Claims 1-3, 12, 16, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 23, 2026 have been considered.
With respect to arguments regarding 112(b), the arguments are persuasive in view of the amended claims therefore the 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
With respect to arguments regarding the amended independent claims, these arguments are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a data handling standard” which is also recited in its parent claim, so it is unclear whether these features are the same or different. For examination purposes, this claim is interpreted as reciting "the data handling standard."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-11, 14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyerzon (US 20210110278 A1, hereinafter referred to as Meyerzon) in view of Tao Chen et al. (An Encryption and Probability based Access Control Model for Named Data Networking, hereinafter referred to as Chen) in further view of Moonka (US 20120054189 A1, hereinafter referred to as Moonka) in further view of Torbey (US 20200349277 A1, hereinafter referred to as Torbey).
Regarding claim 1, Meyerzon discloses: A computer-implemented method of determining user access control information for digital documents (Meyerzon: Paragraph [0056] states, "The object store 530 determines the permissions to view each attribute of the topic page as discussed above and returns the source documents to which the user has access.") comprising: generating an access control block for a digital document that indicates access permissions for user identities associated with the digital document, wherein the digital document is stored in a first geographic region (Meyerzon: Paragraph [0051] states, "The object store 530 may control access to entity records in the knowledge graph 310 based on permissions of each user to view the set of enterprise source documents associated with the entity record." Paragraph [0057] states that "access control list (ACL) aggregation is used to control access to topic pages. When a new document is added to a topic, the object store can retrieve the ACL for the document." Paragraph [0046] states, "The documents 510 are user documents saved to an online document storage 512 within the enterprise intranet. For example, user documents include word processing documents, intranet sites, emails, calendar items, group conversations, group meetings, and other documents generated by the enterprise and stored in the online document storage 512. A search crawler 514 picks up the new document or updated document and pushes the document to a mailbox 520. Mailboxes 520 are grouped into shards 522 including a primary shard. The mailboxes 520 or shards 522 perform analytics to determine metrics for documents such as most popular documents. In an implementation with a distributed architecture, the shards may be associated with geographic regions and there may be at least one shard per region of the enterprise. Data mined or extracted from a document may be stored within a local geographic shard."), but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the access control block includes user-identifying access-control information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses: wherein the access control block includes user-identifying access-control information (Chen: Section 3C2 states, "Similar to regular Data objects, the Interest for the data key is forward by NDN routers. However, the data key is not necessarily cached in the ContentStore since the data key is encrypted with the public key of the subscribers by the site (producer), thus it is unique to each specific subscriber. The site will search active user table to verify the access right of the user who sends the Interest. If successful, the site will encrypt the data key with the user's public key PUu and return data packets P,P=E(PUu,DKV) to the user, where E denotes the encryption operation." Examiner's note: the public key for each subscriber is being mapped to the user-identifying information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon and include the above limitation with the teaching of Chen since it "significantly enhances the access control of the protected Data objects by pre-filtering the Interests from a large number of unauthorized consumers and preventing them from obtaining the encrypted Data contents." (Chen: introduction).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Chen fails to explicitly disclose: and wherein the access control block is restricted from being stored in a second geographic region by a data handling standard associated with the first geographic region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Moonka discloses: and wherein the [access control] block is restricted from being stored in a second geographic region by a data handling standard associated with the first geographic region (Moonka: Paragraph [0051] states, "A data owner can specify that user list data is applicable to or restricted to use associated with a particular geographic region.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon as modified by Chen and include the above limitation with the teaching of Moonka so that only certain users are getting the relevant content (Moonka: Paragraph [0040]).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Moonka fails to explicitly disclose: access control block.
However, Meyerzon further discloses: access control block (Meyerzon: Paragraph [0057] states that "access control list (ACL) aggregation is used to control access to topic pages. When a new document is added to a topic, the object store can retrieve the ACL for the document."), but fails to explicitly disclose: generating, in the first geographic region, an access control probabilistic data structure for the digital document by using encoding to remove the user identities from the access control block, wherein the access control probabilistic data structure corresponds to permissions associated with the digital document without including user identifiers.
However, Chen further discloses: generating, in the first geographic region, an access control probabilistic data structure for the digital document by using encoding [to remove the user identities from the access control block], wherein the access control probabilistic data structure corresponds to permissions associated with the digital document [without including user identifiers] (Chen: Section B states that "the access rights of a data, e.g., a video file, is protected via data keys (DK) which are used to encrypt the Data object." Section D states that "the bits on the bloom filter data structure mapped by three hash functions, i.e., k = 3, for every subscribed consumer are set to 1, so querying bloom filter for subscribed consumers will always report true." Section E states, "In our design, we generate a bloom filter for each site for verifying active subscribers. Specifically, each site V calculates a bloom filter BFV based on the digests of all public keys in the active user table, and distributes to NDN routers for pre-filter Interests from users which are not in the active user tables."), but fails to explicitly disclose: an access control probabilistic data structure...to remove the user identities from the access control block…without including user identifiers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Torbey discloses: an access control probabilistic data structure...to remove the user identities from the access control block…without including user identifiers (Torbey: Paragraph [0028] states that "the types of content that the user accesses, when the user last accessed the provider's website, and the amount that the user spent on the provider's products." Paragraph [0030] states, "Upon receiving user data specifying one or more attributes, the provider generates a privacy-enhanced representations of the user data using, for example, one or more hash functions. The provider stores the privacy-enhanced representation of the user data in a probabilistic data structure. The provider may then discard the user data, thereby preventing direct access to that data even if an unauthorized third party gained access to the system." Paragraph [0053] states that "the request handler server 110 identifies attributes such as user identifier (e.g., a unique identifier assigned to each user who is a member of the provider's website), the product identifier (e.g., a unique identifier assigned to each of the provider's products), payment information, shipping speed, the shipping information, the purchase price of the product, the shipping cost, and the website where the request originated (e.g., in the case where the provider may operate more than one website)." ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon as modified by Chen and Moonka and include the above limitation with the teaching of Torbey for "preserving user privacy when collecting and analyzing user data" (Torbey: abstract).
Chen further discloses: and providing the access control probabilistic data structure to the second geographic region [without providing, to the second geographic region, the access control block restricted by the data handling standard], wherein the second geographic region uses the access control probabilistic data structure to locally deny access to the digital document stored in the first geographic region for unauthorized users using the access control probabilistic data structure provided to the second geographic region (Chen: Section E states, "The intermediate NDN routers could either respond with cached video contents if they are available in their ContentStore, or forward to the site (producer) if such request is the first Interest the router has received…The advantages of employing a probability based bloom filter in our access control framework in NDN include i) reducing the bandwidth usage for sending encrypted video contents to a large number of unauthorized users, and ii) preventing the majority of unauthorized consumers from downloading and attempting to decrypt the video segments…Once receiving the bloom filter data structure from the site (producer), the NDN router will extract the bloom filter data structure and start to filter Interests to the video site from unauthorized users."), but fails to explicitly disclose: without providing, to the second geographic region, the access control block restricted by the data handling standard.
However, Moonka further discloses: without providing, to the second geographic region, the access control block restricted by the data handling standard (Moonka: Paragraph [0051] states, "A data owner can specify that user list data is applicable to or restricted to use associated with a particular geographic region.").
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Moonka further discloses: wherein the first geographic region comprises a data handling standard that prevents a user identifier of a requesting user from being stored outside of the first geographic region; and the access control block is restricted from being stored in the second geographic region based on the data handling standard (Moonka: Paragraph [0051] states, "A data owner can specify that user list data is applicable to or restricted to use associated with a particular geographic region.").
The same motivation to modify with Moonka, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Torbey further discloses: wherein using encoding to remove the user identities [from the access control block] to generate the access control probabilistic data structure [for the digital document] includes utilizing one or more hash functions to encode the user identities in a bit array (Torbey: Paragraph [0030] states that "the provider generates a privacy-enhanced representations of the user data using, for example, one or more hash functions. The provider stores the privacy-enhanced representation of the user data in a probabilistic data structure.").
The same motivation to modify with Torbey, as in claim 1, applies.
Torbey fails to explicitly disclose: from the access control block…for the digital document.
However, Chen further discloses: from the access control block…for the digital document (Section E states, "In our design, we generate a bloom filter for each site for verifying active subscribers. Specifically, each site V calculates a bloom filter BFV based on the digests of all public keys in the active user table, and distributes to NDN routers for pre-filter Interests from users which are not in the active user tables.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey disclose: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Torbey further discloses: wherein using encoding to remove the user identities [from the access control block] to generate the access control probabilistic data structure [for the digital document] includes utilizing a double hash operation to encode the user identities in a bit array (Torbey: Paragraph [0055] states that "another way of concatenating this information includes generating a hash representation for the user identifier and for each of the attributes, and then concatenating the hash representations of the user identifier and each of the attributes.").
The same motivation to modify with Torbey, as in claim 1, applies.
Torbey fails to explicitly disclose: from the access control block…for the digital document.
However, Chen further discloses: from the access control block…for the digital document (Chen: Section E states, "In our design, we generate a bloom filter for each site for verifying active subscribers. Specifically, each site V calculates a bloom filter BFV based on the digests of all public keys in the active user table, and distributes to NDN routers for pre-filter Interests from users which are not in the active user tables.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Chen further discloses: wherein the second geographic region uses the access control probabilistic data structure to locally deny access to the digital document stored in the first geographic region by utilizing, within the second geographic region, the access control probabilistic data structure to determine when user identifiers do not satisfy an access control threshold (Chen: Section E states, "Figure 4 illustrates an example of a bloom filter with three hash functions for the video streaming service site with a few subscribed users and one unsubscribed user, Eve. All bits corresponding to any subscribed user is 1, suggesting its subscription status and access privileges, while one bit corresponding to Eve is 0, indicating that the user Eve is not a subscribed user. The generated bloom filter is then piggybacked to NDN routers along with the data packets of the subscription confirmation messages. The availability of bloom filter will enable NDN routers to filter Interests from unauthorized users, since the query to the generated bloom filter on the digests of their public keys return false, similar to the case of Eve in Figure 4.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 8.
Chen further discloses: wherein the second geographic region uses the access control probabilistic data structure to locally deny access to the digital document stored in the first geographic region (Chen: Section E states, "The intermediate NDN routers could either respond with cached video contents if they are available in their ContentStore, or forward to the site (producer) if such request is the first Interest the router has received…The advantages of employing a probability based bloom filter in our access control framework in NDN include i) reducing the bandwidth usage for sending encrypted video contents to a large number of unauthorized users, and ii) preventing the majority of unauthorized consumers from downloading and attempting to decrypt the video segments…Once receiving the bloom filter data structure from the site (producer), the NDN router will extract the bloom filter data structure and start to filter Interests to the video site from unauthorized users.") by: encoding a user identifier for a user in the second geographic region requesting access to the digital document into a number that falls within a number range of the access control probabilistic data structure (Chen: Section E states, "Figure 4 illustrates an example of a bloom filter with three hash functions for the video streaming service site with a few subscribed users and one unsubscribed user, Eve. All bits corresponding to any subscribed user is 1, suggesting its subscription status and access privileges, while one bit corresponding to Eve is 0, indicating that the user Eve is not a subscribed user." ); and determining that an entry in the access control probabilistic data structure corresponding to the number does not satisfy the access control threshold (Chen: Section E states, "Figure 4 illustrates an example of a bloom filter with three hash functions for the video streaming service site with a few subscribed users and one unsubscribed user, Eve. All bits corresponding to any subscribed user is 1, suggesting its subscription status and access privileges, while one bit corresponding to Eve is 0, indicating that the user Eve is not a subscribed user.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Chen further discloses: further comprising receiving a query request with a user identifier in the second geographic region to request access to the digital document stored in the first geographic region, wherein the second geographic region provides the query request based on the user identifier satisfying an access control threshold with the access control probabilistic data structure in the second geographic region (Chen: Section B states, "To request the protected video content with access control from the video site, the user Alice sends a regular Interest. The Interest is then routed and forwarded by NDN routers to the video site, which in turn responds the Interest by returning the segments of the requested video. The only difference from regular Interests and Data packets lies in the content encryption. In other words, all the video segments are encrypted by the data key generated by the site, DKV. Given the high computation cost of encrypting with asymmetric keys, we apply symmetry encryption for video content. The symmetric data key DKV could be fetched by each subscribed user as a regular data object. More importantly, the data key is encrypted with the public key, PUv, of each subscriber u to ensure the security of the key itself. Every name of the data key objects for all subscribers is unique and known by subscribers due to the globally coordinated naming convention…the access rights of a data, e.g., a video file, is protected via data keys (DK) which are used to encrypt the Data object." Section D states that "the bits on the bloom filter data structure mapped by three hash functions, i.e., k = 3, for every subscribed consumer are set to 1, so querying bloom filter for subscribed consumers will always report true." Section E states, "Figure 4 illustrates an example of a bloom filter with three hash functions for the video streaming service site with a few subscribed users and one unsubscribed user, Eve. All bits corresponding to any subscribed user is 1, suggesting its subscription status and access privileges, while one bit corresponding to Eve is 0, indicating that the user Eve is not a subscribed user. The generated bloom filter is then piggybacked to NDN routers along with the data packets of the subscription confirmation messages. The availability of bloom filter will enable NDN routers to filter Interests from unauthorized users, since the query to the generated bloom filter on the digests of their public keys return false, similar to the case of Eve in Figure 4.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 10.
Chen further discloses: further comprising: determining, using the access control block for the digital document in the first geographic region, that the user identifier has access to the digital document (Chen: Section C states, "Similar to regular Data objects, the Interest for the data key is forward by NDN routers. However, the data key is not necessarily cached in the ContentStore since the data key is encrypted with the public key of the subscribers by the site (producer), thus it is unique to each specific subscriber. The site will search active user table to verify the access right of the user who sends the Interest. If successful, the site will encrypt the data key with the user’s public key PUu and return data packets P, P = E(PUu,DKV) to the user, where E denotes the encryption operation."); and providing the digital document to the user identifier from the first geographic region to the second geographic region (Chen: Section B states, "the site (producer) will return the encrypted segments as data objects, which will be forwarded and cached by NDN routers. The user Alice, after receiving the first encrypted segment of the video from the site V , will immediately search data key DKV in the local repository. If successful, Alice could start to decrypt and play the segments in a streaming manner.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Chen further discloses: wherein the access control probabilistic data structure comprises a bloom filter (Chen: Section E states, "To prevent unauthorized users from receiving the encrypted video content, we build a probability-based access control mechanism via bloom filter.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen as in claim 1, applies.
Claim 16 recites features similar to those in claim 1, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim 17 recites features similar to those in claim 8, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim 18 recites features similar to those in claim 9, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim 19 recites features similar to those in claim 1, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Meyerzon further discloses: a processing system having a processor (Meyerzon: Paragraph [0074] states, "Processor 48 can include a single or multiple set of processors or multi-core processors. Moreover, processor 48 can be implemented as an integrated processing system and/or a distributed processing system. In an implementation, for example, processor 48 includes the CPU 114."); and a computer memory including instructions that, when executed by the processing system, cause the system to carry out operations (Meyerzon: Paragraph [0075] states, "In an example computer device 110 includes memory 50 for storing instructions executable by the processor 48 for carrying out the functions.").
Claim 20 recites features similar to those in claim 6, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyerzon (US 20210110278 A1, hereinafter referred to as Meyerzon) in view of Tao Chen et al. (An Encryption and Probability based Access Control Model for Named Data Networking, hereinafter referred to as Chen) in further view of Moonka (US 20120054189 A1, hereinafter referred to as Moonka) in further view of Torbey (US 20200349277 A1, hereinafter referred to as Torbey) in further view of Lay (US 20130275765 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lay).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly discloses: further comprising providing a shallow version of the digital document along with the access control probabilistic data structure to the second geographic region, wherein the shallow version of the digital document is stored in the second geographic region and does not include document content or the user identifiers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lay discloses: further comprising providing a shallow version of the digital document [along with the access control probabilistic data structure to the second geographic region], wherein the shallow version of the digital document [is stored in the second geographic region and] does not include document content or the user identifiers (Lay: Paragraph [0021] states, "The document comprises document content, including for example a message and any attachments, and may be in any transmission format and be of any content type, including but not limited to text files, text messages, imagery, audio, video, instant messages, cryptographic keys, URLs, web pages, or any packetized stream. The document is always stored and transmitted in a cryptographically secure manner by the application, so the original plaintext version of the sender's document content is not vulnerable. Recipient document content access right attributes are not contained within the document, but are sent to the server separately.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey and include the above limitation with the teaching of Lay in order for "a secure digital document delivery system, method, and application via computer program product that provides a document sender with full real-time control of a recipient's document content access rights" (Lay: Paragraph [0005]).
Lay fails to explicitly disclose: providing…the access control probabilistic data structure to the second geographic region.
However, Chen further discloses: providing…the access control probabilistic data structure to the second geographic region (Chen: Section E states, "In our design, we generate a bloom filter for each site for verifying active subscribers. Specifically, each site V calculates a bloom filter BFV based on the digests of all public keys in the active user table, and distributes to NDN routers for pre-filter Interests from users which are not in the active user tables.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Chen fails to explicitly disclose: document is stored in the second geographic region.
However, Meyerzon further discloses: document is stored in the second geographic region (Paragraph [0046] states, "The documents 510 are user documents saved to an online document storage 512 within the enterprise intranet. For example, user documents include word processing documents, intranet sites, emails, calendar items, group conversations, group meetings, and other documents generated by the enterprise and stored in the online document storage 512. A search crawler 514 picks up the new document or updated document and pushes the document to a mailbox 520. Mailboxes 520 are grouped into shards 522 including a primary shard. The mailboxes 520 or shards 522 perform analytics to determine metrics for documents such as most popular documents. In an implementation with a distributed architecture, the shards may be associated with geographic regions and there may be at least one shard per region of the enterprise. Data mined or extracted from a document may be stored within a local geographic shard.").
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyerzon (US 20210110278 A1, hereinafter referred to as Meyerzon) in view of Tao Chen et al. (An Encryption and Probability based Access Control Model for Named Data Networking, hereinafter referred to as Chen) in further view of Moonka (US 20120054189 A1, hereinafter referred to as Moonka) in further view of Torbey (US 20200349277 A1, hereinafter referred to as Torbey) in further view of Lay (US 20130275765 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lay) in further view of Harper (US 11698935 B2, hereinafter referred to as Harper).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, Torbey, and Lay disclose: The computer-implemented method of claim 3, but fails to disclose: wherein the shallow version of the digital document that is stored in the second geographic region indicates that a full version of the digital document is stored in the first geographic region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Harper discloses: wherein the shallow version of the digital document [that is stored in the second geographic region] indicates that a full version of the digital document is stored in the first geographic region (Harper: [Col 2 lines 13-19] states, "creating a copy of a destination document that includes content linked from a source document allows for either creating a copy of the source document itself (a “deep” copy, as described below), or creating a new link to the source document within the newly created copy of the destination document (a “shallow” copy, as described below)." [Col 5 lines 32-42] states that, "the workspace 300 is configured to store the plurality of documents (i.e., documents 114, 116, and 118), or suitable data structures associated with the documents, in the database 108a. In some embodiments, documents are implemented as separate files, such as word processing files (e.g., files with extension “.doc”, “.docx”, “.odt”, “.rtf”), spreadsheet documents (e.g., files with extension “.xls”, “.xlsx”, “.ods”), presentation documents (e.g., files with extension “.ppt”, “.pptx”, “.odp”, “.key”), or other suitable files that may be stored in, for example, file folders on the media storage device 108 or within the database 108a." [Col 6 lines 1-6] states that "a source link is a link within a destination document that indicates a location or source element for the linked content and a destination link is a link within a source document that indicates a destination element at which the linked content should be displayed.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Torbey, and Lay and include the above limitation with the teaching of Harper since "additional copies of the indirect documents are not created, which improves the efficiency of the copy operation and reduces storage requirements for the workspace 300" (Harper: Col 6 lines 64-66).
Harper fails to explicitly disclose: document that is stored in the second geographic region.
However, Meyerzon further discloses: document that is stored in the second geographic region (Paragraph [0046] states, "The documents 510 are user documents saved to an online document storage 512 within the enterprise intranet. For example, user documents include word processing documents, intranet sites, emails, calendar items, group conversations, group meetings, and other documents generated by the enterprise and stored in the online document storage 512. A search crawler 514 picks up the new document or updated document and pushes the document to a mailbox 520. Mailboxes 520 are grouped into shards 522 including a primary shard. The mailboxes 520 or shards 522 perform analytics to determine metrics for documents such as most popular documents. In an implementation with a distributed architecture, the shards may be associated with geographic regions and there may be at least one shard per region of the enterprise. Data mined or extracted from a document may be stored within a local geographic shard.").
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyerzon (US 20210110278 A1, hereinafter referred to as Meyerzon) in view of Tao Chen et al. (An Encryption and Probability based Access Control Model for Named Data Networking, hereinafter referred to as Chen) in further view of Moonka (US 20120054189 A1, hereinafter referred to as Moonka) in further view of Torbey (US 20200349277 A1, hereinafter referred to as Torbey) in further view of Lay (US 20130275765 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lay) in further view of Becanovic (US 20160275526 A1, hereinafter referred to as Becanovic).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, Torbey, and Lay disclose: The computer-implemented method of claim 3, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the shallow version of the digital document that is stored in the second geographic region includes activity metadata indicating modifications to the digital document performed in both the first geographic region and the second geographic region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Becanovic discloses: wherein the shallow version of the digital document that is stored in the second geographic region includes activity metadata indicating modifications to the digital document performed in both the first geographic region and the second geographic region (Becanovic: Paragraph [0070] states, "A comparison of the two metadata structures may be compared to determine if any differences exist. If so, a search may be made to find metadata structures that may fit the differences. When a match is found, the document analyzer 122 may assume that a post process procedure was performed to cause the change. The process may iterate until a metadata structure may be generated that matches that of the provided document." Paragraph [0096] states that "a document storage system 266 may generate metadata relating to electronic documents, such as a timestamp when the document was received, a creation date, modification date, modification history, or other metadata. These metadata may be stored in the file or may be separately stored in a file management system.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, Torbey, and Lay and include the above limitation with the teaching of Becanovic in order to "identify consistencies or inconsistencies across multiple documents" (Becanovic: Paragraph [0005]).
Becanovic fails to explicitly disclose: modifications to the digital document performed in both the first geographic region and the second geographic region.
However, Meyerzon further discloses: modifications to the digital document performed in both the first geographic region and the second geographic region (Meyerzon: Paragraph [0046] states, "Data mined or extracted from a document may be stored within a local geographic shard. Region specific policies for data collection, storage, retention, and protection may be implemented on the shard." Paragraph [0048] states, "The shards 522 detect events when a new document is added or changed and calls the template matching process 540. The template matching process 540 opens each source enterprise document and compares the new document or modified parts thereof to templates 410.").
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyerzon (US 20210110278 A1, hereinafter referred to as Meyerzon) in view of Tao Chen et al. (An Encryption and Probability based Access Control Model for Named Data Networking, hereinafter referred to as Chen) in further view of Moonka (US 20120054189 A1, hereinafter referred to as Moonka) in further view of Torbey (US 20200349277 A1, hereinafter referred to as Torbey) in further view of Gammel (US 20210120001 A1, hereinafter referred to as Gammel).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey disclose: The computer-implemented method of claim 10.
Chen further discloses: further comprising: determining, using the access control block for the digital document in the first geographic region, that the user identifier does not have access to the digital document (Chen: Section E states, "If the Interest arrives at the site, the site will deny the Interest from the unauthorized user after the failure of finding the user from active user table.");
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Chen fails to explicitly disclose: and providing a denial of the digital document to the second geographic region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gammel discloses: and providing a denial of the digital document [to the second geographic region] (Gammel: Paragraph [0041] states, "If the two-party token granting server 206 does not verify the token, the two-party token granting server 206 may alert the system 204, the IED resource 208, and/or first user 202a. The IED resource 208 may inform the second user 202b of the denied access. In some embodiments, the IED resource 208 may send a message to the second user 202b to inform the second user 202b of the denied access.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey and include the above limitation with the teaching of Gammel so that "the ability of users and/or their data to be corrupted is decreased" (Gammel: Paragraph [0016]).
Gammel fails to explicitly disclose: providing…to the second geographic region.
However, Chen further discloses: providing…to the second geographic region (Chen: Section B states, "The generated bloom filter is then piggybacked to NDN routers along with the data packets of the subscription confirmation messages.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, Torbey, and Gammel discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 12.
Chen further discloses: wherein the access control block in the first geographic region includes the user identifier and corresponding user permission granting the user identifier access to a full version of the digital document stored in the first geographic region (Chen: Section A states, "Upon receiving the singed Interest for a user subscription, the video site first fetches the public key of the user via the public key repository of the user’s site, and verifies the integrity and authenticity of the subscription Interest. If the subscription is valid and approved, the site will return an approval message in a data packet to the user and insert the user into an active user table…active user tables in our design will be used i) to determine whether to send a data key to a user, and ii) to generate a probability-based bloom filter to pre-filter Interests from unauthorized users at NDN routers, which will be discussed later in Section III-E." Section B states, "the site (producer) will return the encrypted segments as data objects, which will be forwarded and cached by NDN routers. The user Alice, after receiving the first encrypted segment of the video from the site V , will immediately search data key DKV in the local repository. If successful, Alice could start to decrypt and play the segments in a streaming manner." Section C states, "The site will search active user table to verify the access right of the user who sends the Interest. If successful, the site will encrypt the data key with the user’s public key PUu and return data packets P, P = E(PUu,DKV) to the user, where E denotes the encryption operation.").
The same motivation to modify with Chen, as in claim 1, applies.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyerzon (US 20210110278 A1, hereinafter referred to as Meyerzon) in view of Tao Chen et al. (An Encryption and Probability based Access Control Model for Named Data Networking, hereinafter referred to as Chen) in further view of Moonka (US 20120054189 A1, hereinafter referred to as Moonka) in further view of Torbey (US 20200349277 A1, hereinafter referred to as Torbey) in further view of Bernard (US 20190116238 A1, hereinafter referred to as Bernard).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the access control probabilistic data structure comprises a cuckoo filter, a ribbon filter, or an xor filter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bernard discloses: wherein the access control probabilistic data structure comprises a cuckoo filter, a ribbon filter, or an xor filter (Bernard: Paragraph [0015] states, "Examples of a probabilistic data structure can include a bloom filter, a quotient filter, an approximate membership query, a hash wheel or hash table, a cuckoo filter, or any combination of these.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Meyerzon as modified by Chen, Moonka, and Torbey and include the above limitation with the teaching of Bernard in order to "enable the client device to quickly and easily obtain the data again in the future, without having to communicate with the server" (Bernard: Paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434