured image/video (having a particular imaging viewpoint) on the display of the second device can then decide whether or not the image/video is appropriately framed or if the second user would wish to change the image/video viewpoint, i.e. seek to adjust the aiming or zoom level of the first image/video capture device).
Regarding claim 2, Xiaoping teaches wherein receiving the device movement data representing the desired movement comprises receiving data representing a magnitude and direction in which the handheld computing device is to be moved (PG. 8, lines 12-16, pg. 7, lines 25-35, pg. 9, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 3, Xiaoping teaches wherein presenting the prompt comprises displaying an arrow indicating a direction in which the handheld computing device is to be moved to satisfy the desired movement (PG. 8, lines 12-16, pg. 7, lines 25-35, pg. 9, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 9, Xiaoping teaches receiving, from the remote device while continuing to obtain video data representing the field of view, capture setting data representing a capture setting of the video camera to be applied (Pg. 7, lines 15-35: the second user wish to change the image/video capture viewpoint the user may provide a user input in this regard. In block 305, the user input to request a change of the image/video capture viewpoint is received at the second device. The user input for requesting a change of the image/video capture viewpoint of the first image/video capture device may comprise detecting movement of the second device. For example the second user of the second device may change the orientation or direction of the second device by manually manipulating the second device his or herself. A change in the movement may be detected, for example detecting a change in the orientation, yaw, pitch, roll, tilt or angle of direction of the device via appropriate sensors of the second device. Additionally, sensors may be able to detect the direction and magnitude of such movements. Information regarding the same may be comprised in the instruction/request which is sent to the first device in block 201. In addition or alternatively, user input for requesting a change of the image/video capture viewpoint of the first image/video capture device may comprise the second user of the second device actuating a user interface element of the second device, for example a button or key of a user input device or effect a gesture on a touch screen of the second. For example, a user may provide an indication as to a desire to change the image/video capture viewpoint to the left by performing a swiping gesture on the image/video displayed on the second device to the left which is detected. On certain other particular examples, the second device may itself have zoom controls, actuation of which by the second user may be used to provide the user input of block 305 to request a change in the zoom level. Information concerning the requested change of image/video capture viewpoint is sent in the request); and applying the capture setting to capture of the video data (Pg. 7, lines 25-35 and Pg. 9, lines 9-12: sending an image/video capture control signal, other control signals (not shown) may also be sent to automatically control functionality of the first image/video capture device, for example controlling: zoom, focus, ISO, flash and shutter speed levels).
Regarding claim 10, Xiaoping teaches wherein applying the capture setting comprises changing one of: an exposure setting, a zoom setting, a color temperature setting, a flash setting, or a focus setting (Pg. 7, lines 25-35 and Pg. 9, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 11, Xiaoping teaches receiving, from the remote device while continuing to obtain video data representing the field of view, second capture setting data representing a second capture setting of the video camera to be applied, wherein the second capture setting is different from the capture setting; and applying the second capture setting to capture of the video data (Pg. 7, lines 25-35 and Pg. 9, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 12, Xiaoping teaches receiving, from the remote device while continuing to obtain video data representing the field of view, capture setting data representing a combination of capture settings of the video camera to be applied; and applying the combination of capture settings to capture of the video data (Pg. 7, lines 25-35 and Pg. 9, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 13, Xiaoping teaches wherein applying the combination of capture settings comprises changing two or more of: an exposure setting, a zoom setting, a color temperature setting, a flash setting, or a focus setting (Pg. 7, lines 25-35 and Pg. 9, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 18, see claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 19, Xiaoping teaches wherein generating the motion data comprises generating the motion data using an inertial motion sensor of the handheld computing device (movement sensors or sensing means 602 for sensing changes in movement of the device 600).
Regarding claim 20, Xiaoping teaches wherein generating the motion data comprises generating the motion data based on an analysis of second video data obtained from a video camera of the handheld computing device moved (PG. 8, lines 12-16, pg. 7, lines 25-35, pg. 9, lines 9-12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and (7-8 for depending on 6), 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIA EL-ZOOBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692