DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/2/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 10 & 19: “communication unit” (hardware [0052], [0054])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 10-14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-5 are directed to a method, claims 10-14, 19-20 are directed to a product, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES). The examiner has identified method claim 1-5 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to product claims 10-14 and 19-20, respectively.
Regarding claim 1 (and 10, 19), the claim recites, in part, “identifying…a schedule…determining…available time…receiving…a request…transmitting…the request…receiving …a response… granting…permission… permission…is determined by the identified schedule”. The limitations of determining and generating, when read in light of the specification, are mental processes capable of being performed in the human mind, which have been identified as being abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The limitations of: user device, manager device is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity for data gathering and outputting (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Additionally these devices are well known devices being used in their conventional manner, and thus are not significantly more than the judicial exception (see Electric Power Group, LLC. v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d, 1350 (Fed. Circ. 2016)). The additional element of a “computer/processor” is just a generic computing device. Invocation of generic computing devices to perform or aid the abstract idea does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into practical application because the claim does not
include limitations that purport the improvement to the function of a computer or another technology,
apply the abstract idea by way of a particular machine, or effect a tangible transformation in state of a
particular article (MPEP 2106.05). Rather, the abstract ideas are instead merely generally linked to a
particular technical field (MPEP 2106.04(3)).
Regarding claim 2 (and 11, 20), the claim recites, in part, “generating…information…in response from the manager device”. These limitations, when read in light of the specification, are considered an insignificant extra-solution activity for data gathering and outputting (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim recites no additional elements that are indicative of an integration into a practical application or that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 3 (and 12), the claim recites, in part, “determining…in response to the determining…revoking…permission…”. These limitations, when read in light of the specification, are considered an insignificant extra-solution activity for data gathering and outputting (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim recites no additional elements that are indicative of an integration into a practical application or that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 4 (and 13), the claim recites, in part, “schedule of the vehicle includes…”. These limitations, when read in light of the specification, are considered an insignificant extra-solution activity for data gathering and outputting (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim recites no additional elements that are indicative of an integration into a practical application or that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 5 (and 14), the claim recites, in part, “announcing…time…position…in response”. The limitations of determining and generating, when read in light of the specification, are mental processes capable of being performed in the human mind, which have been identified as being abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The notifying step is considered extra solution activity such as transmitting/displaying data. The claim recites no additional elements that are indicative of an integration into a practical application or that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 6-9 (and 15-18) integrate the abstract idea into practical application by at least controlling an aspect of the vehicle, playing music/alarm, or paying a fee.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by US20190205797A1 ("Sakurada").
Claims 1, 10, 19:
A method of managing control authority for an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising: identifying, by a processor, a schedule of the vehicle during an unused period of the vehicle registered by a manager; determining, by the processor, an available time of the vehicle by a user other than the manager; receiving, by the processor, a request for use of the vehicle within the available time from a user device carried by the user; transmitting, by the processor, the request for use of the vehicle to a manager device carried by the manager; receiving, by the processor, a response from the manager device; and granting, by the processor, the user device a permission to control the vehicle based on the response, wherein the permission to control the vehicle is determined by the identified schedule of the vehicle. (Sakurada at least the abstract, FIGs. 12-15, [0086], [0006], [0079])
Claims 2, 11, 20:
generating, by the processor, information on vehicle usage of the user in response that the response from the manager device is to authorize the request for use of the vehicle. (Sakurada at least the abstract, [0015])
Claims 3, 12:
determining, by the processor, whether to revoke the permission to control the vehicle granted to the user; and in response to the determining to revoke, revoking, by the processor, the permission to control the vehicle granted to the user. (Sakurada at least [0149])
Claims 4, 13:
wherein the schedule of the vehicle includes at least one of parking, charging, maintenance, or call service provision of the vehicle. (Sakurada at least [0102], [0165]) *Examiner’s note: “call service provision” is interpreted as communicating with the manager/manager device via the user device to send and/or receive information.
Claims 5, 14:
announcing, by the processor, the available time of the vehicle and a position of the vehicle via a wireless communication network in response that the schedule of the vehicle is the call service provision. (Sakurada at least FIG. 12)
Claims 6, 15:
in response that the schedule of the vehicle is the call service provision, the permission to control the vehicle includes at least one of locking a door of the vehicle, unlocking the door, outputting an alarm, controlling a navigation of the vehicle, controlling a temperature inside the vehicle, or playback of music. (Sakurada at least [0062])
Claims 9, 18:
in response that the schedule of the vehicle is the parking, the permission to control the vehicle includes at least one of locking a door, unlocking the door, controlling vehicle startup, payment of a valet fee, and payment of a parking fee. (Sakurada at least [0102])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada in view of WO2019114659A1 ("Luo", English machine translation provided) .
As per claim 7 (and 16), Sakurada teaches the invention as described above. Sakurada does not disclose:
in response that the schedule of the vehicle is the charging, the permission to control the vehicle includes at least one of locking a charging port, unlocking the charging port, controlling vehicle startup, or payment of a charging fee.
Luo teaches the aforementioned limitation (Luo at least the abstract and “service request includes one or more of valet maintenance, valet charging”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sakurada with the aforementioned limitations taught by Luo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to reduce the need to hand over the usage right by handing over a key thereby improving the vehicle usage experience for a vehicle owner. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 7.
As per claim 8 (and 17), Sakurada teaches the invention as described above. Sakurada does not disclose:
in response that the schedule of the vehicle is the maintenance, the permission to control the vehicle includes at least one of locking a door, unlocking the door, locking a hood, unlocking the hood, locking a trunk, unlocking the trunk, controlling vehicle startup, or payment of a maintenance fee.
Luo teaches the aforementioned limitation (Luo at least the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sakurada with the aforementioned limitations taught by Luo with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 7.
Conclusion
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669