Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki, et al., US 2022/0118970 A1, in view of Monteuuis, et al., US 2023/0408642 A1.
As per Claim 1, Takaki teaches a vehicle control method performed by an apparatus of a vehicle (¶¶ 23-24), the vehicle control method comprising:
identifying a target approaching in a lateral direction of the vehicle (¶ 58; along path 650 of Figure 6); and
determining, based on a current position of the target, a primary lateral control time (¶ 50; based on “time steps”).
Takaki does not expressly teach: determining, based on the primary lateral control time, a collision overlap, wherein the collision overlap indicates what proportion of a lateral width of the vehicle is projected to overlap with a longitudinal width of the target; determining, based on the collision overlap, a secondary lateral control time; and adjusting, based on the secondary lateral control time, a traveling speed of the vehicle. Monteuuis teaches:
determining, based on the primary lateral control time, a collision overlap, wherein the collision overlap indicates what proportion of a lateral width of the vehicle is projected to overlap with a longitudinal width of the target (¶¶ 125-126; based on X positions of the vehicles);
determining, based on the collision overlap, a secondary lateral control time (¶ 96; via control system 452 of Figure 4); and
adjusting, based on the secondary lateral control time, a traveling speed of the vehicle (¶ 96; to “cause the control system 452 to automatically break the vehicle 404 so that it comes to a stop before making impact with the other vehicle” as in Figure 4).
At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to operate the vehicle of Takaki with a collision overlap measurement system such as Monteuuis teaches, in order to respond to a possible accident scenario without overcompensating.
As per Claim 2, Takaki further teaches:
determining, based on the current position of the target, a primary longitudinal control time (¶ 50; based on “time steps”);
determining, based on the collision overlap, a secondary longitudinal control time (¶ 36); and
adjusting, based on the secondary longitudinal control time, the traveling speed of the vehicle (¶ 79).
As per Claim 3, Takaki teaches that the adjusting of the traveling speed of the vehicle comprises: determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶ 37; after comparison with collision threshold 260 of Figure 2). Takaki does not expressly teach suspending, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold not being satisfied, transmitting at least one of a warning signal and a braking command. Monteuuis teaches suspending, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold not being satisfied, transmitting at least one of a warning signal and a braking command (¶ 127). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 4, Takaki teaches that the adjusting of the traveling speed of the vehicle comprises:
determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶ 37; after comparison with collision threshold 260 of Figure 2); and
transmitting, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold being satisfied, a warning signal (¶ 37; “hazard lights”).
As per Claim 5, Takaki teaches that the adjusting of the traveling speed of the vehicle comprises:
determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶¶ 36-37; as determined by collision threshold 260 of Figure 2); and
transmitting, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold being satisfied, a primary braking command (¶ 81).
As per Claim 6, Takaki teaches that the adjusting of the traveling speed of the vehicle comprises:
determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶¶ 36-37; as determined by collision threshold 260 of Figure 2); and
transmitting, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold being satisfied, a secondary braking command (¶ 81).
As per Claim 7, Takaki teaches that the determining of whether the lateral control time threshold and the longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied comprises at least one of: determining that the lateral control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a front edge of the target has passed through a reference line (¶¶ 36-37; e.g., line 320 of Figure 3); or determining that the longitudinal control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a nearest point, on the target, to the vehicle has passed through the reference line.
As per Claim 8, Takaki teaches that the determining of whether the lateral control time threshold and the longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied comprises at least one of: determining that the lateral control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a front edge of the target has passed through a reference line; or determining that the longitudinal control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a nearest point, on the target, to the vehicle has passed through the reference line (¶¶ 36-37; as per collision threshold 260 of Figure 2 and reference line 320 of Figure 3).
As per Claim 9, Takaki teaches that the determining of whether the lateral control time threshold and the longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied comprises at least one of: determining that the lateral control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a front edge of the target has passed through a reference line; or determining that the longitudinal control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a nearest point, on the target, to the vehicle has passed through the reference line (¶¶ 36-37; as per collision threshold 260 of Figure 2 and reference line 320 of Figure 3).
As per Claim 10, Takaki teaches a vehicle control device (¶¶ 33-34) comprising:
a sensor (¶¶ 33-34);
a controller (¶ 31); and
a speed controller (¶¶ 42-43), wherein the controller is configured to:
identify, via the sensor, a target approaching in a lateral direction of a vehicle (¶ 58; along path 650 of Figure 6); and
determine, based on a current position of the target, a primary lateral control time (¶ 50; based on “time steps”).
Takaki does not expressly teach steps to: determine, based on the primary lateral control time, a collision overlap, wherein the collision overlap indicates what proportion of a lateral width of the vehicle is projected to overlap with a longitudinal width of the target; determine, based on the collision overlap, a secondary lateral control time; and adjust, via the speed controller and based on the secondary lateral control time, a traveling speed of the vehicle. Monteuuis teaches steps to:
determine, based on the primary lateral control time, a collision overlap, wherein the collision overlap indicates what proportion of a lateral width of the vehicle is projected to overlap with a longitudinal width of the target (¶¶ 125-126; based on X positions of the vehicles);
determine, based on the collision overlap, a secondary lateral control time (¶ 96; via control system 452 of Figure 4); and
adjust, via the speed controller and based on the secondary lateral control time, a traveling speed of the vehicle (¶ 96; to “cause the control system 452 to automatically break the vehicle 404 so that it comes to a stop before making impact with the other vehicle” as in Figure 4).
See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 11, Takaki teaches that the controller is further configured to: determine, based on the current position of the target, a primary longitudinal control time (¶ 50; based on “time steps”);
determine, based on the collision overlap, a secondary longitudinal control time (¶ 36); and
adjust, via the speed controller and based on the secondary longitudinal control time, the traveling speed of the vehicle (¶ 79).
As per Claim 12, Takaki teaches that the controller is configured to adjust the traveling speed of the vehicle by: determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶ 37; after comparison with collision threshold 260 of Figure 2). Takaki does not expressly teach suspending, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold not being satisfied, transmitting at least one of a warning signal and a braking command. Monteuuis teaches suspending, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold not being satisfied, transmitting at least one of a warning signal and a braking command (¶ 127). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 13, Takaki teaches that the controller is configured to adjust the traveling speed of the vehicle by:
determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶ 37; after comparison with collision threshold 260 of Figure 2); and
transmitting, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold being satisfied, a warning signal (¶ 37; “hazard lights”).
As per Claim 14, Takaki teaches that the controller is configured to adjust the traveling speed of the vehicle by:
determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶¶ 36-37; as determined by collision threshold 260 of Figure 2); and
transmitting, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold being satisfied, a primary braking command (¶ 81).
As per Claim 15, Takaki teaches that the controller is configured to adjust the traveling speed of the vehicle by:
determining, based on the secondary lateral control time and the secondary longitudinal control time, whether a lateral control time threshold and a longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied (¶¶ 36-37; as determined by collision threshold 260 of Figure 2); and
transmitting, based on at least one of the lateral control time threshold or the longitudinal control time threshold being satisfied, a secondary braking command (¶ 81).
As per Claim 16, Takaki teaches that the controller is configured to determine whether the lateral control time threshold and the longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied by at least one of: determining that the lateral control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a front edge of the target has passed through a reference line (¶¶ 36-37; e.g., line 320 of Figure 3); or determining that the longitudinal control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a nearest point, on the target, to the vehicle has passed through the reference line.
As per Claim 17, Takaki teaches that the controller is configured to determining of whether the lateral control time threshold and the longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied by at least one of: determining that the lateral control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a front edge of the target has passed through a reference line; and determining that the longitudinal control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a nearest point, on the target, to the vehicle has passed through the reference line (¶¶ 36-37; as per collision threshold 260 of Figure 2 and reference line 320 of Figure 3).
As per Claim 18, Takaki teaches that the controller is configured to determine whether the lateral control time threshold and the longitudinal control time threshold are satisfied by at least one of: determining that the lateral control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a front edge of the target has passed through a reference line; and determining that the longitudinal control time threshold is satisfied based on the current position of the target indicating that a nearest point, on the target, to the vehicle has passed through the reference line (¶¶ 36-37; as per collision threshold 260 of Figure 2 and reference line 320 of Figure 3).
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661